Style image original

2016
Ford
Explorer

Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5rating 4.88

16 Reviews

Latest review 3 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 07/07/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Very reliable vehicle"

Have been driving an explorer since 2001

Pros
excellent vehicle

Cons
could be a little more competitive on pricing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/18/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"LOVE IT~"

I cried when my husband wanted to replace my 2004 Tahoe! I love my Tahoe. I am now completely smitten by my gorgeous Explorer. The Platinum package leaves little to wish for. I love the comfort, the ride, the gas mileage blows the tahoe away, the leather is luxurious, the heated seats front and back, the dual sun roof and most of all I love the heated steering wheel. I added a ski rack and it's perfect!

Pros
luxurious, great performance,

Cons
I hate the navigation!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/03/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2016 ford explorer limited 4 wd "

Great overall vehicle . Could get better mileage. Very comfortable ride. Still a hood prop on a 50k + ride. Left foot footwell to tight.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/20/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Ford Explorer"

The Explorer I bought had all the options so is top of the line. I especially like the driving features that maintain distance and lane control.

Pros
Easy to drive and park. Turning radius is excellent.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/14/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Amazing"

Spacious and comfortable. Couldn't ask for more.

Pros
Comfortable and spacious

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/28/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Ford Explorer"

Love my new Ford Explorer Sport!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/20/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Ford Explorer Titanium Edition"

From the moment we walked into Lakewood Ford our salesman Cas professionally compared the different models and the new technology offered in each line. We fell in love immediately with the Titanium edition which features blind spot monitor/warning system, lane departure system which autocorrects the vehicle if you start to drift to close to the lane line. The adaptive cruise control is so awesome as it eliminates the need for ++/-- on the cruise control buttons. Just set it and the vehicle slow or speeds up according to your programmed speed and the amount of "pillows" you set as a standoff distance. The navigation system is very easy to program and use during your route selection. Audio system is top notch and programming satellite XM Radio, FM, or Playing selections from an IPod is child's play . Programming you phone to Ford SYNC is simple and you have the option of uploading your phone book to maximize hands free driving. The power of the Ecoboost engine is surprisingly smooth, very responsive, and economical minded achieving 23 mpg in mixed city/ highway driving in hilly terrain. We are very impressed with the interior design in supple leather having three lumbar pillows and a massage option in the heated and cooked seats. The automated third row seating that sets up, folds, and stows at a touch of a button. The electric lift rear gate and hands free foot activation is just more icing on the cake. Between the adaptive cruise control, the lane departure system, and the self parking system this vehicle practically drives itself! Ford put together an outstanding vehicle and we could not be happier with it!! Go Ford!!

Pros
Automated Parking, front and rear camera system, 360 degree awareness, blind spot warning, lane departure system, heated and cooled seats with multiple lumbar pillows with massage, automated third row seating, premium sound system, USB/12 Volt, and 110 Volt power outlets to power anything you want. Powerful Ecoboost engine capable of E85 fuel with great gas mileage for its size.

Cons
It always could be cheaper!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/11/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Ford Explorer XLT"

This is a beautiful SUV that is always dependable.

Pros
Gas mileage for a large SUV is good!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/06/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Explore XLT"

Trade up from a 2013 Explorer to a 2016. I think the few changes made are great I think it is a much better ride and quieter. Both cars had almost identical options so not a lot different there. But if you have a dealer that knows how to show you your options it is a lot nicer. My 13 came from a dealer that did not know squat so we did not even know some of the options we had. Totally recommend this vehicle. Remember Obama does not own Ford like he does GM and Chrysler.

Pros
Smooth ride compared to 2013

Cons
Too new to tell yet. Wife loves it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/31/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love it"

We have a Lexus but I prefer my Explorer Sport by leaps and bounds. I have never owned such a satisfying vehicle. The first day I had all the electronic gadgetry figured out. The Lexus is a year old and I still haven't figured out that darn joystick controller, ugh.

Pros
Design, comfort, power, logical electronics, value

Cons
Small defect in the hood paint. Dealer is making it 100%.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/19/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Explorer"

I love my explorer....first time having a back up camera and the seats are so comfortable. Can't wait for my first road trip!

Pros
Comfortable...plenty of room..great style...back up camera...easy to drive

Cons
I wish mine had a few more options like the seat memory

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/09/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"You should buy one. "

This vehicle is absolutely amazing. In addition, the ride and control is perfect. However, the basic model should include a few more features because other SUV's come with more features for the same price. On the contrary, DO NOT let this discourage you from purchasing this amazing ride. I don't even want to exit the vehicle, I was late to work just driving around lol.

Pros
Everything, the ride is smooth, the controls are great, amazing sky blue lighting. Everyone can fit to include the back seating.

Cons
The interior features are limited on the basic model. The platinum model is amazing, however, I don't have that kind of money.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/11/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Old dog, New tricks"

We had one of the first Explorer Sports back when they were morphing from Bronco II to Bronco III or rather, Explorer. It was rather basic with 5 speed manual and few electric assists. Luxury was not my thing. I wanted reliable sporty transportation. After 200K miles, we retired it for an Expedition Eddie Bauer loaded with all options except air suspension. I almost started smoking big cigars and wearing bowler hats like Daddy Warbucks! That vehicle has nearly 250K on it with more in store for the new owner. Which brings us to the 2016 Explorer Sport we just bought at Benna Ford. I searched on-line all the Ford dealers in NW Wisconsin for a vehicle which satisfied all my perceived needs, wants and desires. It looks, handles, accelerates, rides, hauls, etc. way above average. I need EcoBoost on my vocabulary to describe how I like this SUV. What surprises me are the electronic assists like adaptive cruise control, the back-up camera/screen, navigation, tire pressure monitoring, 'foot operated" tailgate opening, mpg monitoring, and the list goes on to the point of requiring an Owners Manual almost an inch thick! There are surely many features of the car which we have yet to discover--explore--and enjoy in the many miles ahead once we go further into our New Ford Ownership Experience. See ya on the highways and byways.

Pros
My first Ford was a 63 1/2 Galaxie 500 from the Total Performance, Ford has a Better Idea era. This new Explorer EcoBoost is 1/2 the cubic inches yet 10 horsepower more than my 69 Fairlane Cobra SCJ 428 ci 335 hp. The new Sport goes like scat, rides like on rails, can haul friends or my stuff and gets very reasonable mileage. A Better Idea and Total Performance!!!

Cons
Couldn't wait for the rumored release of the New Ranger! FoMoCo, I think you are missing the boat by not competing in the mid-size pickup market.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/13/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"It is taking some getting used to all the features are little different ."

The vehicle runs well and is nice to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/27/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love this car!"

I'm so pleased with my new 2016 Explorer. I was a little skeptical of the keyless entry/start, but now that I'm used to it, I really like it. Its so convenient. The interior of the car is gorgeous - leather. The multi-adjustable seating is great for both me and my husband. Also love the pick up and responsiveness of car and the console controls are easy to use. We got this car partly because we have a college student to move back & forth and this car has the room for it - no problem at all. I highly recommend it.

Pros
Auto lift gate Interior seating and details Pick-up and responsiveness Interior space - very roomy and useful Climate control w/ zones including 2nd & 3rd row seating

Cons
There was not a lot of choice with interior color.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/25/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Ford Explorer FWD "

Have had the vehicle for 4 days now, with the exception of it idling rough when stopped in drive, everything else seems perfect. I will have this checked out. It's a luxury vehicle, even though it's the "base" model, as it has many bells and whistles.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 16 Review