Style image original

2008
Volkswagen
Jetta Sedan

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5rating 4.5

12 Reviews

Latest review 4 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KM
KELLINA M.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/04/2018
Fun at first
Loved this car when I first got it it was my dream car. But buyer beware the electrics are all messed up in this car. At one point maybe 3 years after getting it my window got stuck part way down. I always had lights out and was replacing headlights yearly. The moon roof now will sometimes open on its own while I’m driving (fun). I recently had to get my headlights fixed because the way they were made were dangerous and blowing light bulbs constantly. I went to a few places to get ideas about what was wrong and they said they see it allllll the time in VWs. Like I said at first it was a fun car but now is a money pit.

Pros
Fun, spacious, huge trunk, comfortable seats

Cons
Electrical problems

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jeremey S.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2017
08 volkswagen jetta
I love my jetta best car I ever had enough said

Pros
Fast little car good on gas and reliable very comfortable and fun to drive

Cons
Can be expensive to fix IF something brakes but good local shops help cut cost of dealer repairs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
Paul J.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2017
Worth every penny I spent buying this gem!
After my previous vehicle was deemed a total loss, having been run off the road into a drainage ditch, I had to find a replacement car immediately. Very Fortunately, I found a 2008 Volkswagen Jetta SEL in great condition.
There are so many features on this car that I just cannot believe it! Great sunroof. Electronic Stability Control. Heated Seats. 10 airbags. Excellent V-Tex upholstery. Tiptronic automatic transmission with sport mode (which makes the car move like a rocket), 250 watt 10-speaker premium stereo with 6 disc changer in dash, satellite
radio, and very nice interior and exterior fit and finish. When I purchased the car in December 2016, it had 127,000 miles. My trusted mechanic shop told me that I should get 400,000 miles of use from the car. Amazing value for 4,999!

Pros
Performance, style, fit and finish, features, gas mileage.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
James R.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/18/2017
Jetta 5 cylender
Solid sound fun to drive....Not everyone will work on it...but over all I love my Jetta!

Pros
Great gas mileage with lots of pep, very comfortable, fun to drive.

Cons
Head room a little tight....bump head getting in....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JOHN S.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2016
2008 Jetta 2.5
IT's been on of the best cars I've had. For the price probably the best. I have a Sequoia that I like even better but it was much more expensive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
AMANDA T.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2016
Love my Jetta
She is so reliable and durable. Such a great car for this sedan. Corollas/Camrys, civics can't touch this heavy duty speed machine.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JULIE/PETER G.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2016
Jetta se
Excellent car for the long haul. Nice had mine since 2008 and love it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CONNIE S.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/07/2016
Sturdy car with lots of pep!
I acquired this car from my son who left it with me when he took his business overseas. It now has 99,000 miles on it. Though not a color or interior of my own choosing, it is a comfortable size for me. The V-6 engine has lots of pep. The car is sturdy, not a "light weight."

Pros
Has "pep" and easily accelerates. Good design. Good Radio. Good size for moderately-sized single driver who only very occasionally has passengers. Feels "solid."

Cons
Lacks newer features such as bluetooth.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sally D.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2016
2008 Jetta
I wish I could've bought it when it was brand new. I want another one. Love it, but need something with AWD

Pros
Gas milage

Cons
Front wheel drive instead of AWD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
REYMONDO S.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/17/2016
So So life expectancy
Vehicle is nice and I have like it's ride and design since purchase, BUT with age and miles or has been a constant repair monster. All the plastic engine components fail after about 120K miles. Not reliable, in the long term, like Honda's or Toyota's or other competitors.
Some Parts are hard to find except on EBay, I had electrical fuse relay box fry due to old worn out passenger compartment fan no one had it not even dealer.
At 157K it has been in shop every 6 months or so. Lots of money to repair per visit. About $1000 per incident.

Pros
Sporty, fast 2.0 turbo. Nice Wolfsburg design

Cons
Long term reliability is poor. Been towed to shop many times after 123k miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MIKE H.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/01/2016
121,000 and we'll keep it rather than buy new
We test drove new Jettas, a Mazda 3 and a Subaru Impreza and decided our 2008 Jetta offers everything they do except a backup camera and bluetooth. It runs great, handles as well as the new ones, mpg is within 10% of new ones,it's paid off, and has spotless maintenance.

Pros
Exceptional reliability, fun to drive.

Cons
Be nice to have a bit more power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JACKIE F.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2016
dependable and reliable
This is my 2nd jetta they have been dependable and reliable over the years. Also like the body style and the way they drive s
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 12 Review