Style image original

2004
Ford
Explorer

Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5rating 4.69

16 Reviews

Latest review 13 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DD
DAVID D.
2004 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/09/2018
I love my truck
I love my 2004 Ford Explorer it's comfortable it rides well it's good on gas for me and it takes any words of not getting through bad weather away I would definitely recommend it to any of my friends

Pros
The whole vehicle

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZB
ZIGGY B.
2004 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/31/2018
2004 explorer
Very dependable. Had since new now 177000 miles and still runs great. New trans at 36000 miles & Ford did it for free. Good gas mileage & very good performance. Hit the gas & it does have balls for a 6 cylinder.

Pros
Can use E 85 gas

Cons
Would like better suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
NORMAN C.
2004 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2018
I Love This Car!
I've had this car for twelve years with very few problems. The transmission is starting to give me some trouble, though ; Not looking forward to the repair.

Pros
Handles great and pulls hills like a champ!

Cons
Had to replace the whole instrument cluster because a couple gages were bad. Also have a little trouble with the CD player; Discs kept getting stuck .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
Ed P.
2004 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/29/2017
2004 Ford Explorer
Bought as a daily driver for work.
It has been a very dependable vehicle even though it has 160,000 plus miles.
Looks nice, drive good.

Pros
Comfortable, 7 passenger, Full time-Selectable 4WD,
Fold down rear seats for more storage
Can open rear window or entire lift gate

Cons
None for over 2 years.
Serves our needs well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Maria T.
2004 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/22/2017
Ford Explorer
Love this SUV

Pros
Very had an issues with my Ford I absolutely love it! N

Cons
The back panel cracked and they wouldn't replace it I've seen it on almost every explorer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

W.
WES ..
2004 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2017
Love my Explorer!
I've had my Explorer since 2009, nothing but great things to say about it!! I've traveled so much these past few years and I'm happy to have gone those miles in my Ford.

Pros
Plenty of space, great on gas, love it

Cons
CD player for some reason keeps cutting off and now won't play...hmm

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WG
Walt D. G.
2004 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2017
Love it.
This is a reliable, low maintenance vehicle for us.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EO
Ed O.
2004 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/27/2017
Maintenance
I've owned one of the first three generations of Ford Explorers', 1991,1995 *2004. The best 1995. The worst 2004. A/C, control unit totally replaced. A/C* is weak for the air space to cool here in Oklahoma. Deforst has been patched to work. Lucky this is a spare vehicle. Electric windows the back two have quite working and passenger is questionable. The driver window has been repaired.

Pros
5,600 pounds the heaviest Ford Explorers I've owned with a 4 liter engine. It pulls pretty good. A a steel bed trailer with a corvette to autocross a few times a year.

Cons
Electrical and A/C heater are poor.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
MELISSA K.
2004 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2017
Explorer
My explorer has always been good to me, I can't wait until I am able to get the brand new one

Pros
Overall good vehicle

Cons
I don't have any cons about my truck

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
NORMAN C.
2004 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/03/2017
My 2004 Explorer
I bought my Explorer almost new, and have had it going on twelve years. This is the longest I have ever owned a car; Thanks for making a quality product.

Pros
Great utility, Lots of power.

Cons
Some repairs tend to be very expensive - Especially the electronic components.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
NORMAN C.
2004 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/22/2016
I Love This Car!
I bought my 2004 Explorer almost new in 2005. I have owned it for over eleven years, and I have had no major problems with this vehicle. In fact it's given me years of great service and lots of pleasant memories with my niece and nephew as I spoiled them rotten. With one exception I have driven nothing but Ford products my entire driving life (My first car was a 1958 Ford Fairlane) . Congratulations to Ford for making such a quality product !

Pros
It is a good family car and a great utility vehicle.

Cons
The electronics are starting to fail, and fixing these problems is going to be very expensive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Diane G.
2004 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/29/2016
2004 - 2016 FORD
This is my 2nd Explorer. My 1st was in 1998-2004. It was totaled in a terrible accident. It saved my life. I depend on this Explorer 2004-2016 and Mastertek Auto Repair makes that happen.

Pros
Comfortable, very reliable and easy to drive in any weather at normal speeds. Normal maintenance costs.

Cons
Paint needs to be protected better on hood and wheel well area. Biggest expense in 12 years, transmission replaced at 100K mi.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jeff M.
2004 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/19/2016
The 2004 Ford Explorer has been my best ever vehicle.
I have been from Maine to Florida and from Nashville to Lake Superiour in my 2004 Ford Explorer, I have made many ice-ey and snowy trips from work to home and back over the last eleven winters. My biggest regret concerning my Explorer is the Maryland road salt that keeps eating at it.

Pros
Sturdy vehicle, fun to drive, good looking.

Cons
Poor design for the sun visors, had to make repairs on both of them.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FK
FLOYD K.
2004 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2015
2004 Limited Explorer
Still rides very well even after 170K. Has been a great vehicle for all I have asked of it. Durable, Good looking, comfortable ride, and a pleasure to own.

Pros
Excellent all around vehicle.

Cons
A little small but I didn't want a larger one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DAVE K.
2004 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2015
2004 Ford explorer
I love my Ford Explorer. It gives me the convenience of owning a truck using my tow package and trailer combined with the abiility to haul my grandkids around comfortably and safely. I have very few mechanical problems and I would buy Ford again.

Pros
Great performance and reliability

Cons
I wish it got better gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FK
FLOYD K.
2004 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/16/2015
My 2004 Explorer Limited.
This vehicle has been a great car/truck for me these eleven years. It has only one weakness and that is wheel bearings. I never have replaced wheel bearings on any car I have owned including 4 other Explorers except this one. I do believe that the ones used on this vehicle are Chinese made junk. The replacements have also been of the same quality. So this last replacement I insisted on American made and paid more. We will see if that helps. Floyd

Pros
Well built and a pleasure to drive. Always has looked sharp over the years.

Cons
Mileage was very acceptable for a year, but has continually dropped over its years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 16 Review