2002
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84

31 Reviews

Latest review 15 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CF
Christopher F.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/03/2018
2002 Hyundai sounda
It's a fun car and very reliable.it needs more power. But that's all I got to say on that. might go for 2018.it has more power now than2002s did I would recommend this car to first-time drivers because it's easy to drive

Pros
Never left me stranded

Cons
Needs more power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Ashley C.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2018
Just keeps goin
I just hit 277,000 miles on my 2002 Hyundai Sonata. My car has only ever been worked on at the Patrick Hyundai in Schaumburg. Was bought there new in 2002 & I bought it used in 2012. Sure with age I've had to put some money into it but she just keeps going.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
Irving S.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
2002 Sonata
The car has given us over 247,000 miles of service. We enjoy the ride and the quick pickup for a small 4 cylinder engine. The trunk is large and inside the passenger compartment is also spacious. We like the Pearl color on hot days it helps to keep us cool.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Galina F.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/09/2018
I love my 2002 Hyundai Sonata
I love my 2002 Hyundai Sonata. It's been a very reliable vehicle. I have driven it from Connecticut to Canada and later to California, so it's been from coast to coast and has more than 200,000 miles on it. I was fortunate to have quality leather seats in my vehicle so it still looks brand-new inside.

Pros
Very comfortable with plenty of legroom in the back seat

Cons
Minor things that broke:
Clock that still "works" but doesn't show correct time
CD player broke very quickly
Now my antenna goes up and down by itself because the radio turns on on its own
My biggest complaint is the headlights because it's extremely hard to see when you're driving at night and they don't provide much light

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Harold S.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2018
Great running car after 16 years
This 16 year old car with 90,000 miles does not have a bit of rust on the body. Run's great, comfortable seating. Start's reliably in the winter cold. Great a/c which never needed recharge in 16 years. Leather interior is still like new. One of the best car values.

Pros
Great comfort and looks after 16 years of use

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Roseann S.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/11/2018
Classy sonata gls
When I bought this used 2002 Hyundai sonata I never expected such a classy looking car for that year. The mileage was low, and it's performance was great. I was impressed because I had plenty of leg room and it even had a sunroof. It was the perfect size for me and no problem in parking it. The seats were very comfortable to sit in.I also liked the features and interior design. There is also plenty of room in the trunk. I can assure you my next car will be a Hyundai.

Pros
Good performance, good mileage, plenty of leg room, comfortable seating, and good air conditioning.

Cons
No cons at this time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Richard H.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/09/2018
2002 Sonata
For the price this has been a quality vehicle. It has provided dependable service with standard maintenance. Had to use the power train warranty once and it was not an issue. Radio and clock are an issue.

Pros
Dependable transportation, nice style lines, not a box. Power train has plenty of power with decent gas mileage.

Cons
Stereo and clock both have failed. Clock no longer keeps accurate time and the radio display does not work and it will turn on and off at its on will.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
Irving S.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/14/2018
2002 Sonata
It has turned out to be a very good car. I service at the dealer and never seem to have any issues. Service people seem to always do a good job and explain any concerns completely. I appreciate the quality of the work.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VD
Velvette D.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2017
Great investment
16 years on the road and still counting. Purchased new with 4 miles and now it has 282k. Kiddo drives it. When time comes, will buy a new model. But until then, we will drive this one until the wheels come off

Pros
Great overall purchase

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Samuel L.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/03/2017
Muy buen...
Todo bien, compraría otro.

Pros
Not

Cons
Not

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
John P.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2017
Good
Passenger headlight is out of focus
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Arthur M.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2017
Its still a cherry 16 years later.
best car w e ever owner!

Pros
bought a new Hyundai but will keep this car in family!

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
Norberto C.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2017
Best Hyundai Vehicle
My vehicle has over 172K mikes on it, and it's still going strong. It may be leaking oil from the engine and transmission but boy, it's still going strong.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EE
Ed E.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/02/2017
my sonata
206000 miles says it all

Pros
dependal

Cons
getting old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YF
Yvonne F.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2017
Excellent
My Car is GREAT I bless it every day .I cant believe This old care is so well made for the years i only have a few problem with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Maggie R.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2017
The Best "Zippy" Car I have Ever Drove
I currently own a 2002 Hyundai Sonata with only 145,000 miles. It is a GLS, but has the 6-cylinder engine and it has more "pick up and go" than I have ever had in a vehicle. The interior is cloth, which is comfortable, but the ride could be a little smoother. At times, bumps in the road can be felt, but overall it is a very comfortable riding car. We have had very minimal problems with this car. I have kept up diligently with the maintenance record and it still rides and sounds as smooth as the day we bought it. I love the headlights on the older Hyundai Sonatas, and the font-end reminds me of a Jaguar. It is the first vehicle I ever had with a sunroof and I would never go without one now. Even with a few minor issues, Hyundai has stood behind their products. I think Hyundai has really made a good name for themselves with a quality product that almost anyone can afford.

Pros
A fun car to drive that is zippy and has spunk! Only minor maintenance issues.

Cons
Could provide for a smoother ride with a better suspension.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
Regina J.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2017
Great
This car gives great rides

Pros
Well byilt

Cons
Noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
John H.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/22/2017
Great car from a dependable year
I have had no show stoppers in this car since I purchased it in 2002...still going strong.

Pros
Great car!

Cons
Should have made this design for many more years with only slight variations.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/19/2017
Hyundai Sonata
love my Sonata

Pros
still looks good, drives good, happy I purchased this back in 2002,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YF
Yvonne F.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/30/2017
I love my Hyundia Sonnate just sorry it up in age.
Although it is old i love it so much it never let me down .I think it's the good servicing i receive from you guys.i know i might have to give her up soon but i can never regret the day i got her. Thank you Lehman Hyundai for making good cars.

Pros
Very Good one of the BEST.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 31 in total