Style image original

2005
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78

45 Reviews

Latest review 26 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 08/30/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Concerned with the low oil at 500 miles"

Well I didn't know when the oil was changed so I set a trip meter for a reminder well about 500 miles oil light came on and went right off not the oil change but the low oil indicator wife drives it mainly it was for her so I checked the oil and barley on the stick I know it was topped off cause I checked it before I bought it also they were aware it needed an alingment I took care of that problem being a tech but I asked them to see if it has any leaks they said it didn't so I'm going to keep an eye on it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/18/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2005 HYUNDAI SONATA"

USE AND RELIABITY.

Pros
VERY RELIABLE VEHICLE.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/05/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Good value for your money"

Comfortable drive. Best warranty in the market. Very little maintenance costs even for more than 10 years ownership.

Pros
Excellent warranty. Stylish,spacious and comfortable. Fun to drive. Low maintenance costs.

Cons
Not much high tech features for the 2015 Sonata.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/06/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Reliable Automobile"

Purchased in 2005, my Sonata has more than excelled expectations. It has been virtually trouble free and is a pleasure to drive. Probably the most reliable car I have ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Excellent Car"

Hyundai Sonata offers a very smooth and quiet ride. I have only had to perform regular maintenance like battery replacement, new tires and brakes. Would definitely buy this car again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Dependable"

My vehicle has not given me a problem (hope I don't jinx myself) other than maintenance. Interior still looks like new and I have always loved the body.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Good Car"

Have had no serious issues. It is a beautiful looking car. I keep up the maintenance and the wax job. Looks great. Runs great. Happy with my Sonata.

Pros
Does not break down

Cons
Paint can peel off (like on the door handles)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"MY 2005 SONATA GLS"

I LOVE MY 2005 SONATA, IT IS A 6 CLY, DRIVES AND RIDES THE ROADS WELL. IT IS ROOMY INSIDE, AS WELL AS A LARGE TRUNK. IT HAS ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES THAT I LOVE, AND WOULD ONLY ADD BLUE TOOTH AND A BACKUP CAMERA. I KNOW I WILL PROBABLY BUY A NEW CAR , BUT HYUNDAI YOU HAD A WINNER WITH THIS MODEL, WHY CHANGE IT AND MAKE IT LIGHTER, A 4 CYL, AND SHORTER WHEEL BASE?

Pros
ITS ALL GOOD

Cons
YOU DON'T MAKE IT ANY MORE !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/14/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Sonata - 2005"

I received this car from my children for Christmas , 2004. It has been a wonderful car for me, and I have had so many people tell me how comfortable it is to ride in, what a "sports" look it has, and the beautiful blue color makes it a car that gets compliments all the time.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/07/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Dependable Car"

I bought my car new and have been very happy with it. It has held up well and is a comfortable ride.

Pros
Comfort, Window view, Climate controls, Seat adjustments,

Cons
Interior cabin is a bit low for my tall passengers. No ABS.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/08/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Mechanically the car is great. Rock Solid. The interior was a little cheap with flaking. Radio works but screen is bad. Seems to be normal for that model."

I will consider a new vehicle when I retire in two years. Body style is greatly improved! I hope they don't use cheap interiors and they fix the problem with the headlight plastic that dims out after 5 years.

Pros
Great mechanics

Cons
Interior is cheap. Car was well cared for but the leather was thin and cheap. Headlights were poor quality. Radio screen stopped working just out of warranty.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/29/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
"Should Have Kept My Toyota"

Major repairs after 5 years and now more that the care is worth Paint began to peel off of door handles and hood after 6 years. Radio has never worked properly. Replacement parts are extremely expensive and the closest dealership is not up to professional standards. I always felt they were trying to get more money out of me. I found the interior design to be awkward as you had to look away from the road to adjust even the radio volume. I did like the outward design as the windows were wide and I had great sight to outside from all angles inside. No obstructive views.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/08/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"sonota"

best car i every ownef

Pros
the best

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/04/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Nice car "

Really like the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/19/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Sonata 2005"

Probably the best car Hyundai ever made. And might possibly be on the the best cars ever made period.

Pros
Reliability and Performance

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/15/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Sonata!"

My 2005 Sonata has 227K miles and is still charging up the hill! I'm grateful to have purchased it when I did in 11/2004 because the same value in a comparable car today would be unaffordable for me.

Pros
Durability, starts in sub 0 degree weather and its ease in driving/usage.

Cons
0

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/27/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"good reliable car"

Very pleased with my car I have had it for 11 years and NO big major problems.

Cons
Needs a light on the door panel to see the windows and lock buttons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/19/2016
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2005 Sonata"

I have put nearly 172,000 miles on the car. There have been no major problems. Hyundai could have done, and might be doing recently, better at some of the electrical components of the car. Wiring weakness resulted in false readings that the driver-side airbag was failing. This cost me a replacement that I didn't need. An excellent employee at the dealership put in the work to trace the real problem after the third such reading and the simple problem was fixed. Headlight bulbs burn out frequently, and I've learned from Hyundai people that this has been a common problem in this model. Reliability and efficiency are better than expected. I get nearly 30 MPG on the highway, about 11% better than rated. This is after almost 12 years. No rot, rust, or decay after that time - brakes and the rest of the car hold up very well. Won't be letting go of this car for a long time.

Pros
Dependability, efficiency, comfort, easy to drive

Cons
Some electrical system weaknesses

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/15/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Beautiful and Dependable"

I have had no problems with my 2005 Sonata. It has a smooth ride over even the bumpiest streets. I've test-driven newer cars, but they can't compare with the smooth ride and the sound of the dependable motor as my Sonata, so I ditch the idea of purchasing a new one. I've had calls asking me to sell my 2005 Sonata, but I refuse. I love my 2005 Sonata and plan to drive it until it can't be driven, anymore. With regular service from Crain Hyundai, that will be a very long time.

Pros
Beautiful Smooth Ride Dependable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/14/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love My Sonata"

I have loved my Sonata since the day I bought it. I have never had problems and I still get comments and offers about loving my 2005 Sonata.

Pros
Still drives like the day I bought it.

Cons
One of the key locks stopped working to lock car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 45 in total