2013
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5rating 4.6
4.6
(2249 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CS
Carol S.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
04/16/2015
2013 Elantra Limited
This great little car is the best I have ever had!

Pros
Great gas mileage! Handles well a high speeds! Comfortable ride! Good looking, sporty looking car!! Roomy enough for passengers.

Cons
None!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
FREDERICK M.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
04/17/2015
I love driving my Elantra.
The Elantra is a terrific car to drive. It is very comfortable and economical.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MICHAEL S.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
05/19/2015
-

Pros
easy to drive, comfort, good visibility, a/c, fun to drive..

Cons
no blue tooth

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
JON E.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/16/2015
Sucks
Is asking for the wipers to work correctly on a brand new car too much to ask? Or to fix it when they don't? It appears so. Very disappointed. Buyer beware.

Cons
Wipers don't work.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Simeon H.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/24/2015
EASY RIDE, ECONOMICAL AND COMFORTABLE.
HANDLES VERY WELL. EVEN HAD TO DRIVE OVER A MEDIAN WITH CURBS, BECAUSE OF ACCIDENT AHEAD AND NO PROBLEM WHICH TOTALLY SURPRISED ME. ONLY DIFFICULTY WAS LACK OF SPARE TIRE, HOWEVER, I BOUGHT ONE FROM PARTS DEPARTMENT COMPLETE WITH JACK AND LUG WRENCH. ONLY NOTICEABLE FAULT IS UNLOCKING CAR WITH KEY FOB THEN HAVING DOORS RELOCK WHEN APPROACHING CAR WITH KEYS IN HAND. AND, SOMETIMES THE TRUNK UNLOCKS AND OPENS UNINTENTIONALLY.

Pros
TIRES SEEM WELL SUITED FOR RAINY DAYS. SUSPENSION GIVES GREAT HANDLING ON TIGHT CURVES. BRAKING IS INSTANT AND HANDLING IS TIGHT IN PANIC STOPS WITHOUT FISH TAILING. ACCELERATION IS SO PEPPY UNINTENTIONAL SPEEDS OF 100 MPH (TWICE) US EASY. REARVIEW MIRRORS EASY TO ADJUST AND GIVE GOOD VISION AT BLIND SPOTS. ELBOW ROOM IS OUTSTANDING. SITTING POSITION IS COMFORTABLE ON LONG TRIPS. P.S. RENTED A 2014 FROM ALAMO IN PORTLAND, OR AND I ALREADY KNEW LOCATION OF CONTROLS. SAME GREAT HANDLING IN MOUNTAINS AND DESERT DRIVING CONDITIONS IN OREGON.

Cons
LACK OF SPACE FOR CDs AND OTHER ITEMS IN FRONT COMPARTMENT. NEEDS SOME RAILS TO HOLD ITEMS ON FLAT PART OF DASH. SOMETIMES BIG TRUCKS CROWD ME AND OTHER DRIVERS HAVE NO ROAD SENSE IN PASSING ON MUTI-LANE ROADS. THERE SHOULD BE A WARNING FOR DRIVERS OF ABSENCE OF SPARE TIRE WITH OFFER FOR BUYING SPARE IN PARTS DEPARTMENT. HORN IS IN AWKWARD POSITION AND NOT LOUD ENOUGH. PREVIOUS DRIVERS OF SUVS SHOULD BE WARNED TO NOT DRIVE THIS CAR NEAR ROAD EDGES WHERE NAILS AND WIRES CAN PUNCTURE TIRES. LOW CLEARANCE NOT SUITABLE FOR MOST ROAD HAZARDS.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
CHRISTINE K.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/25/2015
Mr
Terrible
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JOHN H.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/27/2015
2013 Elantra
Fantastic automobile that continues to improve year after year. This is the sixth Hyundai I have owned and I will consider purchasing them in the future.

Pros
overall reliability and performance.

Cons
Front defrost and overall problems of keeping windshield clean. Tires and wheels.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
TERRI M.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/07/2015
Salesman
Adam Whitener is an awesome salesman I have bought 3 vehicles from him & would do so again. I have also recommended him to several people that have also bought vehicles from him.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MICHAEL T.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/14/2015
2013 Elantra
Great vehicle. Best I've ever ownerd.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Alison S.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/19/2016
Thumbs down
Now I'm going to just start off by saying that I don't think all of the cars are the same but the one I got was awful. I purchased it at a used car dealership in California. The previous owner took very good care of it and was in good condition with only 16k miles. Unfortunately within the first year the car was giving me issues. It would shake randomly while stopped at a light or in park. It concerned me so I brought it into a dealer by my house and they said they couldn't find anything wrong with it and assured me it was fine. I continued to drive it thinking that it was fine until one day I was parked at a friends house and it started to shake so violently that it completely turned off! I brought it in again and they told me that it was "normal" for this model. Inbetween these two visits I brought it in for oil changes and would always complain about the shaking but still no diagnosis. After one of the oil changes I had gone to work the next morning and my air pressure light came on, I thought that was extremely weird since they do a tire pressure check upon the "four point inspection" during any service. When I went to take it to a gas station to put air in the tire the person who helped said it was very low and I could have gotten a flat! I called the dealer and complained. Not even three days later my car overheated on my way home from work and I had to get it towed to the dealer the following day. They told me that there was a recall for a part and fixed it under warranty. Unfortunately the car continued to overheat the next couple of days and I would bring it in continuously until my father looked at it and told me the cooling fan wasn't coming on and that's why it was overheating. The next time I went in I brought my father with me and he explained the cause of the problem. Hyundai looked and agreed... So why did they fix something completely different!? Over the next year I had no overheating issues but the car was still shaking every once in awhile. Recently I just moved to Idaho and upon my departure I needed to get a transmission fluid change. The dealer wanted over $500 so I felt I couldn't afford that before my move so I decided to take it to Valvoline which I learned my lesson was a BAD CHOICE. The guys at Valvoline put a QUART over of fluid in my transmission and my car was having severe shifting issues. I brought it into the dealer out here in Idaho and I was told I needed a brand new transmission and that one of my MOTOR MOUNTS was broken and that was why I could feel the car shaking. Shame on Hyundai in California for not being able to diagnose what seemed to be easy for the dealer out here's problem! This car has been nothing but issues for me, and upon my new transmission I will be trading it in for another vehicle.

Pros
It has great gas mileage.

Cons
Too many issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dennis M.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/29/2016
2013 elentra
No comment

Pros
Has mileage

Cons
Terrible in winter weather

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
Frances S.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/19/2016
Noise that won't stop
I have owned 5 hyundai's bought all brand new off showroom floor. This is the worse and my last Hyundai. My Elantra makes a very very annoying noise when I apply the brakes. I took it in for servicing it stopped only to return again, and again, and again. It always comes and goes. No one in the service department has been able to explain to me what the cause is or why it keeps happening. The noise is so annoying I will never recommend or buy another Hyundai and anyone who ask me, I let them know or I take them for a ride so they can hear the noise and let them decide if they want to drive a car that makes annoying continuous noise

Pros
Reliable Gets you from point A to point B

Cons
Very noisy when braking
a problem that has not been able to fix by Hyundai service department

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Gina G.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/07/2017
Bad Year, Rust Abounds
The interior was Simonized and the seats still did not withstand any kind of stain prevention. Luckily they are replacing all the material, but I am putting seat covers on from this point forward. There are no chip guards for this model year. As a result, Hyundai repainted back doors but no chip guard so the same thing has occurred again and they will not cover. End result ultimately is that the area rusts. Hyundai could did not resolve with manufacturing a chip guard and installing. We have purchased 2 new vehicles since and we will soon be trading in this Hyundai for a new car. Believe me, any future cars will NOT be Hyundai. Stay away and for about $1,500 more get yourself a Subaru!

Pros
Design is very stylish.

Cons
Stylish does not always equal functional due to poor quality products used to build the car. Avoid purchasing poorly built car with poor quality paint and parts.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MQ
Melissa Q.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/15/2017
Bad clutch @43,000
How does a clutch go bad on a fairly new car..... terrible and Hyundai wont warranty it. I will never buy a Hyundai again

Pros
None

Cons
Hyundai has the worst customer service and they wont fix half the things that go wrong with the cars

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Richard F.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/26/2017
vickie
have had nuthing but problems since purchasing this vehicle from terry reid hyundai in cartersville ga. do not buy elantra! no matter what they always say they can't duplicate problem. do not purchase hyundai

Pros
35 mpg

Cons
sometimes won't crank. and blows blue smoke when accelerating and sounds like a puttering rattle trap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Gina G.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/27/2017
Rust Bucket
Seats have been replaced bc they easily stain. Thankfully the extra I paid for Simonize covered it and I put seat covers on all. That being said, due to lack of stone guards most people have, the back door edges are rusting and pings from stones have chipped away places on hood and rusted. The car has been well maintained and cleaned so there is no excuse. Spend an extra 2K and buy a Subaru! I will never buy or recommend a Hyundai again.

Pros
Sleek sporty style

Cons
Quality is horrible

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Sonia G.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/25/2017
CAR IS A SOUR ORANGE/LEMON 😤😤😤😤😪
I would never recommend this car to anybody. I've driven older model cars and they drove triple times better than this one!

Must and will write the CEO of this company!!!!

Pros
Dash board

Cons
The ride is ruff fells like a 50 year old car from day one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Eric B.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/12/2018
Compared to other vehicles in the same class car sucks
Compared to other vehicles in the same class car sucks

Car car has too many dealer and Hyundai Motors only parts that no one else could fix so you need to take it to the dealer
GPS doesn't use a real map so it's constantly getting lost

Pros
It's Okay

Cons
dealer and Hyundai parts that no one else can fix are you need to go to dealer to get them

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NW
Neil W.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/14/2018
Never Again!
Great "service department" however I will never purchase another Hyundai product again. I appreciated the honest service however this model from 2013 is poorly designed and the dishonesty fro Hyundai about gas mileage and the not paying the penalty promised says a great deal about integrity of the company

Pros
Cheap transportation

Cons
totally misrepresented gas mileage; poor side vision ; poor suspension system; eco setting useless - Would never purchase this vehicle again

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Cheryl P.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/24/2018
Elantra
I do not like my Hyundai Elantra. I get stuck in the snow in the winter and feel it is not safe to drive in the winter in NE.
The only thing i do like is the gas mileage. Definitely going back to an SUV.

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Everything else. Loud to drive down the road meaning you hear your tires on the pavement. You feel every bump. Small interior and cramped. Lousy in the snow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2249 in total