2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5rating 4.58
4.6
(1611 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MM
Maida M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/20/2019
Vehicle
I love my 2012 Sonata. I enjoy the comfort and the ride of the vehicle. It has a lot of get up and go for a 4 cylinder vehicle. I enjoyed the style, the roominess of the interior and I love my panoramic roof.

Pros
It has a lot of get up and go for a 4 cylinder vehicle. I enjoyed the style, the roominess of the interior and I love my panoramic roof.

Cons
I would suggest improving the suspension so that it grab curves better. Also make it a 6 cylinder vs a 4.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Lottie L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2019
Black Beauty
My car is fabulous it get great gas mileage and driven to Broken Bow, Oklahoma and to Winter Haven, Florida. I will be driving again to Winter Haven for Christmas. I just love me car it drives great and handle the roads just right..

Pros
I just love the Hyundai Sonata! My next car will be the same kind just new.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Raymond B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/09/2019
2012 Hyundai sonata se
I bought my Hyundai new. The company stands behind there brand. I love the car and the gas mileage. I am currently planning on buying a new model but would like to see what the design looks like in a year or two.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Loud road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
Duglas V.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/06/2019
Great service
Excellent vehicle except for some front drive train inconvenient like the drive shafts, the gas performance is excelente and engine performance is exceptional; the over all appearances interior and exterior are great.

Pros
Gas efficient

Cons
Weakness on Drive shafts

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tasha H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/26/2019
Sweet ride
The Sonata overall is great. Trunk space, gas mileage, and ease of parking are all awesome. I only gave 4 stars because I miss having a larger vehicle for the space! If you're in the market for a car though, this is a sweet ride!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Holly R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2019
Sonata
I bought my 2012 Sonata in 2011 and I still have it and I have not had any problems out of it. My oil has been changed every 3000 miles. It has 130,000 miles on it now and it still drives and rides like it did when I drove it off the lot. I would definitely buy another Sonata!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ronald W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/23/2019
Great car
This is my second Sonata and am overall well pleased with the car. My only disappointment was that the Sirius XM was not included in the package and I had to buy an add on satellite radio for travel and enjoyment of my music and sports. The vehicle handles well and is getting good gas mileage. If this car is as good as the last on I do not expect any issues over the life of the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Archie A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2019
2012 vehicle is my 3rd Hyundai Sonata
I purchased my 1st Sonata in 2004. My wife still drives that vehicle. I purchased my 2nd Sonata in 2007. I gave it to my son after several years of good service.
2012 Sonata Limited is my 3rd Hyundai. I take good care of my cars, replacing the engine oil, oil filter and air filter regularly. I drive my cars under normal conditions and never abuse them and never push the limits. So far I am very pleased with Sonata quality, technical design and ergonomics. I am also very pleased with the warranty, timely recalls and dealership response.

Pros
quality of materials used, functionality, ergonomics and price

Cons
engine failure problems on some Hyundai vehicles over a period of several years are degrading the perceived quality of this vehicle.
These problems should have been resolved sooner.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Elizabeth D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2019
Hyundai Sonata
I loved my Hyundai Sonata. I am sorry to say the day after servicing it was totaled in an accident. Now I will return to Sport Hyundai to replace my car and visit my salesman.Hopefully I will find a car there to meet my needs.

Pros
Recently had car demolished in an accident and my Sonata protected me with its safety features. It was always very reliable. I loved it.

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Azeem M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/19/2019
excellent Vehicle
Happy and good service good and comfortable rides excellent for Maintenance parts little expensive other than excellent vehicle, my future vehicle will IONIQ and Geneses buy the plan. Lee Johnson best dealer at EVERETT WA.

Pros
excellent

Cons
Happy and good service good and comfortable rides excellent for Maintenance parts little expensive other than excellent vehicle, my future vehicle will IONIQ and Geneses buy the plan.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Edwondna M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
Best car ever
I love my 2012 Sonata it's a blessing that I just passed it down to my 17 year old son as i upgraded to a 2019 Tucson.The size of the Sonata is perfect not too small it's just right.You can't even tell when its running it's so quiet.

Pros
Good on gas,speed is awesome,sounds is banging.Best car ever in my eyesight!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
Weontha D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
This is the best car I’ve owned!
This is the best car I’ve owned. I’ve had a Buick, Suburu, Chevy Tahoe, and several other make of cars over the years. This has been the best. This cars comfort, handling, and virtually maintenance free capability has sold me on the brand. My Sonata is a 2012 and still looking and rides great. The tires lasted so long, I bought the same tires again from Voss Hyundai. Love my car!

Pros
Maintenance Free

Cons
I’m retired and can’t buy another one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EJ
Esmeralda J.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
2012 Sonata Turbo
This car we bought almost new, very little miles from previous owner. No regrets, so happy with it. We have travelled to New York once and twice to California and the long trip was not tiring due to the comfort of the seats. Car never has once left us on the road, very reliable, great quality.

Pros
Comfort seats for long trips
Beautiful line/style of the car
Turbo performs really well

Cons
AC takes time to kick in when car has been in the heat for long period

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sandra R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
Reliable. 1qqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqq1q1qqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqq11qqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqq1qqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqq1qqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqq
No problems for 90000 miles.good performance ¹11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111@@@1111111@111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111

Pros
Good performance

Cons
Pass seat too low with no height of power adj.needs driver select steering input

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sam B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/09/2019
2012 Sonata 2.0T
Compared this car in value with foreign vehicles such as a comparable BMW and Mercedes while looking for a replacement for a Pontiac Gran Prix GTP. Initially the wife did not want or was not interested in the purchase of a Hyundai, but I did extensive comparison shopping through multiple websites and links. The bang for the buck was clearly evident here and once having driven it, totally impressed with the 4 cylinder power that it delivered. The GTP she was coming out of was equally as powerful as the wife has a heavy foot and loves powerful cars. This little 4-banger delivers. Having bought the car new, we have had maintenance free other than tires and oil changes for more than 7 years now. This car will be handed down to our newest driver soon, but frankly I will drive it till the wheels fall off if allowed!

Pros
Powerful turbo charged 2.0T
Excellent styling and sleek lines
Easy to accessorize and get after-market details

Cons
Cloth seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
David L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/05/2019
Sonata
This 2012 Sonata is a great summer car but worthless in snow and ice of winter this is the first car I have bough without 4 wheel or all wheel drive will not buy another but would buy a Hyundai product with all wheel drive

Pros
Keyless entry and start, good gas mileage, I really liked the design of the car, big reason I bought it.

Cons
Blows around in windy conditions terrible winter car starts okay and runs okay in cold weather useless in snow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
Gabriel H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/03/2019
Hybrid battery is very concerning.
It took awhile for the technicians at a Hyundai dealership to figure out that my car needed a new hybrid battery replacement. It's very concerning because my car shut off on it's own various times in the middle of busy highways. It could've turned into a big liability issue if any of my loved ones would've gotten hurt because of this issue. Hyundai needs to train their technicians better for quicker diagnostics on hybrid cars. Don't want anybody out there going through the same stress I did because of the hybrid battery.

Pros
Gas friendly.

Cons
Hybrid battery.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Maria P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/27/2019
This 2012, and 2011 have a terrible history. Do your home work before you buy used.
Official recalls have been issued for the 2012 Hyundai Sonata by the NHTSA. There are 8, and the Engine is a major one which Hyundai fought them on. A midsize sedan that looks like a high-end luxury car, has a 10-year/100,000-mile power-train warranty

Do your homework, or else.

Pros
The Sonata was once was just a low-priced midsize sedan with a great warranty. Hyundai prides itself on offering vehicles chock-full of standard features, and the 2012 Hyundai Sonata sedan is no exception. The standard equipment list includes Hyundai's new Blue Link infotainment and safety service, Bluetooth phone connectivity, iPod/USB music integration and steering wheel-mounted audio/cruise controls. An impressive array of standard safety equipment includes six airbags and electronic stability control.

Cons
"numerous factory recalls/ bad engine"

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JZ
Jesus Z.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2019
Very good car
The sedan car most affordable and confortable inside the Avg in gas is well , the warranty of hyundai is really good for 10 years is really the company with the most extensive warranty in the market i really recommend get a hyundai

Pros
Very affordable and good design with good avg in gas

Cons
In my case my car is black maybe its better get white color

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jerry C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/22/2019
My 2012 Sonata Hybird
This actually is a pretty good car and competitor of similar sedans. It has a lot going on with the battery packs, starting system, etc. Loaded with extras and comfort, rides well. The maintenance schedule could be written better for a realistic world. Particularly the expression "normal conditions", REALLY!! I can not picture a location that would be the case. By description, it is always serve conditions. Good thing the after market products are generally better today. Would I buy another, maybe. To many recalls and too many issues not recognized/acknowledged by the brand. If you want to be number one, better pay attention to who (consumers) puts you there.

Pros
Comfort, styling, technology and features

Cons
Gas mileage - use to get good MPG, never the same/inconsistent, set really low, recalls, problems not recognized by corporation

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1611 in total