Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JA
Julia A.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/12/2020
Quality of Hyundai Elantra
I bought this car used from a Toyota dealership in October 2018 with 151,000 miles, the owner left his vehicle registration in the vehicle and it was deal current, so I call him to let him know that he still had time on the tags. We met and I was able to speak with him about the car’s mileage which was highway mileage. The car was full of dog hair, so I had it detailed inside and out. Then I took it to Todd Archer Hyundai to have the car evaluated to see what needed to be done to make it road worthy for the highway. We did very little to bring it to that condition and the rest is history.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Andrea J.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/27/2020
Elantra
Nice compact car. Reliable and good on gas. I bought this car used two years ago and although it is a 2009, it performs very well and is very durable. It was definitely a great deal and although I was looking for a different type of vehicle, I have no regrets of this purchase.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
Vlad M.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/14/2020
My friend Hyundai
I own my Elantra 2009 for almost 3 years by now, drove about additional 30000 miles on it with reaching overall respectful 170000 plus milleage. During this time I have never had any issue with this car. It is extremely reliable, always starts with a half turn of the key, all mechanisms work perfectly well, it has a good driveability, very maneuverable, easy to drive, it does not take much space on the road and is great for parking, though is quite spacious inside and has a very good trunk. Its fuel consumption is commendable, I drive 300 miles at least until the fuel tank signal lamp starts to blink, after that I can go additional 50 miles I guess.
I use it for business trips and leisure, both short and long runs, once it performed great making a 4-days journey from Texas to New Jersey, fully loaded. I wondered how much stuff it could take onboard given it's modest external dimensions.
It looks nice also, its design is even more appealing to me after some time I own it. Paint still looks great, no corrosin anywhere, and, despite realtively solid age, it still looks appropriate among any vehicles it can happen near to be.
In conclusion, I recommend this particular model and the brand Hyundai to anyone who likes cars and want to have best of those - you will find all you want and need and even more! I am happy that I have such a good friend as my Hyundai Elantra.

Pros
Reliability, great performance at all times, no headaches for the driver

Cons
Some initial lack of power when you need to accelerate really fast

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
John F.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/02/2020
Good car for the price and function.
Had it 11years 160,000 miles never a mechanical problem till this May. The electrics were going on it.....................
..................
.





......................................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
Deborah V.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2020
2009 Elantra
This is the BEST car that I have EVER owned!!! It has been very reliable. The only time that it's been in shop was for scheduled maintenance or a minor repair. Would definitely consider buying a Hyundai, again!

Pros
I'm not a fan of the microfiber seats. They are a magnet for dirt.

Cons
Power seats are the only thing that would have made this car perfect for me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SUZANNE H.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/04/2020
I don't hate it but I don't love it either
It was the only vehicle we ever bought new. And it has served a good 11 years so far, however it is also a very frustrating vehicle. When things do break it is often expensive to fix. Case in point, the transmission in the windshield wipers went out. All that means for me is that my windshield wipers no longer remember where to go for start position. They stay upright on my windshield. But they still work. The part alone is $300. $300 just to make your windshield wipers lay down correctly.

Pros
has lasted many miles, major things rarely go out and has room for hauling things

Cons
the lights go out on it ALL the time, the tires that fit this model are more expensive than others, little things break often and repairs are often expensive or parts are hard to find.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Steve D.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/22/2020
The best car I have ever owned
I have owned a Mazda GLC, a Honda Civic, a Toyota Corolla, and the 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The Elantra is by far the most reliable car I have ever owned in all my years of owning cars. After 150,000 - I am convince that my 2009 Hyundai Elantra is the best car I have ever owned.

Pros
Very low maintenance cost if service is maintained.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Amy B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/21/2020
Love my Hyundai Elantra
I love my Hyundai! I think its the best car I have owned! I bought it used with a few miles on it already. I owned this car goin on 5 years and the up keep on my car is very minimal. I am very likely buying another in due time!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jony S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/24/2020
Lasts like a subaru
My Elantra is 11 years old with over 100,000 miles. Still gets great gas mileage, runs beautifully and have had no surprises. It is an excellent value for the price. I would purchase another one, but mine is still going strong.. Love my Elantra!

Pros
Great price, runs and runs.

Cons
Not really.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sandy C.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/20/2020
2009 Hyundai review
I have been driving this same car since 2010 and I have been well pleased with its running ability. The only criticism I have is that I really don't like the beige upholstery. It gets dirty too fast. I put a towel in my seat to protect it while I am driving.

Pros
I love the feel of the ride in this car, and it has always been dependable.

Cons
Beige upholstery

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Steve D.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/15/2020
A perfect 10 - and better than Corolla, Mazda 3, or Civic
I own a 2009 Hyundai Elantra with 145,000 miles. This car is the most reliable auto I have ever owned. I have had no major issues since I purchased it new in 2009. My next car will be another Elantra. If you follow the maintenance - the car will go 300,000 miles.

Pros
Reliable, build quality is superior to the competition.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KI
Kalman I.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/05/2020
a happy relationship
I am comfortable driving my Elantra both on short local trips and the long distance ones. It's economic on fuel, has excellent storage space. Is well behaved and easy to drive under adverse weather conditions. Have had no problems.

Cons
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FY
Frances Y.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/04/2020
I am Happy
I have owned many different cars in my 88 years, but none can compare with my 10 yr old Elantra. It has been trouble free with the exception of some A/C problems 2 years ago. I am hoping my car lasts as long as I do!!!!! Thank you

Cons
I wish it had more of the comfort features - I am too short and have to sit on a pillow in order to have good vision!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
WES S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/06/2020
Love my Hyundai!!
I Love my car, had it since july 2019. It has Great mileage and just a awesome vehicle. It Drives and handles great. I feel secure imwhile driving and has great visability around me. 4 passengers fit well.

Pros
Great mileage and comfotable. Big trunk and reliable. I'm a big guy and fit in it really well.

Cons
None that I see

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VD
Veronica D.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2019
Elantra Touring is a great car
I've loved my car since I bought it new in 2009. I'd purchase another one when it's time. The moment I saw it (bright red) I was sold. I like that I can see out the back easily since it doesn't have a regular trunk.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Christine C.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/26/2019
Awesome Dependable Vehicle
My Hyundai Elantra is 10+ years old. This vehicle has been reliable, low maintenance, just a great vehicle. I have been very satisfied with every aspect of this vehicle. I love this vehicle it has done well for me.

Pros
No blind spots, very dependable, great gas mileage, low maintenance, handles well in all situations, paint has held up well, and rides well.

Cons
My car is getting older so it is time to start thinking of a new vehicle. I can't decide between the Hyundai Ionic or the Tuscan?????

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gary S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/15/2019
my 2009 hyundai
I have never had any problems with this car. I maintain the oil changes and regular maintenance. i only recommend that this car had better springs on it to rider smoother. Verified in car digests.

Pros
easy to maintain, good on gas

Cons
could ride a bit more smoother

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
David B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2019
Finding fun and peace with my Elandtra
Always, when I need a "pick me up," I would take a drive in my 09 Elantra and add my favorite Coffee House drink, play list, lunch, and my favorite destination!! The sound system is so incredible and very clear and has a desirable sound at all levels of volume. The car is well powered with the engine and handles all situations above average. Would recommend and purchase again. Will stay with Hyundai line of vehicles.

Pros
Performance
Easy to steer
Great to drive
Wonderful sound system!!
Great maneuverability
Low maintenance
Low operating costs

Cons
None noted

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Catherine M.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/29/2019
2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring
love my vehicle! Fits all my needs to a T
Have had no recalls or mechanical problems
Excellent vehicle for travel in town or on
the open road.
Great gas miles per gallon in town or when traveling
Easy to maintain

Pros
awesome!

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Chantelle B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/30/2019
I love my car
I always did my oil changes on time. No problems with car until 10 years, then I still didn't need anything major just a timing belt, new tires, alignment and air filter. The rest is things I always need to do like new wipers, oil change and floor mats. I think I'll have it for another 10. I truly neglected this car besides oil changes and brake pads and it still is in great condition. I will keep it for 5 years and give it to my granddaughter who will be 16 then and buy a new one.

Pros
Last with little work. Great value for your dollars.

Cons
We're stain badly, Should get the leather seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 209 in total