2009
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(194 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SF
SANDRA F.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/22/2017
Great Car.....Fun To Drive
Love my 2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring car! I keep looking at the newer models, but they don't have the appeal of the one I have.

Pros
Other than the ignition, and the Kuhmo tires going bad at 20,000 miles on it originally, (and they were properly maintained) it has been a great car. Love driving it!

Cons
The ignition on this model of the car has been a bit of a disappointment. In July 2016 at 60,000 miles I had problems and had to have the ignition cleaned....couldn't get the key to turn. Replaced the ignition in June 2017 at about 65,000 miles. In all my years of driving, I never had a car with ignition problems. Looking on line, it seems the ignition in this year and model is a bit of a problem according to the reviews I have read.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Joseph F.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/16/2017
Hyundai Elantra Touring - 2009
Good car; performs well after all this time.

Pros
Value for the money. Reliability. Fuel economy. Great full coverage from sun visor when turned to side window.

Cons
- Reverse still occasionally hard to find (manual transmission).
- Glare from radio panel at night. Only option is turn it off but it comes on full with volume adjustment or changing presets.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Teresa H.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2017
I love my Elantra
My Elantra is a 2009. Except for my regular maintenance and inspections, I have had no down time with this car. It gets good gas mileage and is comfortable.

Pros
all of the above items

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
Dorothy T.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2017
My Elantra
I'm loving my 2009 Elantra and patiently waiting until 2019 when I expect to buy my next car before Retiring in 2021

Pros
Still running good after eight years

Cons
Hard waiting two more years before the next one

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Cynthia W.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/06/2017
Great car
This is one if the best cars that I have driven. I have not had any serious problems with this car. I have only had to do the regular maintenance on it. It runs well.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Easy to handle on the road. Nice design.

Cons
Needs additional hands-free options added to the steering wheel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Jean B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/20/2017
Totally Satisfied
On my the first test drive I decided I wanted the Hyundai, gas saver for in towncand highway. LOVE IT !!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Diane L.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2017
2009 Elantra, color purple rain
I've driven this car for 3 years and love it.

Pros
Great mileage
Comfortable for driver and passenger
Bluetooth

Cons
Need to buy snow tires for winter.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Roald S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/21/2017
My 2009 Hyundai Elantra
I have owned a total of 10 vehicles to date, one after another. My 2009 Hyundai Elantra is the best car I have ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VC
Victoria C.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/21/2017
Love this car.
Have recommended the Elantra to others. Great car for the money, good gas mileage and it looks good. This is my second Elantra.

Cons
Only thing that I dislike about this car is that the seats are a light solid color versus my previous car had multi-colored seats (showed less dirt).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JOANNE P.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/19/2017
Great
Love it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
SANDRA F.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2017
Love My 2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring Car
I bought this car new, and have had it for almost 8 years. I love driving it, and will continue to do so as long as possible. I like the looks of the car, the heated seats for winter, and the sunroof for warmer weather. With the exception of the tires that came on the car originally, and an ignition problem at approx. 60,000 miles, this has been a problem-free car. Went to Michelin tires (no more problems after that) and the ignition was repaired at a reasonable cost. Sure wish they hadn't changed so much on the newer models of this car; I don't think they are as nice-looking as this body design.

Pros
Still getting good gas mileage from this vehicle.
Easy & fun to drive.
Relatively problem-free so far.

Cons
Ignitions were a problem on this model according to reviews I have read.
Kuomo tires originally on it were a real disappointment, lasted about 20,000 miles even though they were rotated as recommended.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Mario C.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/13/2017
Very well made vehicle
Great nice size four doors sedan gas saver and fun to drive .Note: problem free since 2009

Pros
Gas saver easy to handle

Cons
Not enough time to drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Elizabeth B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2017
No complaints
My 2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring is the best car I have ever owned. I have never had any kind of problem with it.

Pros
I love everything about my car!

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Barbara D.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/31/2017
2009 Hyundai
Best value for the money!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Danny B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/30/2017
09 elantra
Rough riding vehicle, poor suspension and loud road noise. Cheap and poor quality door handles. One of mine just snapped off. I will never buy another Hyundai and will tell others not too.

Pros
Nice headrest. Manual transmission. Gas mileage.

Cons
Cheap console. Poor suspension.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Laura H.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/17/2017
Ruby
A good car for the city roads!

Pros
I chose the smaller vehicle because that is what I prefer(drives have been as one would expect which is to get me to and from safely) It's particularly been pleasant during normal weather!

Cons
Since it was brand new- at times the window on the driver side-sticky or noisy while opening and because of the Chicago weather I wish the car would of had the option for All wheel drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Roald S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/07/2017
My 2009 Hyundai Elantra
My 2009 Hyundai Elantra is the best car I have ever owned since 1963.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Martha R.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2017
I love my little car
My Hyundai, Elantra Touring is the perfect car for me. I use it for everything, from carrying lumber to taking long trip around the country to short trip to the store. On road mileage is good also.

Pros
fun to drive, reliability, and the design interior and exterior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
WILLIAM H.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/26/2017
great little car
Over hundred thousand miles never any issues except maintance

Pros
Car runs great never any issues. Worth the money

Cons
Engine to small struggles up hill

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lorna B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/25/2017
Love my Hyundai!
This vehicle has been reliable, economical, safe and great on gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 194 in total