Business Solutions

2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(18 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(18 Reviews)

CC
gravatar
Ciarra C.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2021
Verified Review

Expensive Maintenance, but Long-lasting Vehicle

This vehicle has always been reliable. I have little to no stress with it. Maintenance is more expensive since it’s foreign, but the build and quality make up for that. I had one vehicle prior to this one and it clunked out on me in less than 2 years. My Jetta was pre-owned for 8 years, and still remains in excellent condition after 4 years of owning it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CS
gravatar
CONNIE S.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/07/2020
Verified Review

The 5-cylinder engine has lots of pep in this 13 year old car!

This car is a great basic car. It handles well and is comfortable to drive for the average-sized adult. The 5-cylinder engine has a lot of pep at 128,000 miles. It has a good Bose radio. If maintained well, the engine might take it well over 200,000 miles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LS
gravatar
Lenny S.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/07/2019
Verified Review

Great Car w No Maintenance Problems

12 year old Jetta w 92000 miles and never any major repairs at all. Tires, rear brake pads, new iridium plugs and only air filters. Has original front brake pads, can you believe it? Also has original 12 yr. old Varta battery. I will keep this simple, non electronic nightmare car, at least another 5 years!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RK
gravatar
RICK K.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/22/2019
Verified Review

Jetta 2008 2.5 5 cylinder

I own two 2008 Jettas. They have been reliable for over 10 years. It is fun to drive and is good on long drives. The trunk has a lot of space. I have no engine problems beyond usual wear and tear and regular maintenance. I consider maintenance costs reasonable. I get around 30MPG on long trips.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TK
gravatar
TOM K.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/08/2019
Verified Review

Love/Hate

Love the car overall, hate all the "sensors" that constantly fault out. The older it gets the more often there are issues. Codes can not be determined without taking the car to a shop that has the VW computer to diagnose.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LL
gravatar
LELANE L.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/07/2018
Verified Review

2008 Jetta

Awesome car, one of my favorites of all the cars I have owned. Comfortable, reliable, great fun to drive on trips to CA and TX. It has 103000 miles now iand I would not hesitate to jump in and drive it anywhere in the continental US.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KM
gravatar
KELLINA M.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/04/2018
Verified Review

Fun at first

Loved this car when I first got it it was my dream car. But buyer beware the electrics are all messed up in this car. At one point maybe 3 years after getting it my window got stuck part way down. I always had lights out and was replacing headlights yearly. The moon roof now will sometimes open on its own while I’m driving (fun). I recently had to get my headlights fixed because the way they were made were dangerous and blowing light bulbs constantly. I went to a few places to get ideas about what was wrong and they said they see it allllll the time in VWs. Like I said at first it was a fun car but now is a money pit.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
Jeremey S.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/07/2017
Verified Review

08 volkswagen jetta

I love my jetta best car I ever had enough said
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PJ
gravatar
Paul J.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/14/2017

Worth every penny I spent buying this gem!

After my previous vehicle was deemed a total loss, having been run off the road into a drainage ditch, I had to find a replacement car immediately. Very Fortunately, I found a 2008 Volkswagen Jetta SEL in great condition. There are so many features on this car that I just cannot believe it! Great sunroof. Electronic Stability Control. Heated Seats. 10 airbags. Excellent V-Tex upholstery. Tiptronic automatic transmission with sport mode (which makes the car move like a rocket), 250 watt 10-speaker premium stereo with 6 disc changer in dash, satellite radio, and very nice interior and exterior fit and finish. When I purchased the car in December 2016, it had 127,000 miles. My trusted mechanic shop told me that I should get 400,000 miles of use from the car. Amazing value for 4,999!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JR
gravatar
James R.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/18/2017

Jetta 5 cylender

Solid sound fun to drive....Not everyone will work on it...but over all I love my Jetta!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
JOHN S.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/06/2016

2008 Jetta 2.5

IT's been on of the best cars I've had. For the price probably the best. I have a Sequoia that I like even better but it was much more expensive.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AT
gravatar
AMANDA T.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/24/2016

Love my Jetta

She is so reliable and durable. Such a great car for this sedan. Corollas/Camrys, civics can't touch this heavy duty speed machine.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
JULIE/PETER G.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/17/2016

Jetta se

Excellent car for the long haul. Nice had mine since 2008 and love it
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CS
gravatar
CONNIE S.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/07/2016

Sturdy car with lots of pep!

I acquired this car from my son who left it with me when he took his business overseas. It now has 99,000 miles on it. Though not a color or interior of my own choosing, it is a comfortable size for me. The V-6 engine has lots of pep. The car is sturdy, not a "light weight."
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SD
gravatar
Sally D.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2016

2008 Jetta

I wish I could've bought it when it was brand new. I want another one. Love it, but need something with AWD
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RS
gravatar
REYMONDO S.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/17/2016

So So life expectancy

Vehicle is nice and I have like it's ride and design since purchase, BUT with age and miles or has been a constant repair monster. All the plastic engine components fail after about 120K miles. Not reliable, in the long term, like Honda's or Toyota's or other competitors. Some Parts are hard to find except on EBay, I had electrical fuse relay box fry due to old worn out passenger compartment fan no one had it not even dealer. At 157K it has been in shop every 6 months or so. Lots of money to repair per visit. About $1000 per incident.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MH
gravatar
MIKE H.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/01/2016

121,000 and we'll keep it rather than buy new

We test drove new Jettas, a Mazda 3 and a Subaru Impreza and decided our 2008 Jetta offers everything they do except a backup camera and bluetooth. It runs great, handles as well as the new ones, mpg is within 10% of new ones,it's paid off, and has spotless maintenance.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JF
gravatar
JACKIE F.
2008 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/20/2016

dependable and reliable

This is my 2nd jetta they have been dependable and reliable over the years. Also like the body style and the way they drive s
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 18 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Audi Dealer
  • VW Dealer
Migeli's Foreign Car Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(200 Reviews)

  • European Auto Repair
  • VW Dealer
  • Audi Dealer
Volks Auto Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(213 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
Towne Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(784 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(3485 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(372 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(1) ReScores