Style image original

2008
Hyundai
Veracruz

Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5rating 4.85

98 Reviews

Latest review 6 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 01/15/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Please make them again!"

I LOVE my Veracruz! I wish Hyundai still made them, the Sante Fe 7 pass is smaller and my husband is a big guy so he feels squished. I WANT to buy a Hyundai again, I love the warranty and the fantastic service.

Pros
Great in snow, roomy and reliable

Cons
I have an 08 so the technology isn't great and you don't make them anymore

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/24/2017
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Overall"

Great vehicle

Pros
Handles great and low maintance.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/15/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Why did you discontnue this model?"

You discontinued this model in 2012. WHY??? I am selling my 2008 only to upgrade to 2012 Veracruz. The large 3.8 V6 DOHC engine is unsurpassed in power & reliability. By just slamming the door, you can tell this model is made very solid. Over 100K on 2008, with no major problems. Can seat 8 if needed, or else huge cargo space available.The engine still purrs like a kitten. Hyundai marketing did POOR job promoting this model. MOST people have NEVER heard of it. My mechanic also noted that this model is very easy to work on & was engineered to be that way - even to the replacement of headlights.

Pros
Best vehicle I have ever owned - and I am 62 years old.

Cons
Why did you discontinue this model?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/02/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Veracruz review"

My family is very pleased with our Veracruz, when we purchased our Veracruz it was a perfect fit for our family. Now our kids are all grown we don't need all the room, but we still drive it today. We have never had any problems with our Veracruz. We have been so impressed with the Hyundai quality vehicles our 3 kids just purchased each a Hyundai Tucson. When it is time for our new vehicle, we will be purchasing another Hyundai.

Pros
We like every aspect of the Veracruz.

Cons
Hyundai doesn't make the Veracruz anymore.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Wonderful car."

It is a shame that Hyundai had to stop importing this vehicle. The best car I have owned. I will never sell it. We bought it largely for road trips which it excels at.

Pros
comfort, styling inside and out, has every option except rear entertainment system. For a 2008 it has features that were not available at that time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Safety"

Dependable

Pros
Safe. Reluable

Cons
0

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/19/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2008 Hyundai Veracruz "

This is an excellent vehicle. Hyundai should have never discontinued it. We have nothing but praise for it. Great running, excellent engine and comfortable interior.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/02/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Better than Most Luxury Cars"

Best car I have owned in 40 years. Smooth ride, fuel efficiect powerful engine, and all the perks of luxury cars and much less the cost. It is my third Hyundai. So sorry to see them discontinued.

Pros
Everthing previously stated

Cons
Fundamental flaw design with engine oil leak that burns out the alternator which was part of a recall campaign.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/01/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Vera Cruz"

Love my Hyundai Vera Cruz but I'm waiting for Hyundai to offer a Hyundai Truck......

Pros
Love the warranty offered and its my dream car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/27/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Dependable "

Have had my Veracruz since 09 and it has 165 thousand miles on it aside from regular maintenance and 2 recalls I have never had any major problems with this suv. I love this vehicle it’s worth every penny I spent on it and if they still made this model I would definitely buy another one but since they don’t I just hope this one keeps going another 100 thousand miles

Cons
Only con I have is my lights seem to go out to quickly and they have to be replaced

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/27/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best"

Greatest vehicle
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/24/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my VeraCruz!!!"

Love my VeraCruz!!! The grandkids love the third seat!!! Wish they were making them again!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/13/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Love my Veracruz"

I've had my VeraCruz for 8 1/2 years. I've put 88,000 hard miles on this car and have had very little problems. I love the roomy 7-person seating, and the price is extremely reasonable for a car this size. My only complaint is that some interior parts are cheaply made and prone to breakage (I.e. plastic center console latches.) I have several broken latches , not that it's a huge deal. Otherwise, this is my second Hyundai, both of which I have been pleased.

Pros
Value for the $s

Cons
Cheap interior parts

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/01/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Veracruz"

We purchased our Hyundai Veracruz in 2008. It is undoubtedly the best car we have ever owned. I was praying it would not be totaled in the flood and it wasn't. I would buy another one today but they are no longer making that model, so I am keeping my old car. I will probably buy another model for a second car.

Pros
It has features seldom found in that category vehicle. Example: floor pedals that can be moved up and down.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/25/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best 2008 SUV"

I'm still the owner of the 2008 Hyundai Vera Cruz because it is an amazing SUV. I have had no issues and only routine maintenance of this wonderful SUV. I have friends who own much pricier SUV's and hear of their troubles. Fortunately I can't relate. Thank you Hyundai!

Pros
great styling great features reliability quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I like my veracruz"

118, 000 miles, no major problems. 9 years old runs like new.

Pros
I like it all except for the cons.

Cons
Door switch labels peel off, can not see navigation screen when the sun is high. It should be shaded.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Car"

My 2008 Hyundai Veracruz has been awesome and still going strong! It's very dependable, handles great in all weather conditions.

Pros
Best car I have owned

Cons
Headlight lens cloud up, have to repair or replace

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/17/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Good Suv"

Never had any problems whatsoever in seven years Ownership

Pros
Love everything about the vehicle except the two cons I listed

Cons
Not very quiet , so-so mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/11/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great family SUV"

Great vehicle. We got it used with 60,000 miles with minimal issues since then. All maintenance had been done on it yet the back hatch won't opne by itself after 115,000 miles and we had one bearing go out in the axle. Otherwise the SUV has been great. I don't like all the holes and cracks in the back. It's collected lots of dirt, rocks, and debris I can't get out.

Pros
Three rows with 2/3 being adjustable. Nice design and finishing touches.

Cons
Lots of cracks and crevices in the trunk area. Back hatch won't open itself anymore but it's $115 an hour to figure out why.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/05/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"We love our Veracruz!"

This vehicle has been a wonderful car for road trips to the coast and Lake Tahoe, which is the reason we bought it Very comfortable and quiet. The all-wheel drive makes it very secure in all conditions. The GPS and XM are wonderful. This is our 4th Hyundai and we still have our 2005 Tuscon. We are 100% Hyundai.

Pros
Comfort and styling

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 98 in total