2011
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5rating 4.72
4.7
(300 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CS
CLAUDIA S.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
04/20/2015
Car
I love my Hyundai Tuscon! It is a very comfortable car to drive & is quiet. I love the color!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
Richard N.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/27/2016
tucson, 2011
Worst riding vehicle I have ever owned, should have went for Sante Fe. Does terrible in snow. Transmission went out at 15,000 miles, but Hyundai covered it.

Pros
Bluetooth, radio.

Cons
Must turn lights on and off, hard ride, low mileage per gallon, does not do well in snow, low quality paint.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Alana S.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/09/2018
Basic
aspects of this vehicle are not what I see as favorable features such as hard to find ignition in the dark since there is no light around key hole/don't like that doors unlock when car is put in park

Pros
Roomy

Cons
Minimal features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Rodney H.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/06/2015
2011 a/c compressor failure
I do not think an a/c compressor should have failed at 63,000 miles. I am driving an 06 dodge ram 2500 and the a/c works great. The jeep we traded in on the tucson had 125,000 miles a/c worked fine. I will have to think very hard before I buy another foreign vehicle.

Pros
Nice car fun to drive.

Cons
Some components are not reliable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GAREY S.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/10/2015
BRAKING AND ACCELERATION PROBLEM
IF IT WASN'T FOR THIS PROBLEM IT WOULD BE A FAIR VEHICLE, VERY EASY FOR HER TO GET IN AND OUT FOR MY WIFE SINCE SHE IS SOME WHAT DISABLED. THE MANUFACTURER NEEDS TO BE ADVISED RE THIS PROBLEM SINCE IT COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT, AND WHO PAYS THE COST OF THIS ??

Pros
EASY FOR MY DISSABLED WIFE TO ENTER & EXIT.

Cons
VERY ROAD NOISY, GAS MILEAGE VERY POOR, FRONT VISSABILITY POOR DUE TO FRONT WINDOW POSTS OBSTRUCTING VIEW TO LEFT & RIGHT.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Edward R.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/13/2016
Overall Satisfaction with Tucson
For the money, it is a reliable, good car. There are some negatives as well. For my needs, the size is perfect. Pickup, acceleration is good. Comfort is good but not great. After 5 years, quality and performance appears to be satisfactory. Blue Tooth is excellent. Mechanical reliability is also very good. Interior has a lot to be desired. The black leatherette (or whatever it is called now) has its black coloring coming off on clothing when perspiring. When I spoke to a salesman about it, this "jerk" said that maybe there is something in my sweat that causes this and then laughed. This occurred after year 1. Also about the same time, the leatherette on the steering wheel started to peel off. Poor quality leatherette had to be used but Hyundai refuses to admit and recognize this problem. Also, driving during day light creates it to be impossible to read the interior readings: clock, radio dial, etc. These negatives are annoying and detracts from resale value, but is secondary to the reliability of the mechanics. It is a reliable car. I hesitate to say "YES" that I would buy this car again because the price has sky rocketed to the point that there may be better value with another manufacturer.

Pros
See vehicle review above.

Cons
See vehicle review above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lisa M.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/06/2016
Does the job for it class
Car is good for the class, has a lot of bells and whistles. Suspention is a little scary, wish they put more money there. You can feel almost ever bump in the road.

Pros
Looks cute, good on gas, nice technology features, xm radio, alarm, bluetooth, decent radio.reliable.

Cons
Suspension not solid, makes car feel unsafe whe making minor turns. Make you spend $40.00 for a rear window wiper. Pick up on highway, dangerously slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
Terri L.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/26/2016
Love the look
This vehicle has an average ride. Seating comfort is average. Very low maintenance vehicle. Would not buy another though.

Pros
Lots of room in backseat and hatch area. Great style.

Cons
Not real good traction in slippery condition.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LV
Linda V.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/18/2017
Nice With Few Quirks
Purchased this vehicle September, 2010 new only 40 miles. Overall I have been pleased with this vehicle with a few exceptions (nothing is perfect).

Pros
Lightweight SUV

Cons
Can't crack window when raining because it comes straight down in car, no window shade made to fit this vehicle. I checked with the manufacturer. Also I have 111,243 miles on vehicle and gear shift is starting to malfunction. Don't think this should be happening yet. Front seat headrest is very uncomfortable!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lisa M.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/25/2017
2011
Design is nice to look at and the car is dependable. Ride is not smooth and suspension feels very loose on turns. Overall get you where you need to go, but I do not feel safe.

Pros
Looks cute, bells and whistles

Cons
Seats are not comfortable and poor suspension make you feel unsafe.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Mary T.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/09/2018
Complete transmission replaced then a new problem with the temp. sensor in the transmission developed; vehicle is very light and a hazard on wet/snowy roads
I won't buy another Hyundai. In addition to the transmission problems, the vehicle is very light and it came equipped with tires that had poor traction. Better tires and putting the car in neutral when stopping have made wet/snowy roads less of a hazard. The column on the front passenger side between the front and back door is very thick and blocks the driver's view when at an intersection of roads that are not perfect right angles. The front headrests cause an unnatural forward and downward position of my head and are only height adjustable. I have raised it above my head to remedy this problem, but it will not provide support in an accident. The front floor mat anchors do not work so the mats are constantly out of position and a potential hazard for the driver. These may be relatively minor issues but are presented every time I drive the vehicle, which is on a daily basis. They serve as constant reminders of why I will never buy another Hyundai and what to look for in my next vehicle.

Pros
Relatively good gas mileage.

Cons
Transmission problems; too light for wet/snowy roads; head rest position and floor mat anchors are troublesome.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Phyllis B.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/03/2018
it's a great truck on the street and the highway, I wish i could afford the new year model, but this car give great service. Will keep it unitl it fall apart
The is has all the bell and whistle, but when driving the road you can hear all the bump on the street and hear the brake breaking and it not sound proof. I was driven in and GMC terrain I heard NO noise outside the different

Pros
there is nothing

Cons
THERE IS NOTHING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Marian R.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/05/2019
Hyndai Tucson
Car tire lights have been on for months. Taken to dealership number of times and car has not been repaired. Very costly for recurring issue that has remained unresolved. Makes it a hazardous drive. Will not recommend this car. Costly for a “economy” classified vehicle.

Cons
Engine, air filter lights on and difficulty to reprogram

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SABRINA R.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/05/2015
Great Smaller SUV
Great little car for all my needs. May be a little small once we need a car seat but it's a great car. Lots of room in the back for my dog. Good gas mileage. No problems except some recall work in the beginning. It's now in the shop getting a new transmission (under warranty) due to a leaking hose and losing transmission fluid at 62,000 miles. Hoping it works out good because it's a great car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Robert K.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/28/2015
Awesome Vehicle
The Hyundai Tucson is a great vehicle and the only big expense was a new set of tires at 43,000 miles. The rear backup screen is difficult to see in bright sunlight and I would like a outside temperature gauge. I will definitely upgrade to AWD in a few years when we trade. Overall Hyundai is the greatest investment for your dollar.

Pros
Great Ride

Cons
Gas Mileage Could be better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Antonina M.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/11/2015
Love this car
The Hyundai Tucson is a fantastic little car that looks the same now as when I bought it in the summer of 2010.

Pros
Great gas mileage!
Comfortable for both the driver and passengers!
Still looks new.
No "ping" marks from high speed driving. Great paint!

Cons
Side view mirrors along with the frame of the car makes it difficult to see oncoming cars. But once you know this is a problem, you learn to lean forward to check both directions. With my next car, I will definitely check this out before buying. Also, at certain times of the day, the GPS cannot be seen due to its angle. Maybe if it were set in deeper or more upright rather than laid back would make a difference.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Carol S.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/31/2015
2011 tuscon
Overall a pretty good car. Would recommend it to others.

Pros
Very comfortable seating in front and rear with good access for rear passengers. Has ample cargo space. Has been reliable. Handles pretty good with a light touch. Excellent handling in snow and rain. Driver controls are easily accessible. Window defrost system very good. Stereo system just right for the size of car. Overall gas mileage is 30 MPG, 80% highway.

Cons
Have had to replace ignition twice in 3 years. Had to replace front and rear brakes with less than 25,000 miles and mainly highway driving. Had to have alignment in less than a year of service, roughly 7500 miles. Wind noise is terrible despite having maintenance on doors and windows. Door squeals when opening despite lube on doors. Road noise is bad. Blind spots in area surrounding windshield. Seems not to weigh as much as previous models which sacrifices secure feeling when on curves and probably contributed to road noise. Rear wiper waste of time as blades split within 6 months, repeatedly. Too much has been taken away from previous models resulting in loss of quality for the sake of increased MPG.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
KIP K.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/03/2015
2011 Hyundai Tucson
We had the manual transmission go out with 79,000 miles. We bought the car with 75,000 miles on it. A manual transmission go out ? I have never heard of a thing like that. Yes, the clutch plate and the throw out bearing or clutch itself but not on a manual transmission. Thank goodness that we bought the extended warranty because where we bought the car was not going to fix it. Nice car, but you are taking a chance.

Pros
Good looking car. Exterior looks modern.

Cons
Came with a 2.0 liter engine, way underpowered. Transmission went out at 79,000 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
KIM R.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/05/2016
2011 Hyundai Tuscon
Great little auto! i love it's comfort, style, size, amenities (gps, satalite radio, cleanable interior), as i use it every day as my 'barn' car! lots of storage in the back and even more if i put down the back seats. i hope it lasts a very long time.
that said, the back bumper panels have come undone and have needed reinforcing and the front side windshield has a terrible blind spot with the body's frame and the air vents cannot be directed as desired. bit this car is so comfortable and fun to drive, minor disadvantages! i do wish it was less expensive. i bought mine pre-owned and got a little carried away, paying more than it's blue-book value. a lot more! my bad totally.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Sharon W.
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/18/2016
Hyunda Tuscan 2011
Great crossover SUV. Good milage, comfortable, spacious interior and trunk. I have owned the car for over 5 years with no major issues.

Pros
Awesome milage, roomy,trunk space

Cons
Interior is bit noisy especially on the highway

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 300 in total