Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


BM
BRIAN M.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/21/2018
2002 Hyundai Elantra GT
Nice little car, great features. But the 2002 Hyundai's have one thing in common, Bad Rust. I had to get a lot of things replaced because of rust. I also have a 2002 Santa Fe with the same issues. My understanding is the medal they used in the early models were from China, and they did rust proof the ones they sent to northern states that have snow. Hyundai is a Great brand. I would recommend just getting a new model.

Pros
Features and Reliability.

Cons
Bad Rust.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Donna S.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/02/2017
Good car
Despite it's age, this car provided us with a smooth ride.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
Challen A.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/29/2017
With proper maintenance, the car has been reliable and I'm over 100,000 miles
Gas efficient, appreciate the non-skid brakes as a feature.

Pros
Appreciate features like anti-lock brakes, reliable air conditioning,

Cons
Concerned about whether quality will hold up for another 50,000. I am told that the frame is rotting and I only have two more years

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SHELLEY M.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/20/2015
Love it
I bought brand new and now have almost 300K Miles on it. I don't want to jinx anything by saying too much- a great basic car. It is starting to show its age with some minor rusting, but overall it still runs great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FD
FRANK D.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/17/2016
2002 Elantra
AWESOME CAR.. runs every day ... Great on GAS (29-30 MPG) ..

Pros
great mileage , comfy ride, HELL can't ask for more. cost 10 k in in 2007 , it had 55K miles... Now has 157K miles and just cost of maintanance.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Matt H.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2016
Elantra
Great car with 150,000 miles on it!! Still runs like a new car. Just your typical maintanence on it, would buy another one in a second
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Scott G.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2016
GREAT CAR
JUST TRADED IT IN FOR A 2013 ELANTRA. I CURRENTLY OWN THREE HYUNDAIS.

Pros
GREAT CAR

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
William S.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2016
MY FAVORITE CAR EVER!
I love my Hyundai Elantra. Even though I have had this car for several years, it has provided me with excellent service and dependability. I love the size of it for ease of parking and taking up less space in our garage than other cars we have had. I wish it would last forever.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jeff S.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/16/2016
Study and dependable.
I have owned this model of car for 8 years. I have put 150,000 miles on in that time and have had no problems. I keep up on the routine maintenance and the car keeps going. I love my flatness, I own 2. A 2000 and a 2002. They both has served me well. Great car!!

Pros
Reliable, no surprises. The car keeps on running!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Leo W.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2016
Hyundai Sevice the Beat
Have always brought this vehicle to McCafferty Hyundai for service and would recommend to all.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Sticker said 33 hwy and that's what I actually got constantly on interstates i.e. 300 mile trips.

Cons
4 cylinder so not fast on pick-up when AC is running.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SHELLEY M.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2016
I love my Elantra
My Elantra is 14 years old and has never let me down. 309K miles later it is the best car I have ever owned hands down. I keep it up to date with all the routine maintenance and I think that is the reason.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tim P.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2016
2002 Hyundai Elantra
I have owned a total of 4 Hyundai vehicles and have had no major issues, just regular maintenance on all.

Pros
Very quiet engine
Great fuel economy

Cons
Could have a little more power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
SABINE E.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2016
Great car
I bought this car used. I keep on top of my regular maintenance and have had no major issues other than regular wear and tear. Great car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RICH B.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/09/2016
GLC
We bought this car off the showroom floor in 2002. Other than routine maintenance, there have been no mechanical/maintenance issues. We truly love this Great Little Car!!

Pros
Very, very reliable. When you twist its tail, it is always ready to go!

Cons
Not the cars fault, but the older we get, the harder it is to get in and out of it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EY
Eric Y.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2016
2002 Avante XD
Greatest car made at the Ulsan plant in Korea
I take pride in my Avante!, "Avante"
(The original car name in Korea)

Pros
Problem free car!

Cons
Remote control
Bluetooth
Abs
In dash navigation

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Leo W.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2017
Hyundai Elantra 2002 Quality keeps going
Had this vehicle since new in 2002. Never a major problem, only normal maintenance items. This is a great value at a great price.

Pros
Price
Reliability
Not costly to maintain or insure

Cons
Some lag in pick-up, not a major issue.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
William S.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/20/2017
2002 Hyndai Elantra
Great car , drove to work every day. owned it for 15 years , and now my niece is driving it to work. no major engine problems over the years. only good service. I am very grateful. outstanding.!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Janet S.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/21/2017
2002 Elantra GT Sedan
I love my Elantra. She is the right size for me and still rides well, still has the pickup speed when I need it. Still shiny black, almost looks brand new, and low mileage. Thanks Hyundai. Also thanks for NOT using those Takata airbags, thank goodness.

Pros
Black car looks best clean and shiny, so I recommend you wax car right after waiting 2-3 weeks so you save the clear coat sealer. I have always had good pickup speed to enter expressway traffic when you need it, and still have it today = nice engine. Comfortable seats, good lumbar support, good storage, large trunk space, good on gas. A definite low maintenance car, as I do not have 50k miles on her yet. I still love my car.

Cons
Speakers could have been better, but mine are still strong. Plastic headlight protectors dull badly after being outside all the time in all weather conditions and cannot really be "shined clear", so lights not bright enough during night driving. Black metal trim is fading due to weather/age, same w metal wiper holders (windshield). Hubcaps could have been all metal vs the plastic coating over metal.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EY
Eric Y.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/26/2017
02 avante xd
Best car hyundai makes!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jeff O.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2017
02
Great lasting car

Pros
Long last reliable

Cons
Now it is old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 24 in total