2006
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77
4.8
(77 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

FM
Frederick M.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/29/2019
Very Practical Vehicle
I have a 2006 Hyundai Elantra GT hatchback with over 115,000 miles. The gas mileage is great, and the design of the car, with the large hatch in the back, give it the practicality of a station wagon for moving things. It is smooth riding, and handles well. Very good for maneuvering in South Florida traffic.

Pros
Reliable and practical.

Cons
Distance to the dealer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mustafizul S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2019
Cannot get a better car at this price
At 200k miles and hoping to get at least another 80k out of it. Inly major part broke down is the altrrnator at 197k. I had the timing kit and transmission fluid changed twice. No major issues yet. It has lost a bit of power as it got closer to 200k. Reliable, economic, comfortable, spacious, and an airport champ (6 lugggages 4 people). Slow in acceleration, soft suspension but reliable. Minor rusting showing now in the rear wheel wells. Would buy the 2006 Elantra again in a heartbeat.

Pros
Reliable, spacious, no hassle, economic, cheaper than competitors.

Cons
Slow acceleration, soft suspension, plastic parts are not durable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Sherry K.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2019
Thank Goodness for my Hyundai Elantra!
My Elantra has been a dear friend for thirteen years now, and has carried me more than 99,000 miles. And it still looks pretty! I've never had a better car, or a more trouble-free car. Besides the excellence of the car, there's a wonderful dealership always at the ready to service my Elantra with consistent good results. Who could ask for anything more?

Pros
I love my sweet little car.

Cons
It doesn't have any cons. Well, there is the same difficulty that a beloved pet cat or dog has - it's lifespan doesn't match mine, so someday I'll have to say goodbye to it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gerry S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/21/2019
Good car for the money
Reliable car for senior bought new in 2006 xxxxx xxxxx cxxx xxx xxx xxxxxx xxxxx cxxxx xxx sssssss sssssss xxxxxxxxx cxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxx xxxxxxxxx xxxxx xxxxxx xxxxx xxxxxx cxxxx xxxx cxxx xxxxxx

Pros
Good gas mileage easy to handle

Cons
Front seats are not comfortable over time expensive to replace dash light $200 at least steering wheel does not adjust

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Barbara B.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/21/2019
Hyundai Elantra 2006
Great car! Bought new and never regretted it!
Love the mileage and the way the car is so open to view what’s around me. Newer cars have too many spots blocked by the framing and make you feel enclosed in a tube.

Pros
Excellent styling and safety features. Great mileage and reasonable cost. Wish the newer Elantras had less gadgets and a more open viewing of surroundings.

Cons
Front and rear tire mud flaps allow snow and ice buildup

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marilyn S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/12/2019
2006 Elantra
This vehicle is reliable and cost efficient. It is a little on the noisy side, but it is comfortable and gets you where you have to go with little problem/concern. I feel it is a good vehicle for the cost.

Pros
reliable

Cons
vehicle is a little on the noisy side

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CO
CHERYL O.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/05/2019
Hyundai Elantra
Absolutely love my car. It gets good gas mileage and has very few problems that require repair. I have had my car for 13 years and am so glad I bough it. When it comes time to replace my car I will be buying another Hyundai. Cheryl Orodenker

Pros
I did all the pros which outway the two cons.

Cons
Wish it had heated seats and a GPS system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PAT S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2019
I'd buy another Hyundai!
Hundai is a great car, good gas mileage, comfortable ride. Very roomy, large trunk area, & attractive styling. I purchased my Hundai, after having driven my 2001 Honda civic for 13 years. I like the Hundai as much or better than the Honda. Patricia S.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

QG
Quinn G.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/27/2018
Great Running Vehicle
This is a great running auto. My car has over 185,000 miles and it's still going strong. It is 12 years old it will probably get another 65,000 miles or more. This car is comfortable, exceptionally reliable and gets over 35 miles to the gallon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
George G.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/21/2018
I love my Elantra
This is my 3rd Elantra over the years and definitely not my last. You get style, value, and an excellent vehicle with no problems. I like that there are numerous options that are included at no charge rather than adding in to the sticker price

Cons
There could be a little more room in the driver’s compartment. It’s hard to get in and out of the car without bumping into the steering wheel but the passenger side is adequate.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AE
Arlene E.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
The best ride ever!
My Elantra is very comfortable and rides quietly now that the major repairs have been done. I has never failed me. The fact that the dealer manager, Carlos my Service Advisor, Cassandra and Yolanda went above and beyond any expectations with the customer service they all provided. Thank you and kudos to all of you.

Pros
This is the first major repair for my car which is 12 years old! It has been very reliable and comfortable like an old shoe. I love my Elantra.

Cons
It is 12 years old and had to have a big repair.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Sherry K.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/22/2018
Super Car
My Hyundai Elantra is like a good friend to me - I find myself talking to it, and I'm really fond of it. I know I can count on it, and I enjoy driving it. It's the 6th car I've owned in my long life, and one of my favorites.

Pros
Love my Elantra!

Cons
No cons - this car has run like a top for 12 years and I expect it to keep right on being my little Super Car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jackie S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/21/2018
love my elantrabluebell
I love my Elantra it maybe eleven years old but it runs good and gets me where I need to go.If I get another car it will definitely be a Hyundai Elantra! it is worth the money I paid for it and I have enjoyed it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marilyn S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/06/2018
2006 Hyundai
I purchased this vehicle new in 2006 to get back and forth to work as well as any other driving I had to do. The vehicle has been well built and has lasted thru the test of time. I am very satisfied with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JOHN H.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2018
Over hundred thousand miles and still going
Bought this car new and it has been very good to us.
Very little problems.
Keeps working . Just keep up on normal maintenance and you are good to go.
I got a gold color hatch back and a 40 60 split back seats.

Pros
Built well, handles well , drives well and has Good pickup.

Cons
I got the hatch back the only draw back is the hollow sound when you hit a bump.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
Hannah M.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2018
Great value
If you're looking for a car to get the job done while not spending too much then this is the car for you. It's a great value. If you keep up with the suggested services then this car is very reliable. I bought this car new in 2006 and plan to keep driving it for several more years. Heads up: It gets great gas mileage, so naturally the metal is easily damaged.

Pros
Reliable
Gas Mileage

Cons
Metal is easily damaged

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sandra S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/06/2018
Enjoyed the car until the last two years
I enjoyed my Elantra for ten of the past twelve years. Then the maintenance costs started increasing compared to its monetary value. I took my car for the majority of its service needs back to the dealership where I bought the car. The paint started peeling off the rear trunk. I'm not sure if it is related to the Florida heat and the fact that my car sits outside for the hottest part of the day while I'm at work or if it is a flaw in the painting job done by Hyundai. About a month ago water started seeping into the front headlights of the car. It seems that the rubber seal around the headlights dried up. The dealership gave me an estimate of $500+ (including labor) to replace the headlights and said that they didn't have any type of a sealant to apply around the headlights to prevent any more leakage. On the positive side, I have enjoyed how comfortable the seats are (two different levers to adjust the height and lumbar support), how spacious the inside is (front and back seat areas) and that the car has good acceleration when necessary. The trunk is quite spacious and the back seats fold down if you need more trunk space.

Pros
See my notes in my review.

Cons
See my notes in my review.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marilyn S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/13/2018
2006 Elantra
I have had my 2006 Elantra since day one. It was purchased with the intent to get me to work and anyother place I had to be,to be pratical, not for sport or luxury. This vehicle has been reliable,good quaility and a good value.

Pros
reliable

Cons
confort & sound quailty (vehicle is noiser than my past vehicles) could be a bit better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Lawrence R.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2018
2006 Elantra
I purchased my Elantra new over 12 years ago. It is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned and has provided excellent service at minimum cost. Other than recently replacing an oxygen sensor and the front brake pads (first time), it has required only scheduled maintenance.

Pros
Reliability and efficiency

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHELLE C.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/16/2018
hyundai elantra
great car this is our 3rd hyundai, no extra service, paint has held up great, drives great, good on gas, looks good and drives good even after 12 years, no extra service required, we are happy owners and would buy again

Pros
great vehicle, service kept up and nothing extra

Cons
might could use a little more headroom

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 77 in total