2007
Ford
Explorer

Overall Rating 4.05/5Overall Rating 4.05/5Overall Rating 4.05/5Overall Rating 4.05/5rating 4.05

22 Reviews

Latest review 20 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GG
GEZA G.
2007 Ford Explorer
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/28/2018
I've owned better
Transmission is sluggish in shifting. Several blind spots when trying to change lanes. I had a thermostat housing break just driving under normal conditions.
My next vehicle I'll go back to a Jeep Grand Cherokee.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KO
KENNETH O.
2007 Ford Explorer
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/17/2018
Wish the '07 Explorer had real greasable bearings
My 2007 Explorer (called the exploder by my wife) has a great motor, no problems ever, but the "permanently lubed" bearings are worthless, so far, I've had to replace bearings 6 times at a cost of $4200. Have also had to rebuild the transmission. My previous Explorer (1996) never had these problems, which is why I purchased another one - NEVER AGAIN.

Pros
Reliable motor

Cons
Bearings are good for about 50-60,000 miles if you're lucky, transmission 80,000 miles. Very expensive vehicle to maintain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
DIANE F.
2007 Ford Explorer
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2018
Eddie Bauer
I love my Explorer... I hate to think about having to get a new or newer car.

Pros
4 wheel drive. On a truck chassis and not a cars. More rugged than new Explorers. Great looks, always gets compliments.

Cons
Lift gate is heavy. Would be nice to be able to get after market push button to open it. Gas mileage low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VP
VAL P.
2007 Ford Explorer
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2018
I love my Ford Explorer
I love my Ford Explorer even tho it is a 2007 vehicle. It rides well and is very comfortable. It could use some tranny work as it leaks a little fluid at times. But all in all it servers me well. It has lots of room and I can even use it as a camper when I out the backseats down, I have done that many times!

Pros
All if the above

Cons
In high winds the car can be affected and should be driven at a slower speed. SUVs are top heavy and caution should be used when turning, avoiding high speeds

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
DIANE F.
2007 Ford Explorer
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/14/2018
2007 Ford Explorer/Eddie Bauer
I absolutely love my 2007 Explorer. It is a sturdy SUV on a truck chasis. I just had my 100,000 mile inspection and am ready for 100,000 more!

Pros
Too much to put down.

Cons
Lift gate is hard to lift ( heavy). I wish there would be an add on kit to make it automatic open and close like the newer model Explorers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JEANNE D.
2007 Ford Explorer
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/26/2018
I love my FORD EXPLORER
I enjoy driving rhe EXPLORER. Tjerw is plenty of room for other riders and the ac is noce and xold. A couple of blind spots make it difficult for lane changes.i would recommend the vehicle. Easy to maintain.

Pros
Roomy. Strong engine.

Cons
Blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KO
KENNETH O.
2007 Ford Explorer
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/18/2017
Worst vehicle I've ever owned
So far I've had to have the front wheeling bearings replaced twice and the rear ones once at a cost of approximately $5,000.00 also have had to have the transmission rebuilt twice - can't remember how many thousands of dollars this ran. Only thing good on this vehicle is the engine, a V-6 which has never given me a problem. When I inquired about why form went to permanently lubricated bearings which can't be lubed, I was told it was to reduce the total cost of ownership - yeah, people would rather pay $3,000 every 50,000 - 60,000 miles (which is all they last) than $25 every time they have the oil changed for a lube job.

Pros
It's four wheel drive and has a reliable engine.

Cons
Most expensive vehicle to maintain, most unreliable, multiple bearing failures and transmission failures. Tried to rate this as a 1 on value for the money, reliability and build quality & the site wouldn't allow it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
RON L.
2007 Ford Explorer
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/24/2017
Safety
Have always felt comfortable and safe while traveling.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TJ
TERRY J.
2007 Ford Explorer
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2017
Very Solid!
Cherry, my 2007 Explorer is running like a charm! She's had a few repairs but that is to be expected! This is my 2nd Explorer that I have owned for 10 years or more!!

Pros
Can seat 7!!!

Cons
Leather seats are a beige color and get dirty easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Earl C.
2007 Ford Explorer
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/19/2017
I was sold a lemon
I did not have any type of extended warranty upon purchase. I've discovered problems within the 30 days of purchase and some was corrected another was apparent but I did not have the foresight to notice it til after my thirty days and the dealership mechanic wanted to charge me $300.00 dollars for the part I purchased for approximately $65.00 and put it on my self. (I was a helicopter mechanic in the navy). It probable belief that my current computer module destroyed due to some previous alterations has tampered and messed up the wiring. I won't no the truth on this. It's a very sad lesson to learn from a dealership who present themselves as highly recognized and still took advantage of me.

Pros
This vechicle has all the features I've always wanted in a Ford SUV.

Cons
Very disappointed for it's condition as a use vechicle that could be considered a lemon and I'm still paying over $7.000 on it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
SHERRIE C.
2007 Ford Explorer
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2017
Love
This is our 2nd Explorer, we got over 300k miles on our 2002 gas mileage sucks but we still Love it 😊

Pros
Can haul many large items I can put an 8ft Christmas tree in it

Cons
Gas milage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Linda G.
2007 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/29/2017
Lynn
I bought this vehicle used with 3500 miles on it. It has been a reliable car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Susan B.
2007 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2017
Ford Explorers are the greatest.
I have an older Ford Explorer, 2007, with 182,000. I hope it stays with me past 200,000. I love this car. It's taken me to places in the US that you can't imagine, narrow mountain roads, water covered lanes, highways, extreme heat, severe cold; it never fails. I would recommend the Ford Explorer - 4 wheeled drive - to any driver, male or female, young or old. I have four dogs and it's a great car for the dog owner. It has lots of room - I have three rows of seats and they are very easy to put up and down for a variety of configurations both with seating people, dogs and cargo. I love this car.

Pros
- reliability at 181,000 miles.
- easy to configure seats for many uses both for people, pets and cargo
- very comfortable to drive regardless of road conditions
- leather upholstery holding up well after 10 years
- body and paint still perfect after 10 years of much off road and highway traveling
- beautiful tow vehicle

Cons
- I can't think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
CINDY AND GUS P.
2007 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/09/2016
Love my car
This is a great family car. For short trips and long trips it's a great car.

Pros
Comfortable,roomy

Cons
The gas!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
DONNA A.
2007 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2016
I love my explorer. I would not want any other truck.
I love the way it handles tight curves and has plenty of clearance for our uneven and rough Minnesota roads.
It handles the winter driving conditions well, good weight distribution too.
I do keep the mist rugged tires available on my truck. It helps quite a bit.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JEFF M.
2007 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2016
My Explorer is the greatest
I love the ride and dependability of my Explorer--
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CHRIS S.
2007 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2016
Best SUV ever owned, glad I found it.
Love this vehicle, Minimal problems, Front wheel bearings were the most costly item I have put on this vehicle. Most maintenece items such as brakes, oil, tires.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Bill M.
2007 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/12/2016
2007 Explorer
Original owner.. Have over 100,000 miles. Rides like a vehicle with 30,000 miles. With normal Maintenance vehicle has never let me down. Body free from rust. Major repair has been the breaks. Very Happy with vehicle.

Pros
Durability and Reliability. Good storage and amazing performance of 4 wheel drive system on snow covered roads. Sure footed... Never been stuck.

Cons
Ride a little stiff

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JOE S.
2007 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/01/2016
No longer a Ford guy
I have had 5 different Explorers (I still have a 2007), and all but one have been great cars, and one of the reasons I loved the Explorer was because it was very affordable for what you got. Unfortunately, my 2004 Explorer was an absolute lemon, and Ford didn't stand behind the factory defects, of which there were many. EVERY SINGLE EXPLORER with that body has a CRACK IN THE TAILGATE below the window. The fact that they didn't do a recall on it is inexcusable. Also, there WAS a recall on the defective transmission, but all they did was put an ADDITIVE in the transmission fluid! That isn't FIXING it; it is just masking it. I had to have the fluid added twice, and then the transmission went out at 100,000 miles (just like EVERY other Explorer of that year-all of the transmissions will go out before they hit 120k miles). In addition, I was treated like garbage by Ford Credit when calling to get a lien release when I bought a new vehicle, which is a 2016 GMC Acadia. You will pay a lot more money for a GMC, but it is ten times the vehicle that the Ford Explorer was. I guess I should be glad that they made the 2004 so poorly, because if they hadn't, then I wouldn't be driving the best car I've ever owned, which is the GMC Acadia.

Pros
Inexpensive

Cons
Ford doesn't stand behind its manufacturing defects.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AO
ABRAHAM O.
2007 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/20/2016
Ford Exployer
Longest I've ever had a car. It's been 8 years on this one and I still love it.

Pros
Great in inclement weather

Cons
Third row seats motor went bad after 3 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 22 in total