Style image original

2006
Ford
Explorer

Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5rating 4.54

13 Reviews

Latest review 12 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 08/09/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Frampton"

My truck is old but I cannot part with it. LOL I named it Frampton. Ronnie installed a motor for me. I make sure I get the oil changed and for any other service needed, I take it back to Ronnie. Hope to have it on the road for many more years.

Pros
Love the tow, used it twice. Love the size to pick up big ticket items and awesome when your at the beach.

Cons
Gas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/05/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Sharon"

Good vehicle. Some trouble but that is to be expected. Overall good SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/09/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2006 Ford Explorer"

I was told I have the last of the best of the Ford Explorer and to keep it as long as possible. The frame is a truck frame and sturdy. She might ride like a truck but I do enjoy my Explorer. I bought my Explorer from my son with 75,000 miles and she has 128,000 mile and still going strong. The only flaw I have found is in the design of the door handles. But overall I really enjoy my ride.

Pros
The vehicle itself is a really good. My sister has a newer version either a 2015 or 2016 Ford Explorer but I like the comfort of mine better. Especially when getting in and out of my vehicle compared to hers. Her wheel well cuts into the rear doors. There is not a smooth transition getting in and out of her car compared to mine.

Cons
The door handles are not designed well. When you have to reach under the door electronics to grab the door handle it is uncomfortable and not natural.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/15/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My exporer limited"

I love my car it is roomy and love driving it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/22/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Good vehicle"

Only had this vehicle less than a year. Not used to buying a used vehicle. Seems ok for the price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/19/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love it!"

I really love my Ford Explorer. I bought the vehicle used from a dealer, but it has been a very reliable car with no problems. I would definitely buy another one if the opportunity arrises.

Pros
This vehicle is super reliable and fun to drive. It also looks great!

Cons
I find the vehicle slips a lot on icy terrain. I thought buying a sports utility vehicle would ensure better traction, but that hasn't been the case.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/29/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Ford Explorer 2006. Love it "

I love my Explorer. I bought it new and had it paid off 2 yrs ago. There's lots of new cars out there but my car in many ways is still like new.

Pros
Leather interior, easy to work on and do oil changes. Parts are usually easy to come by if needed. 3 rows of seats for my daughter and her friends. Or roll the 3rd down for lots of shopping items.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/30/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"good for most everything you need to do"

still like it after all the miles good transport

Pros
good in bad weather

Cons
gas millage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/15/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Works, but repairs get pricey."

My 2006 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer works well. However, repairs are almost constant as it ages - unlike a Subaru, this vehicle does not age gracefully. In the last year I have had to put $3,000 in repairs into it for things like pintle bearings, radiator, bad seals on water pump and timing chain, full front brake replacement. Yeah, it's cheaper than the payment on a new one, but just barely.

Pros
When it runs, it works well. Comfortable and capable with the 4 wheel drive system.

Cons
It has not aged gracefully. In the last year alone, it has cost me over $3,000 in repairs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/13/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best in class"

This is my second explorer and am pleased with it. Would buy another one if I needed a vehicle.

Pros
Good dependable vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/13/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Excellent vehicle"

Best vehicle I ever owned or driven. It's 9 years and still looks and drives like new.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/30/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my eddie bower explorer"

At 150,000 miles it runs great ,just normal wear and tear and reg maint issues

Pros
Ita all good

Cons
Lower gas milage then a 4 cyl

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/25/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"love my Explorer"

Great daily driver and work vehicle

Pros
Comfortable driving - great at hauling equipment, grand kids and Home Depot stuff.

Cons
gas milage (15 to 16 mpg)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 13 Review