Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JD
Jean D.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/16/2020
Love my 2008 Elantra!
This was my first Hyundai and I love it. The service has been excellent as well! I bought it new and it hasn’t disappointed. I wish my previous cars were this good. The styling is still good for a 2008 car!

Cons
Not good in the snow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Carol C.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2020
2008 Elantra
This is by far the best & most reliable vehicle I ever owned. This car has been used in computer service as well long distance travel. I have accumulated over 105,000 miles in the 12 years I’ve owned it

Pros
Reliable & exceeds my needs for good transportation

Cons
Trunk does pop open when I use remote.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Abby M.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/10/2020
Trusty Steed
My second Hyundai, I still like my Elantra. I sometimes wish it had a hatchback like my initial Accent. The trunk room is good but I wish I could lay the back seat down and carry longer items. A reliable vehicle.

Pros
Reliability.

Cons
A bit small in elbow room. Has a blind spot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Benny W.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/26/2020
Excellent vehicle
Our 2008 Elantra has been an excellent vehicle from day one, 130,000 miles ago. We still get 40+ mpg on the highway and it still runs like a top. We hate the thought of having to replace it someday. Great vehicle.

Pros
Very economical and great value for its size.

Cons
Its age and the coming need to replace it someday.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Bert H.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/10/2020
LOVE MY HYUNDAI
I Love my Hyundai (2008) Elantra. Purchased NEW. The people That take care of my vehicle for me at Buerkle Hyundai, in Vadnais Heights, MN. are terrific group. I only have 64,000 miles on my car. Travel is close to home for the most part. Really enjoy driving my Hyundai. Good gas mileage, handles great in Minnesota snow and Icey days. I have not had any major problems with my vehicle. I'm sure it will be the last car I own. Hope to pass onto my grandsons as maybe their 1st vehicle to learn how to drive. If I did get another vehicle, it would be another Hyundai. Very reliable vehicle.

Pros
All of the Above.

Cons
A little Rust (due to Minnesota winters)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Matthew W.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2020
Great little car
I bough this car new in 2008 and it’s been one of the most reliable cars I’ve ever owned. I have 140k on it now and other than basic maintenance, I haven’t had anything really go wrong with it... except the subframe rotted out recently, there’s a service bulletin on that TT1, and thankfully Hyundai replaced it for free even when the car was out of warranty. The car still looks pretty good and everything still works even the air conditioning. So I have been happy with the car and will consider Hyundai again in the future.

Pros
Reliability, decent ride quality and excellent build quality.

Cons
Transmission goes into overdrive too early and is slow to come out. 35 mph it will always go into OD and if you go up a slight incline the engine will lug a little because it is slow to come out of OD. It’s been like that since the day I bought it and I have learned to just let of the gas a little and step back down. Car will come right out of OD. Just a little quirky, but it hasn’t harmed the transmission. It still goes strong at 140k.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Janet R.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/03/2020
Hyundai Elantra
Great car to get around with. Fun to drive - good sound system. Can pack a lot in the trunk and inside car. Love the manual transmission. Low maintenance. Good for long trips as well as just riding around town.

Pros
It is a great car to get around town with. Easy to park. Love the manual transmission.

Cons
As I am getting older, it is a bit harder to get in and out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Karen B.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/20/2020
I love my Elantra
I bought the car new in 2008. It gets good gas mileage, it's very reliable, & I got it for a great price. I just take it in for oil changes & only had 3 other minor things go wrong. Not bad for a car that's 12 years old.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

QM
Questen M.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/11/2020
12 years, still a great little car. 2008 elantra
Original owner. Car is easy to work on, phenomenal on gas and low fuss with maintenance. Car does not have much technology, but also did not cost much. Interior build quality leaves a lot to be desired but has held together pretty well for being 12 years old. Regular maintenance has been performed and have had no road issues since. Great space for being a small car and handles very well on the road and even does fine at highway speeds and on long trips. Have driven it cross country several times. Family has really enjoyed this one. No plans to get rid of it.

Pros
Reliability, gas mileage, trunk space, maneuverability. Great car for the money.

Cons
Plastics in interior, cloth interior discolored first year of ownership. Only cosmetic issue though, no tears. Solid otherwise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tommy B.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/06/2020
Great family car
This vehicle has been in the family for 9 years. In that time it has met or exceeded our expectations. This vehicle has been very reliable and economical to operate and maintain. It currently has 144,700 miles and I am expecting to easily reach 200k with just continued routine maintenance.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sandra S.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2020
happy
my Hyundai is 12 years old. Runs great still get great gas millage and since it only has 70.000 miles on it I plan to keep it until I cant drive any more.then it will make a great car for my grandson. My only regreat is I wish it had more safety features.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PY
Pamela Y.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2020
Awesome
Awesome car. I really like the features and the driving capabilities of the elantra. It's very smooth and comfortable. Company is very consistent with all the upkeep and reliability of the Hyundai...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Linda D.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/28/2020
Excellent vehicle
We purchased our 2008 Hyundai Elantra new from the dealership in 2008. Our car is now 12 years olld. It has been an excellent car. Extremely reliable. Still runs and drives wonderful. Everything on it still works good.

Pros
Her reliable, great on gas, built to last, back seat folds down which is nice when loading extra things.

Cons
Back bumper sticks out a bit, so can be scratched easily while loading and unloading items from the trunk.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Mark P.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/22/2020
My experience with my Elantra.
I have found my Elantra to be very reliable and it gets good gas mileage, about 29 MPG, overall. I bought it when it already had 105,000 miles on it and it now has over 232,000 miles on it with very littlework other than general like oil changes, belts, tires, and other things that would be needed on any other car.

Pros
Reliability, gas mileage.value, can expect it to drive a long time with proper maintenance

Cons
can't think of anything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Lynn D.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/22/2020
Reliability of the vehicle is excellent
I have had my Hyundai for 12 years and it has never broken down and left me stranded somewhere. It is easy to drive and usually passes inspection. I take good care of the car by doing all the necessary maintenance and it has served me well. Should I need another car I would buy another Hyundai Elantra.

Pros
Reliability and ease of use.

Cons
The icons on the dashboard are difficult for me to interpret.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Patricia G.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/21/2020
Great Car
This is the perfect car for me. The price was affordable. Gas mileage is fantastic. It is fun to drive because it is so responsive.
It is now going on 12 years old. No major issues at all..I would like to get a new one with more safety features, but this one keeps running fine. I can't see buying a new one and having a car payment just for the safety features. .

Pros
Reliable. Fun to drive. Great gas mileage.

Cons
None of the new safety feature. Blind spot from back side window.
Steering wheel blocks flow of heater and air.
Floor vent not strong in winter for heat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mark H.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2020
Dependable
I have 213000 miles, going strong. Keep the maintenance up on these vehicles and you'll get rewarded in the end, by not having unexpected problems. Timing belt is not a big issue to replace, watch YouTube video.

Pros
Gas mileage
Leg room
Cabin area

Cons
interior should be more durable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Mary C.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/03/2020
Love this car!
My 2008 Hyundai Elantra has a lot of get-up-and-go. It handles well and has an incredible turning ratio. It is a comfortable ride. I like the storage spaces in the center console. It also has 2 cup holders and 2 more in the doors. I wish it got better gas mileage. It gets about 25 mpg. I love the cruise control for driving on the freeway or on long country roads. I like the fold-down center console in the back seat that holds two more cups or can be used as an arm rest.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Edith H.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/03/2020
car 2008 Elantra
It has been an okay car - Reliable - just average for looks and interior - it just had one big issue with the transmission but that was taken care because at the time it was under warrenty - For the future I need to get a all wheel drive or 4 wheel drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sean C.
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2020
2008 Hyundai Elantra
We bought our Elantra back in 2008 after our Toyota was stolen. I never owned a Hyundai before and must confess that I didn’t have great expectations. I can honestly say that this vehicle has exceeded my expectations. It is now 2020 and my Elantra still runs extremely well for a vehicle of this age. When it’s time, I will definitely buy another Hyundai.

Pros
Reliability.

Cons
Interior design could look more modern. Not really a “con” though.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 230 in total