2012
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(876 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JC
JENNY C.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/18/2015
Great Car
I love my car! Her name is Storm. I love all of the features in my car and the color. The only thing missing in my 2012 Elantra is the ability to know all of the songs playing on the dashboard. If you can connect your ipod or subscribe to XM satellite, you know all the songs playing. But if you are listening to the radio, the only thing you see on the screen is the radio station you are set to :( I love the dimming feature on my rear-view mirror plus all of the cup holders! I also love the ECO feature which totally helps of saving money at the pump. I can travel farther on less gas.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Deborah P.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/03/2015
2012 Hyundai Elantra
I have had the vehicle for 3 years and very pleased with the performance and handling of the car. The car has 98,000+ miles and I bought it new so all but 18 miles have been logged by me. I plan on driving the car for many more miles since it gets great gas mileage, easy to move in traffic and quiet. This is the first new car that I've had in over 20 years and it has definitely been a good investiment.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Cynthia T.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/02/2015
Love my 2012 Hyundai Elantra Touring!!!
I have been so happy with my Hyundai Elantra Touring! I am sad to hear that Hyundai no longer makes this model! I have heard many people who have owned one say the same thing!

It's great on gas, it has a sporty look, and it is the perfect size for my family, especially when traveling!

Pros
Too many to list!

Cons
My only complaint is the moisture buildup on the outside and sometimes, inside, windows. When I roll the windows down, it doesn't remove the moisture, so I often have to wipe the windows with a cloth in order to see.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Diane W.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/02/2015
love my car.. have had for 3 years and still enjoying
Love all the features on my car... from the bluetooth to the fancy rims (which get lots of compliments )..several of my friends and even my ex-husband bought one based on my recommendation and all are also very happy...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KENNETH C.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/25/2015
Hyundai Elantra Limited
I love this car! Best gas mileage I have ever had with a car. Comfortable and classic sedan feel. Lots of bells and whistles too.

Pros
Comfort

Cons
There aren't any!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Ronald M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/21/2015
This vehicle has been the BEST!!!
So thankful 2 God 4 the help & ease of buying this car at Frank Hyundai & also w/Maintenance..no major problems or repairs & nice style of the car causes many 2 give praise abt it & ask abt buying an Elantra!!!

Pros
Just love & enjoy so much abt it especially the 10yr.Warranty, Road-side Assistance & a solid-made car!! Also like the Trade-in-Assurance!!!!!

Cons
Had some trouble w/Car-Alarm going off in rain w/in 1st 30days, but Frank Hyundai apologized & replaced it w/new 1 immediately! Thank u sooo & God dearly bless u!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JOHN B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/08/2015
Nice Little Car
I really like my little car. The fact that it doesn't get nearly as good gas mileage as the sticker said is a little irritating, but the MPG Reimbursement Program makes up for it somewhat. I have had only a couple of very minor problems with the car, which, except for the check engine light experience, was repaired under warranty (by the previous dealership). I already have 113000 enjoyable miles on the little car. It still runs like a top, has plenty of power and doesn't use a quart of oil between 5k changes. I am seriously thinking about buying another Elantra first of the year. Probably not from Coggin though.

Pros
Great styling, especially for a four door sedan; lively performance, and a reasonably good ride for a little car.
Pretty comfortable on a long trip. Pretty good rear leg room.

Cons
A little sensitive to side winds. On my base model the front carpet has no heel pad and wore through too quickly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Barbara L.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/07/2015
My FAVE Hyundai Elantra TOURING
Really enjoying this car 3yrs later. Love the high sitting driver's seat, w/o buying an SUV. It has pep, Love the hatchback and moon roof...DISLIKE that roof comes minus any tinted lip cover to block sun & rain. Bucket seats are comfy but if I drop something it's lost forever. It has more super duper features than I really use. Radio, tachometer, hide-the-trunk screen, and double chargers were replaced under warranty...kinda weird to have so many dash issues. One day whole dash screen went black. Lots of compartments. Seats leather. Carpet is gar-bage. Hate schlumper bumpers...prefer chrome. 2-3 recalls in 3 yrs.

Pros
read above

Cons
need more color choices than B& W and neutals

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Sharel G.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/05/2015
2012 Hyundai Elantra…Fabulous cara
Love this car….great on comfort, mileage and style…love the way it handles….Love the Service Department at Towne…
Would definitely buy another Hyundai…..great car, great warranty, I really like everything about it….

Pros
Mileage, sryle, comfort, room, large trunk which is fabulous, great sunroof and sound system and bluetooth…just a great car..

Cons
Hard to see the front of the hood (I am short)..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
VIOLET S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/21/2015
Reliable
Almost 80000 miles, changed oil regularly, no other problems, very reliable reliable reliable car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/15/2015
130k miles and not a single issue
Great experience with this vehicle. Only returns have been 2 minor recalls.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Diane R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/11/2015
Best Car I ever bought !!!
I love this car so much, it is a like a tan / light brown color. I darkened the windows after buying it. I have seen no other on the streets as cool lookin as mine, I like how it looks inside and out. It is going to be 4 years since I bought it, I don't even have 27,000 yet. Never had anything done on it but Oil Changes, I would consider getting a second one when I need a new car in the future. Thank you

Pros
EVERYTHING

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2015
The Elantra is Roomy, has great trunk space, and gets great gas mileage.
Elantra has great styling. It is a standout car, that is roomy and has great gas mileage with enormous trunk space.This is my third hyundai over the last 20 years. The styling is superb and the car has been virtually maintenance free up to this point in time.

Pros
It is a fun car to drive and very reliable.

Cons
I can't think of any since the side mirrors have been modified to eliminate any blind spots.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
RICHARD A.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/26/2015
Loud road noise while riding on the highway, peppy accelleration, gas mileage not as good as expected in city driving especially, paint job improved compared with older previous models.
Features and quality is good for the price of the car compared to some other brands. should be more honest about true gas mileage especially in city.

Pros
Nice styling for it's class. Good features for the price. Good warranty. Engine is peppy.

Cons
Visibility and blind spots in both side/rear too large. Dangerous in backing up due to this. Loud road noise on highway. Plastic surface under rear window melted in the sun and is sticky even when cool, making it difficult to impossible to clean. This happened soon after I bought the car and I think it should be replaced under warranty, but dealer's service advisers don't have any interest in that!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DONNA B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/08/2015
piece of crap
this is the worst piece of crap I have ever owned in my 56 years on this earth I would never ever ever recommend this car to anyone I wish I had never walked into this dealership there are no words to describe my displeasure with this piece of crap I can't wait until I can get rid of it

Pros
I'll soon be able to get rid of this albatross.

Cons
I'm stuck paying for this piece of crap Untill I can get rid of it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
CARLTON H.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2015
My Elantra
Two words--"Love it!"

Pros
Great fuel economy,fun to drive,handles great

Cons
Could have a bit more noise damping(road noise)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Janis B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2015
Recall
Went in for a recall and bought a new 2016 Elantra.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Anita M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2015
Love my car
It's very spacious. Love the blue tooth and xm radio. I also love the warranty on the car. I have a red car and love it.

Pros
Spacious comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
ANIL K.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/04/2015
It's just ok
Major bummer is miles per gallon. I got it mainly to get better MPG. I get like 26 miles per gallon now. Not acceptable for an "economy" car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
STEPHEN R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/03/2015
Disappointing
Our 2012 Elantra did not live up to expectations. Primarily, the fuel economy is worse than advertised. Evidently Hyundai was hit with a class action suit about it. However, that complaint was about highway mpg being over estimated. That's not my experience. In my case, the epa city estimate is higher than real life. The epa estimate is 29 mpg. I'm lucky to get 24 in town. Since this is where I do 95 % of my driving, it's kind of a big deal. When we first got the car (new) the mileage was even worse, maybe 21 mpg in town. I told the dealer about this several times, and was told I was probably driving it wrong. Well, after several months of dismal mpg, and several talks with the dealer, they said they had a bulletin from Hyundai, and there was a computer "reflash" they could perform. After they did that, the mpg improved, but still not to where it should be.
Secondly, our car makes a horrible sound from the engine when first started in the morning. The dealer tells me this is normal. I've never had a car make this noise, so I have a hard time believing that.

Pros
Comfortable seating, decent engine power, good transmission performance, good steering feel. Roomy interior, very nice interior finish and controls. Classy exterior styling, large trunk space. More ground clearance than you would guess.

Cons
Poor in town fuel economy. Terrible engine noise on first start up of the morning.
Suspension, or ride quality is rough.

Did I mention poor fuel economy?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 841 - 860 of 876 in total