2012
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5rating 4.69
4.7
(531 Reviews)
Latest review 9 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

OH
Oletha H.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Love my Hyundai Tucson
I just love my Hyundai Tucson. It drive so smoothly. I’ve not had any problems with it since I purchased it new at Joseph Hyundai in Vandalia Ohio. The staff is extremely courteous. You will not be sorry with the purchase. I’ve received several compliments as well as question regarding the vehicle. I highly recommend the purchase as well as Joseph Hyundai in Vandalia Ohio.

Pros
The 100,000 mileage warranty, how it drive overall, and size.

Cons
None, no complaints. I’ve not experienced any problems with my vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FP
Frank P.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/07/2019
have had it almost 8 years
I have owned it for almost 8 years and 114,000 reliablemiles except for: 2 sets of tires, 1st at 80,000 2nd set at 104,000. front and rear brakes, Front at 80,000 rear at 114,000. Air conditioner Compressor at 7 years of age, serpentine belt at 100,000 and routine oil changes.

Pros
Reliable.

Cons
Hard ride over small road defects and pot holes.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Linda T.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2019
I would buy this car again
Very dependable vehicle, very comfortable, and a very good car to own. I’m very happy with the performance, and it is a very attractive car. Like the leather heated seats and also the lumbar ability. Have not had any major issues with it either. The sales person who sold me the car was very nice and knowledgeable, as I’m sure all the sales people are the same. I used to own chevys but had slot of problems with them, so I ha bought a used Santa Fe and I loved it. So when I was ready to buy a new car and I was determined to stay with Hyundai, but this time I bought a Tucson and very happy that I did

Pros
No pro’s

Cons
All con’s

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
Heather D.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/02/2019
Quality not what it used to be
This is my 3rd Hyundai I’ve owned. I had great experiences with my previous cars. Seems that this car has had a lot of little electrical thinks that have broken which add up to expensive repairs. My car just hit 60,000 miles and I have spent over $2000 fixing two broken window mechanics and now have a lock that is not working. Also in my previous cars I got long life out of the factory tires and brakes that came with my new cars. I had to replace both on this car much much sooner. Sad to see this decline cause I’ve been loyal to this brand.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
Brian R.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/30/2019
Great handling but no power
This car handles like a dream. You want it to go somewhere and it will go, it just won't get there in a hurry.
Smooth ride, just don't expect to pull out quickly into traffic.
Some of the buttons in the interior are cheaply made and break easily. The Fuel Door lever broke within 2 years. Window lock button broke within 4 years.

Pros
Turns on a dime.
Decent storage.
Rear seating is actually comfortable

Cons
Rear window view is obstructed.
Lack of power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
Donna E.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/30/2019
Hyundai Tuscon
My vehicle has been great except for the paint. My previous Elantra and current Tuscon both has issues with the clear coat after a few years. This is upsetting to me and making me hesitat to buy another Hyundai. It makes the vehicle look terrible.

Pros
Warranty
Drives great
A/C had to be replaced after 6 years.

Cons
Paint. The Hyundai clear coat starts to peel and looks terrible!! Both vehicles the paint did this after 5 years...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OP
Odette P.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/29/2019
Great drive but once you have problem unable to fix properly
My sunriof broke fixed twice never the same as original. Tires were all replaced then my dashboard tire pressure light always lights up and Unable to make it work permanently. Now other lights randomly turns on. Seem like car won’t last 100,000 mi without issues. I followed all service requirements and all dealer serviced

Pros
Fun to drive and rides well

Cons
Once broken even dealer can’t bring to normal. Electrical and computer sunroof not too good. I am a Hyundai person had a Santa Fe at 100,000 belt blew had to replace entire engine. Bought Tucson now at 96,000 mi electrical and gauge lights going wacko

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TK
Timothy K.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
LOVE MY TUCSON
I purchased my Tucson in 2011 and have been extremely happy with it.
I haven't had any issues, knock on wood. I like sitting higher for ease
of getting in and out. I also like the large cargo area in the back.
One con is that the gas mileage is not as good as the Sonata.
I would really like if the tailgate was hands free to open.

Pros
See above

Cons
See above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Shirley M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/23/2019
Truck Lover
I have had my truck since 2012. I love most of the things about the truck. I wish the air vents next to the steering wheel didn't block some of the air circulation. I wish the cloth seats weren't hard to keep clean.

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Could be built better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Michael R.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/04/2019
Awesome
If i could change two things would be to add a key Lock on Front Door passenger side and a Remote option to open rear Hatch for my 2012 Model. And a better incentive for an existing Hyundai owner multiplied by for example my Last Three Sonata's. For my existing Trade in allowance instead of just being another Car Buyer ! My daughters / Wfes recent Genesis 's were obtained thru other Dealerships as a Certified purchases with said amenities.

Pros
All

Cons
Someone damaged Tire sensor @ NTB unable to use Universal to Replace ... i bought @ Dealership and paid more for the product than they paid ? Recently found out the Hard way someone damaged the Key hole preventing key to open only Lock on Door. Remote unlocks Hatch but doesn't Open.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Christina M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/02/2019
2012 Hyundai Tucson
I’ve enjoyed this vehicle for the 3 years I’ve had. I haven’t had many issues with it; I’ve had more issues finding quality customer service at the various Hyundai dealerships I’ve visited. Although this vehicle rides well, it does absorb all the shock from potholes in the road. My tire pressure sensor is extremely sensitive which can be a nuisance at times because it’s hard to judge if I need air in my tire or if I just hit a bump in the road. The vehicle does get a bit stuffy when the heat is on or during the summertime. I usually ride with air on low and my window down in the summer to “air” the car out. Overall I have no serious complaints. I plan on driving this car until the wheels fall off.

Pros
Sits up high

Cons
Sensitive tire pressure sensor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Joan B.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/01/2019
Hyundai Tuscon
Prior to owning the Tuscon I had a Santa Fe. If I had it to do over I would have stayed with the Santa Fe. The Tuscon doesn't get the gas mileage it originally advertised, it doesn't have the hidden storage in the trunk and it didn't come with the trunk cover even though I purchased it brand new. When accelerating it has a dead spot. I wouldn't buy another one.

Pros
smaller than the Santa Fe

Cons
Missing the hidden compartments in trunk that Santa Fe had.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Sandra L.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2019
My Tucson
I love my Tucson. This is the first SUV that I have had and would buy another one. I have had no issues with it and it is comfortable & easy to handle.I would definitely recommend buying a Tucson to my friends.

Pros
The only thing I wish I had was a backup camera but otherwise it has everything I need.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Charlotte K.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Need help
Always happy with my Tuson. Always happy with service. Just not happy with the 2 recalls that are not top priority to you customers.If there is a. Problem with the shattering glass above the drivers seat why not fix it? No questions asked for the safety of your customers . Also the problem with the engine leaking and could cause major problems to drivers and passenger. Please advise me on the 2. Concerns. Charlotte A Koi

Pros
Love my car. Had it for 8 yrs and see no problems

Cons
I have 2 concerns over the 2 recalls. One is the glass shattering in my vehicle and the motor engine light going on and causing a leak and nothing is being done to fix either problems. I believe if their is case for concern fix it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KA
KATHY A.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/21/2019
Loved it, but very disappointed now.
I bought my Hyundai when it had 29,000 miles on it, as of the other day it had 129,000 miles on it when the engine just quit. There was no warning of any kind, just noise as I was driving to work. I have done all the maintenance that this vehicle required, it was 300 miles short of needing an oil change. I have come to find out that there are a number of others who had a 2012 Hyundai Tucson Limited, who experienced the same issue. Engine failure, no warning of any kind, all had done the maintenance on their vehicle. I had planned on trading my car in for another Hyundai, but I feel that Hyundai knew of this issue from all the complaints and did nothing to rectify it. As of now I'm out of a car and the money I still owed on it. Very disappointed in Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Donna P.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
2012 Tucson
This is my first front wheel drive vehicle and after 7 years I'm pleased with my Tucson. The one improvement needed is rear lights when backing up in the dark,
needs improved. For a 4 cylinder vehicle it does respond well.

Pros
easy to handle

Cons
needs better backup lighting.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Tracy S.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/17/2019
Love my Tucson!
My Tucson is very reliable and I love it, Hyundai's are the only cars I drive and the only car I'll ever buy.
💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛
💛🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘💛💛🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘💛💛🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘💛💛🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘💛💛🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘🚘💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛

Pros
Save on ⛽ gas, Great warranty.

Cons
Hyundai should have a trucks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Mary L.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/30/2019
Hyundai Tucson
I love my Tucson! It has been very dependable since the day I bought it. It is great riding, comfortable and plenty of room for everything and everybody. It handles well and I just really like the car.

Pros
It's roomy, smooth, comfortable and a great car for the money....

Cons
Sometimes the car locks by itself when you don't want it to!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Debra C.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2019
My Tuscon
I bought my 2012 Tuscon brand new. It has never disappointed. So far has only needed routine maintenance. The Tuscon is the perfect crossover. Not too big & still large enough to comfortably have 2 car seats in the back with a 3rd person. I love the ability to cover up my belonging in the back with the removable/retractable cover.

Cons
I never found any cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
Gerard P.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2019
2012 Hyundai Tucson
To be truthful I have researched a lot of vehicles an I never gave Hyundai a second look until,I went to the dealership and took a good at the vehicle, and was pleasantly surprised that the Hyundai Tucson was very comfortable and the ride was very smooth. My experiance with the dealership was pleasantly fantastic.

Pros
The vechicle look very good and was height wise was a higher then I thought.

Cons
I think they should have put a GPS system and a back up camera in the vechicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 531 in total