2016
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2518 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CD
Cody D.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/24/2020
never buy hyundai
Engine blew out after only 4 years. I will never buy again. It’s very small and cramped. My compressor only lasted 4 years??! But really the mechanics at the Hyundai dealership broke it and told me I’m out of luck and they wouldn’t fix it. Overall the car has been a pain and my experience with the dealership has been terrible. Get a Toyota.

Pros
Cheap

Cons
Cheaply made
(You get what you pay for)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 07/24/2020
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

EH
Ed H.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/17/2020
Great kind of vehicle
I was w/ my Elantra for the past 8 years so far I have such love of my Elantra. Gas efficient, never had bad experience works great for me.highly recommended to my point of view since I’m not a very particular of an expensive cars. I’m happy of what I have since I manage my own expensive.

Pros
Yes

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/12/2020
Tamiami Hyundai is the best !!
Oscar was very accommodating and got in and out and wevvi e was A++ I highly recommend their service for any Hyundai product. They treat customers like they are royalty GOOD JOB!! The service is bar none the best.

Pros
Don’t have to worry about the maintenance it runs and runs great Vehicle !!

Cons
A little to low to the ground I’d like it up a little more.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Martha T.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/06/2020
Excellent performance
I love my Elantra! I feel confident and safe driving it: great acceleration and ease of making u-turns. Love the interior comfort features; appearance; large trunk space; and convenience of keyless technology.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
CYNTHIA T.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2020
THIS IS IT ;;;
THIS IS OUR SIXTH OR SEVENTH HYUNDAI IN FAMILY =ELANTRA .

STARTED IN 90'S WITH THE SMALLER ONE : THAT'S ANOTHER ONE ;;;GREAT PEOPLE TO DEAL WITH ;;HAVE MEET THE OWNER SEVERAL TIMES

AND HE HAS TIME TO SEE IF YOU ARE SATISFIED ON A PERSONAL BASIS :::::

Pros
A CAREFREE AUTO ;;POWER WHEN NEEDED ;;;;FEELS LIKE A MUSCLE CAR,WHEN POWER BUTTON PUSHED ;;;CLEARS MOUNTAINS TO MYRTLE BEACH THROUGH TENN. LIKE THEY ARE THE PLAINS ;;;GAS MILEAGE ON TRIP SUPER ;;TOOK TWO TANK TO SOUTH CAROLINA ON ONE TRIP ;;1.8 ENGINE AS GOOD AS 2.0 WAS ;;;GEARING SETUP EXCELLENT ;;;;VERY FEW NEEDS FOR REPAIR OVER 24 YRS OF AUTOS

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Ladji S.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/19/2020
Excellent condition!! Love it!!!
I love very my Hyndai!! Very reliable!!! I rarely have problem with my car
I just change the oil and the basic mechanic stuff. Like rotate tires, etc. My full appreciation to Melisa and Amanda, who make the place comfortable for customers.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FO
Frederica O.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/16/2020
2016 Hyundai Elantra SE
The car is sturdy and seems well built. The doors are a bit too heavy for me to push out without them swinging back. Other parts of the car (trunk and bumpers) seem thin and weak. Gas mileage is very good for the weight and size of the car and being automatic transmission. For the length of the car, the trunk is only "moderate in size" and the front windshield seems over-long and difficult to clean to the bottom. The windshield wiper lengths are strange: 28" and 14". The car is comfortable for long rides; best on long, flat stretches. The engine power (?!?) is disappointing in response to depressing the accelerator--chronic worrying lag, especially on hills and freeway on-ramps. On rough-ridged roads (as with "under repair" graded macadam roads,) the car is unstable--unexpectedly grabs to the side and therefore hard to control. The air-conditioning unit is inadequate for cooling the rear seat passengers, even on "maximum" settings. As to the owner's manual, WAY too many pages are spent on the "sound system" and the satellite radio link. I would much rather have a GPS and a basic radio/CD unit. I don't think that I would get another Elantra but might investigate a Sonata or Accent... Thank you for this opportunity to comment.

Pros
Style, gas mileage, good warranty, found a good Hyundai service department!

Cons
Too heavy door weight, inadequate air-conditioning for rear passengers, engine power lag on hills and freeway on-ramps, sudden and unexpected unsteadiness on rough roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ronald W.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/14/2020
Hardly any vehicle repairs
This is my 4th Hyundai Elantra and have had no major repairs all those years. Just by following the maintenance schedule these vehicles can run for several years. The engine is very dependable and gets you to your destination always. My only problem, which still has not been remedied, is the seat belt which does not retract fully sometimes after exiting the vehicle .

Pros
Reliable vehicle

Cons
Seatbelt not retracting sometimes on passenger and driver’s sides

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
Barbara T.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/12/2020
Enjoy my Hyundai.
This is my second Elantra. I really like this car. It has style and comfort. Plenty of room and nice to drive. It has been a very reliable vehicle and a good car during the winter months. I would always recommend a Hyundai vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Susan M.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/08/2020
Great car
I have the base model of the 2016 Elantra. I don’t do a lot of driving, but the car is great. It’s great on gas. I usually spend $12-$15 every 80-100 miles. It’s great on the highway. It has a lot of pickup and the car is very comfortable keeping up with highway traffic. I’m not an aggressive driver, but I can hold my own in my Elantra. I occasionally have to make long highway trips and the car handles perfectly and it is great on gas. To fill the tank after a highway trip is about $22-$23 which is excellent.
I only have 21,000 miles on my Elantra, but I’ve had it for 5 years and the service bills have been very reasonable.
I would highly recommend a base model Elantra.

Pros
Great car. Handles well even above 65 mph. Inexpensive to maintain. Sporty. Roomy. Reliable.

Cons
Doesn’t have onstar, Bluetooth or a backup camera.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RO
Rebecca O.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2020
Elantra 2016
Love it!!! Handles like a dream. I was so impressed with it that Both of my sons Got one. I also have a 2009 Santa Fe that I absolutely love. ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Pros
Love it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MIKE A.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2020
Great car
Great car...as much as 45 MPG if I stay at the speed limit.
Good pickup, never a problem.
Lots of room, not too big, not too small.
Good traction, and good sound system.
Nice styling. Lots of car for a low price.

Pros
Everything.

Cons
Needs snow tires in the winter, but global warming makes this less of an issue.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
Emil N.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/02/2020
Elantra 2016
I've said this before. The problem I have with my Elantra is that the front windshield is not wide enough to see well when making a right turn due to the frame or style of the car. Because of this I have to raise the seat high and that causes my head to hit the roof when entering or leaving the vehicle. So I raise and lower the seat often. It is not the dealers fault . It is the style of this car.

Pros
It drives well.

Cons
the frame or style of the car is attractive but not practical

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Samatra T.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/27/2020
My 'Denise" Hyundai Elantra
perfect for me. Still drives 🚗 and looks like the day I bought her brand new 4 years ago. I'll be a repeat customer. Service department is very friendly. Never tried to upsell me work that wasn't needed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Esteban C.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/03/2020
Great car.
My 2016 Elantra is awesome, i purchased it new five years i now have a little over 37k miles. I work home so i don't drive everyday. Here in Fl we have a couple nice roads for the right car. Now the 145hp/130fpt is sufficient to get you moving and is not horrible for highway or passing. The steering can be a little numb but it isn't a sports car even though it has a decent DCT. I do wish i had purchased the Sport but with that said i will have this car for another 5 years at least. Very happy customer super excited for the Santa Cruz.

Pros
With a roof rack in place perfect weekend car for kayak trips
Dual clutch transmission
NOT A CVT!
Gas mileage
nice lines

Cons
Turbo wouldn't hurt
small display in se model
steering can be numb

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
Tierra R.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/27/2020
Good Car
This was my first purchase straight out of high school. It’s a good gas saver and good on insurance as well. I haven’t had any problems at all. Maintenance isn’t high. Everything is really affordable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Tanya M.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2020
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Love my vehicle. Gas mileage was the driving factor and it has lived up to its word. Fun to drive. Huge trunk space for traveling. Small for teenagers in the back (but it was meant to be a work vehicle and not a family car). Would be a great family car for a family of 4 or less.

Pros
Fun to drive, great gas mileage!

Cons
No sunroof.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tim H.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/16/2020
head room
I'm 5'10" have to watch or you'll bang your head bad getting in mileage around town terrible on the road great. I have 25556 on car 2016 elantra, I will probably by another hyundai but not a elantra ! It had 4100 miles when I bought in 2016.

Pros
The pro side very nice car !

Cons
The care in a nut shell on cons is so so . The no spare " and crazy glue with a compressor " is ridicules !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Adam G.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/09/2020
Regret purchase...
After three months, bought battery for over three hundred and now more problems. Rear camera inoperable, front lights both blink uncontrollably and brakes grind. When purchased i was told everything was checked...

Pros
Gas saver

Cons
too low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joan D.
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/08/2020
great car. this is my second Hyundia and the 1st one is still in the family and runs great. love my car would own no other.
Love my car as this is my second one. Would own no other.. My frist one is still in the family and runs great. It's a 2007.. Love Hyundai. Juan was very nice and polite great service at Universal were i got. Both cars.

Pros
Car is a 10

Cons
None that i have

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2518 in total