2002
Ford
Explorer

Overall Rating 4.41/5Overall Rating 4.41/5Overall Rating 4.41/5Overall Rating 4.41/5rating 4.41

27 Reviews

Latest review about 1 month ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PL
Paul L.
2002 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/02/2018
Ford Explorer XLT
I have been very pleased with my Explorer, the second one I have owned! When I need another vehicle, I will instantly check out the new Explorers, or the Ford Edge! I have some friends who own a new Explorer, and they are very happy with their purchase as well, we are all happy.

Pros
Reliability!!!! Comfort, and the interior room is great!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
DENISE W.
2002 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/01/2018
PIECE OF CRAP
I bought my 2002 Ford Explorer in 2013 for a work vehicle from Automotive Outfitters in Titusville, FL. He screwed me on the it from the beginning. When i got there, the windshield was busted. He claimed that it happened that morning. I fixed that. By the time I got it home, the motor blew. I called him and told him what happened and pretty much told me he was sorry about my luck. That was just the beginning! $25K later and still working on it. There are things still wrong that, for some reason, cannot get fixed, from day one. I should have gotten rid of it after I got the new motor in it but I didn't. I just keep fixing it. I like this year of vehicle body, there are just so many things wrong with it. Like I said, screwed by a automobile seller 2.5 hours away from where I live. He was the only one that had what I was looking for.

Pros
Can't think of any.

Cons
Everything that I have fixed on this thing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kelly M.
2002 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/24/2018
Good workhouse, fully loaded but ...
Terrible gas mileage, many problems with electrical system, continually needs expensive repairs due to excessive rusting underneath, AC doesn't work, 4WD no good. Bought used, low miles. Only 104K now but a money pit!

Pros
Roomy, sturdy, good visibility, loaded with options, lots of space for passengers, storage and cargo, good stereo with CD & cassette 😄Body & paint have held up well.

Cons
See summary! Inoperable many times & expensive to maintain due to brakes & battery issues. Too uncomfortable in hot weather without working AC.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VD
VICKI and GERALD D.
2002 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/18/2018
2002 Explorer
I LOVE my Explorer and am happy every time I drive it. I would buy one again in a heartbeat, but need to get a car (preferably an SUV) that sits just a little lower so I can get in and out of it easily. I'm sad because it's getting so old.

Pros
Even though it's older, it's problems have been minimal so far.

Cons
It's hard to get in and out of due to my decreasing mobility. I need just a little lower and will be checking out newer Ford SUVs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
Korlynn T.
2002 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/03/2018
Luv my Explorer
Been a very dependable vehicle only complaint was with the thermostat housing. It's made of plastic and the heat caused the valve to stick open which on cold days made for a very cold drive. Finally replaced with a metal housing and no problem since.

Pros
Button control 4x4, sun/moon roof, lots of leg room

Cons
Wish it had ac/heat controls in the back and heated seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
James and Lisa A.
2002 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/09/2017
Just like a Timex watch!
I've had this car for almost 16 years. I can't count how many 700 mile trips I've done. Although I have about 233,000 miles on the engine, it still keeps going strong. Transmission was an issue about 70,000 miles ago, but that seems ok now.

Pros
Great turning radius!! It never stops amazing people.

Cons
Tailgate upper window/gate not constructed well. Most 2002 Explorers have a crack in the gate above the Ford emblem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHRIS C.
2002 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2017
Ford Explorer
I love it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DARRELL C.
2002 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2017
2002 explorer
Best used vehicle I've ever purchased.

Pros
Love it!

Cons
Gas mileage. Avg 16 mpg

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
JOYCE J.
2002 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2017
2002 Rxplorer
Love it

Pros
All good

Cons
Perfrct

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jennifer W.
2002 Ford Explorer
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/14/2017
cheap workmanship
The 2002 Explorer has some part that are plastic and tend to wear much faster suvh as the water pump housing,and suspension issues galore! Wish I had known what I was buying before I did. Constantly something to fix like wheel bearings.

Pros
Sit up high, roomy, good on gas for an suv

Cons
Suspension issues, too much plastic in certain parts that take too much heat and pressure.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GJ
Greene J.
2002 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2017
Extremely HAPPY
My vehicle is running like a champ and the gauges are awesome

Pros
NOT breaking down

Cons
Live closer😁

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Teontra W.
2002 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2017
Love it
Spacious, quiet, beautiful

Pros
3rd row seat, surround sound system, 6cd disc changer, sunroof, smooth ride

Cons
No heated/cooling seats, no dvd player, the dashboard feature doesn't say empty it says check gauge for gas, gear shift on the steering wheel, no aux hookup, no Bluetooth connection, no sirus connection

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
David A.
2002 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/30/2017
The Hoopty still runs!!
This car has over 140 k miles and still looks good and runs well thanks to JT.
Dave Amundsen
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
jim w.
2002 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2017
Great Vehicle
15 years, over 380,000 miles, good size, nice ride, versatile, reliable four wheel drive...what's not to like?

Pros
durable, reliable, versatile

Cons
wheel bearings that can't be maintained they can only be replaced

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KEiTH W.
2002 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/02/2017
2002Explorer
I love the Vehicle
We haul 1/2 ton of wjne grapes with no problem
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
jim w.
2002 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2016
Longevity and reliability
This past month, September, 2016 we took this vehicle across country and spent two weeks in Wyoming. Despite its 14 year age and 371,000 miles it performed flawlessly. Mountains, steep grades, 80 mph speeds for hours on end, and hundreds of miles of dirt roads and "two tracks" were never a problem. This has been our experience with this vehicle over the years during extended road trips in each of the United States and most of the Eastern Canadian provinces. It is simply the best vehicle we have ever owned.

Pros
Reliability, Utility, Longevity

Cons
None of any consequence

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
Hope M.
2002 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2016
Love my truck.
I love my Ford. It is dependable, great on gas, and am overall sweet ride.

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MV
MARY ELIZABETH V.
2002 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/30/2016
Perfect SUV for a Coach
I bought my explorer off lease back in 2004, and it has been a fantastic purchase! She has been reliable and dependable through the years. I have driven her all over the South for work and for taking my cheerleaders to various events. The third row had to be one of the best additions to the Explorer that happened. The one hard thing is finding space for luggage when the third row is up, however, for this coach and want to be mother, it has been an acceptable sacrifice to avoid buying either a larger SUV or a mini-van.

Pros
The third row seating offers a great solution when you need the extra seats!

Cons
When the third row is up, there is a loss of luggage space. Hopefully, this has been fixed with future models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
TOM M.
2002 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/31/2016
Good
I like my Exlporer, it's reliable with little to no chronic problems.

Pros
Style, reliability, inside space, third seat

Cons
Uhaul condeming the Explorer and not renting trailers to their owners. Limited space behind third seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Carl L.
2002 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2016
Love my truck
This is the most reliable vehicle I've ever had I love this truck!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 27 in total