2012
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7
4.7
(559 Reviews)
Latest review almost 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CM
Charlotte M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/15/2017
Continual out of the ordinary issues
I purchased my car in January 2012. Since that time I have had the following issues::2015: could not get the car to pass inspection. Car was at dealer for a week before it passed. No documentation was made by dealer regarding what the issue was 2016: had new air conditioner compressor installed; had new computer installed as they could once again not get it to pass inspection. It would appear to me since the car is only in its 5th year these are unusual repairs
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Terri H.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/11/2018
Poor quality. Even worse warranty on used.
Computer is failing. Navigation system is failing. Heat control doesn’t work with remote start. Transmission feels like it slips. Fairfield Chevrolet in Lewisburg PA won’t back bumper to bumper warranty.

Pros
I thought it was a nice car when I bought it. Nice size and features.

Cons
The quality sucks. I have 6 more years to pay and the dam thing is falling apart after 8 months of having it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Christie W.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/23/2019
Heater is terrible in this 2018 Hyundai Tucson
I am very disappointed in my heater in this car. I had a 2012 and loved it so much I gave it to my daughter and bought another one but unfortunately the heater is terrible. I would not advise anyone to purchase one until this problem has been checked.

Cons
Heater is terrible

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SO
Susan O.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/20/2019
2012 Hyundai Tuscon
Issues in the above review. My concern is NOT with the service/technicians, but with overall issues with the vehicle - my last vehicle was a Honda CRV and had ABSOLUTELY no problems with it - just normal maintenance

Pros
Love the looks! Comfortable/handles well. Very sharp

Cons
All kinds of electrical problems - navigation system- backup camera- inhibitor switch- remote. I have been "stranded" several times!! Very embarrassing! Shouldn't be happening with newer vehicle, and same problems keep happening, even after replacement!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Mindy E.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/07/2019
Hyundai Tucson
I will NEVER buy a Tucson again. I purchased this vehicle because I needed a car and this was all I could get at the time (options were limited). Ever since I bought it I have had nothing but problems with it!

Pros
Moon roof

Cons
Recalls that take months to get remedy for. To many issues to list.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KA
KATHY A.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/21/2019
Loved it, but very disappointed now.
I bought my Hyundai when it had 29,000 miles on it, as of the other day it had 129,000 miles on it when the engine just quit. There was no warning of any kind, just noise as I was driving to work. I have done all the maintenance that this vehicle required, it was 300 miles short of needing an oil change. I have come to find out that there are a number of others who had a 2012 Hyundai Tucson Limited, who experienced the same issue. Engine failure, no warning of any kind, all had done the maintenance on their vehicle. I had planned on trading my car in for another Hyundai, but I feel that Hyundai knew of this issue from all the complaints and did nothing to rectify it. As of now I'm out of a car and the money I still owed on it. Very disappointed in Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NP
Nicole P.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/25/2016
Tucson 2012
2012 Tucson blk fully loaded.

Pros
Body style is for a 2012 is still good.

Cons
Performance and pick up lags. Air conditioning sucks due to small engines and being Eco.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WP
William P.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/04/2017
Power
Very under powered no pep

Pros
Cheep to run

Cons
Gas mileage not as advertised

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Betty A.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/29/2018
This One's a Lemon
Between my husband and myself, we have bought/leased 5 new/used Hyundais. I am sold on Hyundai's durability, comfort, and appearance. But this Tucson is becoming a black hole sucking up my money. Things are going wrong that are not covered by the $3,000 worth of protections I purchased. I don't think this used Tucson was prepped and checked out properly before they sold it to me. I could have bought a newer vehicle with fewer miles on it and still under factory warranty for what I ended up paying for this 2012 Tucson, if the salesman had had my best interests at heart.

Pros
Not many

Cons
I shouldn't have had to finance over $15,000 on a four-year-old, entry-level model Tucson with 70,000 miles on it. The salesman should have steered me to a newer vehicle with fewer miles, instead of pushing me into spending $3,000 on added protection packages which so far have not helped me in the least. And when I had a dead battery of few months ago and called Roadside Assistance, I was told that Roadside Assistance was not available for vehicles with over 70,000 miles! The salesman never told me that! So I was standing outside in the dark, with a dead car, and no one to help me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/29/2018
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

SS
Susan S.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/03/2018
2012 Plagued with electrical issues
When I entertained the purchase of The 2012 Tucson. I read reviews from owners warning about its window and door lock electrical issues. I decided to chance it Because of the deal I was offered and I purchased the additional extended warranty. I'm glad I did. Since the 3 years I've owned it the locks and windows have spontaneously stopped working aprx.12 occasions. They stop working then work again after a period of 20mins to sometimes 12hours. The dealership was not able to diagnose problem unless the car was in the shop while the electrical issue was occurring. That never happened. This last issue involved the shifter and radio. Finally it lasted long enough to get the car in the shop. A relay was replaced in the fuse panel. Hopefully this is related to the windows and locks too. All is working now for the time being. Many days and nights worried about vandalism with window stuck in the down position. Thankfully I had the extended warranty.

Pros
Good value

Cons
2012 not a reliable choice

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/04/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

TS
Tiffany S.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/09/2018
Hyundai Quality
I love Hyundai's and have always been happy with them. This one is letting me down. I have had it in the shop numerous times for repairs. The parts aren't the usual quality. I had to repair my sun roof and I seldom use it (a handful of times). Overall, I will buy another Hyundai, I might wait and not buy the new model until it's been out and people have commented on it before purchasing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/10/2018
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

RC
Roc C.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/08/2016
Hyundai Long Term
Overall this vehicle has serviced me well. Quality build, never has warranty work done. However, mechanically, there are to major flaws. Brakes are grabby and the power steering is really bad. There is no one hand driving. It's a constant corrective movement. Long distant driving is exhausting.

Pros
High quality, reliability and nice to look at.

Cons
Bad breaks and power steering.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Loraine M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/25/2016
classy and peppy
Really nice accessories. Good on acceleration and speed. A look even your teenagers will love. Back seat Air and Heat are nonexistent.

Pros
good speed going from 0-60. Nicely styled and sporty exterior,

Cons
Poor heat and air conditioning for rear passengers. A bit pricey for the car being a hyundai. Needs more storage compartments.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Lourine P.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/31/2016
Tuscon
It's a great compact SUV but the gas mileage is not that great and I can feel every bump and stone in the road regardless of having new tires. It has all the basic and luxury needs such as heated seating and bluetooth. Sound system is not all that great. I wouldn't trade it since it's been reliable through stormy weather!

Pros
Meets more than basic needs in a vehicle as far as Bluetooth and heated seats

Cons
Black leather is not good for Florida summer weather and suspension can be of better quality as well as MPG.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Antonia B.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/15/2016
Basic but very roomy
Very roomy but ride is rough. No outside temperature gage. But very roomy trunk. Not great on gas. Sveraging 19 mpg local driving. Just fine for my needs.

Pros
Great roomy trunk

Cons
Rough ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Leonard S.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/25/2016
Not the best
To much road noise.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marsha C.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/10/2017
A Bit Disappointed
I'm a bit disappointed in the Tuscon. I purchased the 2012 new. My main dislike is the placement of the air bags in the side posts of the windshield. The location of such and placement of the side mirrors makes it very difficult and unsafe to see when changing lanes or making turns.

Pros
Gas mileage is somewhat decent. Cargo space is pretty good. General seating space is good.

Cons
Windshield fogs and wipers freeze pretty easily. I have to run with windshield defrost constantly on in cold snowy weather and have to stop and knock ice off the wiper's, especially on the drivers side. I replace wipers more often than usual to help with icing problem. The windshield posts where the air bags are greatly diminishes and blocks my vision making it very difficult to make safe turns. Need more air conditioning vents in the rear seat portion. Also would be NICE to have some type of microphone in that portion as carrying on a conversation is impossible. Interior is a little too minimal in quality.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Beverly A.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/03/2017
Ok car
Vehicle serves its purpose. Nothing special. Good buy for the money.

Pros
Adequate

Cons
Nothing special.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Margaret K.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/06/2017
MPG a dissapointment
One of the attractions when I bought this car was the advertised 30 mpg - even the mileage reimbursement doesn't make up for the average 19-20 it gets!

Pros
Easy for me to enter and exit. Lots of storage space in the rear.

Cons
Corner and rear vision obstructed by the way the car is constructed. Poor gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Carol K.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/30/2017
Love the Body Style
I love the look and the style of my car.
The power windows have not held up, and the service from another dealership was not very good.
I was in a position where I was traveling a lot and I needed to be close to the service area where I lived, so that my family could take and pick up the car.

Pros
Body style is great

Cons
Power windows don't hold up
No key entry in rear door.
Center console is not functional
front mirror; garage door function never worked.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 559 in total