2009
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(194 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

VM
VIVIAN M.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/28/2015
Some slight problems
Although I do enjoy driving my car around town, I have had some technical problems. There were a couple of recalls one for ESC which drained my battery repeatedly and when I brought my car for service they replaced fuses but the same problem occurred. Eventually, a recall notice came in and eliminated the problem but it did cost me a couple of batteries and service repairs. I also had sunroof repair, but other than that my car is running well. I recently replaced a transmission and my 6 year old car only had 58,000 miles! However, the warranty covered everything. My car is great on mileage, easy to handle and comfortable during long drives and still appears new.

Pros
Good looking vehicle and handles well on the road. Great on gas mileage. Awesome trans warranty!

Cons
A couple of recalls and minor sunroof problems.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
THOMAS S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2015
Great car
Economical, well appointed, reliable car

Cons
Paint on door handles peeling after six years

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
ROGER S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2015
A great little car for the two of us
very economical
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
SYAVUX P.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/10/2015
good
good
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
GORDON W.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2015
Great combination of price and features
Our Elantra has proven to be reliable, economical, and versatile. We use it for trips, everyday driving, and errands. My daughter enjoys features allowing her to select music or play her own from her phone, and it's fun to drive, surprisingly quick and responsive.

Pros
Economical, efficient, good quality, reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FG
FRANCES G.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/30/2015
2009 Elantra Touring
Very pleased with my vehicle , have had no major problems in the years I have been driving it. 1
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MIKE W.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2015
2009 Hyundai Elantra
50,000 miles and no issues, I am 6'3 and fit comfortably in the vehicle....good middle class person's vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DAVID C.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/12/2015
Great Car for the money
Very reliable vehicle

Pros
Gas mileage, interior space, trunk space. Overall comfort is pretty good considering the purchase price.

Cons
Original tires were terrible and replaced at 20,000 miles and I rotate and balance at 5,000 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FK
Fran K.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2015
Suoer vehicle
Our '09 Elantra gets great gas mileage-averaging at least 30 miles per gallon of gas. It is easy to drive, roomy but yet small enough to easily parallel park. Other than routine maintenance, we have not had to have any repair work done on the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
DEB A.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/04/2015
She's Been A Good Car
After driving this car the first few months, there were a few things I would have changed- but I was used to driving Buicks. One issue of the 2009 at least -is road noise. Secondly would be the cheap quality of the tires which are worthless in winter and needed replaced before 10,000 miles. As time went on- She needed new brakes before 20,000 miles, and I am not a brake rider. There have been a few recalls - but I respect that Hyundai accepts responsibility and takes care of know problems.
On the plus side is she has not needed any major repairs, good gas mileage, good visibility of your surroundings, seats that are very adjustable, large trunk. I joke and call her my pedal car- but truth be told - she is peppy enough to do anything I have asked her to do.
The biggest drawback of me buying another Hyundai is that I have to drive at least 40 miles one way for any repairs or maintenance. For this reason I go to a local shop- which probably voided any warranties.

Pros
Still no major repairs, NO rust yet. (6 years)

Cons
Road noise, poor quality brakes and tires
No "local" Hyundai dealership for warranty work or recalls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
SUSAN T.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/01/2015
great
lots of room great gas milage holds the road like a sports car

Pros
a great car good shifter holds the road

Cons
needs more power and better tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lenora B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/30/2015
Great style
The car rides better than my previous Elantra. The exterior design is sporty and aerodynamic. I love the red color.

Pros
Great style.

Cons
The placement of the head rest is uncomfortable. The rear window is small and when looking through the rear view mirror you first see head rests and a small portion of the outside.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
TOM L.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/29/2015
for what the car is, is great
VERY maneuverable with excellent steering and braking. Tough BIG inside felling little car with lots of inside space, and trunk space.
VERY HAPPY with the car. Don't expect a lot of power for like going up a freeway ramp, as car seems to struggle with that.
Once it gets going, it goes VERY well. Have driven it back and forth on highways to California 10 times.
Everything is located well, lots of nice adds with mone work well-
cruise is fussier than Nissan, but is fine- AC is GREAT for AZ, and car cools down fast. Car goes down the road very straight, stops and steers great,
but there is cabin noise- like on occasion, i check to see if a window is open.
GREAT value car- tough as nails, great size/maneuverability for getting into small parking spots, great AC- nice gas mileage.
My wife loves the car.

Pros
VERY maneuverable with excellent steering and braking. Tough BIG inside felling little car with lots of inside space, and trunk space.
VERY HAPPY with the car.
Once it gets going, it goes VERY well. Have driven it back and forth on highways to California 10 times.
Everything is located well, lots of nice adds with mone work well-
cruise is fussier than Nissan, but is fine- AC is GREAT for AZ, and car cools down fast. Car goes down the road very straight, stops and steers great,
GREAT value car- tough as nails, great size/maneuverability for getting into small parking spots, great AC- nice gas mileage.
My wife loves the car.

Cons
Don't expect a lot of power for like going up a freeway ramp, as car seems to struggle with that.

cruise is fussier than Nissan, but is fine-
there is cabin noise- like on occasion, i check to see if a window is open.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DOMENIC B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/26/2015
Love it!!
Love my Elantra. Great car for the price. Easy to maintain. It's my second Elantra. Will be looking for my third maybe next year.

Pros
Value for the price.
Fun to drive.
Dependable.
Good room front and back.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 181 - 194 of 194 in total