2011
Hyundai
Equus

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(159 Reviews)
Latest review 18 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MD
Melissa D.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/05/2019
Best car I ever owmed
This car is the most luxury car you can ride in. I have risen in many makes and models but the Equus out shines them all. It is pure comfort and sport built in one car. When you sit in this car you realize it is a different experience than any other car. It is built with features way beyond any other makes or models.

Pros
I recommend this car to everyone I meet

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MY
Myung Y.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/05/2019
Good car but hard to fix.
Perform nicely but hard to fix if problems occur. (Discontinued model.)
It's great to own hi-quality cars for mid-class price. After drive 10k miles, trying to find new to replace. But it's discontinued.

Pros
Better than price.

Cons
Discontinued model.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JERROLD K.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/24/2019
Chrome wheels
I love my Equus. BUT just found out that all four of my chrome wheels are pitted on the inside which destroys the seal. Hyundai has had many complaints but so far has refused to accommodate any replacement credit. Yes the car is 8 years old but never had a problem with any other car of even more years and greater mileage. Hyundai needs to provide relief. These are $900/wheel. I'd be happy with a less expensive replacement.. This car is a 5 star in all other regards. If you have had a similar issue please contact me at jerrold.kamensky@gmail.com.

Pros
Great in all regards but wheels

Cons
Wheels that are too costly to replace and designed for failure.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Parnell D.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/21/2019
excellent car great ride and a lot of features
Sorry they stopped making the Equus,I love this car the design, awesome. It has the big car ride the expensive car look, good on gas burns 87 octane.

I don't really no what I will get next but I'm sure it will be in the Hyundai family we hope.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
John A.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/15/2019
Bring the "Equus" to market again?
I traded a 2009 Genesis for a 2011 Equus because Hyundai had a vision about vehicle design and technology that I shared. Compliments, e.g., that is an attractive car, I didn't
know Hyundai made cars of that quality, I receive in 2019.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jerrold K.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/14/2019
Equus affordable luxury
Eight years, 90,000 miles and riding like a new luxury car. My friends with Mercedes get into the back seat of my Equus and rave about the comfort and beauty. I have had recent issue with wear/corrosion of brake lines and wheels. Service has gone to bat for me with Hyundai to get assistance on these items. Awaiting results. Regardless, this car is a fine ride and makes the miles a pleasure on the long road trips.

Pros
This car drives itself on the highway. 22+ mpg on the highway. Great acceleration. Smooth transmission. Great seats and automated ergonomics. Luxury appointment and ahead of it's time with safety and convenience features. Elegant styling. It's now the Genesis 90

Cons
City mileage suffers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dennis G.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/01/2019
2011 is a good year
Impressive automobile. Every drive is enjoyable and comfortable. Interior accessories are top notch. Exterior paint extremely resilient. V8 engine and tranmission run extremely smooth. Superior styling.

Pros
Mercedes, BMW, Lexus pale in comparison to the Equus. 2011 style surpasses 2019 competitors models.

Cons
Not many. Staggered tires are pricey.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jerrold K.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/26/2018
True luxury at an affordable price
I read about the new Equus in 2010 and bought a 2011 in late 2010. The car was well equipped with safety and convenience features and has provided many hours of road trip pleasure. My only regret is that I didn't buy the ultimate version as it has the reclining airline type back seat (passenger) side where I would have loved to have been able to send my wife to sleep in while I drove without her running commentary on my driving :-)!

Pros
Comfort, safety and convenience. Smooth and luxurious ride on the road and good highway mileage.

Cons
Early corrosion from use of road salt in Northern climate; driver seat cushion breakdown. Some body part connection weakness. Poor city mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

UN
Uju N.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2018
Perfection and Performance
One of the best ever made. One keeps on thinking of what a follow up model would have been like. I guess there is little room to improve on perfection.
The ride is exquisite. Design still turns hesds. Loaded with safety tools.

Pros
Safety tools.
Performance.
Excellent ride.

Cons
Decision to discontinue.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Lonnie T.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/22/2018
Car
Great vehicle would like to see improvements to the GPS with android access. Unable to upgrade and there are no plans for upgrade. There need to be some type of retrofit. Would love to upgrade system unable to

Pros
Great vehicle

Cons
Need to be able to upgrade GPS and sound system

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IW
Isaac W.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2018
Equus
I am the third owner of this 2011 Equus Ultimate. It is easily the best car I have ever owner or ridden in(my previous 2 cars were a 2008 Chrysler 300C and a Mercedes S500). I believe Hyundai made a monumental marketing mistake in not making Equus a separate luxury dealership as Toyota did with Lexus. It was my misfortune that all the problems I have had with the Equus was caused by me including damaging the cruise control module that I cannot afford to replace because it is the most expensive part --- even more costly than a engine or transmission replacement (as described by two Hyundai dealerships).

Pros
Possibly the best designed car EVER.

Cons
Wind noise (door seal leakage?)
Loud tire noise varies greatly depending on roadway surface.
No AWD or auto braking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Michael L.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/29/2018
2011 Hyundai Equus
This vehicle is the best vehicle I have ever owned. The ride is superior to any car I have road in and people who ride in it say the same thing. The car still has that new car smell even though it is a 2011. I have considered the Genesis G 90 but I still prefer the styling and the acessores of the Equus Ultimate. In addition, the sound system with the seventeen speakers is outstanding.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Laura S.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/14/2018
Equus 2011
When we 1st bought the car new, we thought it was the best quality for the price. We only have 70k miles on a 7yr old car. Recently we have had major problems. The back and front struts on the car had to be replaced. The cost recently on the front struts was $5000. Knowing there are other issues with the rocker arms that need fixed approx $1000 more. For a 7 yr old car these are major fixes that were a total surprise. We thought this car would of given us at least 10 good years, with at least 100,000 miles before major breakdowns.

Pros
Love the the looks of this car. Fun to drive. Love the performance until this last year when major fixes were needed

Cons
Expected better, lasting quality on all parts of the car.
Very disappointed that it is no longer available. Don’t think the
Genius compares to our Equus.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kym B.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
I LOVE my EQUUS
This car is amazing! It has all of the bells and whistles and the driving comfort is unbelievable. I highly recommend purchase. The built in ice chest, recliner in on back passenger side and the seat massage in the driver seat is heaven on wheels.

Pros
Every aspect and feature surpasses your wildest imagination.

Cons
Only a 4 seater

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sue R.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2018
Love my Equus
I just bought a 2011 Equus with only 33,000 miles on it. It drives like a dream and all the luxury features make driving it a pleasure from the window shades to the seat coolers. I am always getting comments from either my co-workers or people that I just come in contact with about the car. Most people don't know what a Equus is so always give them a tour of all the things that make driving it a pleasure. I definitely recommend this car to anyone that is looking for a luxury car but not at the high cost of a BMW or Mercedes. I have had people tell me that it is more comfortable and drives better than either of these makes. Give it a try. Find a late model used Equus and take the step up to the luxury car that you thought you could never afford.

Pros
Everything about this car is great. The comfort is unbelievable. The exterior always gets second looks from others. The V8 engine gives the added power needed to get onto the crowded Southern California freeways.

Cons
So far, I don't have any "cons" to offer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Laura S.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2018
Equus
One of the best cars we have ever owned. We wish they hadn’t quit making them. We dont like the Genesis. It’s not the same ride comfort and luxury as the Equus. 😢😢. Genesis is not the Equivalent to Equus.

Pros
Maintenance free the 1st 5 Years. Just oil, and tire changes since.

Cons
Slight discomfort in the back seating the the backs lean to much backwards. Other than that we love the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
John M.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2018
Andrew the owner cannot get me out of it...has more bells and whisles than the NEW ONES. Why is that?
No review just love my Equus better equipped than the new ones lets get the new ones better looking and more ideas with more ideas that help the customer. .Tested the new ones great but not my Equus.

Pros
all good

Cons
Needs a coat rack (hook ) on both back door sides..Console screen a little hard to master mainly how to enter driving directions destinations.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Joshua K.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2018
Evaluate Equus
I have been very happy with the car. Other than poor Gas Mileage, I have had no complaints. I got a loaner while it was under warranty. I have gotten many positive remarks regarding the styling. Very smooth ride.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Larry C.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2018
Hey
I love my equus. It's very sporty, luxury and most of all it has all the bells and whistles I was looking for. When I first saw it I knew I had to have it. You don't see this on a every day basis. Where I'm from they had never seen or heard of this car. When I told them it was made by Hyundai every time they said no way. I'm glad I found and bought this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Anthony F.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2018
Personal service.
Taking the trouble to listen to a customer concerns and putting those concerns to rest is the best thing a service rep can do. Driving away from a service knowing that everything has been looked at and taken care of is the best feeling that a customer can have in a service department!

Pros
COMFORT!

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 159 in total