2009
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(208 Reviews)
Latest review about 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SH
Shari H.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2017
performance is great
I would buy 2 more

Pros
great on gas.....

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lorna B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/08/2017
Love my Hyundai!
Love this car! Reliable, great gas mileage and comfortable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Clare R.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/06/2017
This car has been a joy for me at my age.
I am 84 yeas old and this will my last car, so I am trying to take care of it as best as I can.

Pros
Great car for the money.

Cons
Cannot figure out the radio controls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Randal T.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/02/2017
Dependable vehicle
This automobile was a great choice for my needs.

Pros
I bought this car because of high reviews based on miles per gallon since I traveled a great deal to and from work. What I discovered is that this vehicle is exceptionally reliable. I've never experienced any major repairs -- except I think I had the brakes replaced once and some body work (after an unfortunate encounter with a deer on the highway). Costs for maintenance has been minimal through the 7+ years I've had the vehicle (which now has 169,000+ miles).

Cons
The automatic door locking component doesn't seem to have a system. Sometimes it locks up before I have a chance to get groceries out of the back seat--sometimes it never locks up. I don't quite understand the why or how of it. Other than this petty complaint, I haven't any others.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
Ellen F.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/02/2017
Love my Elantra!
This is the best sedan that I have owned. This 2009 Elantra was previously owned and kept in tip top condition and I have not had any serious problems within the year and a half since I purchased it. It rides comfortably, especially for long road trips, has great power for climbing mountain roads and is a pleasure to just cruise around in. This car gets great gas mileage so you can take a little road trip even if your wallet is a bit tight but you want to get up and go! The trunk is quite spacious for a car of this size too. My friend and I just took a road trip and she mentioned how she likes this car so much better than my last one, as it is much easier to get in and out of, and she's right! I am so, so happy that I have this reliable car. So much fun! People comment all the time what a sweet little "ride" this car is!

Pros
Style Performance Mileage Comfort Sun Roof Ease of driving

Size Trunk Low maintence Fun Map Lights Numerous Compartments

Cons
Would be a bit better if the back seat area was a bit more friendly for passengers as far as needing cup holders, and a reading light on each side. Difficult for me to clean the inside rear and front windshields because of a disability and I don't have the arm reach.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Elizabeth M.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/28/2017
My 2009 Hyundai Elantra is great and has given me all the transportation that I need. Knowing that dependable service people are close by, has been a great comfort to me.
I like my 2009 Hyundai Elantra !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

UM
Ulrike M.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/25/2017
I love my Elantra Touring. Keeping up with the service schedule keeps it in great condition.
I never had any major problems.

Cons
No cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Kevin G.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/22/2017
best deal many years later
day one till years later the easiest purchase that has keep giving for years with little to no hassel

Pros
no problem for years

Cons
if a con good basic tranportation

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Michael G.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/17/2017
2009 Elantra is a great little, big car inside, ride
I bought this 2009 and I have had it since new. Prices have gone up but the car is much bigger than the original model. Struts went out before warranty and the deal honored replacements on all four wheels. That was good. The car is super to steer and parks easy. Good size trunk, paint, seats, everything still works too.

Pros
Roomy, comfy, quiet, steers and parks easy, good gas mileage and paint job.
I really like it and plan on keeping it for a while.

Cons
Sometimes the door will self lock. I had it checked out and nothing was found to happen at the dealer. It still self locks now and then but other than that it is a keeper.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Christine M.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/15/2017
My car
My car is dependable and has never had major problems . I love the comfort of the seats and it is good on the road.

Pros
It's just the size I need. It has plenty of trunk space. Lots of pick up and go. Good city mileage. Dependable.

Cons
The interior color sucks.it gets dirty too fast and is difficult to clean. It is a light beige interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Maryann B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/08/2017
Elentra
I love my Hyundai elantra. Great mileage and sporty enough that even my grandkids, nieces and nephews love to drive it.

Pros
Can't say enough good things about my Hyundai Elantra.

Cons
Non

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Stephen S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/05/2017
Great Little Car
I've had my car for 7 years now and don't have any complaints. It's just coming up on 100,000 miles, the only repairs I recall at the moment have been brakes, a wiring harness for the rear lights (covered by a recall notice) and just this week, having a window raising/lowering mechanism repaired. The only thing I wish would be a little more powerful is the air conditioning. I get to drive a 2010 Sonata every once in a while, and the a/c can actually get too cold (I presume due to the larger engine). I love the Touring, hopefully newer models can crank out more cold air. Bottom line is for the money this car far exceeds my expectations. I hope the new ones do the same.

Pros
Very roomy, was very helpful during a move, was able to pack quite a lot of stuff in the rear after folding down the seats. 5 speed manual is fun to driver, good pickup, decent mileage (29 mpg around town, practically never on an interstate, just "county roads", but I bet a 6th gear would really help that)

Cons
Air conditioning could be a bit better, takes a while to get cold, on hot days it sometimes doesn't quite get the whole cabin cooled down enough. (of course, it's a hatch back, do it has a larger area to cool down)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lisa B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/01/2017
Reliable Car
The Elantra has been a great car so far - I have a 2009. The only issue has been brakes - seems like they need attention more often than other vehicles I've owned.

Pros
small, easy to drive
good safety features
able to add bluetooth after-market

Cons
No outside temperature reading

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TO
Toni O.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2017
Hyundai Elantra
This car has served us well, the only thing we had to do was put new tires on it a few months back. I would definitely recommend a Hyundai for my friends, family and the people we go to Church with.

Cons
I wish it had the power to stop when you are approaching another car, but I know you put it in after we bought the 2009.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
SANDRA F.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/22/2017
Great Car.....Fun To Drive
Love my 2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring car! I keep looking at the newer models, but they don't have the appeal of the one I have.

Pros
Other than the ignition, and the Kuhmo tires going bad at 20,000 miles on it originally, (and they were properly maintained) it has been a great car. Love driving it!

Cons
The ignition on this model of the car has been a bit of a disappointment. In July 2016 at 60,000 miles I had problems and had to have the ignition cleaned....couldn't get the key to turn. Replaced the ignition in June 2017 at about 65,000 miles. In all my years of driving, I never had a car with ignition problems. Looking on line, it seems the ignition in this year and model is a bit of a problem according to the reviews I have read.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Joseph F.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/16/2017
Hyundai Elantra Touring - 2009
Good car; performs well after all this time.

Pros
Value for the money. Reliability. Fuel economy. Great full coverage from sun visor when turned to side window.

Cons
- Reverse still occasionally hard to find (manual transmission).
- Glare from radio panel at night. Only option is turn it off but it comes on full with volume adjustment or changing presets.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Teresa H.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2017
I love my Elantra
My Elantra is a 2009. Except for my regular maintenance and inspections, I have had no down time with this car. It gets good gas mileage and is comfortable.

Pros
all of the above items

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
Dorothy T.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/08/2017
My Elantra
I'm loving my 2009 Elantra and patiently waiting until 2019 when I expect to buy my next car before Retiring in 2021

Pros
Still running good after eight years

Cons
Hard waiting two more years before the next one

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Cynthia W.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/06/2017
Great car
This is one if the best cars that I have driven. I have not had any serious problems with this car. I have only had to do the regular maintenance on it. It runs well.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Easy to handle on the road. Nice design.

Cons
Needs additional hands-free options added to the steering wheel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Jean B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/20/2017
Totally Satisfied
On my the first test drive I decided I wanted the Hyundai, gas saver for in towncand highway. LOVE IT !!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 208 in total