Style image original

2002
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5rating 4.85

20 Reviews

Latest review 13 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 09/11/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Its still a cherry 16 years later."

best car w e ever owner!

Pros
bought a new Hyundai but will keep this car in family!

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/06/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best Hyundai Vehicle"

My vehicle has over 172K mikes on it, and it's still going strong. It may be leaking oil from the engine and transmission but boy, it's still going strong.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/02/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"my sonata"

206000 miles says it all

Pros
dependal

Cons
getting old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/27/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Excellent"

My Car is GREAT I bless it every day .I cant believe This old care is so well made for the years i only have a few problem with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The Best "Zippy" Car I have Ever Drove"

I currently own a 2002 Hyundai Sonata with only 145,000 miles. It is a GLS, but has the 6-cylinder engine and it has more "pick up and go" than I have ever had in a vehicle. The interior is cloth, which is comfortable, but the ride could be a little smoother. At times, bumps in the road can be felt, but overall it is a very comfortable riding car. We have had very minimal problems with this car. I have kept up diligently with the maintenance record and it still rides and sounds as smooth as the day we bought it. I love the headlights on the older Hyundai Sonatas, and the font-end reminds me of a Jaguar. It is the first vehicle I ever had with a sunroof and I would never go without one now. Even with a few minor issues, Hyundai has stood behind their products. I think Hyundai has really made a good name for themselves with a quality product that almost anyone can afford.

Pros
A fun car to drive that is zippy and has spunk! Only minor maintenance issues.

Cons
Could provide for a smoother ride with a better suspension.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/26/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great"

This car gives great rides

Pros
Well byilt

Cons
Noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great car from a dependable year"

I have had no show stoppers in this car since I purchased it in 2002...still going strong.

Pros
Great car!

Cons
Should have made this design for many more years with only slight variations.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/19/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Sonata"

love my Sonata

Pros
still looks good, drives good, happy I purchased this back in 2002,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/30/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love my Hyundia Sonnate just sorry it up in age."

Although it is old i love it so much it never let me down .I think it's the good servicing i receive from you guys.i know i might have to give her up soon but i can never regret the day i got her. Thank you Lehman Hyundai for making good cars.

Pros
Very Good one of the BEST.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/19/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2002 HYUNDAI Sonata"

Possibly one of the best cars I've owned. 167K miles and going strong!

Pros
Durability

Cons
Darn sensors and gas cap at times have been a problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/14/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Have my Sonata almost 15 years. Best car ever."

Glad we bought it.

Pros
Excellent car

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/07/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best car ever"

Aside from paint chipping on the door handles and rusting on the wiper arms this is the best vehicle I've ever owned. I've had the car since it was new and I have yet to repair anything. Aside from tires, batteries, and oil changes nothing has been replaced or repaired. It just runs - with no fall-off in performance, mileage, burning oil, etc. it just runs. Great stuff Hyundai!

Pros
Most everything!

Cons
See above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/04/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great car."

Overall great car. I loved it since I purchased it. Small things had to be repaired at times but that would happen with any car.

Pros
I loved everything about it since I bought it. I didn't want to give up my old car but once I got this one I was totally satisfied.

Cons
A few minor things went bad over the 14 years that I owned it but I had them fixed and it didn't affect the performance. Another thing that was not too good was that all the handles and hubcaps had the paint peeling which affected the appearance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/24/2016
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Adore my 2nd Hyundai!!"

Yes 2nd Hyundai and some day soon I plan to purchase a third. Why you ask, Hyundai's are so well made, have a superb warranty with little to no repairs/recalls/issues in general. All you need is to keep up with the recommended maintenance...my Sonata has over 140k miles on it and my last Hyundai I drove for 10 years and someone drove that after me. As it ages it needs extra care but don't we all. It keeps impressing me on how far this car has taken me, 14 years strong!! I still love my '02 Sonata!

Pros
Smooth ride -V6 quick get up & go - Beautiful "wood" panelling - Gorgeous body - Ample seating room- Large capacity trunk

Cons
When the sun visor is used it can block your vision, it needs to snap toward the windshield sharper with a more narrow style. Lumbar support is poor for big booties, because our backs have a greater arch. 😊

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/23/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"my Hyundai Sonata"

It's the best car I've ever owned . Mine is 14 years old and I'd still recommend to others to buy one. I'd say if you still feel that way when your car is older, it means you make a GREAT CAR

Pros
Love how in the winter I am able to shirt down to a lower gear while still driving my automatic transmission . It helped me to avoid accidents many times. I think this is my favorite feature.

Cons
The head lights don't seem bright enough and the plastic gets that foggy look fast

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/07/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"my Sonata"

best vehicle I've ever owned

Cons
after a while headlights aren't as bright the plastic gets dull

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/26/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best car I ever owned!"

I LOVE my car and will keep it forever.

Pros
Seats fold down so I can haul 2x4's, mulch, plants etc.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/09/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2002 Sonata "

I've loved my 2002 Sonata from day one and it's still going strong. Very good value for a well built car.

Pros
Dependable, value for money, Performance , Overall styling.

Cons
After 14 years it's showing a little paint wear on driver's side door handles. This should be expected for age of car. Lord knows my handles aren't what they were 14 years ago.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/28/2015
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2002 Hyundai Sonata Review"

Car runs well, is comfortable (I am a rather large man) & gets decent gas mileage for an older car. Parts (a/c compressor, windshield washer pump, etc.) should last for more than 109,000 miles. If a service bulletin is put out by NTSA it should be fixed (i.e. passenger side window not closing completely !).

Pros
I'm a large man & once in drivers seat it is comfortable. Steering is pretty nimble. Keeps up with traffic very well.

Cons
Parts/mechanics should last much more than 109,000 miles. Cup holder, center console is awkward.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/16/2015
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"First Hyundai"

This is a sturdy sedan that is as comfortable as sitting in an armchair.I made 3 trips to Florida when the car was brand new. The vehicle worked perfectly.during each trip. My Florida neighbor, when first seeing the car, remarked "I see that you bought s Mercedes". I viewed this vehicle as Hyundai"s first real test in entering the quality vehicle market and their intention was to introduce a high quality vehicle that would be accepted by the American buyer. Toyota and Honda did the same thing when entering the American market. This is why I took a chance and purchased this vehicle and I have never regretted my decision. Because of personal reason unrelated to the vehicle , I had to place the vehicle in storage for an extended period of time.

Pros
A quality product in all categories.

Cons
NONE!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 20 Review