Style image original

2008
Ford
Explorer

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75

8 Reviews

Latest review 3 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RM
RICH M.
2008 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/23/2018
Rock Solid
I bought my 2008 Explorer used in 2010 - I have been driving it for 8 years now. this is my 2nd Explorer, my first was a brand new 1997 which I drove to 225000 miles. The 2008 needed a transmission rebuild at 120000 miles (very common for Explorers). Other than this one repair (which was expected), there has not been any other problems; just standard maintenance. these cars are very reliable - I will buy another one when the time comes.

Pros
Super Reliable

Cons
Transmission rebuilds between 120000 - 145000 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Thad P.
2008 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/20/2018
2008 Ford Explorer XLT 4.6 L evaluation
Would have liked some of the necessary repairs that have been done would not have been required so early. Although after 10 years and 135,000+ miles, some mechanical items are due to break down. Overall, the vehicle handles well, rides well and has provided generally dependable service over the 10 years. Most disturbing repair was the dashboard vent breakdown which required pulling the dashboard to replace the air flow shifting mechanism behind the dashboard. Greater durability of that function was expected. Overall rating of the Ford is an 8.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CHUCK R.
2008 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2017
Great Vehicle
Excellent ride, quiet great accessories. Love this SUV and pulls my Bass Boat very well.

Pros
Towing
Ride
Dependable

Cons
Gas mileage is not real good. 13 mpg

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PN
Peggy N.
2008 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2017
2008 Ford Explorer
Love my explorer, dependable, tells me what is wrong or needing to be fixed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JIM G.
2008 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/16/2017
2008 Ford Explorer Limited
This is our 4th Explorer. The vehicle is used mainly for my work (Apt management and repair) and more specifically its our ski car. The large cargo compartment remains a great feature and for going in the snow once equipped with Bridgestone blizzards snow tires, it goes where ever I want it to. That coupled with the selectable 4x4 high and 4x4 low controls along with the 4 drive selections (D, 3,2,1) means I can put just the right traction on any kind of snow conditions. Awesome. (BTW-the newer explorers have a dial with pictures (sand/snow/etc-what do they mean??) to choose your gearing - I consider that a negative over the exact choice of gearing) I have had very little in the way of repair work, although we have only owned it since May of 2015, but if it runs the same as our other Explorers, I expect little then required maintenance.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
KENNETH R.
2008 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/11/2017
Ford Explorer
this is my third Explorer, I am happy with the comfort & overall handling - I will buy another Explorer - just wish they could improve the gas milage.

Pros
see above

Cons
gas milage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
KENNETH R.
2008 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/05/2016
2008 Ford Explorer
like the Explorer (this is my 3rd Explorer) I feel safe and comfortable in the Explorer - will buy another

Pros
feel safe riding / driving in

Cons
low gas milage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
George C.
2008 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/30/2015
SUV
Had the Ford Explorer for 7 yrs. now runs great and have had no problems , though I only have 35,000 miles on it. Had a 2004 and it was a dog...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 8 Review