2012
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5rating 4.59

709 Reviews

Latest review 7 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SM
Stephen M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2018
Great Car!
My Hyundai Elantra has been nothing but dependable for the last five years! It has been a real fun car to drive, and I would highly recommend buying one! I will definitely be looking to buy another one, when this ones done! I just don’t see this one being done for quite awhile! Two thumbs up for this Hyundai Elantra!

Pros
Comes jam packed with features!

Cons
Only beef so far is the quality of the speakers in the audio system. I’ve had too have 3 replaced. Luckily 2 were under warranty! I don’t even blast my stereo, but these speakers tend to wear out fast! I would definitely recommend using better or higher quality speakers in your newer models!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Cecilia T.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2018
Self
I have really enjoyed my Hyundai since I've had it, it is easy to handle and stylish at the same time. It I was to get another car, it would have to be a Hyundai. They honor their warranty and the people are friendly and understanding to your needs
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DAWN D.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/08/2018
Easy to drive.
Although my car is easy to drive, it doesn't do hills very well. The Rocky mountains leaves the car in the right hand lane pulling hills. Everyone is passing me except for the large semi trucks. It's disappointing to say the least.

Pros
Very little to say about the pros

Cons
See original statement above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Sharel G.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2018
a great great car
I love this car....there has been no extra maintenance except for what is required...totally reliable, fun, comfortable easy to get around car! Great on gas...great performance..
comfortable...the air conditioning and heated seats work great!

Cons
sunroof releases quite a bit of air...noisy. and I am using the deflector!
hard to see the edge of front hood!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Ron P.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/22/2018
2012 Elantra
We bought this car in August 2011 when the gas was approaching $5 per gallon to save on gas. It turns out the gas mileage claims by Hyundai were vastly overstated. Also this car STAYS in the shop! There is always something going wrong with it. I'm constantly shelling out money to fix it!. It has become a Money Pit which is why this is my last Hyundai!! I never had trouble like this with our two Nissan Maxima and two Hondas (Civic & CRV)!

Pros
Comfortable

Cons
Gas mileage isn't great.
Breaks down to much!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MI
Mohamed I.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/22/2018
There is alot of blind areas
And also i think u need to change the rear eand system I feel the cur is not safe while speeding
Steering system need work I feel that Toyota steering system is more smooth ,comfortable and safe than hyundai and kia
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Albert C.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/21/2018
Demonstrates Poe's Law
The moment it hit the 50,000 mile mark, my particular model triggered every single extended warranty notification. Performance, handling, use as a car however is superb. But it will break down on ya.

Pros
Good performance and maneuverability. Looks great. Comfy interior

Cons
Has a bunch of issues and problems that resemble a lemon

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Ally J.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/20/2018
2012 Hyundai Elantra Limited
I bought this car used 5 years ago for its economical gas usage. It’s been overall good to me. It slides when hitting any uneven surface over 60 mph and that’s always bothered me. I’ve also had to purchase 8 tires due to wear and tear from alignment issues. I’m a y’all woman (5’10”) and this car has always been too small for me height wise therefore making my overall experience less than perfect/enjoyable. My mother is 5’5 and it fits her perfectly in head room, and lumbar support etc.

Pros
Sleek look, great manueverability, great on gas, features and add ins make the car, perfect small car, back seat is comfortable, trunk is large for a compact vehicle

Cons
I’m tall (5’10”) so this car is way too small for me, my forehead hits the visor area constantly and my hair in a bun is squished. There’s no lumbar support or adjustability to the seats, the 2012 notoriously slides when hitting bumps on the highway over 60mph. I’ve gone through 8 sets of tires due to wear from/alignment.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2018
Very Good Car
This is a very good car. Besides brakes and regular oil changes, the only repair it needed was a crankshaft sensor at 120,000 miles. I will defiantly buy another one if this one ever wears out! Thanks.

Pros
Reliability, Styling, Economy

Cons
Needs more power and smoother ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Renee M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2018
Great
Haven't that many problems with it and everyone I have dealt with has been fantastic!! My service experience has always been great. I don't have 200 charactes to say. I always get great service. That's why I keep coming back.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Duane B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2018
Great fun vehicle to drive
Purchased this vehicle for my wife and I enjoy driving it. It is roomy enough for two adults and two pre teens to take a week long vacation in and enjoy the ride. Gets great gas milage, has plenty of get up and go and very easy to backup with the large backup camera. Only problem we have is who is going to drive.. I would gladly purchase another hyundai.

Pros
heated seats ( front and rear ), backup camera, sun roof, leather,

Cons
wife's car ..... but she does let me drive it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Laurie R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2018
I Love this car. It test drove it with 8 miles on it and have put over 241,000 in 6 years yes thats right and they are basically all highwat miles cause I have traveled for my job. Besides tires and oil changes I havent had to put any money into it. I get good gas mileage with it and since in INDIANA they JACK the PRICE Gas UP EVERY WEEK I'm thankful for goos gas mileage. It a Great CAr and I"m glad i choose it. I know I wont get anything if I use as a trade in and since I have PAID it off I hope it continues to run good for another Year or 2 before I have to buy another vehicle.
I Love this car. It test drove it with 8 miles on it and have put over 241,000 in 6 years yes that's right and they are basically all highway miles cause I have traveled for my job. Besides tires and oil changes I haven't had to put any money into it. I get good gas mileage with it and since in INDIANA they JACK the PRICE Gas UP EVERY WEEK I'm thankful for good gas mileage. It a Great Car!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VL
Vicki L.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2018
Elantra
Our Elantra is 6 years old. Still getting an average MPH of 37. We’re thinking of buying the hybrid next. We’ve had our car serviced at a few different Hyundai service and always been satisfied. Great car for the price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Li C.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/13/2018
Would not recommend
Since we bought the car in 2012 there were number of recalls, falls gas/miles, air in the tires have to be charged more often than my the other car. Not a fan of the car. The only reason I kept it is because my wife drives it, and she is ok with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Adam S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2018
Goes the Distance
We have owned this car for 6 years and have 120k miles on it. Gave it to our son and expecting to get over 200k. All we do is follow recommend service schedule to a T and have had no problems. This is our second Elantra...drove the first over 8 years hard! Only reason we moved to Hyundai Ioniq this time is because husband drives 100 miles a day for work and gas prices are killing us. Son is thrilled to have inherited the Elantra!!

Pros
GREAT WARRANTY, very comfortable...drove from Virginia to California in two days and never a stiff muscle. The car is a beautiful beast of a machine!

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Patricia B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/12/2018
great everyday drive
I bought my Elantra used and have not been disappointed. It's a nice car to drive to work and shopping. Easy to park. It is really an easy car to maintain. My Elantra feels like a quality drive on a budget price., and it looks great too (even 6 years later!)

Pros
Fun Drive-good gas mileage-Sized just right
good value

Cons
I wish it was a little higher off the grouund

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DY
David Y.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
Great value and very economical to operate.
We bought our Elantra to be our family car. We named her Ella and she averages 33 mpg in town and has consistently averaged 38-40 mpg on highway trips. Comfortable for four adults, five are a bit crowded. Very stylish -- we get comments all the time. Low maintenance costs through 70,000 miles. The only negatives are: no spare tire (we bought the upgrade kit to add a compact spare), the tan cloth interior shows dirt and is difficult to clean and road noise is a bit loud. If I bought again I would get the leather seats. But we won't be doing that --we're keeping Ella!

Pros
Gas mileage
Reliability
Styling

Cons
Road noise
Cloth interior gets dirty easily
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Marc R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/09/2018
Elantra
I'd recommend a Hyundai Elantra to anyone. It's very reliable and dependable. Smooth and fun drive. I haven't had a problem with the car since I bought it, pre-owned certified. And the price tag was fantastic.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FL
Frank L.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2018
Elantra Is "The Bomb"
I did a lot of research before buying this car. It is perfect for an all around utility vehicle I was looking for.
Great gas mileage, fun to drive and great service from Hyundai. I'll buy another one !

Pros
Fun to drive
Economical
Interior design is great

Cons
The front passenger height should be adjustable like the driver's side

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Dawn K.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2018
Love my car
I absolutely love my Hyundai Elantra! Would definitely buy another Hyundai car if I need one! It gets great gas mileage and is very reliable. Sporty and comfortable as well. The interior is spacious for a small car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 709 in total