2011
Hyundai
Equus

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84

149 Reviews

Latest review 3 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

IW
Isaac W.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2018
Equus
I am the third owner of this 2011 Equus Ultimate. It is easily the best car I have ever owner or ridden in(my previous 2 cars were a 2008 Chrysler 300C and a Mercedes S500). I believe Hyundai made a monumental marketing mistake in not making Equus a separate luxury dealership as Toyota did with Lexus. It was my misfortune that all the problems I have had with the Equus was caused by me including damaging the cruise control module that I cannot afford to replace because it is the most expensive part --- even more costly than a engine or transmission replacement (as described by two Hyundai dealerships).

Pros
Possibly the best designed car EVER.

Cons
Wind noise (door seal leakage?)
Loud tire noise varies greatly depending on roadway surface.
No AWD or auto braking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Michael L.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/29/2018
2011 Hyundai Equus
This vehicle is the best vehicle I have ever owned. The ride is superior to any car I have road in and people who ride in it say the same thing. The car still has that new car smell even though it is a 2011. I have considered the Genesis G 90 but I still prefer the styling and the acessores of the Equus Ultimate. In addition, the sound system with the seventeen speakers is outstanding.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Laura S.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/14/2018
Equus 2011
When we 1st bought the car new, we thought it was the best quality for the price. We only have 70k miles on a 7yr old car. Recently we have had major problems. The back and front struts on the car had to be replaced. The cost recently on the front struts was $5000. Knowing there are other issues with the rocker arms that need fixed approx $1000 more. For a 7 yr old car these are major fixes that were a total surprise. We thought this car would of given us at least 10 good years, with at least 100,000 miles before major breakdowns.

Pros
Love the the looks of this car. Fun to drive. Love the performance until this last year when major fixes were needed

Cons
Expected better, lasting quality on all parts of the car.
Very disappointed that it is no longer available. Don’t think the
Genius compares to our Equus.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kym B.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
I LOVE my EQUUS
This car is amazing! It has all of the bells and whistles and the driving comfort is unbelievable. I highly recommend purchase. The built in ice chest, recliner in on back passenger side and the seat massage in the driver seat is heaven on wheels.

Pros
Every aspect and feature surpasses your wildest imagination.

Cons
Only a 4 seater

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sue R.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2018
Love my Equus
I just bought a 2011 Equus with only 33,000 miles on it. It drives like a dream and all the luxury features make driving it a pleasure from the window shades to the seat coolers. I am always getting comments from either my co-workers or people that I just come in contact with about the car. Most people don't know what a Equus is so always give them a tour of all the things that make driving it a pleasure. I definitely recommend this car to anyone that is looking for a luxury car but not at the high cost of a BMW or Mercedes. I have had people tell me that it is more comfortable and drives better than either of these makes. Give it a try. Find a late model used Equus and take the step up to the luxury car that you thought you could never afford.

Pros
Everything about this car is great. The comfort is unbelievable. The exterior always gets second looks from others. The V8 engine gives the added power needed to get onto the crowded Southern California freeways.

Cons
So far, I don't have any "cons" to offer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Laura S.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2018
Equus
One of the best cars we have ever owned. We wish they hadn’t quit making them. We dont like the Genesis. It’s not the same ride comfort and luxury as the Equus. 😢😢. Genesis is not the Equivalent to Equus.

Pros
Maintenance free the 1st 5 Years. Just oil, and tire changes since.

Cons
Slight discomfort in the back seating the the backs lean to much backwards. Other than that we love the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
John M.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2018
Andrew the owner cannot get me out of it...has more bells and whisles than the NEW ONES. Why is that?
No review just love my Equus better equipped than the new ones lets get the new ones better looking and more ideas with more ideas that help the customer. .Tested the new ones great but not my Equus.

Pros
all good

Cons
Needs a coat rack (hook ) on both back door sides..Console screen a little hard to master mainly how to enter driving directions destinations.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Joshua K.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2018
Evaluate Equus
I have been very happy with the car. Other than poor Gas Mileage, I have had no complaints. I got a loaner while it was under warranty. I have gotten many positive remarks regarding the styling. Very smooth ride.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Larry C.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2018
Hey
I love my equus. It's very sporty, luxury and most of all it has all the bells and whistles I was looking for. When I first saw it I knew I had to have it. You don't see this on a every day basis. Where I'm from they had never seen or heard of this car. When I told them it was made by Hyundai every time they said no way. I'm glad I found and bought this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Anthony F.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2018
Personal service.
Taking the trouble to listen to a customer concerns and putting those concerns to rest is the best thing a service rep can do. Driving away from a service knowing that everything has been looked at and taken care of is the best feeling that a customer can have in a service department!

Pros
COMFORT!

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Patrick G.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/04/2018
Best vehicle for the money.
WOULD BUY ANOTHER. WISH SUSPENSION HAD ONE MORE "STIFFNESS" SETTING. THE CAR IS EVERYTHING I HAD HOPED IT WOULD BE. LIKE THE STYLING MORE THAN THE G90. I WISH HYUNDAI WOULD OFFER A STIFFER REPLACEMENT FOR THE SHOCKS THAT WAS SOMEWHERE IN-BETWEEN THE SHOCK STIFFNESS BETWEEN A GENESIS V8 AND AN EQQUS.

Pros
LOW MAINTENANCE. GREAT MILEAGE FOR A V8.

Cons
TIRES ONLY LAST 30,000 MILES. SUSPENSION A LITTLE SOFT.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Karen R.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/04/2018
the Best car ever
I love my 2011 Equus ultimate. I’m sorry the body changed to the G90 Genisus. I think HYUNDAI missed the boat by not marketing this car better. It should have had its own brand like Lexus. It still runs like it did when I purchased it. Required little service. I took it when it was time for maintenance service. The typical brakes, battery replacement. That’s it. The best car ever. Proud to be an owner.

Pros
All good

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
Fernando B.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2018
the best
great automobile!!!! For the money, You cannot get a better Car. My wife love this car for its comfort, options and dependability ..Where is the new version of this car. THANKS...
Hope to see it sono!!!

Pros
great

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Mike L.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2018
2011 Equus
Outstanding vehicle of the Money---I wish they didn't stop making the Equus. Great reliable car I have the Equus Hood Ornament and I always get asked by individuals what type of vehicle this is. Lot of people think its a Rolls Royce. Great looking reliable Luxury Sedan

Pros
Great reliable Vehicle that looks outstanding

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Lonnie T.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/13/2018
Hyundai 2011 Equus
I am really enjoying driving the car , I have one concern about not being able to update my navigation and not able to listen to music with my phone through the USB port. Told they do not have any way to update the gps poor design making the consumer suffer behind their lack of vision.

Cons
Not able to update the gps or use the USB port to listen to music via cell phone

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kevin R.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2018
2011 Equus Ultimate
I've owned my current vehicle for almost 5 years now. I have come to enjoy all that this vehicle has to offer. I purchased it with 21,000 miles and now have accumulated 103,000 mile; and it still provides the performance and comfort first expected. It's primarily used for long distance travel and has lived up to the expectation, without fail.

Pros
Value for the Cost
Interior features
Interior roominess & comfort
fuel advantage (Regular Gasoline)

Cons
Inability to synchronize Android devices as Apple devices.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Michael A.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/29/2018
Best band for the buck.
I used to be a Lexus driver, but after I experienced the Equus, I was sold. It is the best car I've ever driven, and offers the best bang for the buck possible. I'm in sales and am on the road all the time. The Equus is a treat to drive. It is comfortable, quiet, responsive, powerful and handles beautifully. Getting behind the wheel never grows old. I actually look for places to drive as the car is a treat. I've found the perfect car.

Pros
The car is perfect.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sophia B.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/29/2018
Equus
The Hyundai Equus provides quality performance in a Sedan vehicle that offers a lot of features you may not receive in other higher end Sedan vehicles. Equus offers the consumer the flexibility of luxury and sport features in one vehicle that is more affordable. Equus is the true upcoming leader of luxury sedans that offers a wide range of features and affordable to the average consumer. I love my 2011 Equus because it suits my style and preference for a vehicle. By the end of the year, I will have 100,000 miles and most of them are highway miles. Despite the mileage, it still drives and performs like a brand new vehicle due to getting the routine scheduled maintenance at dealership. I take care of my Equus because it takes care of me on the road.

Pros
Features such as driver and rear massage seats, cold storage box, spacious, durable, V8, great gas mileage, navigation, Ultimate edition, etc.

Cons
Quality of Rear Window Shade- only because of the repetitive motion feature it didn't hold up after 7 years and having to replace the entire assembly for over $1200. But, if you are as cost efficient such as myself just take the fuse out and there you have it!

Tires- Continental but I prefer long lasting tires so I purchased BF Goodrich Sport.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Richard G.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2018
Great Car
I have always wanted the Eqis. I was already a owner of the Genesis and it was a great car. I gave that car to my son and I bought the Eqis. It was a smart buy. I have always loved Hyundai, the service and quality of car is unbeaten. I will buy a Hyundai again when the time arrives.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SO
Sid O.
2011 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/29/2018
Best car I’ve ever owned
I like everything about my Equus except the fact that it is no longer manufactured. Bad mistake! I will likely try to find a low-mileage 2015 or 2016 soon. If not, I’ll either buy a Santa Fe or a certified G90.

Pros
Value!

Cons
Disconnected.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 149 in total