Style image original

2001
Ford
Explorer

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75

8 Reviews

Latest review about 2 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 10/31/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love it "

Radio gave me trouble spent lots of money on it till found out the radio was the problem

Pros
Sits up high

Cons
Hard for me to get in

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/06/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"01 ford,explorer"

Overall reliability of 01 explorer

Pros
Great gas mileage in city an on highway

Cons
Had to replace,things to often like,trans wheel berrings brakes an rotors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/01/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"01 explorer"

Only major problem I've had is trans I personally think there should have been a recall on the explorer trans I know 9 that own a explorer every trans had to be replaced

Pros
5.0 engine

Cons
To many repairs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/07/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2001 Ford Explorer"

It has 145 k miles and runs like. Champ. It's our weekend warrior.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/27/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Ford Explorer"

I have owned my explorer for 15 years and over the years this is just some of what "the beast" has done: drove across the country 2x, lived in extremely cold weather in Montana to extremely hot weather of south Georgia, packed full of camping gearing (CarolinaRebellion), pulled trailers and boats, off roading (moderate terrain), and survived 3 wrecks. While over the years I have spent on repairs, I am blessed I have an incredible mechanic that keeps it running like new!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/13/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Very dependable and practical"

Overall it's been a great vehicle for me. It serves my needs well for camping, traveling through the mountains in the winter, canoeing and biking. Holds a lot of gear and I can comfortably sleep in it with the back seats folded down. I expect to get 300,000 miles out of the engine which now runs great at 219,000 and doesn't burn a drop of oil and gets pretty decent gas mileage for it's size and being AWD with 4 x 4 low range capabilities. Besides rebuilding the A/C system and the transmission it has had only required normal maintenance. I'll be sad to see it go when it needs to be replaced.

Pros
Overall reliabiity and features

Cons
Truck-like ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/22/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great suv"

Great car with only small repairs
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/25/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Sure-Footed Satisfaction"

Full-time AWD with auto transmission and V-8 gasoline engine has a nice feel of road "stickiness" and feedback. Notable mileage for an 8-cyl, with more than adequate power, Explorer embodies the true aims of on/off road SUV with a nice highway ride; yet a truck "feel" and better than car ground clearance, riding height. Smart styling, ergonomic layout make it easy to drive and presentable anywhere. The popularity of this model over many years makes servicing and parts replacement easy and economical - and Ford's truck experience ensures that those are not frequent unplanned occasions!

Pros
Flexible cargo/seating configurations Full-time all wheel drive Smart, accessible layout of controls 4-wheel disc brakes Great array of features for middle-grade package (XLT)

Cons
Rear leaf springs - would prefer to see coils here, but I think later year models have changed this.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 8 Review