2003
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.94/5Overall Rating 4.94/5Overall Rating 4.94/5Overall Rating 4.94/5rating 4.94

36 Reviews

Latest review 2 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EO
Edward O.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2018
15 Years of dependable duty.
Our 2003 Sonata has taken us many places during the past 15 years since we purchased it new in 2003. On family trips across much of our country our Sonata has delivered us to each destination safe and sound. It now does duty as our second car to our 2015 Sonata. We have never owned cars previously as dependable and as roadworthy as our 2003 and 2015 Hyundai Sonatas!

Pros
Comfortable, reliable, dependable, economical. A great value

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Carol C.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/02/2018
Love My Sonata
This is one of the best cars that I have ever had. No I take that back it is the best car I have ever owned.
That is why I have kept it so long. It is top of the line and worth every penny I paid for it. Its priceless to me!

Pros
Everything!

Cons
Not any!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ET
Ellen T.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2018
2003 Hyundai Sonata
This Sonata was / is my fantasy car. I could not afford it when it came out. In 2013 when my 2004 Hyundai Elantra was totaled, I had the opportunity of a life time to purchase the car I always desired. It is extremely spacious and drives like a dream . I have the sun roof open as often as the weather permits and you can hear me singing like no one is listening. The general maintenance costs have been minimal and I plan to drive this car til it doesn't run anymore.

Pros
There are no blind spots

Cons
Rear wheel wells have rusted ... sigh ... will have repaired when funds become available

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sharron D.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/17/2017
Great Car
I love my 2003 Sonata. My car has never given me any serious problems. I have my car serviced when it is time at Pohanka.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jimmy H.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2017
My Sonsta
I think I will never have another car like this 2003 Sonsta. It has never disappointed me in any way. So reliable. Still stylish comfortable and dependable.

Pros
All the snove

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
Herbert M.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2017
My Sonata is dependable
Even though the comfort may not be the best, it has never let me down.

Pros
It have tremendous traffic merging power

Cons
The seats are not comfortable for long drives.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YF
Yolanda F.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2017
A great car
I traded my Elantra in for the 2003 Sonata because I liked the new body style of the Sonata. I got the 4 cyl to save on gas was my main goal. I took the car for all its routine maintenace and never had any major problems. I love my Sonata and I'm still driving it and it still runs great. But cars were and are very goog cars no regrets.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Ashley B.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2017
In love!
I love my car so much, I might be selling it soon to upgrade to a newer sonata and I might shed a tear, this car has treated me so well! Love it!

Pros
Smooth ride, amazing stereo system, leather, overall beautiful car :)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Denise P.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/20/2017
14 Years Strong
I am the sole owner of my 2003 Sonata. I service it regularly and according to recommended schedule. It is a great car with few major repairs, due to general wear and tear. Gas mileage could be better, but it is average compared to other 2003 cars. When I pump gas, it constantly cuts off, like its full. I've read this is typical for this model car. It's irritating to say the least.

Pros
Built to last. Dependable.

Cons
Pumping gas is now a chore, as the fuel tank reads full and shuts pump off, even when its not full.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Michael P.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/11/2017
great
great car still have all these years

Pros
car lasted a long time

Cons
it is time for a new vehicle car is getting old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MELODY T.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2017
My Goldie
Our car has over 200 thousand miles.Yes .we've paid for repairs,but thats better then making monthly car payments.

Pros
The car drives smooth.

Cons
My visor wont stay up .the carpet is almost all gone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LORETTA R.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2017
Reliable
I've had my Sonata for 14 years now. I've only had to do normal maintenance on it. Every one tells me to buy another car, which of course I know & can do. My motto is take care of my car, and it will take care of me .

Pros
It comes loaded, and the the warranty can't be beat

Cons
It's getting older, But than again, isn't everything??

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KIM H.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/17/2017
My 2003 Hyundai Sonata!
Hyundai, would you please give me another new 2003 Hyundai Sonata? Grey with a black leather interior package. I would really appreciate it. This is one of the best cars I have ever owned!

Pros
Roomy, comfortable, no clutter in design

Cons
Paint job doesn't seem to be holding up as well as the design and performance of the car. There are also some split in back of the back seat where stitching has come apart.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Carol C.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/15/2017
Great Car!
I love my Sonata LX. It has lasted a long time with few repairs. Overall it exceeded my expectations!

Pros
Very dependable. Good value for the money. Fun to drive.
A great car!

Cons
Only 2 blind spots but nothing major. Most cars have some.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
Gary C.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/15/2017
Hyundai Sonata
Best car I have ever owned and I have owned several. It is a 2003 but I like it so well I don't want to trade it in.

Pros
I like the design and the fuel economy I get. An all around great car.

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Agnes R.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/23/2016
Excellent Service
Mechanic discovered the problems and Ronnie Freeman explained in detail - - giving us estimated repair time and providing a rental for transportation until repairs completed. Very satisfied with great service performed.

Pros
EVERYTHING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Pamela S.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2016
Love My Car
My 2003 Sonata has a few little cosmetic issues due to its age -- trim coming unglued, peeling door handles -- but the car is mechanically sound and durable as a boulder. I do not foresee the need to buy a replacement any time soon. The ride and handling are the same as when I first drove it, except for the missing "new car smell."

Pros
Handling, appearance, mechanics

Cons
NO LEG ROOM IN THE REAR!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
Gary H.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2016
Good car for the money
This car is 13 years old. We had some issues when we first bought it new, but the dealer took care of the problems and the car has been great. I would probably buy another Sonata, if I was in the market for a car.

Pros
Good front head and leg room; no blind spots; roomy trunk

Cons
Very noisy on the road; no leg room in back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Cheryl C.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/05/2016
I Love my Sonata
Thanks to the good care of the dealership my Sonata is like the energizer bunny, it keeps running & running & running!!

Pros
I have been very lucky with this car. Hardly any problems. It handles well.

Cons
The leather is coming off the arm rest. Nobody hardly ever sits on the back seats and I just noticed there are becoming unstitched.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jimmy H.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2016
My 2003 Sonata is the best car I've ever owned. It has been faithful to me and I remain faithful to Hyundai. Bought a 2015 Santa Fe. Hope it performs as well as the Sonata.
Excellent Automobile

Pros
Love the ease of driving. Looks good still after all these years.

Cons
Don't like the headlights getting cloudy with a film that's hard to clean

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 36 in total