Style image original

2003
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.93/5Overall Rating 4.93/5Overall Rating 4.93/5Overall Rating 4.93/5rating 4.93

30 Reviews

Latest review about 2 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 08/05/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"A great car"

I traded my Elantra in for the 2003 Sonata because I liked the new body style of the Sonata. I got the 4 cyl to save on gas was my main goal. I took the car for all its routine maintenace and never had any major problems. I love my Sonata and I'm still driving it and it still runs great. But cars were and are very goog cars no regrets.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/27/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"In love!"

I love my car so much, I might be selling it soon to upgrade to a newer sonata and I might shed a tear, this car has treated me so well! Love it!

Pros
Smooth ride, amazing stereo system, leather, overall beautiful car :)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/20/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"14 Years Strong"

I am the sole owner of my 2003 Sonata. I service it regularly and according to recommended schedule. It is a great car with few major repairs, due to general wear and tear. Gas mileage could be better, but it is average compared to other 2003 cars. When I pump gas, it constantly cuts off, like its full. I've read this is typical for this model car. It's irritating to say the least.

Pros
Built to last. Dependable.

Cons
Pumping gas is now a chore, as the fuel tank reads full and shuts pump off, even when its not full.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/11/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"great"

great car still have all these years

Pros
car lasted a long time

Cons
it is time for a new vehicle car is getting old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/22/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My Goldie"

Our car has over 200 thousand miles.Yes .we've paid for repairs,but thats better then making monthly car payments.

Pros
The car drives smooth.

Cons
My visor wont stay up .the carpet is almost all gone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/21/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Reliable"

I've had my Sonata for 14 years now. I've only had to do normal maintenance on it. Every one tells me to buy another car, which of course I know & can do. My motto is take care of my car, and it will take care of me .

Pros
It comes loaded, and the the warranty can't be beat

Cons
It's getting older, But than again, isn't everything??

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/17/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My 2003 Hyundai Sonata!"

Hyundai, would you please give me another new 2003 Hyundai Sonata? Grey with a black leather interior package. I would really appreciate it. This is one of the best cars I have ever owned!

Pros
Roomy, comfortable, no clutter in design

Cons
Paint job doesn't seem to be holding up as well as the design and performance of the car. There are also some split in back of the back seat where stitching has come apart.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/15/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Car!"

I love my Sonata LX. It has lasted a long time with few repairs. Overall it exceeded my expectations!

Pros
Very dependable. Good value for the money. Fun to drive. A great car!

Cons
Only 2 blind spots but nothing major. Most cars have some.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/15/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Sonata"

Best car I have ever owned and I have owned several. It is a 2003 but I like it so well I don't want to trade it in.

Pros
I like the design and the fuel economy I get. An all around great car.

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/23/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Excellent Service"

Mechanic discovered the problems and Ronnie Freeman explained in detail - - giving us estimated repair time and providing a rental for transportation until repairs completed. Very satisfied with great service performed.

Pros
EVERYTHING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/08/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love My Car"

My 2003 Sonata has a few little cosmetic issues due to its age -- trim coming unglued, peeling door handles -- but the car is mechanically sound and durable as a boulder. I do not foresee the need to buy a replacement any time soon. The ride and handling are the same as when I first drove it, except for the missing "new car smell."

Pros
Handling, appearance, mechanics

Cons
NO LEG ROOM IN THE REAR!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/02/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Good car for the money"

This car is 13 years old. We had some issues when we first bought it new, but the dealer took care of the problems and the car has been great. I would probably buy another Sonata, if I was in the market for a car.

Pros
Good front head and leg room; no blind spots; roomy trunk

Cons
Very noisy on the road; no leg room in back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/05/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I Love my Sonata"

Thanks to the good care of the dealership my Sonata is like the energizer bunny, it keeps running & running & running!!

Pros
I have been very lucky with this car. Hardly any problems. It handles well.

Cons
The leather is coming off the arm rest. Nobody hardly ever sits on the back seats and I just noticed there are becoming unstitched.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/24/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My 2003 Sonata is the best car I've ever owned. It has been faithful to me and I remain faithful to Hyundai. Bought a 2015 Santa Fe. Hope it performs as well as the Sonata."

Excellent Automobile

Pros
Love the ease of driving. Looks good still after all these years.

Cons
Don't like the headlights getting cloudy with a film that's hard to clean

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/19/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Review of 2003 Hyundai Sonata"

This is one of the most reliable cars I have ever owned. This h

Pros
This has been a great car - we are well satisfied with it.

Cons
Physically Hard to get out of it. Wish it got better MPG.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/29/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2003 Sonata"

We are very satisfied overall with our vehicle. We maintain having it serviced and it serves us very well. We made an excellent selection with Donnie's guidance.

Pros
everything about our Sonata

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/27/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"What do you want here"

I love my Sanata
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/14/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2003 Sonata"

After 12 years of not being garage kept, it still looks good barring a bit of rust on wheel well. Then an additional year of being kept in a garage BUT adding 60 miles of daily driving time 5 days a week in it's 13th year, the performance Is excellent. Will hate to sell or trade in but will need to soon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/09/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best car I have ever owned"

I have owned dodge, mazda, fords and my 2003 Hyundai is far the best car I have ever owned! Great Mileage and all the power I need to keep up with traffic.

Pros
Great car

Cons
Must make sure you keep up maintenance on timing belts.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/07/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2003 sonata "

Biught this vehicle new and it has been trouble free

Pros
trunk space

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 30 in total