2005
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79
4.8
(168 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DW
David W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2018
Tough Little Tucson
I purchased my Tucson, new, in 2005. As I recall, I was not sure if I had made the right choice. Some of the performance features did not compare well with the 1997 Cougar that I traded in : Smooth ride and quietness.
HOWEVER, after 13 years and 218000 miles of hard work. My tough little Tucson has proved to be reliable... The best vehicle I've owned.

Pros
Reliable,

Cons
Not so easy to work on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Diane C.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2018
my vehicle is 13 yrs old and still rides like a charm
this was the first recall ever nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Steven C.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/01/2018
2005 Tucson
I have had this car for 13 years. But because of the service I will be looking else where for a new cari I am presently in the market for a new car. Need to find a reliable dealership as far as service goes

Pros
Easy handling and reliable 2005 and very reliable

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Christine S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2018
My Hyundai
I love my Hyundai. It has been the best vehicle I have had so far. Thank you!! If I have friends or family for new car suggestion, I would tell them about Hyundai tucson. My mom wishes she had my SUV. So does my daughter.

Pros
Drives well.
Couldn't ask for a better vehicle

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Pamela W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2018
Road warrior
I love my Hyundai Tucson! Last spring I was rear-ended hard by a lady who was texting at the time. She completely totalled her whole front end! Unfortunately, she did not have insurance :/ but the only damage to my rear end were some scratches and one of the tail lights and my trailer hitch were pushed in. In the winter this thing pushes through snow. We had a couple of really bad road days where there,was 8-14 inches of snow. My Hyundai had no problem getting through It! I love my Hyundai!

Pros
4 wheel drive, sun and moon roof.

Cons
It is a little loud in the interior from outside noise. My only wish is that it would be quiter in the interior cabin.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Carole F.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2018
2005 Tucson
We love this car! It has been very dependable and after 13 years continues to serve us well It’s the second Hyundai we owned and have since bought another Tucson because we find them to be such a great car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Debbie R.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/29/2018
Love my Hyudai
I purchased my Hyundai Tuscan 2005 brand new, I still only have 74,000 miles on it, the best car I have ever owned. Would definitely buy another one. Reliable, comfortable, built to last....you will not be sorry with this car...

Pros
Tons of Pros, comfort, reliability, good on gas, nice looking.

Cons
cannot think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZD
Zandra D.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/29/2018
Suv
The 05 suv is a good truck and runs well but I won’t be buying the new model because there are too small and I don’t like the body style therefore I will be looking some place else also this is my second automobile from your company so until the style change I must leave.

Pros
It’s runs well

Cons
Don’t like the new Models so that is the only reason I wouldn’t buy another Hyundai SUV the new models are too small and they’re not appealing to me

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Debra F.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2018
I love my Hunny-San!
It's a good little car, gets me about anywhere, and has been very reliable. The extra bit of height and tinted windows make night driving more comfortable as I am less blinded by bright headlights. The 4WD is handy at times.

Pros
Reliable, Fun, Cargo Space is helpful, Not as expensive as buying a pickup truck.

Cons
Low gas mileage. (Currently about 18, mostly city driving.)
If the seatbelts get caught in the seat when you put it down, it can break the housing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FK
F K.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2018
Good used Tucson
This 05 Tucson is one of the best used cars I have ever bought, have been driving it since 2010and it is still providing me with good service as our secondary vehicle, I did have timming belt and spark plugs replaced at around 100,0000 mile still running strong

Pros
good dependable suv

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Linda C.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2018
Anonymous
A great SUV, reliable, resilient, good on gas, good on road, comfortable,first owned SUV, minimal recalls, great warranties, grest customer sevice, Hyundai is an enjoyable ride, look forward in checking out a car.

Pros
Stood the test of time (2005), still riding

Cons
Did not come in purple

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Carolyn K.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2018
Nice SUV
Have had our Tucson brand new since 2005 and it has given us excellent service. have maintain the Tucson according to the dealers maintenance noand it has given us no real problems.. It is a great car in the snow. Excellent heating & Air conditions.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
Norris M.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
2005 Tucson LX
This model of Hyundai Tucson was so much in demand when I wanted it that I had to wait a month to get it. The wait was well worthwhile in every way: stylistically, mechanically, aesthetically. Still looking good in Mesa Red and mechanically sound thirteen years later.

Pros
Wonderful all around.

Cons
No power front seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dann M.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/26/2018
Still Going Strong
Our 2005 Tuscon is still going strong. Bought is new in 2005. Now with 180K miles. When Hyundai offers a hybrid Tuscon, it will be time to buy new again. Thank you to the folks that build these vehicles.

Pros
There isn't (yet) any newer vehicle that can offer the mileage and space and build quality to temp me to consider selling this Tucson. Is that value? I think so. Thanks Hyundai.

Cons
Really, 'haven't found any. How about that!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Donna D.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2018
2005 Tucson Review
I love my Tucson I have had it for 13 years and it has provided me with a reliable and comfortable ride for all these years and over 140,000 miles. I also love the design and size of my model and wish that the new Tucson looked more similar to mine.

Pros
Length of time I have owned the car and it’s overall performance over the years owned and the over 140,000 miles I have driven it.

Cons
I wish it had today’s technology like hands free phone but that advantage like this and some other features I would like didn’t exist when I bought the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2018
DEPENDABLE VEHICLE!
WE BOUGHT OUR TUCSON. IN '05. IT HAS BEEN A REAL WORKHORSE AND ALWAYS RELIABLE. WILL HATE TO REPLACE IT, WHEN THE TIME COMES. CAN'T IMAGINE NOT CHOOSING ANOTHER HYUNDAI A REAL WINNER! THANK YOU, HUNDAI - THE ROADS TRAVELED HAVE BEEN GREAT AND MANY!

Pros
DEPENDABLE, NOT A GAS-HOG, EXCELLENT SERVICING

Cons
POOR CAR IS GETTING OLDER (LIKE ALL OF US!), AND WILL HAVE TO REPLACE IT! HOPE WE ENJOY UPDATED FEATURES!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Edwards R.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/21/2018
Tucson review
Very sturdy vehicle but exhibits weakness in the links.
Vehicle could be a bit more spacious in the rear seat.
Needs better audio system.
Weakness in the driver door elbow rest.
Astray could be designed differently; too close to the gear shift.

Pros
Very reliable.
Feels firm once the suspension is in order.

Cons
Weakness in the suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Arthur F.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/19/2018
Love my Hyunday
We love it so much that we also bought another one, 2016 which we love even more with all the latest Electronics. And we trust it to our great Service Advisor, Martin Aragon! Our future new car will also be a Hyunday!

Pros
Reliable, still running like NEW!

Cons
Could use even better milage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MINDY S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2018
Love my Tucson
I have had my Tucson for 10 years. I love it. It has served me well. It is comfortable to drive. I feel safe in it. I have had very little problems with this car, though I do drive very little. I love it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BO
Betsy O.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/31/2018
I love my car
I purchased my Tuscon brand new in 2005. I have done all the scheduled maintenance at Fucillo Hyundai exclusively. The car has been the most dependable one I have ever owned. I have over 123,000 miles on it, and it runs just like it did when I first bought it. The cloth seats were treated with Scotchguard. Even to this day, if my grandkids spill or get dirty boots on my seats, the fabric easily cleans and looks like new.

A couple features I really enjoy is the height of the car and the amount of space in the rear. I am up high enough to see clearly while driving, but not so high that I have to climb into the drivers seat. The back seats told completely down flat to extend the space in the rear and accommodate large objects of many small items. For a long, narrow object like wood planks of poles, you can told down just 1 seat and will have 3 people in the car. The back cargo area is the perfect height for groceries. No bending over like you have to do with a car trunk.
In wintry driving conditions, the 4-wheel drive has been an excellent feature that I would not do without. It is a must have.

Pros
Everything I said in my comments

Cons
Because of its age, there is no backup camera. I would really like one.
The radio that came with the car is OK, but nicer sounding stereo would be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 168 in total