Style image original

2014
Subaru
Forester

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7

54 Reviews

Latest review 10 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MS
MARILYN S.
2014 Subaru Forester
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
Forester
I have driven every German and almost most Japanese cars made. I had to say my Subaru is as dependable as any of them and better than most. Am definitely buying another one!

Pros
Best value for the car I have ever bought.

Cons
Some of the settings could be easier. Clock is hard to reset with time changes.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOHN G.
2014 Subaru Forester
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2018
great car
This is our second Forester. We find them perfect for our needs. They have a great cargo area, super handling, good visibility and easy to get in and out of. They are wonderful in slippery conditions and very comfortable in freeway driving.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Shane B.
2014 Subaru Forester
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2018
I like it.
Some of the short block engines go through a lot of oil and Subaru extended the warranty on the CVT transmission but I put a lot of miles on this vehicle and haven't had a single problem that makes me regret in any way my purchase of this vehicle. People I have in my vehicle always are saying they can't believe how well the car presents in ride, appearance, and feel even though it's coming up on 160k miles. I would say if you like the price, get one. You probably won't be sorry.

Pros
An overall feeling of you are not at risk of any major malfunctions occurring.

Cons
Mine goes through a lot of oil. A feature of some Subaru short block engines.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YR
YOLANDA R.
2014 Subaru Forester
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/30/2018
Opinion
I love my Subaru Forester. This is a great car for the kind of weather and terrain here in Idaho. My Great Pyrenees loves it too!

Pros
I didn't get the top model but it has almost everything i need. Love the comfort of the front seats.

Cons
I don't think the back seats were designed well enough when they are folded down. There is a big gap and my giant dog wants comfortable. I had to build up the gap so she would not fall through the big gaps.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
BARBARA R.
2014 Subaru Forester
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/09/2018
Subaru Forester
I love my Forester with one exception. The seats are the most uncomfortable car seats I have ever had.

Pros
Reliable Reliable Reliable

Cons
Seating uncomfortable and I think the storage space seems smaller than in my 1999 Forester.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DAVID C.
2014 Subaru Forester
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/15/2017
2014 forester 2.5 premium
Good pickup and fuel economy.
Backup camera excellent.
Horn not positioned for quick emergency response.
Bluetooth setup and time setting difficult.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JAMES H.
2014 Subaru Forester
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2017
My First Forester
I purchased a 2014 Forester Touring. Although this is my fourth Subaru, this is my FIRST Forester. I actually like it better than my last three, which were Outbacks (I still have one of them, a 99 Limited). I am 6' and the extra cabin height makes it easier to get in and out of. I have also had both knees replaced and the position of the steering wheel and lower/narrower rocker makes it easier than the Outbacks. One thing that has been unavailable (and I truly miss) is automatic dimming headlights. This would be an awesome addition.
Interestingly, when I purchased my Forester there were a couple of other "geezers" like me who had knee replacements trading their Outbacks for Foresters for the same reason...

Pros
Great gas mileage for an SUV. A small car that doesn't feel/handle like a small car.

Cons
No automatic headlight dimming available. Since I transitioned from Lincolns and high end Fords to this, it is really missed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RODERICK B.
2014 Subaru Forester
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/28/2017
Not crazy about it. Poor Quality.
1) Rear camera hard to see. 2) Headlights are weak, low beam is a safety hazard. 3) No dash light to say headlights are on. 2012 model has light. 4) Remote start is annoying. Motor shuts off when you open the door. Have to restart the engine. 5) no power source for cel phone charging when car is off. Lurches when you step on the gas. Tires spin in snow . Hard to feather the gas.
Repairs: Between 23 to 27 months: Driver door trim falling off, Radio/GPS off, had to be replaced, Battery dead at 23,000 miles. Now using oil, have to add between changes.

Pros
Rides nice. Good gas mileage.

Cons
Using oil. poor quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
MARIA O.
2014 Subaru Forester
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/23/2017
Great car - I researched the best car for my and I decided on a Subaru Forester
I was in a market for a new car; I researched and test-drove about 8 cars in the small SUV category and some fun ones too like the FIAT 500L. I decided on the Subaru Forester due to the safety features, the comfortable styling, my requirements of seating 5 people, energy sufficient, and good for car-camping and road trips, and value of the money. So far, I have been happy driving the car for the last three years. I only had one problem when the hatchback stopped working - some glitch, and I had to take it back to the dealer to reset to factory settings.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
ROBERT L.
2014 Subaru Forester
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2017
BEST
Best vehicle I have ever owned.

Pros
All great

Cons
??????

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
BARBARA R.
2014 Subaru Forester
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/25/2017
Subaru Forester
The only real problem I have with my Forrester is the comfort of the seats. No one is comfortable in them.

Pros
Love it LOve it

Cons
Seating is extremely uncomfortable no matter where you sit. The seat are hard.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
PAULA F.
2014 Subaru Forester
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2017
Subaru Forester Review
I love my Subaru Forester! It's comfortable, gets good gas mileage, hugs the road, and drives great in winter conditions. I would definitely consider purchasing another Forester should the need arise.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
GARY B.
2014 Subaru Forester
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2017
Subaru Forester 2014
This vehicle replaced a Subaru Outback 2004 which had 230K miles, the Forester is much better on gas millage and handles better than expected in winter driving and towing of trailer.

Pros
good gas millage, excellent handling, comfortable to drive over long distances.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARILYN W.
2014 Subaru Forester
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2017
Love it!
I've only had the car for 2 weeks but I love it! I really appreciate how high I sit. I like the visibility! The big windows bring in a lot of natural light and the sun/moon roof is huge! The ride is smooth and the bumps feel easy now. The clearance from the ground to the bumper is enough to get around a city with lots of potholes and not bottom out. It's great on gas too! The sound system is awesome and the hands-free phone is a nice feature. I am very happy with my purchase! I wanted something to make my life easier and this car does it! I am a grateful owner of a 2014 Subaru Forester!

Pros
Comfort
Visibility
MPG
Sound System
Cargo space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
PETER K.
2014 Subaru Forester
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/28/2017
My 2014 Subaru Forester
Very nice vehicle, maintenance checks have gone well. Nice vehicle for the money all through Patriot Subaru in Saco

Pros
All of the above great on the road and nice to drive

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CHARLES R.
2014 Subaru Forester
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/26/2017
forrester
excellent car ,I would buy another.

Cons
rear camera too small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
ROBIN C.
2014 Subaru Forester
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/12/2017
I ❤️ My Forester!!
I've only had my Forester for a few days, and so far so GREAT!! I love it! I'm very pleased with my purchase and know many great adventures are ahead for family and I!...

Pros
EVERYTHING!!

Cons
None!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JAMES K.
2014 Subaru Forester
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/10/2016
Forester- Great Vehicle
We love the performance and reliability of our 2014 Subaru Forester. The visibility for the driver is outstanding and a significant reason we purchased the vehicle 3 years ago.

Pros
Great visibility from driver's seat. Excellent reliability and performance.

Cons
Navigating through settings on digital feature controls and trying to follow owner's manual instructions in doing so.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JOHN B.
2014 Subaru Forester
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2016
2014 Subaru Forester
Never owned a Subaru before but after purchasing my new 2014 Subaru Forester......no question that I will be back for sure!!! Love it!!!

Pros
Very comfortable and reliable

Cons
Not as many features as my Charger and other vehicles....but not a show stopper!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
TIM P.
2014 Subaru Forester
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/09/2016
Subaru forster 2014
i love my subaru forester. It is all that i expected it to be. Plenty of room to carry all my gear (hike, ski, kayak, SUP, camp, bike) and friends/family/dogs along with me! This is my fourth Subaru and 2nd forester so i pretty knew i was going to love it. AND as we get newer and newer (Im a fan of used cars) the add ons keep getting better, like blue tooth and sunroofs !!

Pros
visability
blue tooth for my cell phone
sun roof is awesome
easy to reach everything

Cons
a little higher from the outside getting my things onto my racks, but I can work with it
hoping for keyless entry on my next car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 54 in total