2018
Hyundai
ELANTRA

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(1948 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


MB
Mark B.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/21/2018
Parking break light came on after 3 weeks
After 3 weeks owning a brand new car the parking break light came on suddenly while driving down the freeway - will not go off - dealer can not fix so far after 2 1/2 working days of working on it - they have consulted the factory and they still can not make it go off. This is Sunday night and they have had the car since noon last Wednesday. They have reprogrammed the computer, changed the sensor under the parking brake, changed the vacuum pump, checked the wiring harness, and tomorrow they are suppose to change out the ABS Module. I have been told more than once that the next fix should take care of it. At this point they are guessing in my opinion.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Charles F.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/22/2018
Set up to fail!
elantra has a major design flaw. I have the 2018 Elantra and The grille has no mesh and is wide open. I've only owned the car for 2 months and my AC went out and their trying to make me pay 800 dollars for repairs because a rock hit the unprotected condesner and it's not covered under warranty because an object came through the wide open grill and hit it. So now every few months I'm supposed to pay 800 dollars??

Pros
It drives

Cons
The car has been engeneered horribly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NJ
Norell J.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/04/2018
Powertrain drive
I have a 2018 Elantra but it was manufactured with all the 2017 before the gts were built Jan. 2018. So basically it’s a 2017. It’s sucks. It has no drive power for a 4c. I’ve seen some 4c take off but this car is ridiculous. Accessing an on ramp on the interstate is frustrating because you hear the engine takeoff but th car doesn’t move. This is unacceptable and I’m so disappointed and unhappy with this purchase.

Pros
It’s very sporty and comfortable enough for me.

Cons
The power drive performance sucks. Sometimes I just hate to drive it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/04/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

SP
SILVIA P.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/23/2018
Elantra
Assembly of engine very poor and probably not inspected vehicle to ensure to sale. Because if this situation I have to spend time waiting for vehicle repairs is very sad now to pay for a car that doesn’t meet my expectations and let me with not peace of mind even that the warranty can cover repairs I believe that will be more problems with this car that it wasn’t inspected or assembly properly.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KA
Karla A.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/13/2018
2018 Hyundai Elantra
Vehicle performs poorly: unreliable—stops, chokes. This car was bought new in February 2018 and has been problematic early on. He has spent a great deal of time in service. The car has proven to be unreliable and unsafe.

Pros
Stylish exterior

Cons
Performs poorly:stops, chokes, unsafe, unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kimberly M.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/19/2018
Crap
Won’t buy another one. I was a day late to return it to get another and that was due to it being Sunday when they were close. Never again. How does a new car this day in age and it doesn’t have Bluetooth. Better yet cruise control on a 2018. Really it’s like having roll up windows on vehicles and a cassette tape player. Seriously people. I absolutely HATE MY CAR and I’m stuck with it.

Pros
Comes with warranty and it drives on wheels. Better than walking.

Cons
No Bluetooth. No cruise control. Doing 65 on the highway and your car will be pushed with just a little bit of wind.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sonia R.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/29/2018
ELANTRA 2018
Like I said personally I like it, this is my second Hyundai, so I know I can trust the quality of the car, beside they are low gas consumption and they are great in the highway.
If I have to buy another car it for sure be a Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Pamela S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/12/2019
So sorry I gave up my CD player!! I am still missing a CD player.
If you enjoy your CDs don't think you will enjoy this car. It's too low to the ground, and makes a whole lot of noise both beeps and road! I did turn off the beeps except the 39 degree snowflake arg! The back up camera is just a bother. The tires are low when it's cold and then inflate to 40 at 80 degrees arg! The radio should turn off when the engine stops rather than giving that awful battery discharge notice arg!

Pros
I can afford it. It's still new

Cons
The back door jets out to hit one in the face. It makes alot of noise. Sometimes when I turn on the engine it does not start.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PU
Patricia U.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/28/2019
Not Happy with this Lemon
Within a couple of months New Engine, air went out, heat doesn’t work. Lemon. I’m stuck with it and less I want to lose a couple thousand dollars five to be exact! Thank God I have a warrantee . The dealer tried to help me as much as They could! This obviously was not their fault they did not make the car

Cons
Lemon

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Michael T.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/25/2019
Hyundai Sport Turbo 2018 is very unsafe
I am very disappointed and fearful of this vehicle. I have almost been in a few accidents with this vehicle, do to it hesitating or sputtering and almost turning off on numerous
occasions. I've taken it in and computer shows nothing wrong. We tech drove it it did the same thing to him. I was told its because its dual transmission.
If I would have known it was going to do that I would have never bought it. IT IS VERY UNSAFE !!!!
Please let me know what can be done before I look for further action. Very disappointed.

Pros
Car has good features, looks nice and sporty. Nice Interior , Nice Exterior.

Cons
Car is very unsafe it sputters and hesitates on take off.
Almost been in a few accidents.
Very Disappointed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LINDA G.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/28/2019
Elantra. No way
Worst car ever would never buy a Hyundai Elantra again. There is nothing nice about it. I wish I could turn it in now and get a different car. I would never recommend to anyone. My worst car ever. I literally hate it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Abby F.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/16/2019
Cheap, cheap, cheap
I wouldn’t recommend. I have a 2018 Hyundai and within a year and a half, it had starter issues and the overall quality of the vehicle is beyond cheap. Big hole on the floor mat and the inside panels scratch way too easy. I’ll be back to Honda after this vehicle.

Pros
Looks good, but soooo cheap.

Cons
I wouldn’t recommend. I have a 2018 Hyundai and within a year and a half, it had starter issues and the overall quality of the vehicle is beyond cheap. Big hole on the floor mat and the inside panels scratch way too easy. I’ll be back to Honda after this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Maheswar G.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/02/2019
Elantra
I am not satisfied after completing 23000 miles on my Elantra car. I don’t like this car Elantra. I don’t want to refer anyone of my friends to this Hyundai cars. What I expected from this nothing...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JASON B.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/06/2019
Poor quality go with Honda or Toyota the few dollars are worth it
Poor quality car, noisey ride is rough brakes are week. Car has electrical issues. Vibrates any speed. My old 13 elantra was a much better car compared to the 18 I have now. I would not recommend Hyundai to anyone at this point.

Pros
Nothing

Cons
Poor quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NN
NIEL N.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/19/2019
Car is great, transmission is terrible. Even worse, Hyundai does not seem to care.
Within days of purchasing our Hyundai Eco, we started to experience issues with the transmission - it slips in the lower gears when accelerating from a stop. So far, Hyundai denies this is an issue and will not do anything about it.

Pros
It is great except for the issue with the transmission - which is a safety hazard (as the transmission stalls in intersections)

Cons
The transmission and the Hyundai attitude about the issue - their attitude is that the issue does not exist.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PQ
Patricia Q.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/12/2018
Engine unresponsive
The engine has a delay when going from low speeds, then a surge in lower gears. The car shutters when idling in traffic. I’m worried the delay at red lights may pose a problem to drivers behind the car.
Technology is user friendly and design is attractive. Seats are comfortable and cabin is well appointed. Great gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Stephanie J.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/17/2018
The value edition
I bought this car to be a daily driver commuting to and from work. I thought this would be a cheap little gas saver. I fill up once a week. It drives well it has a lag in speed now that it has reached 3000 miles. The seats are a problem. Can't drive for long periods of time. My back starts to hurt, no lumbar support. I never experienced this in any of my other cars. I had to buy a lumbar support for it.

Pros
It comes with android auto, sun roof, push button start, keyless entry

Cons
Seating is terrible. Very uncomfortable. Looks like any other economy car that can be found on the road.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
Bretina G.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/28/2018
Lemon hidden with a nice exterior and interior.
Seat warmers come on by themselves, passenger seatbelt light comes on when nobody is sitting in the seat, air comes on by itself. And apparently there’s nothing the dealership can do. Absolutely nuts.

Pros
It looks nice

Cons
Read stated above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Charles R.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/26/2018
Owner
I am very disappointed with this car, if I could I would trade it today. This car get very poor gas mileage and ride like an iron whell wagon. My nissan Altima get much better gas mileage and ride a lot better.

Pros
No pros

Cons
Poor ⛽ mileage, rough ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BI
Barbara I.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/07/2018
Don't know what this is?
Not reliable! I never know if the car will start. Steering wheel locks. The last time this happened (Sat) I pulled into a parking space, backed up so I could pull in correctly and straightened the steering wheel (Usually I don't do this.) I tapped the steering wheel and said "please start when I come back". It was a very light tap.
It did not start when I returned. The strong gentleman that helped me turned the wheel by tugging it very hard - pushed the key into the ignition really far in and started the car. I have been told to jiggle the wheel, but this last time I could not budge the steering wheel.

Pros
Dealership very nice as are the people at the repair center.

Cons
Not reliable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Steering wheel continues to lock.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/07/2018
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1948 in total