2009
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(194 Reviews)
Latest review over 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CS
Celeste S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/26/2016
2009 Elantra
I must say out of all the vehicles I have owned my Elantra has given me the least amount service problems. I wouldn't hesitate to be another one when I am in need of another car.

Pros
I have recommended this vehicle to other people. They have purchased an Elantra also.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marie S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/25/2016
sparkling purple
We've loved this car for 5 years and expect to keep going w/it for as many more. Great size, ease of movement, mileage, color, sun/moon roof. Great for our Hawaii nei.

Pros
Just what we need - all around

Cons
Doesn't have all the updated features, but not really needed for our island home.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
SHERRY W.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/24/2016
Hyundai
I love my car good on gas have not had any priblems...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Melvin J.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2016
2009 was a very good year.
My 2009 Elantra has over 117,000 miles on it and still going strong. Thanks Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jenene W.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/11/2016
Great, Affordable Car
This has to be one of the best cars I've ever owned! I originally chose this car because at the time, I was wanting all the safety features as possible...this car has great safety ratings! Even though I have since chosen that I didn't want to be a parent, my Elantra has blown me away....I drive my car HARD....and she keeps going. 133000 miles with the original timing belt. She is definitely my road trip car, going from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific, from the Great Lakes and Canada, down to the Gulf...and several other places in between. Check engine light has never even been on!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RY
Roxanne Y.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2016
very goog
Excellent
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lavina M.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2016
I am an owner of an Elantra 2009
great gas mileage---low maiintance...
I once backed into a pole and had no damage to my back end.....
great product

Pros
all good!!!
no cons about it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Miriam M.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/07/2016
Love my car
I bought it used 2 years ago. It's fun to drive. We've transported building materials for our house, taken long trips in comfort.

Pros
Stylish and comfortable interior

Cons
Electrical problem with the rear window controls from the drivers door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
George P.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/04/2016
Great little car
Had since 2009 have had no problems with it. Put over 106000 miles on it and still runs great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Susan A.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/20/2016
Many issues
Bought new in 2009. Had to have transmission replaced, radio, horn, window issues, many inferior parts. Hopefully they have addressed part problems with newer cars.

Pros
Good service dept in Meriden CT. Warranty is good for 100k

Cons
Bad parts installed. Inferior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Denise F.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2016
Great Car
I would let people know this is a great car and I would buy a Hyundai again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lavon H.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2016
Qualitiy
This car has been very reliable, easy to drive, great features.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Bret B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/13/2016
Great Commuter Car.
Let me say this isn't a luxury vehicle, but one designed to be inexpensive, great on gas and reliable. It is all these things.We bought it when my wife was going to school in Reno (more than an hour and half away). We averaged about 35 mpg overall. The only maintenance we've had to do is the changing of the timing belts every 70K. I don't long the "interruption head" design of the engine, which isn't forgiving of any tardiness in getting those belts changed (huge repair bill, if they break). Relatively comfortable seats; we drove all the way to Yuma AZ from Susanville, CA and even with my bad back, it was bad at all. However, at 6' and 240, I'm right at the edge of size they will accommodate. Blue tooth for the phone is cheap and poor sound, but it does work without problems. Engine power isn't going to rocket you around slow traffic, but it's adequate for passing safely and quickly. My biggest complaint (hence the 4 stars) is the road noise. It seems like there is virtually now sound insulation in the car. It's the noisiest car I've ever owned. .

Pros
Great economy
Inexpensive
Reasonable comfort

Cons
Bad road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Gary F.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2016
Still runs well
Purchased this car brand new, and it still runs well.

Pros
Reliable, easy to maintain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lorna B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/01/2016
Great vehicle
Love it! Just went over 105,000 and going strong!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Jean J.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2016
Jean
Fun to drive. Love how the car handles the road. Great on gas.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
ROY A.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/28/2016
2009 Elantra
Dependable, roomy, economical.

Pros
Reliable roomy economical

Cons
AC does not cool well at idle. Sluggish on steep hills from a dead start.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
George F.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2016
Great car for the money
My Elantra is no Ferrari, but it consistently gets me where I want to go and for the price I don't think you could find a much better car. The stereo is loud enough and there are a surprising amount of extras. Great gas mileage. Great quality.

Pros
Very high quality for the price. Great warranty.

Cons
Not exactly the coolest looking or hottest performance- but those could be a plus too. My old 'hot' Camaro was a cop baiter. The Elantra just gets ignored by the cops.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Donna L.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2016
10
I'm going on 7 years with my Elantra and I cannot say enough about how much I love it. I have own 5 new cars before this Elantra and had to trade them in after 5 years. Infact this June 2016 is the first time I had to have something fixed on the car and it was my front brakes. FIrst time out of pocket money for my car. How great is that. My dealership is great also. Also when I bought my car in 2016, three other friends purchased the same car at the same time. We all love the car and many of us have over 100,000 miles on the car already.

Pros
I love everything about my car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Diane L.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/07/2016
Great small car
Great car!

Pros
Bought car used with only 30,000 miles, 3 years ago. Now it has 98,000 miles. It has required basic maintenance and upkeep.

First Hyundai purchase, not my last.
-Gas mileage
-Comfort
Use for occupation in sales and drove 36,000 + miles last year.
Car looks good and is easy to drive and operate.

Cons
1) Poor driving in snow and ice. First year I purchased car was in Midwest winter weather. Had a few scares with car sliding on highways, exit ramps and residential streets.
Purchased snow tires to improve driving in these conditions. That helped. Need new snow tires again. They lasted 1.5 seasons and that's with rotating them seasonally.

2) Driving long distances in car in hot weather where temperatures reach 75 (F) and higher. The interior gets hot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 194 in total