2019
Subaru
Outback

Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5rating 4.88
4.9
(7 Reviews)
Latest review 6 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NC
NORMAN C.
2019 Subaru Outback
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/17/2019
2019 outback.
so far ,so good.

Pros
great car,corners great.

Cons
front seats not very comfortable.
hard to reach front doors when fully open when seated

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JAMES S.
2019 Subaru Outback
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2019
2019 Subaru Outback 3.6R
This review is for the 2019 SUBARU OUTBACK 3.6R WITH ALMOST ALL OPTIONS INSTALLED: We live in North Idaho, a beautiful, mountainous terrain with significant snow in winter -- great for downhill and XC skiing though!! The Subaru Outback is a perfect choice for this environment, both summer and winter. It has 8.7 inches of ground clearance which is important when on gravel, mountain "off roads" here and, of course, in general. It is, bar FAR, the most functional, as well, of this type of SUV vehicle. The cross-bars on the roof can be positioned to accept ski racks by simply pressing two buttons, a 30-40 second operation and then installation of the ski rack is simple and quick. The rear seating is very ample, no crowding and the seat fold-down/rear storage are superb -- both in amount of space and in ease of the split-seat folding options. If not using the ski rack on the roof, you can easily put them in the back with the seat(s) folded down. The navigation/sun-roof, etc., is very functional and a nice to have on the 3.6R Limited.

We previously had a 2013 Subaru Outback 3.6R (6 cylinder, same engine as in the 2019 but with a 5-speed automatic transmission, not the current CVT transmissions) and it was totaled when we hit a 170 pound-deer directly broadside at 60 MPH with no time to brake. The car saved us and there were NO injuries. Keep in mind that the Subaru is the best or one of the best in crash safety and its retained value is one of the best of all cars. We definitely saw that in the insurance settlement on our 6-year old 3.6R!

My ratings on the performance are a "9" simply because, while it is not a sports car, its performance in our environment here is a perfect match. It is not the same performance that I expect out of my high HP, modified Audi TT with a 6-speed manual, of course. But those two vehicles are obviously built to serve VERY different purposes!!

KEY POINT NUMBER ONE -- ON THE ALL-WHEEL-DRIVE SYSTEM (AWD) IN THE SUBARU --THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT!!!: The Subaru symmetrical AWD is superior to almost ALL the other AWD systems except for CERTAIN Audi/Jeep/Land Rover/some other vehicles. Subaru has multiple AWD systems. The one in the Outback has two types. The one in the 4-cylinder (the 2.5i) has a center differential that is viscous coupled, meaning that its response time to slippery road conditions (e.g.) takes time for the fluid in the center differential, when receiving the road information, to move around to activate properly. This, basically, makes this system is "reactive" not "proactive or predictive" in avoiding road condition problems -- i.e., the 4 cylinder operates after the fact somewhat. Subaru has additional systems to make this better in the 2.5i, but not to the level that exists in the 3.6R. In the 3.6R, the center differential is more of a mechanical type (somewhat similar to the Torsen center differential in some Audi vehicles, e.g.) and is much more "predictive" of road conditions, hence a bit more safe. Where I live in North Idaho, this is very important. PLEASE NOTE THAT EVEN THE 2.5I OUTBACK (OR THE SUBARU FORESTER) IS FAR, FAR BETTER AWD SYSTEM THAN THE HONDA CRV OR THE TOYOTA RAV4 -- SEE THE CONSUMER REPORT YOUTUBE TEST!! The Honda and Toyota are basically "jerry-rigged" front-wheel drive systems converted to AWD. Hence, not very effective compared to the Subaru systems.

KEY POINT NUMBER TWO: The Continuously Variable Transmission (CVT) on the 4-cylinder Outback (2.5i) is not anywhere as robust as the CVT on the 3.6R. I had two weeks with a 2.5i 4-cylinder 2019 Outback as a loaner while my 3.6R 6-cylinder was ordered and drove 400 miles with it at least plus in the mountains. It works OK, but is nowhere the same heavy duty, smoothness, functionality as the heavy duty CVT in the 3.6R. It is hard to describe the BIG difference between the two CVTs! Yes, the 2.5 CVT drove without problems, but not anywhere near the smoothness, no grating noise as the 3.6R.

That being said, the build quality on both the 2.5i and 3.6R is excellent!

Hope this information and my experience/feedback is of some value to you!

Pros
Outback 3.6 Limitedi: Smoothness, AWD system, build quality, interior/exterior, functionality and practicality, rear seat room, storage/top rack functionality.

Cons
If the 3.6R, none for the type of vehicle/purpose that it is targeted to.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
JEFFREY A.
2019 Subaru Outback
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/24/2019
Outback
This our third one. They just keep getting better!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JOEL K.
2019 Subaru Outback
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/16/2019
Wonderful
We’re still getting to know our new Outback, but the new features that we have gotten familiar with are great. Looking forward to exploring more of the features of our new car.

Pros
Safety, eyesight, starlink

Cons
Wish there were more color exterior & interior choices.
The windshield slant seems to attract “dings”.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DALE S.
2019 Subaru Outback
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2018
Have been buying "Outbacks" since they first becam available. I get a new one ever few years.
In addition to all the info. I entered prior to this page I want to say that you folks are VERY LUCKY to have a salesman like Mike Brown. He knows his cars and his customers.
I couldn't believe it when I called him this time and hadn't spoken to him since we bought our last Outback in 2013, and he remembered my name? WOW!

Pros
EVERYTHING -- (now all I have to do is learn how to work it all!)

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MARIE S.
2019 Subaru Outback
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
Subaru Outback 2019
I absolutely love this car. I thought my other two outback’s were nice but the new 2019 is amazing.

Pros
Love all the new features in the 2019 Outbacks

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MARIE S.
2019 Subaru Outback
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2018
Subaru Outback 2019
Love all the new upgrades on this model.

Pros
Everything is great on this car.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 7 reviews