2005
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(74 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

FB
Florence B.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
The best car I have ever owned.
Considering overall maintenance, dependability and cost efficiency, my 2005 Elantra has been outstanding. I make sure I give it the required maintenance and my Elantra rewards me with dependability.

Pros
Comfortable ride, easy to drive, easy to park, great vision and nicely designed.

Cons
The only thing I would have liked would be the backup monitor which was not available when I bought the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Karen W.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2019
2005 Elantra
I bought my Elantra new and it has been a great car. It has been very reliable and I have had only minor problems with it, problems easily repaired. I like the style of it and the comfort of riding in it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Donna B.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2019
Great car!
Very reliable, safe and affordable vehicle. My car is a 2005 model and the first comment is still true today. Very reliable, safe and affordable vehicle. My car is a 2005 model and the first comment is still true today. I repeated my comments. You should be happy that I said what I did.

Pros
affordable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
Linda F.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
Great car
I love it so much I can’t let it go !
It is small but yet roomy , a nice size trunk. It looks great and runs well for I maintain it by doing preventative maintenance. It runs like a champ and has a lot of get up and go !

Pros
It is 14 years old and looks and runs great

Cons
Needs timing belt changed, I think that’s the belt.
The new cars don’t need changed after a certain amount of miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Karen N.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/03/2019
Dependable - easy to maintain
I love my Elantra (obviously since it is a 2005). I do not put a lot of mileage on my Elantra (approx. 55k miles right now). Only thing I would appreciate is if the drivers seat could "go back" about 1-2 inches further than it does.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Karen W.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/06/2019
2005 Elantra
I bought my Elantra new in 2005. It has been a very reliable car. Because of so many medical expenses, I need to keep the car and feel confident that it will be dependable because of the good care Paramount Hyundai gives it. I get very good gas mileage and I feel safe in my car. When I am in the position to get a new car, it will definitely be a Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
Florence B.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
My 2005 Hyundai Elantra is the best car I have ever had.
My 2005 Hyundai Elantra is the best car I have ever had because it has had no problems beyond normal wear and tear. I bought it new, keep up with the maintenance and the car rewards me with dependable performance. It looks pretty much like a new one (at least in my eyes), comfortable to get in and out of and is so easy to handle either driving or parking. Love my Hyundai!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
ELLEN G.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/19/2019
My Elantra
It gets me wherever I need to go. I have had to put a few thousand dollars into it. It is a 2005 and now doing fine It also had been in an accident. Got the car for free so not complaining. Driving the 99 year old to appts when she lets me know.

Pros
It has a radio and air conditioning, automatic windows

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LV
Larry V.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/07/2019
Hyundai Elantra
I love this car! It is going on 14 years old and it keeps right on running. It has been to New York and to Georgia. It gets great gas mileage and is very easy to maintain!
I would highly recommend this car!
Best car!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jennifer C.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/05/2019
Awesome little car
I have a 2005 and it’s been a GREAT car! I haven’t had any problems with it and it continues to be very reliable. I will most definitely be back to Hyundai when I’m ready to purchase again! Service has been easy and the folks at the dealership are very nice and informative! Highly recommend!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Vera B.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2018
2005 Hyundai Elantra purchases in nov 2004
I Love my little four-door five-speed Hyundai Elantra and plan to never part with it,❗️😘. I am going on 79 yrs so I think I’ll just take it with me when I go. Turning radius and visibility out windows is excellent. I take it in for its needed maintenance and it has been a extremely reliable car ❗️Also like to say that the paint job has stood up beautifully as I only have a carport the only problem I’ve had in the last couple of years is the clearcoat peeling off the back bumper otherwise the car is shiny and beautiful as new, maybe a few door dings but seems to be Southern California problem doesn’t it🙁

Pros
Only wish it had a sunroof when I purchased it but it was so perfect for me With its five-speed candy apple red color I just did without it
Great turning radius and good visibility unlike today’s 🚗😘😘

Cons
Not really any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
Florence B.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2018
My 2005 Hyundai Elantra
My Hyundai Elantra is the best car I have ever owned. It is true that cars are better designed than in years past, but even considering that, this vehicle has been outstanding. Of course there has been normal maintenance but nothing out of the ordinary. I do the required maintenance as guided by my service advisor, Courtney Kirk. As the years go by, this 2005 Elantra is still going strong, takes me where I want to go and gets me back home. She was purchased new in Maine, lived through snow and black ice and I think she breathed a sigh of relief when I moved back to Florida.

Pros
I can't say enough good things about this car. It has performed with excellence.

Cons
I have one spot of rust coming through on the left front fender at the very bottom facing the door. This worries me for I am on Social Security and want this vehicle to last me a while longer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kelly M.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/18/2018
Reliable
This is a great car for those on a budget, but want a car that will always be reliable with very low maintenance. The overall exterior of the car doesn't look as dated as other cars in its class. The gas mileage alone is a great feature.

Pros
great gas mileage

Cons
doesn't have AUX cord ports

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tyrone H.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2018
Old faithful
I've had my car for 7 years now, it's been good to me. Been through a lot, traveled a lot of places. I'll drive it until it dies. Not too big but not too small. Easy to park, very convenient vehicle to drive. Great for going to work or running errands.

Pros
Excellent on gas

Cons
Not a lot of power pulling hills

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michael S.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/07/2018
2005 Elantra 5 door - 1 standard shift, 1 automatic
Best vehicle ever owned. Have been buying cars since 1957.
Good gas mileage, hardly any major repairs.
Easy to work on. Thoughtful engineering.
The rest of this text is to hit the required 200 character requirement.

Pros
Lots of interior room when configured in "freighter mode". Same when in "passenger mode".

Cons
none. Would buy again. Too bad Hyundai dropped the Elantra 5-door.....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Sarah H.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
Reliable car.
Thank God for Elantra my friend. She is a blessing reliable and keeps secrets. We have been through a lot together.The team is honest and always explains things so I understand. Thank you God and Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda M.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2018
Service Depart,ment
When I brought this car pre-owned. I was very happy to get a " quality" car and I am still satisfied. this car will only go to a Pearson Hyundai related service site for repairs. As a new retiree, I plan to use this car until I cannot drive any more. Thank you
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WP
William P.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/02/2018
Last long
Have a 2005 and though I had a few repairs over the years it is still reliable. Recently involved in a little accident and the vehicle kept running well while repaired. Would not mind trading for a newer hyundai version

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Some parts are expensive. Like the seatbelts.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sharon M.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/24/2018
My Elantra
Didn't think a 4 cylinder would have much pick up and go, boy was I surprised. Love everything about the Elantra. Bought it from a relative, if I had bought it new would have added a dvd player, sunroof and a few other features.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Gary B.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/18/2018
My 2005 Elantra
I love this car. We found this for sale with low mileage. It was in great condition. It rides smooth and good. Very dependable car for the model year. First time to buy a Hyundai car, and will but another one for sure!

Pros
Extremely dependable car.

Cons
I wish our Elantra had fog lights.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 74 in total