Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


TR
Thomas R.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/16/2019
Another Hyundai class action lawsuit in the making.
The new variable speed transmission, when the cruise control is engaged, elevates the motor RPM's to an unrealistic level making it unsafe, increasing gas consumption, lowering your miles per gallon, and placing excessive and unwarranted wear and tare on the vehicle's drive train.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jeff W.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/16/2019
BUYER BEWARE
WARNING!!!

#HYUNDAICORPORATESUCKS...

SO AFTER BUYING A WHITE 2017 ELANTRA FROM A REPUTABLE DEALER WITH 16,150 MILES, THE PAINT STARTED PEELING OFF THE ROOF WITHIN 10 MILES OF LEAVING THE DEALERSHIP!!!

I THEN LEARNED FROM GOING ONLINE, THAT THIS SAME YEAR, MODEL AND COLOR HAVE HAD NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE PAINT PEELING OFF WITHOUT REASON AND EVEN AFTER HARD RAINS, "CHIPPING" OFF.

I SAW PICTURES THAT LOOKED JUST LIKE MY ISSUE AND EVEN FOUND OUT THAT A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT WAS FILED FOR THE SAME REASONS.

UNFORTUNATELY, THAT CASE WAS DISMISSED AND CONSUMERS WERE LEFT WITH SUBPAR PAINT.

#HYUNDAI PAINT COMES WITH A 3 YEAR/36,000 MILE WARRANTY OF WHICH THE 3 YEARS EXPIRES NEXT MONTH.

THE DEALERSHIP IS PAINTING PARTS OF THE CAR THAT HAVE ISSUES NOW UNDER WARRANTY, BUT I CALLED
#HYUNDAI OFFICES TO EXPLAIN MY SITUATION AND ASK THAT THEY ALLOW ME TO HAVE THE MILES PORTION LEFT ON THE PAINT WARRANTY (19,600) IN CASE THE PAINT STARTS PEELING IN A DIFFERENT AREA BUT AFTER NEXT MONTH'S "TIME EXPIRATION."

I DIDN'T ASK THEM TO PAINT THE WHOLE VEHICLE OR DO ANYTHING THAT COSTS THEM MONEY. JUST STAND BEHIND THE 36,000 MILES IF THE PROBLEM ARISES IN A NEW AREA OF THE CAR.

I WAS INFORMED BY CHRISITINA, A SUPERVISOR IN #HYUNDAI CONSUMER RELATIONS DEPARTMENT THAT #HYUNDAI WOULD NOT EXTEND THE TIME PORTION AND SIMPLY ALLOW THE REMAINING MILES PORTION TO STAY VALID IN CASE IT STARTS PEELING OFF ELSEWHERE.

I EVEN TOLD HER I PASSED A SIMILAR CAR WITH PAINT PEELED ON THEIR DOOR THAT LOOKED JUST LIKE MY ROOF ISSUE.

THANK GOODNESS, THE PROBLEM HAPPENED BEFORE THE TIME EXIRATION NEXT MONTH AND I WAS ABLE TO GET THE WARRANTY TO COVER THE AREAS THAT ARE CURRENTLY PEELING. THANKS TO #ILOVERICKCASEHYUNDAI

SO AS A RESULT OF #HYUNDAI NOT GRANTING MY REQUEST, I INFORMED HER THAT I WOULD BE GOING ON SOCIAL MEDIA TO WARN OTHER CONSUMERS ABOUT #HYUNDAI.

AND, THAT THEY ALL KNOW THIS IS A PERVASIVE PROBLEM WITH THIS YEAR, MODEL AND COLOR AND EVENTHOUGH NO RECALL WAS EVER DONE, THEY DO NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT WHEN OBVIOUS PREEXISITNG ISSUES EXIST.

AND, I HAVE LOVED MY 2005 BLUE SANTA FE THAT I BOUGHT IN 2014 WITH 174,000 MILES AND NO PAINT ISSUES AND EVEN 5 YEARS AND 100,000 MILES LATER, I HAVE NO PAINT ISSUES AT ALL.

I JUST HATE WHEN CORPORATIONS KNOWINGLY SELL PRODUCTS WITH INHERENT ISSUES AND THEN DO NOT STAND BEHIND THEM.

AND I WOULD NOT HAVE SAID ANYTHING IF I DIDN'T KNOW ENOUGH OTHER PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUES TO THE EXTENT OF ESTABLISHING A CLASS ACTION SUIT.

SO HYUNDAI BUYERS BEWARE...

I WILL REPOST THIS EVERYDAY UNTIL MY MILES RUN OUT.

GOOD P.R. MOVE #HYUNDAI.

GO ASK MIDAS, AT&T, CITIBANK AND WESTLAKE VILLAGE HOME BUILDERS IF THEY SHOULD HAVE LISTENED TO MY FIRST OFFERS...

#HYUNDAI

#HYUNDAICORPORATESUCKS

#ILOVERICKCASEHYUNDAI

AND HERE ARE MORE PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM...

http://www.carproblemzoo.com/hyundai/elantra/paint-problems.php

Pros
Some warranty...

Cons
Paint is peeling after 16,000 miles!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NA
Noah A.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/03/2019
Dealership Fail
Vehicle is a good purchase but the Scam from the dealership has left my purchase a nightmare. cant enjoy my purchase when in my opinion the dealership committed fraud.
Hyundai New Port Richey located in Pasco county, Florida

Pros
The new look

Cons
The dealership you will have to fight with

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
Elizabeth F.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/02/2019
I enjoy the feel of the car and how it responds to me.
It's a great car for an older person, can see out of it at all angles, small and compact with all the things one needs to see and drive with. Nice colors to pick from and easy to handle in small spaces or turn around.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MN
Miriam N.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/16/2019
don't know
I leased this car in November and it has an awful moldy smell, almost by the beginning. In addition the heater blower makes a loud motor sound. Thats why I am not happy with this car..................

Pros
its ok

Cons
i just got a lemon

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/17/2019
We would like to get involved to examine your claim further. A specialist will contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

DB
Dianne B.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/29/2019
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Really enjoy driving this car. It is my 4th Hyundai I have owned. Only wish auto manufacturers would take into consideration the senior generation when making upgrades to temperature controls, radio controls, etc.

Pros
See above.

Cons
See above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
David S.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/16/2019
Elantra Failure
My vehicle experienced an internal transmission failure at 5500 miles. It is at the dealer waiting for a new transmission. I am told it could be months because there are no transmissions in inventory. This failure prevents me from providing a positive review for the 2020 Elantra. The dealer is taking good care of me with a free loaner car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/17/2019
Safety is our top priority; we would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further. Thank you. ^cc

WT
William T.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/28/2019
Drivability Issue
Perfect car for the first 1000 miles then it changed. The combination of the 2.0 with the CVT transmission is likely causing the problem I'm having. Not happy with the constant RPM change under any driving condition.

Pros
Looks Good,

Cons
Engine with CVT transmission not so good.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/30/2019
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

JC
Jose C.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/01/2020
INTERIOR SMELLS LIKE MILDEW
CAR SMELLS LIKE MILDEW INSIDE WHEN IT WAS NEW, TOLD DEALERSHIP & THEY SAID IT WAS OK & I AM ALLERGIC TO MILDEW. CAR SMELL GOT WORSE. GOT RUGS REPLACED BY SERVICE & THE CAR STILL SMELLS. HAD TO CLEAN IT INSIDE MY SELF. WAS NOT PLEASE ABOUT THIS. THEY COULD HAVE HELP ME BETTER BY NOT SAYING CAR WAS OK & GETTING A DIFFERENT CAR WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 01/02/2020
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

ML
MIKE L.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/05/2019
Dissapointed in the ride quality and difficult get in and out of the car
This is my third Hyundai. I have had two Tuscon's and now the Elantra. The Tuscon's were too tall and I had trouble getting in and out. The design of the Elantra makes it difficult to enter and exit the front compartment. The noise level of the the 2019 and 2020 Hyundai's are worse then any previous models. The 17 inch tires are horrible for noise and bumpy ride. The seats are also uncomfortable also.

Pros
Very reliable and lots of suppoort

Cons
Noisy and uncomfortable ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
ALAN G.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/09/2019
Old auto
This vehicle is almost the same as my old Toyota. The ride is the same. This vehicle seems move just a little faster than old vehicle. Do not like the fact that the radio plays lower when you put it in reverse.

Pros
New

Cons
Ordinary vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Judith L.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/10/2019
Great Car, but it smells bad
I like the car, but hate the smell. The dealership said it is "New Car Smell" but I have owned many new cars - they never smelled this bad. Car is my sons (17) but I am going to see about getting smell removed

Pros
Great gas mileage, plenty of options for the money

Cons
SMELLS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
ISRAEL S.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/16/2019
Overrated
You need to improve the comfort of the ride, the rain seems to collect over the doors and rain on the back window is difficult to see. And most of all this survey is very cumbersome to complete and needs to be revamp tred

Pros
Accelerates nicely, roomy, height adjustment is nice to have

Cons
Lousy ride, front seats not comfortable, my rating will be totally ignored, rain is an issue over front doors , back window and side mirrors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NJ
Noah J.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/17/2019
Great ECONOMY CAR
So the car is great on gas, not a lot of bells or whistle. The only concern I have is my trunk keeps magically popping up without anyone pushing the button. This concerns me because I can’t leave anything in my car. I wonder if this may be a manufacture issue....

Pros
Great on gas.

Cons
Trunk pops up without being pushed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
HUMBERTO R.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/15/2020
humberto reales
I have own Hyunday since 2000 and never have ant problem whatsoever ,this the first Hunday that I not satisfied 100/100 because the
performing of the car as far as the pickup at the car is not that I can use, and the windshield wipers doesn't clean when is reaning..

Pros
none.

Cons
I submit already.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MINDY W.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/07/2019
Cool car
I like it. I wish the visors extended and there was xm radio and and auto lights. Always afraid of the lights not turning off or not on when rainy. Visors do not help cut sun when I drive in the AM and PM.

Cons
Wish the visors extended and lights were auto on and had xm radio

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Laura B.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/26/2019
My new 2020
I love the Elantra SE’s. Over the years I have owned 5 Hyundai vehicles. And will continue to purchase in the future. My only (big in my mind) complaint is the removal of Apple CarPlay on the 2020. I do not understand this as my 2018 has it. Nor am I able to have it added.

Pros
Great vehicle over all.

Cons
No Apple CarPlay

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
ROGER M.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/27/2019
Great car to drive
My Elantra is a fun car. It's my first car with so many features such as heated seats and mirrors, sun roof, fold in mirrors, back up camera ,etc. I love its mid size making it easy to park. For the money it seems to be a pretty solid well built vehicle. Of course time will tell if it holds up, but so far I am thrilled with its handling and overall look.

Pros
It's got all the features I want well within my price range.

Cons
Can only afford one

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LETHA M.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/04/2019
Great Value
Overall satisfied with this car, especially for the price. Comfortable and spacious with lots of tech features. A little less satisfied with uphill acceleration, but even with that being said, I still think it was a good deal for the cost.

Pros
Design, space, tech features

Cons
acceleration, especially on any level up uphill grade

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
ADRIAN W.
2020 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/06/2019
2020 elantra
New Elantra is much sturdier than the old one and a nice car to drive little smaller than the sonata driving this car is fun ,very good control and steering, radio is a little basic compared to the sonata but overall it's a very nice car to drive , Trunk could be a little wider but overall the car is quite nice for the money

Pros
New Elantra much sturdier than the old one

Cons
Elantra much smaller than a sonata

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 201 in total