2001
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5rating 4.83
4.8
(18 Reviews)
Latest review almost 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


TK
TIBOR K.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/22/2015
2001 Elantra
Best of the Elantra's ever made by Hyundai. Roomy, comfortable, and easy to handle. Newer ones are smaller. Like this size. Car is very dependable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FD
Frances D.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2016
Great Investment
I have had my Elantra for 15 years now and I have no complaints. Now I haven't put all that many miles on it, but it has been a very reliable car. With regular routine maintenance and normal wear and tear repairs, the car is still going strong. It had been economical to run, maintain, and insure. It may be low tech in today's world, but it is roomy, comfortable, and dependable. It may very well last another 15 years.

Pros
Price, comfort, interior space, style, ride, fuel economy, reliable

Cons
No abs, handling,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Maria C.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/16/2016
2001 HYNDAI elantra over 100000 mi
Still running good. Yep I'm happy.

Pros
Reliable, good pick up, great milage.

Cons
Seats feel hard during long drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Ken D.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2016
Great car
This vehicle has 175,000 miles on it and it still runs great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James T S.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2016
astounding
Purchased new and zero inherent problems only normal maintainence. Still 28 mpg, Truely an astounding car after 15 years! :)

Pros
Everything.!

Cons
Nothing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Darlene D.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2016
Hyundai Elantra
Hyundai Elantras are very dependable no matter how many miles are on the odometer. Hyundai Elantra manufacturers should return to the original body style!

Pros
a very reliable car

Cons
need to return to original body style

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
Warren M.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/21/2017
242,000 miles and running smooth
Regular maintenance at Harbor keeps my 16 year old car running smooth.

Pros
reliable; must say again preventative maintenance is the reason

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marilee S.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2017
Great car!
I am the original owner of my 2001 Hyundai Elantra. He will be 16 years old in the fall of 2017. Has always been a very dependable car.

Pros
Easy to drive, gets into small parking places, well built,

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
Warren M.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/18/2017
255K miles ade running well
Reliable; with regular and preventative maintenance I will keep driving this car

Pros
a reliable car

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Robert A.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/28/2018
01 Elantra
Car has over 200,000 miles.. still runs great I will be buying a Hyundai again, but might be awhile because this one is such a great car!!!! Z

Pros
Good car drives well very reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marilee S.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/03/2018
Love my car!
Great car! 16 years old and still running great. My car is so good my sister bought a Hyundai, my husband bought a Hyundai, and then my other sister did too! My car is reliable. 114,000 miles and this car has never broken down. HAPPY! HAPPY! Love my car.

Pros
Reliable car

Cons
Blower for air conditioner/heater could be stronger.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Lucinda D.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2018
Excellent Car
My 2001 Elantra Hatchback has been the very best car I've ever had. Bought it at McDonald and all service there. No big problems. Just normal service and replacement. I've loved this car. So easy to drive and still looks great! I've had many compliments on the styling.

Cons
bucket seats could be larger. Many seniors find bucket seats hard on their back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James T S.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2018
was the race car car
Quite simply thus car is marvellous, racing engine racing trans, racing tires sold as plain vanilla. I have never had to do anything except normal maintenance on this car it drives great it looks great it's a marvelous car.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marilee S.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2018
2001 Hyundai Elantra
After seeing how good my Hyundai is five family members bought Hyundais too!
My car is reliable and makes the trips to work and back enjoyable. The Elantra has saved me a lot of money by not having to purchase a new car. My Elantra is 17 years old and between Ken Graff Hyundai and Chevron gas he runs like he did when he as new.

Pros
Reliable as the day is long!

Cons
2001 Elantra goes through headlights more often than other cars. But not that big of a deal.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
Gloria C.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2018
GOOD VEHICLE
GOOD VEHICLE FOR A SINGLE WOMAN. NOT TO BIG NOT TO SMALL. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS CAR FOR A SINGLE OR SENIOR WOMAN. VERY VERY COMFORTABLE. VERY EASY TO DRIVE. REALLY GOOD CAR. I WOULD BUY ANOTHER HYUNDAI.

Pros
A GOOD CAR FOR A WOMAN

Cons
VERY COMFORTABLE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2019
my elantra
I absolutely love this vehicle. I've have it for almost 19 years and put over 300,000 miles. This car still has the original engine and transmission, and every day the car starts and runs, makes my day a little brighter. Oh, I know there are a few things that don't work any more but to me they're just minor annoyances.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Christine H.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/30/2019
2001 Elantra w/260K still rocking on......
This vehicle has better power in manual transmission version than the auto trans version. Stick fun but pain in traffic. Not long on looks or smooth ride but reliable and very roomy inside. We keep fixing ours as my wife loves it's size and features......

Pros
Easy on gas, fits in tight spots, good turn radius, roomy well laid out interior for size, huge trunk with fold down seats, engine very reliable if timing belts changed on schedule.

Cons
Not easy to repair, parts expensive, hard to find anyone other than dealer who want to work on them, slightly underpowered, airbag system POS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JEFF W.
2001 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/06/2018
2001 Hyundai Elantra
My 2001 Hyundai Elantra is a reliable car and has always got me where and when I needed to go. Over 17 years it has needed has a minimal amount of service and maintenance. Gas mileage is great and it’s a comfortable little car.

Pros
Was a reliable money saver.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 18 reviews