Style image original

2002
Ford
Explorer

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65

20 Reviews

Latest review about 2 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 07/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2002 explorer"

Best used vehicle I've ever purchased.

Pros
Love it!

Cons
Gas mileage. Avg 16 mpg

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2002 Rxplorer"

Love it

Pros
All good

Cons
Perfrct

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/14/2017
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
" cheap workmanship "

The 2002 Explorer has some part that are plastic and tend to wear much faster suvh as the water pump housing,and suspension issues galore! Wish I had known what I was buying before I did. Constantly something to fix like wheel bearings.

Pros
Sit up high, roomy, good on gas for an suv

Cons
Suspension issues, too much plastic in certain parts that take too much heat and pressure.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/05/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Extremely HAPPY "

My vehicle is running like a champ and the gauges are awesome

Pros
NOT breaking down

Cons
Live closer😁

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/01/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love it"

Spacious, quiet, beautiful

Pros
3rd row seat, surround sound system, 6cd disc changer, sunroof, smooth ride

Cons
No heated/cooling seats, no dvd player, the dashboard feature doesn't say empty it says check gauge for gas, gear shift on the steering wheel, no aux hookup, no Bluetooth connection, no sirus connection

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/30/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The Hoopty still runs!!"

This car has over 140 k miles and still looks good and runs well thanks to JT. Dave Amundsen
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/02/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Vehicle"

15 years, over 380,000 miles, good size, nice ride, versatile, reliable four wheel drive...what's not to like?

Pros
durable, reliable, versatile

Cons
wheel bearings that can't be maintained they can only be replaced

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/02/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2002Explorer"

I love the Vehicle We haul 1/2 ton of wjne grapes with no problem
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/03/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Longevity and reliability"

This past month, September, 2016 we took this vehicle across country and spent two weeks in Wyoming. Despite its 14 year age and 371,000 miles it performed flawlessly. Mountains, steep grades, 80 mph speeds for hours on end, and hundreds of miles of dirt roads and "two tracks" were never a problem. This has been our experience with this vehicle over the years during extended road trips in each of the United States and most of the Eastern Canadian provinces. It is simply the best vehicle we have ever owned.

Pros
Reliability, Utility, Longevity

Cons
None of any consequence

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/28/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my truck."

I love my Ford. It is dependable, great on gas, and am overall sweet ride.

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/30/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Perfect SUV for a Coach"

I bought my explorer off lease back in 2004, and it has been a fantastic purchase! She has been reliable and dependable through the years. I have driven her all over the South for work and for taking my cheerleaders to various events. The third row had to be one of the best additions to the Explorer that happened. The one hard thing is finding space for luggage when the third row is up, however, for this coach and want to be mother, it has been an acceptable sacrifice to avoid buying either a larger SUV or a mini-van.

Pros
The third row seating offers a great solution when you need the extra seats!

Cons
When the third row is up, there is a loss of luggage space. Hopefully, this has been fixed with future models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/31/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Good"

I like my Exlporer, it's reliable with little to no chronic problems.

Pros
Style, reliability, inside space, third seat

Cons
Uhaul condeming the Explorer and not renting trailers to their owners. Limited space behind third seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/20/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my truck "

This is the most reliable vehicle I've ever had I love this truck!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/09/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2002 Ford Explorer XLT"

This has been a real solid performer for me. It has 4.7L V8 engine with leather seats and, 4WD, and towing package. I have just over 200K miles on it and it is showing its age a bit, but still runs like a champ. I have heard abut transmission issues but so far, I have had none.

Pros
Great size for a family SUV Excellent maneuverability and handles well on the highway

Cons
Gas mileage could be better, but I did choose a V8, after all. :)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/17/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"02 Ford Explorer"

Love the size, look, flexibility and power, reputation of this vehicle. One of the best SUV's I've ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/04/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Explorer"

Best vehicle I have ever owned

Pros
Best vehicle

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/09/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2002 explorer"

This is a great vehicle. Our 2nd explorer. The towing capacity is terrific and had enough power to pull our 5000# boat. The ride is comfortable and I feel I would again buy an Exploer when it becomes necessrvto replace
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/23/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The best"

Love my explorer!!

Pros
Comfortable reliable easy to drive lots of room This is my third explorer & I will very likely buy an explorer again!! Love ford cars & trucks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/02/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"How I like y vehicle"

This is a great vehicle, I would not have traded it for anything, I love the space and style.

Pros
The space

Cons
The older it gets parts are hard to find.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/05/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5

I love my 2002 ford Explorer. It has been a great vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 20 Review