Style image original

2005
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76

49 Reviews

Latest review 1 day ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 11/23/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Leap of faith purchase. "

Had an Excel that say the least was not the best car made. So after review I made a leap of faith and bought my 2005 Sonata LX. Gave it 4 stars cause it did have some non major issues that Hyundai did not offer to fix that is on almost all Sonata's. Door handle bracket paint coming off, power antenna breaking all the time, headlamps blown less than a year....but bottom line I will still recommend Hyundai.

Pros
For 2005 Hyundai did a good job.

Cons
Lessons learned going forward on their future designs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/21/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Good considering it's old"

It's now 2017, so the 2005 Sonata is 12 years old. It runs well, but at this point, we are bringing the car in to change out rusted parts every couple months. I got the car used in 2013 so I'm not sure how it ran brand new. When I got it, the CD player didn't work and the latch that opens the gas cap didn't work (we have to access it through the trunk). These don't really affect our quality of driving experience... The only thing I don't like that I imagine has nothing to do with age is its acceleration/horsepower - sometimes I need to merge onto the highway quickly but it's kind of slow on the pick up and I feel like that is a safety issue. Other than that, everything else works well, including lights, blinkers, radio, AC, heat, pretty quiet engine, sunroof window... It looks nice, too.

Pros
looks nice

Cons
poor acceleration for merging on highways

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/23/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2005 Hyundai Sonta "

I purchased this Sonta new in 2005, drove for 10 years now teenage son has been driving 2 years and still going strong. I have dealer maintained it through out its 90, 000 current miles. This is the 3RD Hyundai I’ve owned!

Pros
Great vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Nice car"

I bought the Sonara used with 77000 miles in 2013 and have over 313000 miles now. Car gets over 30mpg and runs great. Therw is really nothing wrong with the car other than wear and a few dings. I will keep it as a daily driver.

Pros
Mpg

Cons
None so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/30/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Concerned with the low oil at 500 miles"

Well I didn't know when the oil was changed so I set a trip meter for a reminder well about 500 miles oil light came on and went right off not the oil change but the low oil indicator wife drives it mainly it was for her so I checked the oil and barley on the stick I know it was topped off cause I checked it before I bought it also they were aware it needed an alingment I took care of that problem being a tech but I asked them to see if it has any leaks they said it didn't so I'm going to keep an eye on it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/18/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2005 HYUNDAI SONATA"

USE AND RELIABITY.

Pros
VERY RELIABLE VEHICLE.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/05/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Good value for your money"

Comfortable drive. Best warranty in the market. Very little maintenance costs even for more than 10 years ownership.

Pros
Excellent warranty. Stylish,spacious and comfortable. Fun to drive. Low maintenance costs.

Cons
Not much high tech features for the 2015 Sonata.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/06/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Reliable Automobile"

Purchased in 2005, my Sonata has more than excelled expectations. It has been virtually trouble free and is a pleasure to drive. Probably the most reliable car I have ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Excellent Car"

Hyundai Sonata offers a very smooth and quiet ride. I have only had to perform regular maintenance like battery replacement, new tires and brakes. Would definitely buy this car again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Dependable"

My vehicle has not given me a problem (hope I don't jinx myself) other than maintenance. Interior still looks like new and I have always loved the body.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Good Car"

Have had no serious issues. It is a beautiful looking car. I keep up the maintenance and the wax job. Looks great. Runs great. Happy with my Sonata.

Pros
Does not break down

Cons
Paint can peel off (like on the door handles)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"MY 2005 SONATA GLS"

I LOVE MY 2005 SONATA, IT IS A 6 CLY, DRIVES AND RIDES THE ROADS WELL. IT IS ROOMY INSIDE, AS WELL AS A LARGE TRUNK. IT HAS ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES THAT I LOVE, AND WOULD ONLY ADD BLUE TOOTH AND A BACKUP CAMERA. I KNOW I WILL PROBABLY BUY A NEW CAR , BUT HYUNDAI YOU HAD A WINNER WITH THIS MODEL, WHY CHANGE IT AND MAKE IT LIGHTER, A 4 CYL, AND SHORTER WHEEL BASE?

Pros
ITS ALL GOOD

Cons
YOU DON'T MAKE IT ANY MORE !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/14/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Sonata - 2005"

I received this car from my children for Christmas , 2004. It has been a wonderful car for me, and I have had so many people tell me how comfortable it is to ride in, what a "sports" look it has, and the beautiful blue color makes it a car that gets compliments all the time.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/07/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Dependable Car"

I bought my car new and have been very happy with it. It has held up well and is a comfortable ride.

Pros
Comfort, Window view, Climate controls, Seat adjustments,

Cons
Interior cabin is a bit low for my tall passengers. No ABS.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/08/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Mechanically the car is great. Rock Solid. The interior was a little cheap with flaking. Radio works but screen is bad. Seems to be normal for that model."

I will consider a new vehicle when I retire in two years. Body style is greatly improved! I hope they don't use cheap interiors and they fix the problem with the headlight plastic that dims out after 5 years.

Pros
Great mechanics

Cons
Interior is cheap. Car was well cared for but the leather was thin and cheap. Headlights were poor quality. Radio screen stopped working just out of warranty.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/29/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
"Should Have Kept My Toyota"

Major repairs after 5 years and now more that the care is worth Paint began to peel off of door handles and hood after 6 years. Radio has never worked properly. Replacement parts are extremely expensive and the closest dealership is not up to professional standards. I always felt they were trying to get more money out of me. I found the interior design to be awkward as you had to look away from the road to adjust even the radio volume. I did like the outward design as the windows were wide and I had great sight to outside from all angles inside. No obstructive views.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/08/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"sonota"

best car i every ownef

Pros
the best

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/04/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Nice car "

Really like the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/19/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Sonata 2005"

Probably the best car Hyundai ever made. And might possibly be on the the best cars ever made period.

Pros
Reliability and Performance

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/15/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Sonata!"

My 2005 Sonata has 227K miles and is still charging up the hill! I'm grateful to have purchased it when I did in 11/2004 because the same value in a comparable car today would be unaffordable for me.

Pros
Durability, starts in sub 0 degree weather and its ease in driving/usage.

Cons
0

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 49 in total