2017
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(2594 Reviews)
Latest review 17 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SS
Stanley S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/30/2019
The Works Are Worth It.
Originally we purchased the ECO model with the turbo. It was fast and very economical but the seats were not as comfortable as I would like them to be. The Sport model has the perfect combination of power versus economy. The driver's seat is absolute heaven and while both are heated the passenger seat doesn't have the power combinations of the driver's seat. I wish it did. My wife wishes it did. We've got the sun roof which is great to get rid of the heat on a hot day when the car is parked in the driveway instead of the garage. The car rides smooth but still it feels firm on the road as a "Sport" model should be. The ECO rode better but except for the speed it didn't drive any better. Also the ECO has only one exhaust pipe while the "Sport" has two and they look really good when you're walking up to the rear of the car. The A/C and heater work great and the entertainment system is perfection for my ears. The driver's seat is perfect for me with its lumbar support and ever adjustable controls. The dash is laid out well with everything within easy reach. There is a button on the console for normal driving, economical and sport driving. Sport is really fun to drive. The car is faster, shifts faster, up and down when needed. The steering wheel becomes a direct connection to the car's suspension where you can feel what is going on with the car. The car becomes alive when you push that button which I rarely do but it sure is fun when I do. Eco is for long trips of course and normal is for around town when there has to be a balance between economy and city traffic. It works great because its paired with a 6 speed transmission that is flawless in its operation. It seems to know what I need before I even think about it. Anyway the car works great and is just the right size for a retired couple who make trips to see our children around the country. It has just the right amount of luggage and grocery space that a "car" needs. This morning I purchased a bathroom cabinet that would have been too large for a lot of vehicles. It slipped right into the trunk, no problem and if there is anything long and skinny the backseats fall forward to allow the item to slip right in. I love the backup camera. I don't have to worry anymore about objects jumping into my way anymore back there. I do wish I had a camera or a sensor up front that would tell me how close I am to the object in front of me. The front end is very sensitive to solid objects apparently. Everything works as it should and I would recommend one to anybody but if one can possibly afford it get the best package that is possible. It's worth it.

Pros
The extras such as the sun roof, the adjustable heated seats, the large engine without a turbo, the drive mode button, the excellent visibility and the room for 5 and their luggage. It's comfortable and fun to drive. It looks great!

Cons
It looks like too many other cars such as Camry, Altima and Accord. Too many other cars are the same color (metallic gray)
It needs a sensor or camera in the front to warn of barriers when parking. Motor/Transmission lags on hills in normal or eco mode. Sport mode snaps the car back into its high energy state.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MARILYN L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2019
Love My Kona!
I really love this car. It is my first small suv, and I am impressed with everything except the hesitation upon acceleration. I was happy to know that it was designated as small suv of the year. Glad I found it!

Pros
Easy to handle,fun to drive.

Cons
Hesitation upon acceleration from a stop.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jose O.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2019
Jose
Driving for two and half years ... nice and confident when driving long distances ...best car I ever drive in and out the Hurracan season.My family enjoys taken trips to the west palm beach area...great car

Pros
Conform ,great legroom,good sound system ...and full power is outstanding...

Cons
Service’s are to closed apart,six months services should be right for this vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LE
LARRY E.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/27/2019
What this mean?
This is tough..would buy it again..generally like it..like the rearst camera..hard to see right due to headrest like 17inch wheels too,great paint looks good..dash scratches too easily..defroster shorted with antenna in rest window

Pros
Good car

Cons
I already did

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DAN G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2019
A Great Ride
This is my fourth Hyundai Sonata Sport, and to date my most favorite. It is a smooth trip every time I take the wheel. I get a surprising 37-38 mpg on every highway trip, making it the most economic midsize vehicle i've ever had.

Pros
All of the above !

Cons
None noted

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DHAMANA S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/26/2019
So Nice, I Did it Twice
I bought my first Sonata in 2007 after 2 or 3 friends had good experiences with theirs. Sadly, the engine died on me after the warranty period was over, so I decided to buy another new car. I didn’t have to think hard about what to buy—another new Sonata. Ten years later, this 2017 is much sleeker and more sporty than my earlier car. My Sonata has a good ride and it accelerates well. And, let me repeat, it looks GOOD!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
JOHN T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/26/2019
Problems right away
Car is smart looking and comfortable with great gas mileage, but had problems right away with BSD not functioning and now battery not holding charge if car not used for 3 or 4 days, even though it and electrical system both test as good. No resolution provided by either service or customer service.

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Car has had multiple performance issues. Problems not addressed satisfactorily by service department.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WY
William Y.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2019
Korean car made in Alabama
Love every aspect of vehicle. Shopped a number of dealerships. All were shady and disingenuous. Used Coconut Creek internet services to negotiate. Got great price. Love my Korean car made in Alabama with parts from Canada, Mexico and Korea. The Sport model has eye turning style. Size is perfect . Love this vehicle. My first new car ever!

Pros
Price, styling, features and reliability are tops.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Marjorie G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2019
Best car for the value! Thi
This car rides very smooth, and very economical for the gas use!.
Also it performs excellent and efficient, it is very well built. And very economical to maintain, I like how it's built and it's very dependable!

Pros
It runs as good as more expensive cars.

Cons
It should have more electronics gadgets.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Linda H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2019
Great Service Dept.
Will Collier & Bennie in the service dept. are both very professional at the job they do...I look forward to purchasing a new car in January or February and I will surely return back to the service department every time my car needs basic maintenance.

Pros
Great Service Dept.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Charles C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/23/2019
Satisfying and practical vehicle
Always difficult to gauge a new product with which I have had no prior experience. But this is the first car I have ever owned that had absolutely no problems when new and for the first 2 years of ownership. Everything functions extremely well, and is even better than I had expected.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VL
VANESSA L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/21/2019
Love my car
I love my car... I'm just concerned if these little things keep breaking is the warranty cover what breaks...I really like my car just hope it doesn't keep breaking I hope my car.last me...

Dont want to buy another one..
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZS
Zachary S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/21/2019
2017 HYUNDAI SONATA
PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN APRIL 2019 AND SO FAR REALLY ENJOYING THE VEHICLE ,NEEDED AN AUTOMOBILE THAT WAS ECONOMICAL ,DEPENDABLE AND STYLISH ,SO FAR VERY CONTENT WITH THE SELECTION I WORK WITH SEVERAL ASSOCIATES THAT OWN HYUNDAI AND THEREFORE FELT COMFORTABLE WITH THE PURCHASE

Pros
ALL OF THE ABOVE

Cons
NONE SO FAR

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Burton S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2019
Great Car
Been buying Hyundai automobiles for 16 years. I've had the Sonata, Santa Fe and Elantra models. Everyone has been an excellent value dollar for dollar paid as is the Sonata I currently own. They are well built, well performing, reliable and comfortable. Great road cars. Hyundai service is exceptional. Never had a problem with warranty work. You can't beat their five year, 60,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty and the 100,000 mile 10 year drive train warranty. I can drive Hyundai vehicles with no worries. I can highly recommend Hyundai vehicles with great confidence. These are the best cars I have owned. They are loaded with features. I will continue to purchase Hyundai vehicles and will continue purchasing them from the Rick Case dealership in the Fort Lauderdale area.

Pros
In a few words, they are great cars. I will always be a Hyundai owner and their biggest fan. I recommend Hyundai vehicles to everyone.

Cons
Absolutely NO cons. They are great cars. The best!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SHERI S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2019
Super Sonata
The Sonata is an excellent vehicle for mileage and value. All aspects of this car exceed expectations for the price range. I am very happy with the Sonata and would recommend it to anyone. Highway or around town, this car gives great performance. The hands free phone sound quality is better than other vehicles and I have first hand knowledge of that as a fact. If you need to be on the road and on your phone at the same time, this Sonata will make that a breeze.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EZ
Elaine Z.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/19/2019
My Sport Vehicle
I love my Hyundai Sonata Sport. It is a very comfortable car to drive. Love all the features on it also. The only thing they tell me I need new front tires with only not quite 21,000 miles on it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FZ
Frederick Z.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/19/2019
2017 SONATA SPORT
THIS IS OUR 5TH HYUNDAI AND WE JUST LEASED OUR 6TH AN 2019 SE MODEL. Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Pros
QUIET COMFORTABLE

Cons
NEED REMOTE START STD
DARKER WINDOW TINT

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NA
NOLBERTO A.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/17/2019
Sonata
I’ve already said what I want to say in the survey. You’re forcing me to put a comment of minimum 200 characters. This is ridiculous. I’ve said all I wanted to say during the survey. I guess it’s still not enough characters in this field so I will just keep repeating myself. This is annoying.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NN
Nancy N.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/16/2019
2017 Hyundai Sonata sport
I actually love my Hyundai Sonata sport. It is very comfortable to travel in I have heated seats a sunroof large area in the trunk to put my luggage and the seats even let down. I've had many people say that's a sharp car. Hyundai always Services my vehicle and they do an excellent job. I have no issues whatsoever with my car it is amazing I love driving it and taking trips. I can always count on Hyundai to get me in for service such as oil change and regular maintenance within 24 to 48 hours. If I were to ever have an issue I'm sure they would work me in immediately as their staff is excellent at Hyundai of Anderson. I invite you to test drive a Hyundai before you buy anything else. Believe me, I'm in love with my car. I previously owned a Hyundai Elantra but I upgraded to the Sonata for more room. It was definitely worth the money for the upgrade. Happy Hyundai
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
John K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/15/2019
Great car & a great value
This is my 2nd Sonata. My first one was a good value, however my 2017 is an exceptional value. So much more car for a minor cost increase over my previous Sonata.

There’s not much more I can say, except the car is fantastic

Pros
Excellent vslue

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 2594 in total