2010
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(260 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SW
Sam W.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/29/2020
Plastic parts are crap but power train is great.
The engine, transmission, brakes, and steering are great and hold up to my 184,000+ miles on my 2010 Sonata. Dashboard is cracked, shifter knob is crack, both side view mirrors crack and fell off. 3 of 4 door handle have cracked and fell off. The driver seat material has a hole worn in the the back. The radio lcd has dark spots. Vehicle does not hole up over time.

Pros
The engine, transmission, brakes, and steering are great and hold up to my 184,000+ miles on my 2010 Sonata.

Cons
Dashboard is cracked, shifter knob is crack, both side view mirrors crack and fell off. 3 of 4 door handle have cracked and fell off. The driver seat material has a hole worn in the the back. The radio lcd has dark spots. Vehicle does not hole up over time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Richard S.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2020
Excellent Vehicle
Excellent Vehicle for Over 10 Years. I have over 71K. Miles car is in Excellent condition and Drives and Looks like new. Brakes are also in Great shape. Just had the Fuel Injections cleaned, because I was getting 33.8 miles per gallon.

Pros
Great speed and handling. Awesome styling inside and out.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Phyllis W.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2020
Hyundai Sonata
The Hyundai Sonata is one of the greatest cars in the market. Reliability and great gas consumption. It looks small from the outside but has great leg room and very comfortable for long rides. I suggest that if you are looking for a car, the Sonata is the one to buy.

Pros
Because the car is 10 years old the inside features are a bit dated.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
STEVE S.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/17/2020
OK at the right Price
The key word for this car is CHEAP. Not price, but quality. This car was $24,000 new ten years ago and I’m still trying to figure out why.

If you can get it for less than $2000, it would probably be worth it

Pros
The pros: Engine and transmission are pretty solid at 140k. The engine is leaking oil, but it still works. It handles decently for a family sedan but it won’t hold a candle to a Mazda 6 or an Accord

Cons
The cons: Nearly every plastic piece on the interior of this car has broken and/or crumbled in the last 10 years. All of the outside door handles have been replaced because they just broke off in my hand. The front windshield moldings keep popping off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Caroline W.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/25/2020
Reliable
I have a 2010 sonata with over 170, 000 miles.Im so grateful that she starts right up! Maintenance is reasonable, gas millage is superb. I do not like that mine as well as many others, door handles and exterior mirrors all fall off.

Pros
Great car and built to last!

Cons
Door handles and exterior mirrors fall off. When you see a hyundai on the road you will notice that they have mismatch or missing door handles and or exterior mirrors. I have reached out to dealership and consumer affairs to do a recall or at minimum install for free because the door handles and mirrors can be purchased at an affordable cost from Amazon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
RICHARD R.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2020
reliable
I bought my car in 2010 Hyundai sonata into this date I've had very little problems with it completely satisfied and I intend to hand it down to one of my grandchildren. This is a reliable comfortable vehicle.. I'm taking it on several long-distance trips without a problem I just enjoyed his car and I'm happy I bought it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Margie M.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/10/2020
2010 Hyundai Sonata is a great car.
Great car!! Very dependable!! Would definitely recommend a Hyundai to everyone. I have had it for ten years. I would definitely buy another Hyundai. The service at my location is excellent. I can only repeat that this is a great car!

Pros
Excellent Car

Cons
No Cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Rafael S.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/25/2020
Sonota
The new look is amazing and the front is a impact that is amazing I love the space in vehicle and all the extras like the front park that you press a button and the car in a parked place that you can't get out with a press of a button the car comes out talk about te technology
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Lula P.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/17/2020
a pleasure to drive
I have really enjoyed my vehicle. I've driven my Sonata for 10 years with no major issues. I love the color, very good gas mileage. The seating is very comfortable for my passengers. I love the body style. I would recommend this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dennis C.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/17/2020
H. Sonata 2010 GLS
I bought the car new in 20019. Except that I had to replace the transmission due to a parking attendant unfamiliar with stick-shift screwing up the manual transmission. At the outset I must state that I take care of the car (regular washes, etc).
PROS: Paintwork has lasted and the car runs well (I DO get it regularly services at a Hyundai dealership). Brake-system has never been replaced and this is because my average daily driving distances are < 12 miles. The A/C (never serviced) still works well. Decent mileage. Suspension system good so far.
CONS: The cloth on the seating - esp the driver's seat - is tearing where the levers for adjusting the seat are. This is disappointing especially since I take good care of the car.

Pros
See earlier comments

Cons
See earlier comments

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Stephanie C.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/12/2020
Solid Car
I have a 2010 Hyundai Sonata which is still going strong. I haven't had any major issues with the vehicle at all; it's always dependable. The only have two negatives for this particular year/model I have are that I've had to have all the handles replaced -- they have just come off at one point or another - and after sitting in the sun for years my dash is cracking. Other than that, and particularly from a mechanical perspective, this car runs VERY well and is in great shape!

Pros
Great Mechanics

Cons
Looks like an old person's car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Peter M.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/05/2020
really good for the cost
This vehicle has served me well for 10 years now without major breakdowns. I really like the design. It is nosy on the road .I find myself turning up the radio volume quite high when I am on the freeway.
I would say it is a great car for commuting.

Pros
Very good for a commute car. It is economic. The price was great.The classic exterior and the interior design is great with good visibility all around for the cost of the car.It is economic.The color is really nice.
So far it has been fairly reliable without major issues at 135K.

Cons
The car is really noisy on the road.Only when the road is newly paved it is quiet. One can feel the bumps and cracks.The radio for the AM is a joke.I am not paying for satellite radio.I cannot use the USB port even though it is there. The air-conditioning is struggling in the middle of the summer here in Phoenix Arizona and it always warm in the back seat area. The air conditioning is really noisy at high blower speeds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
Beverly F.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/16/2020
Hyundai Sonata
Bought for the safety features and warranty, and my car has been dependable. Convinced my mother to look at the car, and she is driving an even more updated version now. Able to obtain reliable service in my city, and hope to keep driving it years to come.

Pros
safety features, large trunk (good for golfers), good warranty

Cons
later models have even better safety features, such as blind spot alerts

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Bobby K.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/06/2019
Piece of shit
Bought a used 2010 Hyundai Sonata in 2018 with only 58,000 miles on it and good service records. Serviced it when mileage indicated. At 68,000 miles, the oil pressure light came on and in 3/4 of a mile (before I could get off the Red Mountain expressway) the engine was gone. What a piece of shit. I will never even ride in a Hyundai again.

Pros
Can’t think of any

Cons
Piece of shit

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
M B.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/04/2019
Great Car
This car is great, it’s spacious and comfortable, I must admit I have not had any real problems, just ordinary wear and tear! I only wish I could have sat higher like a SUV! Other wise it is a great car, I luv Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IT
Irene T.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/04/2019
Best car I ever had after my VW Beetle
The Sonata is sl, easy to drive , easy to maintain and economical. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcccccccccccccccccccccccccccvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvbbbbbbbbbbvbbb

Cons
Wished I had opted for built in GPS but it was too expensive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Anthony M.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/17/2019
quality on 2010 Sonata
Never have owned a car (have had about 15) that I have had to replace all the exterior door handles. Poor rubber trim.
The reliability is very good, have had only minor issues with the overall reliablity

Pros
Good mileage
no major issues

Cons
Poor materials in minor area, like door handles, rubber trim

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Ann S.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/02/2019
Great deal
I downsized from a minivan after over a decade, and I am pleased at the performance and just the right amount of room inside and in the trunk!!! Engine is as clean as when it came off the showroom floor!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Aaron F.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/28/2019
well built car
this car has been hit in a parking lot by a car backing up ,hit a curb once, run into the back bumper a couple of times . I do keep it serviced as needed tires rotated. 2010 model year, expenses: new starter, set of tires, a couple of batteries ,two door handles replaced. 110,000 miles.

Pros
good quality and realiable

Cons
noise"s on rough roads

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Diane M.
2010 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/27/2019
Hanging in there
I've had my 2010 sonata for almost a decade now. Bought it in December 2009. It's been a good car. I've only done maintenance to it and I drive it a lot! One thing about it that could be improved would be higher quality parts on the interior.
My driver's seat looks pretty beat up in areas and my driver's side sun visor doesn't stay up. The crazy thing about the sunvisor is it's really expensive to replace so it's not even worth it!

Pros
Very roomy interior and trunk. Nice exterior styling.

Cons
Need better quality interior material and parts.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 260 in total