2013
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5rating 4.66
4.7
(3214 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DL
Don L.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2019
2913 Sonata - A Great Car
This is one of the best cars I have ever owned, and I've owned a few - from Lincoln Continental to Honda Civic. This Sonata is solid! We have driven to Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and back. At 80,000 miles we would take off today and drive to Alaska without worry. I'm looking forward to the release of the new body style for the 2020 model year; looks to be a true beauty!

Pros
Dependable, economic on gas and maintenance, large trunk, good acceleration.

Cons
Seats not as comfortable as we would like, but acceptable (a bit stiff). Once the tires started wearing the road noise was pretty bad. We just put our third set of tires on.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Maxwell H.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2019
Excellent Car!
I've had my 2013 Sonata for nearly 5 years now (I bought it pre-owned) and its been my favorite car ever...built solid, excellent fuel economy, and just enough "bells and whistles" to keep it interesting to use. I've had several recalls performed to date and one repair that I had to pay for but aside from that it's been very reliable...now with about 120K miles, there are no squeaks and rattles and the only malfunctioning component is the driver side window switch sticks up sometimes. The paint is still like new...I clay bar it once a year...and the trim still looks great. I've tuned it up once and change the oil religiously and have had no mechanical issues. Great car...and I'm looking forward to passing it down to my son soon.

Pros
Excellent fuel economy...when used in the economy mode. I rarely used the available sport mode.

Cons
Underpowered in some cases and the steering is a bit loose at high speeds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Steven R.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2019
2013 Sonata Limited 2.0T
After nearly 7 years after buying my car, I am still very happy with the car's reliability, drive quality and features. At 66,000 miles, the engine and transmission are still incredibly smooth. I am a spirited driver, and I appreciate that every bit of the acceleration and quick handling is still available. The features and amenities are still 100% functional. The car body still looks very good. I'm keeping this car for the foreseeable future.

Pros
10 year drive train warranty
Quick and fast turbo
Incredibly reliable
Comfortable seats

Cons
GPS sometimes inaccurate
Had to raise the height of the passenger seat to please my wife.
Car underside is open. Car gets knocked around by wind and at high speeds.
These cons are minor!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Brenda B.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/29/2019
Sonata lover
I have a 2013 Sonata and I truly love my car. I got it certified used in January 2014. I've had NO problems with it at all. I think it's one of the best cars on the market right now. My only wish is that I would like it to have a little more power. Don't get me wrong it's nice! I love my Sonata!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GJ
George J.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/27/2019
Love it.
Love the car. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Pros
Love the style.

Cons
Not sure at this time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
STARLA L.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/26/2019
Good
I love my Sonata. I have had for 2 years and it is good to me. I drive to Asheboro for work and I live in Kernersville so I do put some miles on the car each day but it is a good vechicle. I would recommend someone to get a Sonata.

Pros
Love the seat warmers, XM radio, sunroof. Basically all the features

Cons
Wish it already was tinted

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Karolyn B.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
2013 eco Sonata
My Hyundai Sonata has been amazing! It's not only pleasing to the eye, it has given me many miles of comfortable driving, good overhead room, great passing performance, good gasoline mileage. My blue tooth and siriusxm music availability is a big plus. The only thing that I would improve on would be the paint as it chips easy with bad road conditions. I would highly recommend the Sonata and would probably be your greatest salesman!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Donna B.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/25/2019
I love my car!
My car is so reliable. I am very happy with it! It is everything I want in a car ๐Ÿš˜. I donโ€™t want to drive anything else. This is my second, and hopefully my last Sonata. My husband likes to drive my car.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Geana S.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/24/2019
2013 Sonata
Will not charge my Iphone without a $40.00 charger because it has to has 2 separate ports, engine had to be replaced at 68,000 miles, clear coat is peeling off. I'm thinking of trading it off for a different brand.

Pros
Its red

Cons
Clear started coming off within my first year of owning it, will not charge my Iphone, engine went out at 68,000 miles. Window switch in driver door broke, when I use the button on the steering wheel to adjust volume on the radio it turns it down instead of up, when I use the door button to lock the doors it does not lock the back drivers side door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Elaine B.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/22/2019
Beautiful, Comfortable, Reliable Car
My 2013 Sonata is comfortable and easy to drive.It still looks as good as it did the day I drove it out of the showroom. I can't believe that I have over 89,000 miles on it and have never had anything besides routine maintenance. This car is reliable! I can't say that about so many other cars I've owned, which were actually more expensive than the Sonata. Tons of trunk room. Even the back seat is comfortable and roomy. Probably my only complaint is that the lights and highbeam bright lights don't measure up to the 5-stars that I would have otherwise given this car. It can be difficult to see at night because of the type of headlights. I love everything else about this car, and would certainly buy it again.

Pros
Reliable, well-built, good gas mileage, beautiful, comfortable, easy to drive, only routine maintenance. No problems at all as of 7 years and 90,000 miles.

Cons
Headlights and high beam bright lights. There is a line across the windshield, and nothing over that line is lit. Difficult to see at night, especially if you have to drive downhill.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Stephen W.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/22/2019
Gonna miss this 2.0 L turbo
The car is comfortable, reasonably quiet, very quick and gets up to 40 mpg on the highway. Hoping for the release of the N series 2020 turbo before I have to unload this one. Did not care for the styling of the last few years. 2020 looks good to me.

Pros
Fast, good handling, great gas mileage

Cons
Terrible in snow but change to Continental tires helped a LOT.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robert R.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/21/2019
Excellent vehicle.
Wonderful car. We drive it mostly around town now but we have driven it to Colorado and Wisconsin. It is a very comfortable car on long trips and gets around 33 mpg. We have been very happy with this car.

Pros
Comfort and reliability

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jeffrey C.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2019
Still Going Strong!
I've had my Sonata for 6 years. Almost no repairs other than brakes and the usual. I love the way it rides on the highway. It almost drives itself. A favorite feature is the lumbar support which makes long drives more comfortable. Plenty of leg room all around. Good size trunk. Averages 33 MPG on the highway at 70 MPH and 2000 RPMs. About 2-25 around town. I will probably drive this car into the ground and when I do I will buy another Sonata to replace it.

Pros
I have spent almost nothing on repairs over the last 6 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FV
Felipe De V.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
Sonata
Clean, well maintained, efficient car with a good price and many great features and services needed for the vehicle. The car meets the requirements I need for my day to day driving from home to work and all the daily routine stops with no problems
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Johnny S.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
NOT ENOUGH
I am 6-5 weight 265 lbs. first thought on mid size car was too small for me! I usually drive full size cars for comfort and traveling.the 2013 Hyundai sonata has made my driving experience great.good on the gas in town and highway. the overall comfort while traveling helps me relax due to the drivers seat different items made to relax you while driving.this car came fully loaded,and I enjoy the design and handling of car in traffic and interstate driving.thanks Hyundai.

Pros
inside/outside design

Cons
gps system cant set it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kurt B.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2019
Still happy
We have both a 2013 and a 2007 Sonata. We have been very pleased with both of them. For us, the older car is a better road trip vehicle (its a V6); the newer one is better for local travel (which is most of our travel these days). Our next vehicle will almost certainly be a Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
Wayne J.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
Pro
Great vehicle,I would definitely recommend this vehicle to friends and family. This is a vehicle that is easy to drive for every age group but especially for senior citizens. My only regret is that it does not have a rear camera for backing up.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
Francis B.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/11/2019
Too many problems
I have enjoyed all of the luxury items I have in the Sonata, however I am very disappointed in all of the recall notices that the Sonata has generated. They were all taken care of. I do not drive a lot and am disappointed that my car with only 340000miles had a transmission sensor go bad and the steering wheel coupler also had to be replaced,which was taken care of. both things happened at the same time when I was alone in the car and I was scared to drive home.

Pros
comfortable car decent gas mileage very stylish

Cons
Too many recalls
disappointed that it was not as reliable as the Honda I use to have.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WL
Wanda L.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/09/2019
Mileage and comfort.
The gas mileage has been great, and the car is comfortable to ride in. The overall performance is very good. I think the dynamics of the vehicle are very good. It has the speed when needed. It has good looks and quality.

Pros
Good.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Barbara K.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/08/2019
Hyundai Sonata GLS
I love my Hyundai Sonato GLS. Thus car is very dependable because it performs well in the highway. The computer system will notify you if it has problems. I am purchasing a new Sonato in 6 months. Drive the car and I guarantee that you will purchase it.

Pros
Great on gas and performances. Has blue tooth characteristics that gives the driver safety measurements so they can talk on the phone without being distracted. Car has excellent stereo system, heated seats, and reclining seats so you can rest without being tired out.

Cons
I need a navigation system installed so I can travel across the country. No sunroof in this car so the owner has to get it installed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 3214 in total