2017
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(5084 Reviews)
Latest review about 23 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ME
Mercedes E.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/24/2021
???
Compre ese vehiculo en 2017. Me siento comoda en el al manejar, no ha presentado problemas tecnicos.Lo recomendaria a otros. Es espacioso y comodo. No ha tenido desperfectos tecnicos hasta la fecha . Lo recomendaria a otros.

Pros
nada

Cons
nada

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Christopher B.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/20/2021
Great Car for anyone on a budget
Reliable vehicle i would recommend doing an underbody coating for sure you can do it yourself for cheap usually the auto part stores sell the cans also the exaust system should be coated also but make sure you use a high heat primer and paint as it gets hot and avoid spraying the catalytic converter. doing that alone extends vehicle life greatly. also make sure you keep the fluids checked and filled as needed this car likes have proper levels of fluids any less and it will let you know lol. other than that it is a good car never had issues starting and does surprisingly well in the snow for its weight has a nice sport mode and eco mode depending on your mood touch screen and sirius xm was a great adittion comfortable seats handles well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Patrick L.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/15/2021
Basic model
I went for cheap model and kind of regret it, picked the manual transmission version, Stick is a fun drive but gets old after a time, No cruise control made long distance trips a nightmare, and I bought the car up north, so tinted windows wasn't even a considerastion for me at the time. I regret this purchase for those reason all these years later. As for some minor quality issues, I have bubbles in the LCD display of the radio unit, and the hood paint is already peeling.

Pros
cheap car payments, decent on milage

Cons
No cruise control, no tint windows

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
Robert N.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/08/2021
Love My Elantra!!
I have always wanted an Elantra, and when I sat in the drivers seat for the first time, I knew I wanted the car. The color is gorgeous, very comfortable on the inside, great sound system, overall comfortable and spacious ride.

Pros
Comfort
Stylish
Sporty
Great sound system
Rides great

Cons
Ride is a little noisy but not too terribly bad

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MICHAEL B.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/07/2021
Highly recommend Elantra from kens
My second elantra was low mileage when purchased one year ago it's been flawless all around and all the controls are used friendly the price was. Reasonable considering all. The features included
Buy your car at kens

Pros
Good gas mileage. Easy to use controls and. Comfy seats nikki

Cons
Cannot think of cons for elantra

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dawn C.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/04/2021
2017 Elantra
I have to say I am not happy with my Elantra.
They r road noisey, not comfortable, radio sux, and it boggs & feels like its gonna die at idol and st lights. Ppl i have talked to says theirs does it too. Must b a Elantra thing. Jacked up my credit after i bought this car so dont have a means of trading or repurchase, so we have what we have and we will prolly have it til it falls apart.. But i would not purchase another Elantra.. I definately reccomend test driving it befor u buy, cuz all of the above is immediately noticeable !

Pros
Affordable, pretty good on gas mileage until 100,000,

Cons
Road noisey. Uncomfortable.
Wind buffering SUX!!!
Very little hill power and initial take off.
Radio is cheap and speakers are not that good either.
Just really unhappy with this car. Would recomend different HYUNDAI model.. Hopefully it is just a Elantra thing , not a HYUNDAI thing..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 02/04/2021
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

AB
Aurion B.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/02/2021
Love my Elantra
I love the Hyundai brand and the quality you get with them. They make very reliable vehicles, especially the Elantra. I’m glad I chose Hyundai and they have made a loyal customer. This vehicle is by far the best one I have ever owned.

Pros
Very comfortable interior
Smooth handling and high comfort while driving
Good number of features to utilize, like ECO mode

Cons
Needs better capabilities for wireless functions with CarPlay

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Joann K.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/01/2021
Rating
There are only two drawbacks the interior armrest near the window start peeling in less than one year. The other drawback is when you lift the rear hatch door any snow that's on the car will fall inside the storage area

Pros
Fun great pickup speed

Cons
Interior armrest start peeling less than 1 year

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Mia C.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/28/2021
My car
I love the quality, realizability , style. It’s fun to drive and saves gas. I needed to replace my Volvo quickly , so I decided to give Hyundai a try . It was one of the best decisions I made. Love the car!

Pros
I love everything about this vehicle.

Cons
I don’t love the seat coverings , they are hard to clean and keep clean.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Donisha C.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/25/2021
Too many issues
I’ve only had this car for 7 months and it has less than 30k miles on it. So many problems already. I bought this vehicle in 100% cash, still under the original warranty. If I could go back, I would not get a Hyundai.

Pros
Sleek, compatible, good on gas, love the black interior.

Cons
Doesn’t pick up speed well. Apple play only works when connected & not through Bluetooth. Car battery dies fast like something is draining it, but dealership says there is not. And the battery is uses is expensive. Lot of other problems like grinding of gears when turning.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Demetria G.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/22/2021
It is okay
The car is okay. Have had petty issues with the car since I bought it but all was covered under warranty. There are two other issues with the car but for what ever reason they can't seem to fix it. If you just want a putt putt car to drive locally this is one for you

Pros
If you are a local traveler and don't put a lot of miles on it, it would be a good car.

Cons
This car should have been less than what i have paid for it. Inside of the car is cheaply made. I had issues from. The rubber coming off from around the door, paint chipping off panel, to the sunvisor warping in the heat. Durung the summers the car stays a bit warm even with the air conditioning on. I keep having issues with the car wanting to not start periodically.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Laurence P.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/22/2021
2017 Elantra
Vehicle is really fun to drive Great performance and handling. I have only driven it for a little over 27,000 miles so far because of the covid virus but I have had no problems so far. I am extremely satisfied with my purchase and definitely would buy one again

Pros
I still get a lot of compliments on the look of my vehicle's styling,particularly the color which is electric blue.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
CARLOS N.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/30/2020
Alright
Could be better. Maybe dealer wasn’t honest
The battery died less than year Bought two tires
But overall car is reliable. Gas mileage is average.
Very little features. No back camera. No cruise control.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Marvin G.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/26/2020
My Elantra
Love my Elantra. Stylish, comfortable ride, excellent gas mileage! Found it on line advertised as 2017 with only 7500 miles. It was like new in all respects. Have traveled several thousand miles and found excellent performance. Around town still provides excellent gas mileage. My wife has back issues, but rides in comfort in the Elantra!

Pros
All the above

Cons
Only disappointment is it does not have cruise control.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
Hubert M.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/25/2020
Eh!
I bought my 2017 Elantra, by 35k miles the transmission needed to be replaced due to the original being faulty, spent over a month at the dealer waiting for a transmission to arrive (?!). 5k miles after that all 4 ejectors gave out, that was also replaced. This shouldn’t happen to that was less than 4 years old. The paint is very cheap quality, faded and chipped less than a year in. I no longer trust this car or Hyundai products.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Interior comfort
Features

Cons
Poor built
Poor performance
Not worth the money

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 12/29/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

SP
Stanley P.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/25/2020
Great Little Car
This is a great little car with pep and great gas mileage. I really like the heated seats which warm up faster than any other car I've owned. I also like the sport mode which makes it feel almost like a sports car. The large back-up screen is awesome. I got so much more for my money than the Honda Civic. The 2017 body style change is nice too.

Pros
Price, MPG

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
Doris T.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/21/2020
Loved the car until 2 months ago
I loved my Elantra until the paint started peeling off . Large pieces just started peeling off. Now I have a 2017 can that now has no value and no one at the dealer ship is helping me They said I have too many miles on it. I have 46,000 miles . So I guess Hyundai will only take care of problems if you don’t drive your car

Pros
Fun to drive

Cons
Paint just starts to peel off

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 12/22/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

NG
Norma G.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2020
Dependable
I love my car very easy to move around in and I feel safe driving it. I love the way I’m treated like family when I brought my car it runs good on gas I’m a senior and I’m on the go all the time so I need something to get around easy

Pros
Very easy ride for me

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Christine B.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/11/2020
Elantra SE
This is our sixth Hyundai. Our first purchase was a black Sonata. Our second purchase was a silver hatchback Accent. Our third purchase was a red four seated Accent. Our fourth purchase was a maroon five seated Elantra. Our fifth Hyundai was a gold Elantra. Our sixth Hyundai is a silver Elantra SE..

Pros
Our silvery Hyundai Elantra SE is easy to understand and easy to handle. The mileage ranges 33 to 43 miles per gallon depending upon driving speed, up hill and down hill driving, head winds and tail winds. The engine runs well on regular gasoline. The engine purrs on midgrade gasoline. The technicians do a great job with factory recommended fluid changes and with the thirty, sixty, ninety thousand mile, and interim check ups.

Cons
This 2017 Hyundai Elantra SE performed well the first two years. The last two years, this 2017 has required multiple repairs. First, the thermostat needed to be replaced. Second, the right strut hammered itself through the right side of the hood. I paid two hundred dollars to replace the right strut. I paid a three hundred dollar deductible to replace the damaged hood. Thirdly, the left strut mount but and bolt loosened and need to be tightened. Fourthly, the two rear passenger weather guard seals loosed and periodically cave to manually be manipulated back into position. Fifthly, the two front door lock mechanisms failed. Fortunately, a warranty covered those two repairs. Sixthly, the motor mount collapsed. That repair cost several hundred dollars.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Rita L.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/11/2020
Happy Hyundai Customer
The Elantra is by far our favorite car we have ever purchased. The attractive style, the comfortable ride, and the beautiful roomy interior are just three of many reasons for us to be a continuing Hyundai customer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 5084 in total