2011
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5rating 4.59

1799 Reviews

Latest review about 11 hours ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BH
Brenda H.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2018
Our sonata
Our dark blue Sonata gives you a smooth ride every time and does not break the bank. It is a lot more room than in our first 2004 red Sonata. Oil changes is all it seems to need to just keep on performing great!

Pros
All positive

Cons
There are none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Audrey W.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/17/2018
Don’t waiste your time and money!
The first 2 years my new expensive tiop of the line sonata was in the shop all the time. Navigation system battle for replacement with an old system that said my home was Tennessee, after months of bringing it in finally got a new one. Bluetooth out going speaker never worked right and they refused to fix it. Satellite radio transmitter replaced after another battle, back up camera replaced, engine replaced.

Pros
Pleasing appearance and comfort

Cons
Mechanical nightmare

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Larissa D.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2018
Great dining car
This is a great driving car. Excellent gas mileage with a fast motor. Only thing about my vehicle is the coating near the buttons on the steering wheel is chipping off. No big fixes or expenses and its 7yrs old.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Janet O.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2018
Great car
My lease was ending on my GM product and I knew I needed to try a different brand. Having had the GM auto repaired SEVERAL times in its short lifetime was frustrating and inconvenient. We took a Sonata for a test drive and felt this would be a good choice. I needed a seat with options- height adjustment, lumbar support, etc. I adjusted it to my needs for the test drive, felt the engine had good pick up, there was ease of use for most of the controls, and at the time this model had an excellent safety rating. I decided to make the purchase and have not been disappointed.

Pros
*Dependable
*Seat length is great for folks with long femurs!
*Great lumbar support

Cons
*Appearance is generic
*Interior is okay
*"A" post can inhibit front visibility at times
*Not "fun" to drive, simply because it is a sedan whose purpose was to get me front Point A to point B, which it has.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Joyce B.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2018
Great ride and great gas mileage
I have enjoyed this vehicle for almost 8 years and I always go to my dealer for service. I am also glad I purchased extended warranty. I feel with the sleek look, it has created a problem for me in making left turns and a difficult blind spot on right rear.

Pros
great gas mileage, roomy and has a sleek look

Cons
Frame around front window blocks my view when turning left. I have to sit on pillows to raise my height and then I am still not comfortable turning left. Frame around back window blocks my view making a blind spot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jesus A.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2018
My Sonata 2011
comfortable spacious elegant luxury style is customisable good handling does not feel on the road responds fast when accelerating reliable and the ECO system saves a good part of gasoline, IM HAPPYY!!

Pros
Love the shifttronic gear the engine comes more strong!!

Cons
For me no cons!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Robert A.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2018
Why I like my 2011 Hyundau Sonata hybrid
The 2011 Sonata has great swooping lines that are enhanced by the black and red color scheme. It looks great compared to anything on the road, including a tan Camry. Later Hyundai Sonatas have sadly anonymous body lines that are not as sexy as the car I have. Dependable, economical, peppy when needed - all are things I seek in a good car and a good woman.

Pros
Makes me look and feel like Cary Grant

Cons
Wish it got more than 38 mph

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Donald B.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2018
Excellent Value
Excellent value for the money, Awesome car to drive, fun and stylish.The Outstanding level of service from Earnhardt Hyundai North Scottsdale AZ has made the purchase of this car the Best vehicle ever we have owed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Magdaleno R.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2018
Excellent beginners vehicle
Provides excellent gas mileage youd think it was a Prius, provides excellent space capacity your think you were in a bus. Ajdjeksnzkwnndjekwnwkdndkekmndkdkkdkkdkkdkdmdjkximwndnxkke jdkd kind. Jjsjsjwnkd.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Noel B.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/10/2018
Reliable, comfortable and good mileage
The styling is better than many luxury cars of the same year and gas mileage is quite good - about 32 mpg highway for my driving. The car has good acceleration and, while not AWD, performs better than average in winter weather. Some more substantial repairs (tire rod) at 107K miles, but car has been a trusty beast. I passed it on to my child as their first car just this past year.

Pros
Handles well and smoothly with good acceleration for a 4c engine. Nice styling and comfortable seating for up to four people. Good truck space as well.

Cons
Blind spot - serious blind spot - over in both directions in looking behind. Due to the slope of the hood, it is also tough to determine how close/far you are from objects when parking.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
laura g.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/10/2018
piece of crap
To many recalls dash ,has spider webbed ,cruise quit working. Just a piece of crap. Very unhappy. Paint chipping. Sad pay almost 30 thousand for a car and you get a piece of crap. Should be able to use lemon law on this car

Pros
Do not see any pros.

Cons
Had to beg to get axles fixed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Julie H.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2018
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Bought my Hyundai in 2012 on Craig's list after receiving disability award. I have to say that my Sonata has been one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. Service has been superior and would buy another Hyundai in a minute. Would LOVE to own a Genesis!!

Pros
Sharp looking vehicle. Value remarkable.

Cons
I have absolutely nothing negative to report.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jordan M.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2018
Styling, features and reliability
I chose to purchase a certified pre-owned Sonata for a variety of reasons. I felt the styling of the 2011 still holds up today and when I purchased the vehicle, I preferred the 2011 generation vs the 2015. The car has been a pleasure to own and drive and I would recommend the brand to anyone. While I would likely not look below the Sonata, I also think their SUVs drive very nicely and are better equipped than most others in their class. The Sonata has a great fit and finish, the paint still looks great, and it's been very low maintenance.

Pros
Styling is sharp, performance is excellent, fuel economy is nice for a vehicle with over 250 horsepower.

Cons
Not as quiet as I would like, but that greatly depends on the tires. Do not go with drive guards!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shannon S.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2018
Best car I've ever had
High mileage, runs like new, quick and sporty, easy to care for. Kids have grown from youngest in a car seat to oldest learning to drive in this car. Perfect family sedan , not too big, utilizes space exceptionally well. Very comfortable to travel in, awesome gas milage.

Pros
See above. Best car ever!

Cons
My 2011 doesn't have the bells and whistles that newer technology has to offer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Catherine L.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/05/2018
2011 Sonata
The road noise is unbearable. You have to turn up the volume on your radio or phone to hear.
Also due to a design flaw, one of the AC vents is blocked by the steering column.
Seats are not ergonomically suitable. Very bad for someone with back problems. Otherwise great vehicle with excellent gas mileage. Warranty can’t be beat!!

Pros
Gas mileage
Warranty
AC

Cons
Road noise
Seats
AC vent locations

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AO
Annie O.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2018
Sonata
My car is a good highway car and does not feel light weight . Enjoy the room inside for passenger
gas mileage is extremely good for the highway i was driving to my daughter college a lot and it held the road in the winter storms
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Roy W.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/04/2018
2011 Sonata Early-Build
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WO
William O.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
My depandable Sonata
I found my Sonata to be a reliable vehicle. I have not required any significant repair work need after accumulating 76,000 miles. When it comes time for another new car, I will definitely consider buying another Sonata.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
My Hybrid Sonata; The Black Pearl
My Hybrid was the first car that called me spiritually from its design and colors. It had a certain kind of look before I even got behind the wheel then I felt a quietness while driving also the comfortable state of mind that I was having. I am sorry that I don't have it anymore because my son drives it now, but I do take it in for oil changes. Don't feel sorry for me because i'm getting the 2018 Hybrid fully loaded with everything but the kitchen sink I have done my homework at the auto show and definitely demand satisfaction!!!!!!!🤩🤩🤩🤩🤩

Pros
Smooth relaxing ride with nice sound system and great space ,also has more than enough power and fuel efficiency for daily traffic and highway driving.

Cons
You CAN'T come ripping out the box like a teenager it's not made for that.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Ann D.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/01/2018
Key recognition failure
Within the past two years of ownership the key recognition has become sporadic. It fails to recognize the key. You have to get out of the car with the key fob walk away come back and hope it starts. if it does not then you have to put the key in the door lock and unlock put your file back together and hope it starts. I've done my research and a lot of owners complain of the same issue and that the dealer has not been able to rectify the situation. It took me 30 minutes the other night to get this car to start. I have learned it's a brake sensor problem. They should think about doing a recall to fix this issue. That is my only complaint about this car. I gave it 2 stars because of the key fob issue described above.

Pros
Stylish. Nice trunk space. Excellent illumination with the headlights and driving lights.

Cons
Key fob recognition failure issue. When closing the doors it has a Hollow cheap sound.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 07/02/2018
We would like to have a more detailed look at your concerns. Please allow us to have a specialist contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 1799 in total