2006
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5rating 4.69
4.7
(148 Reviews)
Latest review about 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


AC
Arturo C.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/14/2015
Terrible cars
I hate Hyundai.

Pros
Absolutely nothing

Cons
Everything. I keep getting emails for a car I don't even have for a guy I don't even know in a city I don't even live in. I call and call and call and call to get my info off the database and I'm still getting emails. I will for sure be getting my lawyer involved.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Kil D.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/30/2016
Never again
replace radio twice due to a short. battery replaced six times. Air Bag light stays lit. Fixed it and faults out, gave up on trying to find a fix. Would not recommend a Hyundai vehicle if it was the last vehicle on earth.

Cons
Recurring electrical problems.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AN
Adam N.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/10/2017
Used vehicle I wish I never purchased ....
Vehicle was not purchased from Rick Case. This vehicle has plagued with every problem you can imagine, engine issues, transmission issues, belt issues, problem after problem after problem. I am paying more per year to maintain the vehicle than the car payments. If I wasn't upside down on the value I would gladly trade this vehicle for a rusted bicycle.

Pros
Reasonably fun to drive
Decent cargo space
Plenty of room for passengers

Cons
Very poor MPG for a V6
Even though car has been well maintained it constantly is having issues
Would not recommend even to someone I didn't like
Repair cost in the last year has exceeded $4000
The rating for reliability should be negative ... 1 is to high of a rating

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Luann B.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/14/2016
Car was misused before i got it
Will not keep it for very long time
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Jeff P.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/03/2016
Low miles but 10 years old.
Too many repairs although next owner has most everything fixed.

Pros
Nice small SUV.

Cons
Under powered. 140 Up, 4 speed auto old school.
Had a bunch of repairs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Paula B.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/25/2016
Ms. Paula bucknor
I loved my hundai but it's not fun to drive in rain because the brakes lock from the first time I bought it to current....
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Cynthia T.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/06/2016
inexpensive to maintain
inexpensive to maintain

Pros
inexpensive to maintain

Cons
bulky and stiff

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OP
Olivia P.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/24/2017
2006 Tuscon
Its a good car, reliable, but super expensive to fix, and mpg is super low, so I have to spend a lot of money on gas.

Pros
Good car, fun to drive, great in the snow amd bad weather.

Cons
Very expensive to have serviced. Lots of things that go wrong in a short amount of time for 86,350 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
HANS D.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/17/2018
Good Condition
Still like the Little SUV. Getting old but still purring. No comparison with the later models,which have more room and stretched out and a much better engine .
My neigbuor bought 1 and is very happy with performance and interior.

Pros
Not as nice as the 2018 Models Trade in time?

Cons
suspension a little stiff.(truck feeling)
parts breaking down after 53K

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Simone S.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/16/2018
I am done.
I've had this vehicle for almost ten years now. AC has broken twice. I was given two options to keep chasing the less expensive parts or replace the whole AC system. I will not purchase another one.

Pros
This would be a great starter SUV. I had a Rodeo previously. I purchased the Tucson after a car accident.

Cons
AC unit is not up to par. Not enough leg room for any one 6ft and above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OP
Olivia P.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/26/2018
2006 Hyundai Tucson, SUV
Great car, just struggling financially to keep up with the cost to maintain it, seems to be falling apart quicker then I would like it too. If Inhad a hire paying job it would be a much better gig....

Pros
Great car fun to drive

Cons
Expensive repairs, lots of rust and corrosion. But if you have the income for it, then you should be fine. Keep in mind I do have a 2006 with 93,000 miles so it is getting up there, just aging quicker then I can financially keep up with and do not have the income for a new car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OP
Olivia P.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/29/2015
2006 Hyundai Tucson.
Overall great ca to drive.

Pros
Great car and reliable. Looks nice, easy to drive.
Fuel efficient.

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Charles K.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/09/2016
Nice car until engine gone @83,500
no comment

Pros
Looks good, drives good, 4 wheel drive wonderful, comfortable car to drive, CD & Tape player, gas mileage ok for 6 cylinder

Cons
Engine went at 83,500

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WU
William U.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2016
Tucson has been good to us
We bought our '06 Tucson used in 2011 with about 60,000 miles. It has been a reliable car and the optional 4 wheel drive has been great in the winter. In the 5 years that we have owned it we have driven about 25,000 miles. Other than routine oil changes we've only had to replace an accessory belt that squealed, front and rear brakes and rotors, tires, battery and a flex pipe. We like the size and handling of the Tucson and the manual transmission. It is pretty good on gas mileage, especially on highway.

Pros
Nice size, good handling, optional 4 wheel drive, reliable, pretty good gas mileage

Cons
Some scratches on windshield, clouding of headlight plastic, part of recall, but that was fixed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Paul S.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/23/2016
Servicing
After servicing, car worked like a charm

Pros
Very reliable, easy to drive and drives very well

Cons
Leather (quote and unquote) of the door is very bad quality and torn

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JOHN D.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/24/2017
Review Hyundai 2006 Tucson
I gave a 4-star rating only because of the timing belt. It has to be changed out every 60,000 miles. Also, all spark plugs cannot be changed until the timing belt is changed. You cannot see the timing belt or the spark plugs, because they are hidden under a cover and basically, the engine has to be taken apart to do the work. This is a an expensive job ($1,500). Otherwise, I love this vehicle, which now has $121,600 miles on it I found it to be very reliable and I plan to keep it for a while
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
Tracy L.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/12/2017
Tuscon
I have been driving my Tucson for over 11 years and have almost 200,000 miles. Still love it. Handles great and reliable in rain, snow and cold

Pros
Handles well in all weather

Cons
Could be a little larger, but mine is 11 years old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WP
WILLIAM P.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/31/2017
What I Paid For
After 100,000 miles reliable, reasonable repairs, minimal recalls, and the workhorse for camping, projects and travel I wanted. Mileage is not as good as I would like, but reasonable with my driving and typical loads. I intend to keep this car (2006 year).

Cons
Really wish the 4th tie down hook was in the frame. Tying things to roof rack with 3 of 4 is a challenge.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gloria S.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/13/2017
Economical
I purchased my 2006 Hyundai Tucson used in 2007. Since that time I have only done normal repairs to my vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sandra B.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/22/2017
No Trouble in 11 yeears.
72,000 trouble free miles. Great for dogs and gardening supplies.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 148 in total