2006
Volkswagen
Jetta Sedan

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(12 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CA
CINDY A.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/19/2019
VW Jetta TDI
Love the handling, it’s a diesel, gets 48 MPG city, close to 60 HWY, it’s fun to drive and hugs the road.
It has 148,000, just broken in, will hit 1,000,000, as long as it’s fluids are changed regularly, and my son doesn’t drive it!
An oil change, just oil and filter, is $150, required a pump, needs very frequent changes, same with transmission fluid. I was given an idea to alleviate the pump, drill a new drain hole, tap and die it, put in a new plug, for both fluids, and cut the fluid change down to a hell of a lot less! Supplies are still expensive!
Overall, I love the car!

Pros
Fun to drive, great fuel mileage!

Cons
Expensive as hell to maintain its performance, VW dealership maintenance and repair departments are ignorant and really over priced, ( I know more than they do), so if you buy one, prepare to do a lot of reading, so you can diagnose the problems (computer related) and have incredibly deep pockets.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZM
ZEESHAN M.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/07/2018
Awesome
It was very good pickup and runs smooth. Excellent interior.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SUNDAR M.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/08/2017
Jetta Usage
Good family car and easy to maintain.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
RUBY W.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/23/2017
I love my 2006 Jetta- Diesel!
So sad I won't be able to acquire another Jetta Diesel but I'll keep driving what I have at 50 mpg as long as I can.

Pros
mileage, dependability, standard transmission

Cons
11 years old so lots of "new car" features missing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
ANANESIA W.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/28/2017
First and last Jetta
I love the car and the many features it provides. The upkeep (repairs) on this vehicle is very expensive therefore I would not buy another one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
ROBERT C.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2016
2006 Jetta
Overall very satisfied with the car. Have discovered a couple of issues since buying it but they are nothing that is decreasing from the drivability of the car. They are also things I didn't check before buying it. I'm enjoying driving it.

Pros
Low miles on the car. Drives great. Most everything works.

Cons
Cruise control does not work. I didn't check it before buying so can't fault the dealership for that. Has the same problem my sons 2093 Jetta has. Electric locks don't always work from the drivers side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Julio G.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2016
What this mean?
10 years with my GTI very satisfied good return for my money.

Pros
Solid built. Very fast with stick shift. Great driving experience. Great leather quality on interior.

Cons
Computer screen sucks. Very expensive to replace. Heating and AC needs major improvement. Console between front seats needs redesign for comfort and utility. Need superior stereo system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MARK G.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/07/2016
2006 Jetta
I have loved my dependable and comfortable Jetta. However there have been some electrical system issues.

Pros
Small details make this car comfortable and enjoyable.

Cons
There have been problems with the electrical system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
SEAN G.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/25/2016
'06 Jetta TDI Review
Overall is an excellent vehicle.

Pros
Steers, turns, and overall drives well.

Cons
No Bluetooth.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
RAYMOND C.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2015
Great Car
I've owned the vehicle since 2006 (new) and have been very pleased with it.

Pros
TDI diesel economy and performance

Cons
Road noise could be better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
JOHN O.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2015
Safe, economical and pleasurable to drive.
I have been and am totally pleased with this vehicle. With over 140,000 miles I have not had any mechanical problems. The only fault was that the headliner had to be replaced last year. The Pecheles mechanics are the only folks I allow to touch my car. I know maintenance costs would be lower at other garages but the work done here is done correctly the first time. I have never had to bring the car back after servicing to correct any oversight.

Pros
I am totally pleased. The exterior design, in my opinion, is superior to the 2012 - 2015 which looks like a "plain vanilla" Chevrolet front end. The 2005 - 2011 looks distinctive with its chrome front.
The fuel economy of 42 miles per gallon is exemplary. The safety features were one of the main reasons I bought this, my third Jetta.

Cons
Diesel soot collects on the white bumper. The gas model had a black bumper that would have been helpful.
The next vehicle I buy, probably a Jetta, will have to have collision avoidance braking.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
JOHN O.
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2015
2006 Jetta TDI
This vehicle has to be my all time favorite car. I have owned a 64 and 72 Beetle, a 74 412 an 80 Rabbit, an 85, 99 and 06 Jetta TDIs. I have owned an 87 Honda Civic, and a 90 Acura Integra. My wife drives the 08 Audi A4 and the previous 97 Audi A4, We have had other makes and models also, but the point is we like the German engineering. The workmanship and sheer enjoyment of the cars is impressive. The safety features were the first consideration as we became more mature. The next car we buy will have automatic collision avoidance braking.

Pros
Safety features like DRLs and 5 star roll over, air bags and seat belts.
Excellent service and dependability.
Fuel efficiency of the TDIs.
Styling of the 06, like the Audis, is distinctive, unlike the Chevrolet look of the new TDIs and Passat.

Cons
Diesel smoke collects on rear bumper.
Slight hesitation from a stopped position.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 12 reviews