2017
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(3890 Reviews)
Latest review about 21 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DG
David G.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/09/2020
Hyundai Tucson
Excellent value in a beautiful, reliable dependable vehicle. Thanks to James B Lyons III for being a caring salesman carrying the torch for the company. He was an excellent caring salesman who looked out for the little guy.

Pros
Ride
Comfort
Dependible
Fun
Reliable

Cons
Only 24 hours In a day

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EJ
Emily J.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/09/2020
I love my car!!!
I have a 2017 Hyundai Tuscan night edition. I love the way my car drives. I love my sunroof, the way the music sounds and the backup camera! The trunk opening when the key comes near it comes in handy when grocery shopping. I only wished it could also have 4 wheel drive. But overall this car is amazing!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Susan J.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/08/2020
LOVE my Tucson Ultimate Ltd!
The AWD Tucson Ltd is just the right size for doing errands and week long trips for 1-3 adults and all our stuff (gear, clothes, food), which (being retired) is 99% of my driving. My Hwy gas mileage at 28-32 mpg is better than reported. It handles like a sports car, even in the rain. Dash is well laid out and nice to look at (newer models are uglier). The seats are super-comfy and supportive for long trips. No mechanical issues so far, and the 7 speed shiftable automatic transmission is great in the hills. Safety features are handy. Passengers love the rear heated seat & huge sunroof, since it makes the relatively small SUV seem so big inside.

Only complaint is that those big wide low profile "All-Season" tires that are so nice and quiet & handle great on the Hwy totally suck in the snow, and the fancy 20" wheel rims got scuffed by the cable chains. Full AWD cuts out over 20mph. Also, the wipers kept icing up into baseball bats in a 30°F snowstorm, despite trying 'everything'. It was surprising in an AWD purchased 'fresh off the truck' in the late Fall in ski country. Koreans (who usually think of everything) must not think it gets cold & snowy in the U.S.! Fortunately that is just a small part of my driving, and the issues are fixable.

Pros
Great styling, seats, handling, gas mileage, features. Quiet inside. Nice size and easy to park. Better value than other similar SUVs.

Cons
20" Wheels/Tires on AWD not good for snow.
Wipers iced up in snowstorm at 30°F temps.
2017 Cruise Control does not adjust to maintain distance, even though it has all the distance sensors to do so.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Stanley R.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/04/2020
I am very happy with my Hyundai except for one major problem. read below
I have had this car almost three years, I would have given this car 5 stars but Hyundai really disappointed me in the way they handled the problem with my DCT transmission. Ocasionally when i would put my foot on the gas, the car would not move, very disturbing when I needed power I got nothing. I would take my foot off the gas and have to re apply it to the gas pedal to get moving. Very dangerous in some situations.
Ocasionally the DCT transmission has a problem with slipping, jerkiness and rough shifting. This is an extremely dangerous problem when it happens. Hyundai for the last two and a half years told customer there was no problem with the transmission, they told us, it was the way we drove the car. Not a good answer from Hyundai. Two weeks ago HYundai sent me a notice to bring my car in for a software update. I did that last week, in the next month or so i will find out if this solved my problem.

Pros
Very nice vehicle, if it did not have DCT tansmission problem I would be very proud owner of this vehicle

Cons
Biggest problem ,DCT transmission and the way Hyundai USA denied any problem.
it took Hyundai 2 1/2 yearsfor Hyundai to own up to this problem, the only thing they recently came out with a software update. MY update took place two weeks ago. I still do not know if this update fixed the problem. Transmission problem took place occasionally, so i have to wait a couple of months to see if software update helped.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 07/06/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

MB
MARK B.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
Love it
Bought this vehicle wanting an SUV for the winter months, we love it! It handles great and have not had any problems. My daughter loves driving it so much she is thinking of getting one! I would recommend it !

Pros
Good price
Great car overall

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PT
PATTI T.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/01/2020
ENJOYABLE
I enjoyed spacing in drivers seat very much. It made for easier getting in and out and driving position. When I had to drive in snow the car held the road very well. Thank goodness I have not had any performance issues with this car. The model I have does not have an improved phone calling system nor the blue link. That was the one thing I missed the most from my previous car.

Pros
very comfortable seating, especially drivers. Space for storage very good. drove very well in snow for me the past winters.

Cons
the entertainment system was not yet upgraded. Phone calling needs to be more sophisticated. Mileage is not great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Mary A.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
2017 Tucson Hyundai
We love our Tucsons. This is the second one we have purchased. Our other Tucson is a 2007 and has been a great vehicle. We are still driving that one also, It has 93,700 miles on it. The 2017 Tucson that we purchased six months ago had around 23,500 miles on it and was in great condition. I love the backup camera feature, also hands free phone use. It is satellite capable. Ask for Kendall Harris, he is a great salesman. ☺

Pros
This is our second Tucson, we like everything about this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
MONICA F.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/01/2020
Ok
I am overall pleased with Hyundai. We are a Hyundai family. Mother has a Hyundai Elantra 2008, daughter a Hyundai Elantra hatchback 2013 and I enjoy my Tucson. When lease ends I will go for same car. Excellent agent Daniel Moyal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HW
Holle W.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/30/2020
Wish I had purchased a Santa Fe
The Hyundai Tuscon was smaller than I realized, and the 4 cylinder engine has been unsafe. When I pull out of a parking lot or make a turn from the center lane, the Tuscon doesn’t have much power. I don’t wait for turns until the last minute, the car just has no power and I have often worried about having a wreck when it hesitates.

Pros
1. Electric system-blue tooth access
2. Back up camera
3. Heated seats
4. Sounds and lights up when cars pass or driving in my blind spot
5. 10 year warranty
6. Reasonable price point
7. Good fuel mileage
8. Extra cup holders throughout the car
9. AWD feature

Cons
1. No power when moving from stopped position (ie. Turning from center lane or pulling into traffic from a parking lot or side road)-safety concern
2. Too small for my needs
3. No side cameras
4. Windshield wipers need another speed. They haven’t worked well in heavy rain
5. Back hatch doesn’t always lock tight. I discover this when I have removed items from back and all other doors are locked.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 07/01/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

PW
Patricia W.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/30/2020
Transmission horrible6
Wish I never bought the clutch like driving, sputtering at beginning car
Do love everything else' safety features great.
Good rear hauling capacity. Flip over back bottom good when I want easy clean up.

Pros
Great size, easy turning, safety features

Cons
Transmission horrible clutch like sputtering on starting

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 07/01/2020
Thank you. A representative from our headquarters will be in touch soon. ^cc

SW
Shaun W.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2020
Excellent
Love my CAR, the color and style!
I would recommend this car to family and friends
Great mileage and drives great
Leather seating and heated seats for winter are great for the cold months
Comes with XM radio also a plus

Pros
It’s a great car

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CU
Charles U.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/30/2020
My Personal Viewpoint
I like my Tucson very much, except for one area: it's acceleration is only fair and could use some attention from Hyundai on future models. I especially notice this from a dead stop or when trying to navigate through daily city traffic or along Arizona's highways.

Pros
Styling is awesome

Cons
Acceleration needs improvement

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sue M.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2020
The car for me!
I have enjoyed my Tucson. It is the perfect size for me. Lots of pep, and I can haul things I never thought possible.
I like the exterior. Very sporty looking.
The only downside for me is that the ride is a little sporty too. Guess you can’t have cool wheels and a BarcaLounger ride.
This is my second Hyundai. Love the reliability and the dealerships are all good.

Pros
Love everything about the car.

Cons
Ride is a little rough. However, I purchased the Sport version. That’s on me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sandra S.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2020
Excellent SUV...I would buy this SUV over again. The performance is great! The interior is comfortable especially the heated seats.
This is truly one of the Best vehicles I've ever purchase. The performance and handling of this SUV is outstanding. It's a smooth quite ride. Very little noise is heard. No other vehicle will do for me, since I've bought and driven such a well built SUV.

Pros
Excellent performance

Cons
The Bluetooth needs to be updated to a better quality of functioning in making and receiving calls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cynthia S.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2020
Love my Tucson
What can I say,,, I love my Tucson!!! Everyone that has rode in my vehicle has remarked about how smooth and comfortable it feels. It's do quiet I can drive up and not be heard. The inside is roomy and I love that the upholstery is the easiest ever to keep clean,
no need for upholstery cleaner and the cabin air conditioning is unbelievable. My parents have a Santa Fe and they had theirs a couple of years before I bought my Tucson that they are considering in trading in theirs for a Tucson

Cons
As a female, the only thing I would change, would be a little bit more room in the front to put my purse when I've got a passenger. I have to toss it in the back plus the passenger seat has no controls and sits very low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dylan G.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
Wonderful Car
Amazing car. Safe, comfortable, fun to drive and has everything I need. Love it! My previous car was a 2011 Ford that had hardly any of the helpful features on the Tucson so I am a very happy camper!!

Pros
safe, comfortable, has every feature you'd ever need.

Cons
Easy to drive fast

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
Laura F.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
why I like my Hundai Tucson
comfortable seating, easy handling, good on gas, love my heated seats in winter, cools off fast in hot weather, like the option of sun roof open or closed, easy to get parking space because of it's size, like the too close to another object alert signal

Pros
love the color, Caribbean blue, plenty of storage room in rear

Cons
don't have heated mirrors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VE
Virgil E.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/23/2020
3rd Tucson
Very pleased with the reliability and performance of the Tucson. It’s roomy enough for the family. The added amenities are a good value. We use this as we did the previous Tucsons we owned for the rideshare programs and are very happy.

Pros
Roomy and reliable

Cons
Still having wire harness tail light issues as in previous models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jean W.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/23/2020
Great value
I have had my 2017 Santa Fe three years and just hit 81,000 miles. I drive cross-country and back at least once a year and do a fair amount of driving up and down the east coast. I have had ZERO issues with this vehicle. Gas mileage almost always over 30 mpg, with various terrains. Amazing cargo space with the back seats down and a healthy space with the seats up. This is my favorite of all vehicles I’ve ever owned. I just put new tires on - over 70,000 miles on the ones it came with - and am religious about the every-15,000-mile maintenance service. I can’t recommend this vehicle enough!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KENNETH C.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/23/2020
Tuscon 2017
Good value for the money. Fun to drive. ................................................................................................................................................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 3890 in total