2016
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5rating 4.63
4.6
(3170 Reviews)
Latest review almost 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


VJ
Virginia J.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/02/2016
Hyundai Tucson
Hate shifting love features and there are no rear temperature controls.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NP
Nancy P.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/23/2016
good
I like my car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
Wanda D.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/11/2016
Take Responsibility
Hyundai Corporation is not taking responsibility for the issues with this vehicle. There have been 3 other similar issues from customers that have purchased from this dealership, however similar problems have been reported across the country. I do NOT feel safe driving this vehicle or allowing any member of my family to drive this vehicle. It is an accident in waiting either from being hit from behind by another vehicle because they assume you will be moving or from your vehicle striking another because of the "lurching". I had to put my hazard flashers on, and hope that I did not get hit from behind. I am NOT satisfied and want my money back for both of the vehicles I purchased due to this huge safety issue. At random times, usually from a stop, but sometimes when pulling into traffic, the transmission will "freak out". When this happens, the engine will rev to high RPMs, but the transmission will not send much power, if any, to the wheels. It behaves as if it is either in neutral, has the clutch mostly disengaged, or is attempting to start in a higher gear. This has already caused me to put the vehicle into the shop twice. I consider this to be a very hazardous defect. Hyundai is unable to replicate it (remember, it happens randomly), my local Hyundai dealer service department acts as if their hands are tied and states that Engineering says to release the vehicle back to me. Most recently, they said that they emailed Hyundai Engineering, and that Hyundai Engineering is not aware of any issues like this. There are too many similar incidences for this NOT to be true. I want a refund for both vehicles. I will never drive another Hyundai vehicle again because it is unsafe and the lack of responsibility Hyundai Corporation is taking to rectify their manufacturing problem. It is not a driver's operational error.

Pros
Features

Cons
Acceleration issues that could potentially cause an accident.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
CHRISTINE A.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/27/2016
A very dangerous vehicle
The transmission in this car which is a seven speed DCT does not work. You will stop at a red light or intersection and car will be in drive but will not move when you hit the gas. All of a sudden the clutch will catch and you will be flying towards other vehicles or going on a highway car will drop down to 20 mph. Check social media for all the complaints. So far no fix. Sold mine because we did not want to hurt anyone.

Pros
Would be a great suv except for transmission

Cons
It might cause you to have an accident

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ANNIE S.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/04/2016
2016 Tucson sucks
Initially ecstatic with my purchase.....until left stranded for hours. Roadside assistance would not answer phone after initial call, tow truck never showed, after 3 hours and over 200 times starting car was able to move. Thankfully since only option was tow to another state, no loaner or rental cars available at that location where a technician would be available the following week.

Pros
Looks good

Cons
Not reliable, worst car purchase ever....and this is my first brand new car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CHARLES M.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/18/2016
tucson review
Everything is good and live the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Lynn L.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/14/2016
2016 Tuscon
Good looking vehicle but poor performance

Pros
Sporty and roomy with good
Connectivity and safety features

Cons
Engine performance sucks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DEBBIE L.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/02/2017
Dont buy the Hyundai Tuscon.
I purchased my first Hyundai, the 2016 Tuscon back in April 2016 and have had nothing but problems with it's transmission and 1st gear. I have had it in for 3 software recalls and updates and it still runs terrible. I do not feel safe driving this SUV because I was at an intersection and the car would not move into gear. I keep thinking it will do it again. I have called Hyundai Corporate three times and they still have not rectified this Dual Clutch Transmission problem. Hyundai's Customer Service is terrible and I will probably never buy another Hyundai. The FM Radio is cheap and doesn't set up properly with Artist and Song Title. Other than this major Transmission problem, I love the great gas mileage and super sharp look. I also love the lane change indicator and heated seats.

Pros
Nice Wheels, great look and phenomenal gas Mileage. Love the Lane change indicator, heated seats even without Leather.

Cons
Dual Clutch Transmission is TERRIBLE and software still doesnt have a correct fix. Standard FM Radio is terrible and does not list Artist and Song title even when it says it should in set up feature. This SUV doesnt engage in gear without hesitating. Going from a Stop into first gear is usually jerky and NOT Smooth.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Margaret H.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/24/2017
Tucson eco
Bought a new Tucson Eco 15 months ago 2016 About 30 days of driving and it would hesitate when accelerated, shudder when stopped at idle as you began to drive again,and one time simply would not go as I pulled onto busy road. SCARY! Did software update, made very little difference. I have been so frustrated, a new car and worse driving experience of 4 new cars I have had. Another software update, still the same. It Jerks forward at times as you stop and start. I just want rid of this car, but gave hefty down payment and can never recover my investment.

Pros
As rated

Cons
As rated

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Mandy P.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/22/2017
Beautiful inside and out but, has problems that you may want to stay away from
The dual clutch transmission can and will leave you stranded in the middle of an intersection or possibly even in stop and go rush hour freeway traffic. Its a good thing it has all of the other safety features as this car has become a danger and been very scary for us. Our vehicle only has 8000 miles on it and has been in for the transmission issue already three times. Hyundai is trying to state that you must drive this car differently than you would drive any other vehicle. So that is their ideal fix for this issue. My honest, honest review is this vehicle is a big issue and you don't want to buy it. I only gave ratings of 2 because, it wouldn't let me continue the review without them. Other than that it would have a big zero in performance, fun to drive, reliability, value for the money, and, likelihood that I would recommend this vehicle.

Pros
I love all the amenities for the price. It is peppy when it wants to be. Great gas mileage.

Cons
Its dangerous and could potentially take a life. Needs better tires and is just sad that such an all around great car, from such a great company would have such life threatening issues and the resolve from Hyundai Motor corp. of America is to drive it differently even though it is still dangerous.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Steven L.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/29/2017
Many issues
To many problems
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Anthony S.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/14/2017
major disappointment
So, I've got the 2016 Tuscon and it happens to be a known problem child for a particular production date (or whatever). Anyhow, I've had acceleration issues from day one but was told it was "turbo lag". It was brand new, with only about 80 miles on it. Within the first 3000 miles, there were 2 safety recalls related to the acceleration issue. Fast forward to two months ago and after having issue after issue with this car for 2 years and being told it was normal and just how I'm driving it, (Read, you're a chick so you can't drive) and the transmission dies at under 18k miles. I get a brand new transmission, again for the 2016. Works fine for a week, then again with the acceleration issues. I've nearly been hit countless times, even with leaving a safe gap, because of this car. I'm now in the process of having them but it back. Why was I allowed to be a damned test pilot in a death trap for two years when Hyundai KNEW there was an issue. It is not that hard to track things down. It's so very disappointing. This is completely on the Hyundai corporation not the dealership. The dealership has been doing everything to help me and for that, I am so very grateful. But, Hyundai...shame on you.

Cons
It's a damned death trap.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DZ
Dennis Z.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/17/2017
Terrible Tucson
The Tucson is a really nicely designed car. I love size, the style, the quiet ride of a small SUV, the roominess and so much more. The 1.6t is a great engine.

Having said that, the downside is the dual clutch transmission. I have had several re-programming events and it is stilll very undesireable. It lurches, hesitates, and is very annoying sometimes almost dangerous.

This all puts the car in the catacory of the worst I have ever owned. I'm stuck with it and

Pros
Great design comfortable fun car.

Cons
Due to transmission bad quality, performane and reliability. Hyundai should buy it back and I can't even get corporate to call me back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Maureen A.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/08/2017
Not a great car
Wonderful safety issues, But car stalls out when you are sitting in traffic. Was issued a re-call for problem, but issue was not fixed.

Pros
I love the safety features.

Cons
Car has been recalled for stalling out and also when trying to pull out onto highway the car will just die. The recall does not fix the issue. Call is horrible if you are stuck in any kind of traffic.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NH
Nadra H.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/09/2017
2016 Tucson AWD
Brand new lemon

Cons
Powertrain/transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
Michael O.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/28/2017
Obinski
O ar condicionado nunca funciona, já foi feita a troca e o problema continua, muito insatisfeita

Cons
Ac never work

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Russell R.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/08/2018
2016b tucson limited
the 1.6 turbo is the worse engine i have ever driven.it will shift 5 times before it get to 20 mph,i have owed 5 hyundia's in the past might buy another one but never another tucson.I want my 2013 santa fe back

Pros
none

Cons
the 1.6 turbo

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Leona D.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/16/2018
Drive's terrible.
The car drives horrible. Always feels like it's going to die when coming to a stop. When accelerating it skips and takes a few secs to catch and go. Tranny skips. the seats are too small for a normal guy. Uncomfortable.

Pros
Looks ok

Cons
Horrible experience with the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HC
Harry C.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/13/2018
none
The vehicle is not responsive unless it's in sports mode that it makes too much noise. You feel every bump in the road right is so bad that my grandchildren don't even want to ride it my granddaughter with her new license doesn't want to drive it

Pros
none

Cons
Vehicle make too much noise not enough to pick up a less in support which is what I should've bought

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Adriana M.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/13/2018
Horrible
This is the worst purchase ive ever made!! So many problems since bought. I would recommend that no one would go to Hyundai nor buy this car. This company is the worat to deal with has done anything to help us take back this junk. Cant eait to get rid of this headache along with this comapny

Pros
There are NO PROS

Cons
This is the worst purchase ive ever made!! So many problems since bought

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 3170 in total