2016
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(3278 Reviews)
Latest review about 8 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JP
Jonathan P.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/02/2020
Hyundai Tucson 2016, please do not purchase
My car was services there from November 5th - November 30th.
There is a noise that my car continues to make, even after every single "repair"
Their first thoughts were the AC compressor. That got replaced and the noise did not go away.
Then, they said the noise was coming from the transmission so here I go again, brand new transmission replaced almost twice in one year!
I picked up my car, Monday November 30th, and by yesterday-December 1st, the noise continues.
Seems like I have horrible luck with this 2016 Model and there is just no getting it right. I am currently pregnant and have 2 toddlers, and this car is definitely not feeling like a safe car for myself and my boys. I hate that I have had to put so much time, energy and money into this car, and I am never satisfied. This was supposed to have been a smart purchase for me and my husband, and it has been a complete headache.

I do want to give huge HUGE thanks to Garek, my service consultant at the Hyundai in El Monte. He was so helpful and professional while dealing with my situation and understanding why this car is a huge problem for me. He helped me as much as he possibly could and went out of his way to try to keep me as informed. Obviously my bad luck of purchasing this car is not his fault. Garek is the only good thing that Hyundai has!

Pros
Warranty
without their warranty, I would have paid for 2 transmission replacements in one year. That is ridiculous.

Cons
transmission will fail you
transmission fail
transmission fail
"dual clutch " fail

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 12/02/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

LR
Lillie R.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/01/2020
Fantastic ride
I love the way it rides, the feel of it , the way it handles. It's a beautiful SUV. I went to church and friends ask about it saying they are going to get one for Christmas. My family members keep asking what's the name, the brand, make , model. I went out of state twice and it was great on gas. I enjoy my SUV!! It's beautiful I have gotten so many compliments while riding in it. Thank you.

Pros
Everything wonderful

Cons
I find no fault.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Michelle E.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/30/2020
I love my Hyundai Tucson
This is the first SUV I have owned. It drives great. The Tucson has plenty of room for exactly what I need. The AWD has gotten me everywhere I have needed to be. The Tucson is reliable and has great power to get you into traffic when merging. I will always buy a Hyundai Tucson. I love it. And the heated seats are great.

Pros
Heated seats
USB control
AWD
Backup camera
Turbo
Lots of room
Lane assist

Cons
No moon roof or dual temperature control or cordless charging for the phone. Also no 360° view on camera

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
Wilma B.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2020
Great car
This is my 2nd Tucson. One thing I was surprised to discover is that my car loan was 6 yrs rather than 5 yrs as they quoted me.. I will pay closer attention the finance guy when he fast talks me into the deal..

Pros
Very comfortable, stylish, easy to maneuver..

Cons
It seems like the seats wear out a little too soon.. the edges of the seats start peeling off

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
Gary K.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/18/2020
As it should be
We are retirees. The primary driver is my wife. She liked the Tucson best after test driving many others in this class. It has been reliable for the 30,000 miles driven so far. The dealership has provided excellent service.

Pros
A well performing SUV. Very comfortable to drive on long or short trips.

Cons
There was a problem with the dual clutch transmission at first but Hyundai addressed the issue. The dual clutch transmission was a feature we liked. It has not been a problem for the last 3 years. I placed this in the cons only because of the clutch issue initially.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Jonathan P.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/17/2020
Hyundai Tucson 2016, please do not purchase
I keep coming back for the same recurring issues. There seems to always be a noise that can never be pinpointed to any specific thing.
My transmission has failed twice so far and was fully replaced less than a year ago. They say it was the dual clutch, but that was changed and I still have transmission issues. When i purchased this car, a noise started to happen. I took it in and they said that noise is "normal" how is that normal is my question! I am soo disappointed in Hyundai. It was suppose to have been a smart purchase for us and it really was not.
My car has been in the shop since November 5th, and today is November 17th. I am paying out of pocket for a rental because I had to look elsewhere for my own vehicle. It has been a headache to deal with this car. I am frustrated and fed up.

Cons
dual clutch
transmission fail
door locks fail

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 11/17/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

BW
Barbara W.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/23/2020
Hyundai
I am very pleased with my car. It gets very good gas mileage. I like driving the car. I do mostly city driving. The heated seats are great in the winter. I love having the automatic trunk release because I am short.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
Lewis J.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2020
Like our Tucson
We are very pleased with our Tucson. It is comfortable, gets good mileage on the highway and handles well on the road. The short turning ratio helps in town.
We have been pleased with the treatment we have had with the North Freeway Hyundai dealership and service advisor Clay

Pros
Handles well on highway, and gets good gas mileage. Short turning ratio helps in
tight places. Comfortable ride and dependable.

Cons
few

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Karen M.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/20/2020
Hyundai Tucson
Love my Tucson. Fits my needs perfectly.
Great in all kinds of weather! I’m so happy I purchased this vehicle. I enjoy driving it, and I feel very safe in it. A great family car, and super on trips on the expressway.

Pros
Love it!

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
Geraldine L.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/16/2020
Love it
I love my new Hyundai Tucson....drives very smoothly. It’s fully loaded with all the features that I wanted. The only one thing that it doesn’t have is the automatic starter which I will have to get installed. Although, there were couple of interior scratches (which they buffed) and slightly loose bumper which can be pushed back in, I’m still happy with my new SUV. Oh one more thing, I have great warranty as well.

Pros
Fully loaded with all the features, drives very smoothly, panaromic sunroof, eco-friendly drive mode, etc etc

Cons
No automatic starter, couple interior scratches and slightly loose bumper

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Jose P.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/16/2020
Trouble
I loved this vehicle at first but after many trips to get the shifting fixed i would never buy a Hyundai. The shifting has got me stuck in traffic and almost killed. Even after a transmission change it still lags a little bit. I owe a lot on this vehicle or i would trade it in in a heartbeat..
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 10/16/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

NK
Neldon K.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/12/2020
Tucson
My husband and I have been buying Hyundai vehicles since they first came out and never been disappointed. I love my Tucson and plan to buy another one fairly soon. Once the car has 100,000 miles on it, we buy new and give the other car to one of our children!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joanne P.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/09/2020
Great Car for the Price...
I've had this 2016 Tucson for over 4 years. This is an excellent car. Pleasure to drive, quick and nimble, good gas mileage. When I first had the Tucson I did experience some hesitation problems. While the car was in South Shore Hyundai for minor service I mentioned the hesitation to the service representative, they updated the software which controls the transmission and I've been problem free since.
Each day that I drive the car I always feel that the car is very well though-out, an excellent car for the price.

Pros
Runs great, quick and nimble and still great gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Cathy B.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/07/2020
Love it!
I’m still having a great relationship with my Tucson. Wouldn’t trade it for any other vehicle out there! This is a dependable vehicle and very comfortable for long road trips. Great gas mileage and it has plenty of space for cargo.

Pros
Very economical and fun to drive

Cons
A couple usb outlets in the back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dianne M.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/07/2020
Love my 2016 Tuscon Sport
Love my car. I have had three Hyundai's at this time and I will continue to buy them. First one had 165,000 mi on it and it was 11 years old had no problems with it. This one I've had for three years and I am very happy with it

Pros
Great mileage, good towing.

Cons
Hesitation with acceleration, warranty covered. Door lock needed replacement, warranty covered.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
Rosalie V.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/30/2020
2016 Hyundai Tucson Sport
I love my Hyundai Tucson Sport. It is comfortable and fun to drive. I have so much room when I drop the seats down in back. My dog loves all the room. I am on the road every day driving 20 miles to work. My Tucson Sport handles great on freeway driving and mountain driving. I would recommend this car to family and friends. I would buy another Tucson Sport when I need a new car. Chico Hyundai was great when I purchased my Tucson.10

Pros
The Tucson Sport Reliability Comfort and Performance is great. It is fun to Drive, The Tucson Sport is perfect for me. Freeway driving & Mountain driving great.

Cons
I am happy with my car. I don't have any negative comments to say.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Lawrence P.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/19/2020
2016 Tuscon
The vehicle is "meh". The double-clutch system sucks. If Hyundai had any honor they'd replace the transmission with one that works since this one has been ditched in newer models. The "program" adjustments really don't work. I don't want a replacement since we don't want to restart a car loan with Hyundai. I Won't buy another.

Pros
Warranty when applied.

Cons
The double-clutch is a piece of crap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
Tina L.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/18/2020
Love the Tucson
The car drives real smooth . I do like it very much since I bought mine I have five of my fellow employees buy one . I’m not thrilled with the rpm issue I’m having but hopefully it can be rectified soon. And was not happy with the service I received in the garage for maintenance makes me nervous on trusting them again. I shouldn’t have to go to a garage after a service to make sure everything is good. But the car Over all is a nice vehicle .

Pros
Very nice looking comfortable roomy drives smooth

Cons
Issues with rpms other wise nice car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Kevin K.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/18/2020
My little rocket
Great car, fun and looks soo good. Lots of looks I get. The layout and large LCD screen is big and nice. I like the lighting of interior. I also love the sporty looks. It's fun to drive and has so zip. I would like a little more zip but it's there. Great car.

Pros
Technology , great looks

Cons
Needs 60 more horsepower , have had issue with window motor and ac freezing up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
Gregory D.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/14/2020
fun vehicle / poor quality
I excitedly bought this car, hoping this would be the last car I would buy heading into reetirement. The honeymoon period was great but soon the problems started. The issues with the engine & transmission are well documented. We have replaced all the window motors except one as well as the motor for the lift gate. We paid alot of money to update the navigation/map system (which I don't feel we should have to) and it still isn't up to date; not worth the cost. Aside from these problems, I love driving this vehicle, it looks great & sporty and is very comfortable to drive. I probably will hang on to it for the foreseeable future unless the problems get worse. The value for the dollar I would have to rate as a little questionable. Other vehicles in the Hyundai line haven't had these issues/problems and are excelent vehicles. Other than a specific need, I don't think this would keep me from buying another Hyundai.

Pros
great, sporty looks / fun & spirited driving & handling / very comfortable ride / excelent features / great warranty

Cons
poor quality parts, not lasting more than 5 years / too many trips to the dealership for repears / not enough interest in making good with ongong problems & issues with the vehicle / having to pay to update navigation system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 3278 in total