2005
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78

60 Reviews

Latest review 1 day ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JC
Joyce C.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2018
My sonata
My sonatas has been a very dependable car for many years. I like to drive it for short and long distances. I wish there were more and larger cup holders. I hsve owned this vehicle cor a long time and it has been dependable

Pros
Dependable

Cons
Needs more cup holders

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Allison B.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
Very happy with my sonata
I bought my 2005 Sonata GLS new. A lot of friends were surprised at the overall quality of my Sonata, and it has held up well over many years and miles. The interior leather has held up amazingly well. The v6 engine is fast and powerful and fun to drive. The interior is roomy and comfortable and seats five comfortably. The traction control system helped out on the snowy roads though occasionally it would turn on when I didn't want it. The sound system sounds pretty good. I wish it had an aux input. The cupholders hidden in the back are nice and solid, and it's great to be able to fold down the back seats.

Pros
Hardy interior leather
Powerful fast engine
Roomy and attractive interior
Large roomy trunk
Nice audio system
Traction Control System

Cons
I had a problem with the locks locking themselves out of nowhere a year or so after I had the car. The service department had to work on it a couple times before it stopped.
I never liked the way the back end of the car looks.
Gas mileage is ok, could be better, but that's the trade-off for power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
Rocco V.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2018
2017 Sonata
Team Watermark Hyundai Rocks! (Thanks Nathan (sales)n, Ryne (service) & Melonie B (quick lane) and all the others to whom I've worked with but never caught a name. 99.9% of the time I am greeted with a smile or at least some since of Familia. I have never gone away from any appointment unsatisfied with performance - workmanship or service.... This is my 2nd Sonata and if this one is as good as the 1st it will be my 3rd

Pros
too many to list

Cons
Haven't found any yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TV
Terrance V.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2018
Best and most reliable car I ever had
Has a very quiet interior compared to other type of vehicles with great gas mileage and best cost of ownership around. The exterior still shines like new and the cloth seats have not worn like other vehicles I have had.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Ernestine W.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2018
The Best Car Ever
My husband brought this car in January 2005 at a Hyundai dealer in Henderson, Nevada. At first I did care for it because I thought it was too big for me to drive. After I got use to it, it is the BEST car we have ever owned and we had a lot of cars. A lot of people will come up to use and ask us about the car and this just happened again yesterday. It rides grade and very, very little maintenance needed except for the usual, oil changes, tire rotation and windshield wipers replacement. It is a GOOD car.

Pros
It is a good car, low maintenance, good gas mileage and most of all the price was AFFORDABLE.

Cons
There are none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kathy B.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/13/2018
Best Car i've Ever Had
I love my 2005 Sonata. I am the original owner and have had not one problem with it. It has never let me down. The ride is as smooth as if it was rolling on ice. I really like that about it. Crain Hyundai has done an excellent job taking care of it, and because of their maintenance, I plan on driving my Sonata for another 13 years. Besides, it's a beautiful car.

Pros
Drives smoothly
Beautiful exterior design
Dependable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Joe W.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/06/2018
Reliable
Have owned this car since March 2005. Been reliable with general expenses but not to costly. Nice to not have a car payment. Have had to use my own car mechanic for parts and service which has been fine, because dealership parts and service to expensive. Looking at new Hundai Kia and Honda in the future.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Barbara K.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/31/2018
My sonata
My Sonata has been the best car I have ever owned. Safe, reliable and stylish. Love the leather interior and the comfort of the seating. A quiet ride with good power and easy handling. The body design is classic and clean. The larger wheels afford ready rough road access when needed and the six cylinder provides ample power when required. It has been a very reliable car and has never left me on the side of the road. Service has been convenient and good quality.

Pros
Safe reliable stylish

Cons
Low to the ground

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Stanley S.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/19/2018
Hyundai Sonata 2005 - Maybe One of the BEST cars ever made
Without a question my Hyundai Sonata 2005 has been terrific for all the years. Dependable, comfortable, stylish and up to meeting all my needs. With the number of other Hyundai Sonata 2005s on the road it is a testament that this vehicle was a 'job done' right for a lot of people. Just a terrific car!

Pros
Dependbility
Comfort
Style

Cons
Absolutely None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Richard G.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/19/2017
Wonderful ride...
I got her new and have logged 209K miles to date - she is still ticking - it has been a sweet and wonderful ride

Pros
A pleasure...

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Anthony T.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/24/2017
hyundia sonata
love my hyundia sonata ,excellent riding car. Have the for 12 years and it's trouble free

Pros
otherwise it's a great car

Cons
sheet metal is very thin I put my hand and roof line and I was bending down to clean the wheel and the sheet had a dent on it when my hand was taken of the roof line

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SY
Steven Y.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/23/2017
Leap of faith purchase.
Had an Excel that say the least was not the best car made. So after review I made a leap of faith and bought my 2005 Sonata LX. Gave it 4 stars cause it did have some non major issues that Hyundai did not offer to fix that is on almost all Sonata's. Door handle bracket paint coming off, power antenna breaking all the time, headlamps blown less than a year....but bottom line I will still recommend Hyundai.

Pros
For 2005 Hyundai did a good job.

Cons
Lessons learned going forward on their future designs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
ELIZABETH / DAVID D.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/21/2017
Good considering it's old
It's now 2017, so the 2005 Sonata is 12 years old. It runs well, but at this point, we are bringing the car in to change out rusted parts every couple months. I got the car used in 2013 so I'm not sure how it ran brand new. When I got it, the CD player didn't work and the latch that opens the gas cap didn't work (we have to access it through the trunk). These don't really affect our quality of driving experience... The only thing I don't like that I imagine has nothing to do with age is its acceleration/horsepower - sometimes I need to merge onto the highway quickly but it's kind of slow on the pick up and I feel like that is a safety issue. Other than that, everything else works well, including lights, blinkers, radio, AC, heat, pretty quiet engine, sunroof window... It looks nice, too.

Pros
looks nice

Cons
poor acceleration for merging on highways

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
Deborah E.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2017
2005 Hyundai Sonta
I purchased this Sonta new in 2005, drove for 10 years now teenage son has been driving 2 years and still going strong. I have dealer maintained it through out its 90, 000 current miles. This is the 3RD Hyundai I’ve owned!

Pros
Great vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Thomas S.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2017
Nice car
I bought the Sonara used with 77000 miles in 2013 and have over 313000 miles now. Car gets over 30mpg and runs great. Therw is really nothing wrong with the car other than wear and a few dings. I will keep it as a daily driver.

Pros
Mpg

Cons
None so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Gary G.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/30/2017
Concerned with the low oil at 500 miles
Well I didn't know when the oil was changed so I set a trip meter for a reminder well about 500 miles oil light came on and went right off not the oil change but the low oil indicator wife drives it mainly it was for her so I checked the oil and barley on the stick I know it was topped off cause I checked it before I bought it also they were aware it needed an alingment I took care of that problem being a tech but I asked them to see if it has any leaks they said it didn't so I'm going to keep an eye on it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Bernice S.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2017
2005 HYUNDAI SONATA
USE AND RELIABITY.

Pros
VERY RELIABLE VEHICLE.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YC
Ying C.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2017
Good value for your money
Comfortable drive. Best warranty in the market. Very little maintenance costs even for more than 10 years ownership.

Pros
Excellent warranty. Stylish,spacious and comfortable. Fun to drive. Low maintenance costs.

Cons
Not much high tech features for the 2015 Sonata.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Sandra G.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2017
Reliable Automobile
Purchased in 2005, my Sonata has more than excelled expectations. It has been virtually trouble free and is a pleasure to drive. Probably the most reliable car I have ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Lisa T.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2017
Excellent Car
Hyundai Sonata offers a very smooth and quiet ride. I have only had to perform regular maintenance like battery replacement, new tires and brakes. Would definitely buy this car again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 60 in total