2012
Volkswagen
Jetta Sedan

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(15 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KS
KYLE S.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/15/2019
Great car
Not much to say. Just had to replace the head gasket and sensor. Other than that. Seats in front are not the most comfortable. Great car otherwise. Great car for the value. Nothing worth complaining about.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LESLIE M.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2018
Tremendous Value For Your Hard Earned Dollar!
This car has the handling, safety, economy and comfort that I've always wanted, not to mention the curb appeal!

Pros
It's hard to believe that you can get so much car for your money in a Jetta! Plain and simple, it' true! I've never had so much fun getting behind the wheel of a car!

Cons
I can't think of a single negative!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IB
IAN B.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2018
Love my Sportwagen
It’s no Subaru but definitely the most luxurious vehicle I’ve had. The bank had to check twice when I got this steal of a deal!

Pros
Great quality mpg

Cons
Not much space in back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
George F.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/26/2018
Second Jetta
This is my second Jetta that I have owned. A good stylish car that packs alot of value for the money. Looks more expensive. Does everything well. Rides smooth and is easy to handle. I most definitely will purchase a third Jetta.

Pros
Styling
Mileage per gallon
Price range with competion

Cons
Both Jettas mentioned had problem with miss fire spark plugs. Easy fix.
Acceleration is a bit slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Ryan L.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/20/2018
Decent car
Over all the 2012 Jetta hasn’t been bad. We bought it brand new and it’s had a few issues but nothing that wasn’t really handled under warranty. Only thing that wasn’t handled under warranty was the paint started to peel along the bottom rocker panel. We were told by the dealership that the paint there isn’t considered paint even though it’s the exact same color as the rest of the car, so there for it isn’t covered under the paint defect warranty. But over all it’s been a pretty reliable car. We have put 101,000 miles on
It since buying it in 2013.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Darren D.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/18/2018
4th 🚗 on the road
I've owned a Suzuki which was horrible, my Ford almost killed me and had the most mechanical problems, my Audi was awesome but the maintenance was high, but my VW makes me want to buy another VW. Reliable and good on gas. I plan on keeping it even if I get another car.

Pros
Very very good on gas

Cons
Should have had updated features like other 2012 with blue tooth and USB port.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michelle S.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/17/2018
2012 VW Jetta SE
I was looking for something with style, comfort, and smooth ride after my Mustang convertible and this was the perfect choice. They new Jettas have a back up camera, remote starter, and links your smartphone apps to the car's dashboard monitor which my 2012 lacks so that's why I'm giving 4 stars, as I would give my right arm to have those options.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DS D.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2017
Excellence and Performance
The following tells it all, as it is!

Pros
It's reliability is remarkable. Should I trade my Volkswagen, I do plan to buy a similar one for it's reliability and comfort.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KERI C.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/08/2017
Good car
This car has been perfect for city driving.

Pros
Good on gas

Cons
Not too good for tall people

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Bob M.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/08/2017
Basic car comes with everything you need!!
All I need to say that I currently own 2 Jettas and this one is the 7TH one I have owned.

Pros
Well equipped basic car

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
REBECCA P.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/09/2016
Love my car!
Great car !!! Never had a problem ! The service has always been great ! I got my tires there ! Great price !

Pros
All around great car !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
DEBRA W.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2016
great car
This car has been great for me. I'm a weekend driver, so it still has very low mileage. It's comfortable, handles well,

Pros
Great car for the money. I love VWs and have owned a few over the years.

Cons
No real cons - I gave it a 9 for fun to drive, because I'd save 10 for something sportier - but this car drives great. I also gave a 9 for features because this model doesn't have some of the "fancier" features on the higher-priced models (cruise control, heated seats, backup camera, sun roof). This one fit my budget and it's still very nice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Thomas F.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/19/2016
A very dependable smooth riding car.
This by far is the best car I have ever owned.

Pros
1st car I owned that I didn't have to replace the stereo. Safest car I've ever driven in the rain. All the controls are easy to reach while keeping you eyes on the road.

Cons
A bit on the slow side. Fuel economy could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DIANE L.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/14/2016
Awesome VW
I love my Jetta Sportwagen TDI
Great mpg, lots of pep, my "grocery getter"!

Pros
Comfortable, roomy, great mileage, lots of up and go when needed!

Cons
Sits low to ground.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
GORDON K.
2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/15/2015
It's a TDI
I'm just over 36k on my 2012 Jetta TDI. I have to say that other than some sketchy OEM tires I'm really happy with the purchase and overall usability of the vehicle. Because it's a manual TDI I get an exhilarating driving experience and pull over 42MPG while I"m doing it. It took me some time to adjust to searching out diesel fuel but that's now in the past. I know some dyed-in-the-wool VW owners have bitched about cheap interior pieces in the MK6 but I haven't really had an issue there - perhaps they've just grown spoiled over the years?

There are a couple of things I'd change if I could. The first is a better set of tires off the showroom floor. These break traction easily from a standstill and are poor in wet weather - some of this due to the torque produced by the engine. I find the interior bluetooth mic to be inferior and everyone I call notices I sound like I'm in a wind tunnel. There's not much in the way of mods for such a thing, based on my research.

Otherwise this car provides an excellent driving experience for a sedan, and can be called a poor man's BWI, though I actually think overall it's a better value.

Pros
Comfortable driving position
Heated seats and side mirrors
Massive low-end torque
Smooth shifting manual gearbox
Ergonomically sensible instrumentation
Fabulous gas mileage
Clean lines and well designed
Spacious trunk (fold down seats too)
Great climbing hills

Cons
Limited front seat headroom
Learning to find diesel fuel
Low profile armrest inappropriate for manual shifter (we like to rest our arm)
Rain run channels drip inside front windows
Poor OEM tire traction
Flimsy sheet metal

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 15 reviews