2014
Hyundai
Equus

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5rating 4.8

299 Reviews

Latest review over 3 years ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


AK
ANGELA K.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
04/13/2015
I love my Equus
If I didn't have a beautiful house I would sleep in my Equus. I have owned a Mercedes 500, Lexus 450 and Toyota Avalon Limited. My Equus surpasses them all.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/28/2015
equus
Love this car. Great price value! Roomy

Pros
The price per what you get is a very high value!

Cons
Does not have 4 wheel drive option. Gas mileage mediocre.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WL
WILLIAM/SHARON L.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/03/2016
Comfort and appearance
Love my Equus
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OF
ONAJOVWE F.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/25/2015
Car Review (EQUUS)
Good car overal

Pros
Great value for my money

Cons
The height of the car appears low and with the drop of the height on park, there has been several underneath scratches as the car tends to rest on the curb

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
William D.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/20/2016
Good car
Good car for the money but handling is average at best Stearing is loose and vibrates when riding over bumps Not as tight as my wife's SRX...

Pros
Looks good -Plenty of power

Cons
Loose steering Average handling compared to other cars in this segment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KENNETH S.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/11/2016
Underwhelmed
Less than I expected. Unfortunately, I encountered one problem after another,and the Dealership addressed each and every one cheerfully always providing me with a loaner Equus. At the moment, all is well. When the car is good; it's really good!

Pros
Styling, Features, comfort on long trips

Cons
Reliability, Quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bill P.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/10/2017
2014 Equus
See below.

Pros
Nice acceleration when needed. Could achieve the same effect with a Turbo, with a lot better fuel mileage.
Very nice road car, but the "premium customer" experience is not there, no matter what corporate HQ says. Texoma Hyundai is the exception.
I went to a Hyundai dealership in MO and the clerk ask me if the car was a Honda. She then said they don't work on the Equus model.

Cons
Re-sale value is very low. I plan to keep the car rather than trade it in for the value offered. Same for my (previously owned) Genesis, very low trade in value! A low mileage, previously owned car in good condition would be a better value than buying either vehicle new.
Also, the Equus "ate" tires, with the first (front) set going bald, yes bald, at 20K. I was told there is no warranty on OEM tires.

There were a lot of problems with the alignment and I'm on my third set of tires at around 58K miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jamie H.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/18/2018
So so
Car performs great, buy technology is very much lacking. My biggest gripe is the inability to add remote start. You have to use blue link which never works. The back up Camera goes black while backing sometimes, and you have to hit agree on the dash every time you start the car.

Pros
Performance is great

Cons
Blue link only remote start

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/07/2018
Do noy buy a high end car from a low end company
The Equus Ultimate is Hyundai's most expensive car at $70,000.00. I actually like the car but Hyundai America has sucked all the joy out of owning it. Hyundai is a horrible company to work with and you should consider the following carefully before even thinking about buying a Hyundai, Genesis, or Kia. 1. Customer service is non-existent. The kids ( and they are kids) there will read you the owners manual but it is a complex car and you will have questions. if it is not in the owners manual you will not get an answer because there is no one there who knows anything more about the car. Even a simple question like "what does the snow mode actually do?" will not be answered and they will not find the answer for you. I asked if any of them have even driven the Equus and the answer was no....some experts! You are on your own to figure out have to work it! 2. Even minor repairs will take weeks because of the lack of parts and people to install them. My right side rear view mirror stopped working. The repair took three weeks. They had to order the part, have it shipped, send it out to be painted (there are only five colors) ship it back to the dealer and find someone to install it. That took over two weeks and while my car was languishing at the dealer someone hit it and messed up the bumper so fixing that took another five days. The mirror on my Buick was replaced the same day I took it in. Expect to be without your car for several weeks out of the year. No, they do not have a courtesy car because they do not care about the customer. 3. The "five year 60000 mile warranty" is a boldfaced lie. Read the small print, electronics are not covered. There are thousands of complaints on the web about Hyundai refusing to honor the warranty but surely that would not apply to a $70,000.00 car..right? WRONG! At 2 years old and 30k miles my windshield washer pump stopped working. I doubt it had rum for more than a minute total. I took in and was presented with a bill for $250.00 to replace a $40.00 pump. Hyundai customer service told me that the warranty only covers manufacturing defects and not working is not covered. I argued with them but they were holding my car hostage while we argued so I paid it. I argued with the US and World office to no avail because talking to people who know next to nothing about cars is like arguing with a brick wall. It is hard to believe a company would lose a $70,000.00 customer over such a trivial item but they did. Now that I know the warranty is fake I decided to get rid of the car before something serious broke. That is when I found out that these cars have horribly bad resale value. No body wants them. To trade it in would cost me over $45.000.00. So I am stuck with this dog. The moral of this story is do not buy a high-end car from a low-end company or simply do not even think about buying a Hyundai, Genesis, or Kia since they are the same really bad company.

Pros
great car beautiful design

Cons
Horrible company that does not honor their warranty. The most unhelpful people at Hyundai America. Even though you drive their top car they treat you badly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PRENTICE M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/25/2015
Wonderful vehicle, particularly for the $$
Hyundai has managed to create a vehicle with presence with the Equus (and new Genesis). The 5.0 liter V8 is strong and smooth, the cabin is silent, and most of the controls are top-notch. The only areas in which it falls short: rear doors squeak when they are closed and feel insubstantial as compared to other luxury flagships; high-beam halogen headlamps in this class are inexcusable; Lexicon audio, while creating good space and audio fidelity, could use a little more low end oomph (reference MB S550 Burmester); SiriusXM data package not configured for Equus as per SiriusXM site. This is something that Hyundai and SiriusXM should reconcile; LED DRLs should be standard in this class.
I expect the next generation to follow the example of the excellent Genesis and be a force with which to be reckoned.

Pros
Value, luxury components

Cons
See review above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
LESLIE W.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/31/2015
EQUUS
NICE CAR
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
STEPHEN M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/03/2015
What is this???????
The car is all that I wanted. However the car vibrates and the dealer can not fix.

Pros
Styling and comfort

Cons
Vibration excessive in all Equus cars!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FR
FRANK R.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/30/2015
Extremely Good with Room for Improvement
I've owned Porsches, Cadillacs, Mercedes, Lexus and Jaguar, so it was a leap of faith to buy a premium car from Hyundai. There are so many things this car does well with ride comfort, features, value all getting high marks. Was very surprised at how well the dealership treats me, and that's with never using the free concierge service. Handling and gas mileage are 2 areas for improvement.

Pros
Comfort, features, value, stereo, quiet cabin, acceleration when needed, good brake feel, reliability, Dealer experience and service

Cons
gas mileage in city, sloppy emergency handling/cumbersome/heavy, vented seats ineffective, A/C effectiveness while not moving, very inaccurate GPS, tire grip under wet conditions

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/03/2015
2014 Equus
So far best car I've ever owned. Would give it five stars except for a few annoying areas. The technology on the Equus is very complicated, especially when dealing with something that, in most cars, is simple, like setting radio stations. Bring back the knobs for the radio and heating/ac features like Lincoln is starting to do. Also, the data on the dash board like mileage, etc. is way too small. I guess that most purchasers of the Equus are older consumers and are not used to the futuristic technology and may not see as well. So why not accommodate your customer base? Also, having two different sized tires on the car reduces the potential tire wear by limiting rotation options.

Pros
See above

Cons
See above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FH
FRED H.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2015
I L O V E My EQUUS!!!!!
I tested every other high line sedan beforehand and my EQUUS is truly amazing and sits up there with them on the top shelf!!

Pros
Everything I thought it would be!!!

Cons
Spend too much time in it!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
ALFARATA G.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/03/2016
Equus
I love the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
RICHARD R.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/19/2016
Great Value
This is a very comfortable vehicle to drive. Dealer network needs improvement with concierge service. Would like to see option of all wheel drive in future vehicles. Great warranty.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PY
Patti Y.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/25/2016
Equus Luxury Equivalent
People are so hung up on name recognition that it effects their judgement and possibly pocketbook.
I feel, actually know, that I am driving a luxury car at a more affordable price and a great warranty.
The only negative I see with the Equus is that it doesn't include all the upgrades that the Genesis has, hopefully this will change as the Equus will be renamed Genesis 90.

Pros
Design, appearance, performance

Cons
Needs a few more upgrades that the Genesis has

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CHRISTOPHER R.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/25/2016
2014 Equus
Very good car... a few minor issues

Pros
Style, features, value

Cons
Minor issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
EDWARD M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/27/2016
Love My Equus
I love my Equus and it is a great value when compared to cars in the same class.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 299 in total