2014
Hyundai
Equus

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5rating 4.8

280 Reviews

Latest review over 3 years ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


AK
ANGELA K.
2014 Hyundai Equus
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
04/13/2015
I love my Equus
If I didn't have a beautiful house I would sleep in my Equus. I have owned a Mercedes 500, Lexus 450 and Toyota Avalon Limited. My Equus surpasses them all.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/28/2015
equus
Love this car. Great price value! Roomy

Pros
The price per what you get is a very high value!

Cons
Does not have 4 wheel drive option. Gas mileage mediocre.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WL
WILLIAM/SHARON L.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/03/2016
Comfort and appearance
Love my Equus
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OF
ONAJOVWE F.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/25/2015
Car Review (EQUUS)
Good car overal

Pros
Great value for my money

Cons
The height of the car appears low and with the drop of the height on park, there has been several underneath scratches as the car tends to rest on the curb

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
William D.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/20/2016
Good car
Good car for the money but handling is average at best Stearing is loose and vibrates when riding over bumps Not as tight as my wife's SRX...

Pros
Looks good -Plenty of power

Cons
Loose steering Average handling compared to other cars in this segment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KENNETH S.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/11/2016
Underwhelmed
Less than I expected. Unfortunately, I encountered one problem after another,and the Dealership addressed each and every one cheerfully always providing me with a loaner Equus. At the moment, all is well. When the car is good; it's really good!

Pros
Styling, Features, comfort on long trips

Cons
Reliability, Quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bill P.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/10/2017
2014 Equus
See below.

Pros
Nice acceleration when needed. Could achieve the same effect with a Turbo, with a lot better fuel mileage.
Very nice road car, but the "premium customer" experience is not there, no matter what corporate HQ says. Texoma Hyundai is the exception.
I went to a Hyundai dealership in MO and the clerk ask me if the car was a Honda. She then said they don't work on the Equus model.

Cons
Re-sale value is very low. I plan to keep the car rather than trade it in for the value offered. Same for my (previously owned) Genesis, very low trade in value! A low mileage, previously owned car in good condition would be a better value than buying either vehicle new.
Also, the Equus "ate" tires, with the first (front) set going bald, yes bald, at 20K. I was told there is no warranty on OEM tires.

There were a lot of problems with the alignment and I'm on my third set of tires at around 58K miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jamie H.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/18/2018
So so
Car performs great, buy technology is very much lacking. My biggest gripe is the inability to add remote start. You have to use blue link which never works. The back up Camera goes black while backing sometimes, and you have to hit agree on the dash every time you start the car.

Pros
Performance is great

Cons
Blue link only remote start

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PRENTICE M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/25/2015
Wonderful vehicle, particularly for the $$
Hyundai has managed to create a vehicle with presence with the Equus (and new Genesis). The 5.0 liter V8 is strong and smooth, the cabin is silent, and most of the controls are top-notch. The only areas in which it falls short: rear doors squeak when they are closed and feel insubstantial as compared to other luxury flagships; high-beam halogen headlamps in this class are inexcusable; Lexicon audio, while creating good space and audio fidelity, could use a little more low end oomph (reference MB S550 Burmester); SiriusXM data package not configured for Equus as per SiriusXM site. This is something that Hyundai and SiriusXM should reconcile; LED DRLs should be standard in this class.
I expect the next generation to follow the example of the excellent Genesis and be a force with which to be reckoned.

Pros
Value, luxury components

Cons
See review above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
LESLIE W.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/31/2015
EQUUS
NICE CAR
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
STEPHEN M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/03/2015
What is this???????
The car is all that I wanted. However the car vibrates and the dealer can not fix.

Pros
Styling and comfort

Cons
Vibration excessive in all Equus cars!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FR
FRANK R.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/30/2015
Extremely Good with Room for Improvement
I've owned Porsches, Cadillacs, Mercedes, Lexus and Jaguar, so it was a leap of faith to buy a premium car from Hyundai. There are so many things this car does well with ride comfort, features, value all getting high marks. Was very surprised at how well the dealership treats me, and that's with never using the free concierge service. Handling and gas mileage are 2 areas for improvement.

Pros
Comfort, features, value, stereo, quiet cabin, acceleration when needed, good brake feel, reliability, Dealer experience and service

Cons
gas mileage in city, sloppy emergency handling/cumbersome/heavy, vented seats ineffective, A/C effectiveness while not moving, very inaccurate GPS, tire grip under wet conditions

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/03/2015
2014 Equus
So far best car I've ever owned. Would give it five stars except for a few annoying areas. The technology on the Equus is very complicated, especially when dealing with something that, in most cars, is simple, like setting radio stations. Bring back the knobs for the radio and heating/ac features like Lincoln is starting to do. Also, the data on the dash board like mileage, etc. is way too small. I guess that most purchasers of the Equus are older consumers and are not used to the futuristic technology and may not see as well. So why not accommodate your customer base? Also, having two different sized tires on the car reduces the potential tire wear by limiting rotation options.

Pros
See above

Cons
See above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FH
FRED H.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2015
I L O V E My EQUUS!!!!!
I tested every other high line sedan beforehand and my EQUUS is truly amazing and sits up there with them on the top shelf!!

Pros
Everything I thought it would be!!!

Cons
Spend too much time in it!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
ALFARATA G.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/03/2016
Equus
I love the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
RICHARD R.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/19/2016
Great Value
This is a very comfortable vehicle to drive. Dealer network needs improvement with concierge service. Would like to see option of all wheel drive in future vehicles. Great warranty.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PY
Patti Y.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/25/2016
Equus Luxury Equivalent
People are so hung up on name recognition that it effects their judgement and possibly pocketbook.
I feel, actually know, that I am driving a luxury car at a more affordable price and a great warranty.
The only negative I see with the Equus is that it doesn't include all the upgrades that the Genesis has, hopefully this will change as the Equus will be renamed Genesis 90.

Pros
Design, appearance, performance

Cons
Needs a few more upgrades that the Genesis has

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CHRISTOPHER R.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/25/2016
2014 Equus
Very good car... a few minor issues

Pros
Style, features, value

Cons
Minor issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
EDWARD M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/27/2016
Love My Equus
I love my Equus and it is a great value when compared to cars in the same class.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FG
FRANK G.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/21/2016
Equus 2014
great

Cons
climate control

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 280 in total