2016
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(3048 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ST
Samantha T.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/15/2019
Multiple fails
My tail light kept going out (3x). My engine completely failed at 39,000 miles with proper maintenance and when returned fixed wouldn’t start again five days later. For a vehicle bought brand new with only me as the owner it continues to let me down despite appropriate care for the vehicle.

Cons
Not reliable when your engine fails multiple times.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
Dave T.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/13/2019
Love, love love my Tucson!
I had owned a hyundai vehicle once before and had a good experience with it and so when I did my research on suvs I wasn't surprised to find that the Hyundai Tucsion was rated so high. First, I like the design the of the Tucson... I've already had several people comment on how sharp the vehicle looks to them. Once you put down the back seats there's a pretty decent amount of space. My son just graduated from college and is moving to St. Louis to start his career so we've been toting things to a storage space using the Tucson so it's handy for moving boxes,

I have the turbo charged engine version of the Tucson and it doesn't disappoint. There is a little hesitation when you first accelerate, which they say is due to the dual clutch in the Tucson. It;s like having a manual transmission inside of an automatic transmission. Anyway, once you get past the hesitation it accelerates quickly and is a lot if fun to drive.

The cabin is very quiet. I read about this before purchasing but you have to actually ride in it to realize how quiet it is. It's summer right now so I haven't had much of a chance to test out the 4 wheel drive aspect but I will. The blindspot warning is great to have and the rearview camera is awesome,,, heating seats is a great addition!

Pros
turbo charged engine, blindspot warning, heated seats, 4 wheel drive, low miles, great design,

Cons
fuel efficiency not good, no automated liftgate, bluetooth doesn't always work

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Charles H.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2019
My tucson
This was the newest car I ever bought it’s been a really good car so far no problems with it,and if I did have anything done to it and had to leave it they gave me a loaner car to drive so yeah it’s a really good ride has plenty of room in it so I will buy another one when this ones paid off

Pros
This Tucson has everything pretty much.sunroof,back up camera,satilite radio,Bluetooth.smoth riding good on gas.

Cons
I have no issues so no cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Cecilia W.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
I LOVE my Tucson!
I brought my Tucson used but it drives like it's new. It was an excellent value for the money and I love it's sporty style. The interior is kind of simple but I like that. You're able to work everything through the dash touch screen and you have the option to subscribe to Bluelink to monitor your vehicl's health and remote access such as A/C and heat control and remote start. You can't go wrong by purchasing the Tucson. Some models come with a panaramic roof. I wish I had brought that model. That's the only thing that's missing.

Pros
I love almost everything about it!

Cons
My Tucson has a turbo engine. Had to get used to the hesitation before it takes off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NG
Nettie G.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/10/2019
Car
It is a fine car. It gets very good mileage and it runs beautifully. We took a trip with it recently and were pleasantly pleased with how it’s performance and it’s mileage. It handles beautifully. We often get compliments on its color.

Pros
Runs well

Cons
Some blind spots on the passenger side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kenneth R.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/10/2019
Windows
I've never had as many issues with windows in a vehicle in my life, and the sad part is they are going to break again and everyone in the service department is like oh well. My wife has had a couple Hyundai cars, this is my first and last Hyundai vehicle I will ever buy!

Pros
It gets me to work

Cons
Constant never ending window issues!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
NANCY B.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2019
Great Car
This is my second Hyundai Tucson and it is dependable and easy to drive. Meets all my needs whether in town or on long trips. I have a 6'1, 350 lbs husband who fits easily in this car. Has plenty of storage room and makes going on trips easy at 33-35 mpg on trips.

Pros
Just an over-all great car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sheri S.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/05/2019
2016 Tucson
I bought the Tucson Sport Limited Edition. I was a big fan of Hyundai owning 2003 Santa Fe for 13 years - best car I ever owned. When I went to replace it, I was a disappointed that it was much larger and much more expensive that what I had bought, even given the 13 years. It felt too much like driving a truck and with the options I wanted it was close to $40,000. So I opted for the Tucson because I wanted to stay with Hyundai given the excellent product and the service at my local Hyundai dealer. I soon found out that this was the first year they had the dual clutch transmission which was a huge problem. The good part is that Hyundai fixed it. I did have some scary moments when the car would not switch gears. After working with my local dealer and a national representative, they replaced my transmission under warranty. That was good for a few months and then the problem happened again. I will not say that it was easy to get the replacement done, as I had to drive with some type of data collector to prove there was indeed an issue, which meant I was driving an unsafe vehicle.I was also not pleased with the trade in amount I was quoted to get a different vehicle. It was again proven that the transmission was faulty. Hyundai again replaced my transmission, and by the way, local dealer Crain gave me a free rental. I now have the third transmission for 6+ months and it seems to be fine. No further problems. The car rides well and gets good mileage. No other problems at all. I will buy from Hyundai again given the incredible service and quality but I do wish they would come up with a car that is between the 2 sizes and not so pricey as the Santa Fe. I do art shows and have to travel with my items and the Tucson is just a bit too small. I also wish it had the newest safety features. I have lane assist and rear back up camera but my husband has a Sonata that has more incredible features.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
VINCENT S.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/04/2019
Very satisfied with vehicle performance
Happywith vehicle performance, style and comfort. Would recommend this vehicle to others. Satisfied with service that I received at the dealership. Listened to my explanation of vehicles Cel problem and properly corrected issue.

Pros
Very satisfied

Cons
Position of gas cap release on vehicle floor instead of dash or door handle ad outside mirror glass should be set back further in frame to prevent mirror from vision priblems during moderate to heavy rains

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
Devin A.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/04/2019
Average vehicle
Overall this was a great car for the money the fuel economy is amazing and the acceleration Speed is very impressive overall the interior is very poor sound system is very low quality and the seats are very uncomfortable the AC also doesn’t seem to preform well I did purchase one of the lower trim packages and I’m very happy with my purchase and I feel like I definitely got my moneys worth although some of the features are noticeably low-quality

Pros
Great fuel economy very reliable

Cons
Very poor Soundsystem seats are not very comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
SHERRITA A.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/04/2019
Repeat Customer
This is my 5th Hyundai and also my favorite. I went from a 2001 Tiburon to a 03 Sonota to a 06 Sante Fe to a 2010 Sante Fe and now I have a 2016 Tucson and I LOVE IT! The features the color the ease of the controls…everything! Most importantly I feel safe when I’m driving.

Pros
Warranty
Features

Cons
Should have gotten a 6 cylinder

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
2016 Tucson 1.6T
We had never purchased a new Hyundai before, but our experience was pleasant. The color, style & options were available from another Louisiana dealer, Morgan located the unit & had it driven to MMH dealership. Got what my wife was wanting, very satisfied with the purchase.
It's been a good vehicle, now with almost 66,000 miles on it!

Pros
Easy to drive, responsive. Great economy.

Cons
Weird low end transmission shift, shutters from a stand still, up to 25mph. Like you're slowly taking your left foot of a standard clutch pedal.....then it shifts normally.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
Linda J.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/02/2019
Owner
Salesman may have taken advantage and I certainly wasn't aware that finance set the payments out for 6 years..was sure I asked for 5. But again, older Female & my fault for not taking notice. Vehicle is fine but headrest for driver has been turned opposite direction since I got home. Hit me in area I couldn't deal with..brakes and automatic clutch I'd not buy again..But otherwise like!

Pros
If not for the clutch issues I would definitely recommend

Cons
Being a female and not knowing about engines..I now know I would not buy the automatic clutch in this car ever again. only problem I have found..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
PATRICK F.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/01/2019
?don't understand the question
Love the car mostly just a few issues nothing major things that bother me probably won't count to anyone else but I'm used to being the low man on the list the car is a pleasure to drive and I love the heated seats

Pros
Love the cars looks and dependability

Cons
Need a little more storage space and leg room overall

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Diana B.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/30/2019
Value for price
I like my car , I feel the previous 2011 Tuscon was a better quality . I take care of my seats with covers that Hyundai doesn’t have available😞😞abd still the side of leather seat is starting to peel, my car is driven solely by me and this should NOT be happening, poor quality , will look at other options when I trade it

Pros
Nice car for the $$

Cons
Feel the quality is starting to go down

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Benjamin D.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2019
What A Ride
Comfortable great ride excellent on gas,a rest built vehicle,I’ve had plenty of friends and family come too Porter Hyundai/Chey,unfortunately all didn’t buy but several did .
I’ll Be Back
I love my 2016 Tucson,when I upgrade ( 2019 Tucson/Santa Fe)is what I will be getting.

Pros
Beautiful Vehicle

Cons
My Tucson just not big enough for me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Emanuel R.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2019
My Wife's Car
We got this 2016 Tucson Eco 1.6 Turbo with only 4K miles on it. It drives fantastic! Grabs the road firmly and brakes efficiently. Great on the gas and extremely reliable.
My wife drives the car every day to work, with ZERO issues. The trunk is spacious enough to get her school stuff in and also pots of flowers. She loves this car.

Pros
Acceleration
Gas mileage
Drivability
Reliability

Cons
None yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
James E.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/26/2019
Mine
At first I was skeptical about a smaller vehicle and performance but the more I drive it , (and yes I put 134 miles a day round trip for work) the more I’m loving it , it’s not got a bunch of bells and whistles , I will definitely be looking at another in the future. ( I already test drove the Iron Man model of the Kona ) maybe something like that will be available in the Tuscan model soon .

Pros
Fuel mileage!!

Cons
It’s a bit cramped on the inside ( myself is kind of a big person)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
jan w.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/26/2019
worst car I have ever owned
I bought this car brand new, and was at first very happy. Then the transmission started jerking all over the place. have taken it in so many times, the service dept keeps telling me to file a complaint. I did and the woman (Marie) asked me if I went on youtube to learn how to drive the car!! I was livid. The dual clutch in theory may be good, but in actuality, they haven't refined it. They finally had to change my trans, saying that the clutch material was not good. Of course, that lasted for a bit and it started all over again. They now say there is a fix, they now have the part, but not the tool for installation. This is just crap. This is a lemon. I constantly have electrical issues. Side traffic detection, works sometimes, the voice recognition has never ever worked, I am so tired of this car. so many problems but the worst is the trans. I cant have anyone in my car because they are always asking if my car is going to die out. Sometimes it won't even go when I press the gas. I freak bought a brand new car. This is so upsetting. Claims do not want to give me a new car. They did however try to pay me off with a 1000.00 dollars after the transmission replacement. I declined because that would have been a settlement and of course I am back with the same issue. Huge regrets

Pros
nice wheels. open road is good performance.

Cons
transmission, computer fails, crappy car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Donald J.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2019
Hyundai Tucson
This vehicle is the first of two Hyundai's that I have bought from McGrath's. After buying the Tuscon, I decided that I this brand is special with both service and quality. I would never buy another brand now

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 3048 in total