2006
Ford
Explorer

Overall Rating 4.36/5Overall Rating 4.36/5Overall Rating 4.36/5Overall Rating 4.36/5rating 4.36

22 Reviews

Latest review 4 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SB
Scott B.
2006 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/03/2018
Reliable
Great vechicle too drive. Very low maintenance on my truck it currently has 170,000 miles and I expect lots more. Has had some mechanical issues but that’s expected at the miles and age it’s a 2006. Thank you

Pros
Roomy comforts

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DEB H.
2006 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/23/2018
2006 Ford Explorer
Owned this vehicle for 10 years. Reliable and comfortable ride. Well maintained, 117,000 miles and keeps going strong. Happy with this SUV. Husband wants to buy another Explorer due to satisfaction with this vehicle.

Pros
Reliability and performance

Cons
Wish it had seat heater/cooler and remote start.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Ronald F.
2006 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2018
Love it
Has a few designs for a 2006 that could be changed door handles on inside are located too low, back seats need to be able to lay a little flatter, radio could have been better, has a tape deck with CD player
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZM
ZACH M.
2006 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/05/2018
Ford continues to produce crap
My Explorer has been in the shop nine times since I bought it in July! From a dealer no less. I don’t have a character count long enough to list all the issues! My most expensive one thus far is a transfer case.

Pros
None

Cons
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NS
Nancy S.
2006 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/30/2017
I love my Explorer
I bought my explorer used, and have driven it a few years until old age (the car!) a minor accident, and maintenance issues caught up. Now that everything has been brought up to snuff, I expect to drive it until the wheels fall off! I Love it!

Pros
see above...love the storage; I seem to have to carry all the little doo-dads that make me comfy. Oh yes, and I like the way it looks - it pleases my eye.

Cons
A small issue: I always feel that I am fitting myself into the cockpit of a jet. Once I'm in, and strapped down, it's okay.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
MANUEL E.
2006 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/24/2017
Ford Explorer
Great truck
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Sharon L.
2006 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/07/2017
Mine
Very good truck. Wouldn't have anything else.

Pros
Good on gas.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
David D.
2006 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/05/2017
bought used
Had a few problems, but Hamilton Service Center got the kinks knocked out. It was a good deal and now I can talk on the phone hands free!!! I like the extras it came with.

Pros
Great deal! Fun sunroof.

Cons
A few problems at the beginning, nothing major.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MARK/GAYLE R.
2006 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/20/2017
2006 Ford Explorer Limited
Had the 4.6 V8 with 6 speed transmission. Good vehicle for the 7 years we owed it. No issues and traded up to an F150 due to needing higher tow capacity. Got a decent trade in.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
Pamela R.
2006 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/09/2017
Frampton
My truck is old but I cannot part with it. LOL I named it Frampton. Ronnie installed a motor for me. I make sure I get the oil changed and for any other service needed, I take it back to Ronnie. Hope to have it on the road for many more years.

Pros
Love the tow, used it twice. Love the size to pick up big ticket items and awesome when your at the beach.

Cons
Gas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Sharon L.
2006 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/05/2017
Sharon
Good vehicle. Some trouble but that is to be expected. Overall good SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DEBORAH G.
2006 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/09/2017
2006 Ford Explorer
I was told I have the last of the best of the Ford Explorer and to keep it as long as possible. The frame is a truck frame and sturdy. She might ride like a truck but I do enjoy my Explorer. I bought my Explorer from my son with 75,000 miles and she has 128,000 mile and still going strong. The only flaw I have found is in the design of the door handles. But overall I really enjoy my ride.

Pros
The vehicle itself is a really good. My sister has a newer version either a 2015 or 2016 Ford Explorer but I like the comfort of mine better. Especially when getting in and out of my vehicle compared to hers. Her wheel well cuts into the rear doors. There is not a smooth transition getting in and out of her car compared to mine.

Cons
The door handles are not designed well. When you have to reach under the door electronics to grab the door handle it is uncomfortable and not natural.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ANGELIQUE H.
2006 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/15/2017
My exporer limited
I love my car it is roomy and love driving it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JIM/KATHY M.
2006 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/22/2017
Good vehicle
Only had this vehicle less than a year. Not used to buying a used vehicle. Seems ok for the price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
ALLISON K.
2006 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/19/2017
I love it!
I really love my Ford Explorer. I bought the vehicle used from a dealer, but it has been a very reliable car with no problems. I would definitely buy another one if the opportunity arrises.

Pros
This vehicle is super reliable and fun to drive. It also looks great!

Cons
I find the vehicle slips a lot on icy terrain. I thought buying a sports utility vehicle would ensure better traction, but that hasn't been the case.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jeff S.
2006 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2016
Ford Explorer 2006. Love it
I love my Explorer. I bought it new and had it paid off 2 yrs ago. There's lots of new cars out there but my car in many ways is still like new.

Pros
Leather interior, easy to work on and do oil changes. Parts are usually easy to come by if needed. 3 rows of seats for my daughter and her friends. Or roll the 3rd down for lots of shopping items.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
DAVID F.
2006 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/30/2016
good for most everything you need to do
still like it after all the miles good transport

Pros
good in bad weather

Cons
gas millage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Don H.
2006 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/15/2016
Works, but repairs get pricey.
My 2006 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer works well. However, repairs are almost constant as it ages - unlike a Subaru, this vehicle does not age gracefully. In the last year I have had to put $3,000 in repairs into it for things like pintle bearings, radiator, bad seals on water pump and timing chain, full front brake replacement.

Yeah, it's cheaper than the payment on a new one, but just barely.

Pros
When it runs, it works well. Comfortable and capable with the 4 wheel drive system.

Cons
It has not aged gracefully. In the last year alone, it has cost me over $3,000 in repairs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
J.C W.
2006 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/13/2016
Best in class
This is my second explorer and am pleased with it. Would buy another one if I needed a vehicle.

Pros
Good dependable vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAMES M.
2006 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2016
Excellent vehicle
Best vehicle I ever owned or driven. It's 9 years and still looks and drives like new.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 22 in total