2017
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(2599 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NK
Nilesh K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/13/2019
Disappointed
I have been a Hyundai loyalist for the better part of last 11 years and this is the 4th Hyundai iteration I have owned in those 11 years and by far, this is the worst.it has under delivered on every count except, looks. Other than its outwardly super refined appearance, this 2017 model has nothing new to offer. My earlier 2013 Sonata hybrid was far more refined than this one.

Even my 2011 Sonata was better.too much cabin noise, within a year the condensation from my AC started flooding the passenger side & several services later the problem still persists. The Bluetooth had been pain in the neck since the very beginning.

Hyundai has seriously let me down.

Pros
Exterior styling, ergonomics, trunk space and leg space both front and back, well designed console.

Cons
Unrefined handling, poor cabin sound insulation, nerve wrecking Bluetooth connectivity and persistent problem with air conditioning

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
EDWARD K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2019
Nice car.
I think this was a good buy.The dealer and salesperson made this a nice experience.Overall I have been happy with the vehicle. Like the styling.features and performance. I enjoy some of the features such as heated seats and the sunroof.

Pros
Comfort ride and features.

Cons
Audio sound quality, road noise. Neither are real bad but could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dan B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
radio and window control
After changing stations it takes to long to see what channel I'm on but the radio works.
I don't like the automatic window control on the drivers side. It's distracting because when putting the window down a few inches I have to lift the button back up to stop it from going down I think this is really bad. I like the passenger side button much better.
I also took a alantra for a loaner car and it had a different button like the passenger side.

Pros
Great all around car for the price.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MONA H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Too long review
Great car..your survey is tooooo. Long
Great car..good looks.
I do not have 200 words...feel like my arm is twisted great car. Great look. Great ride

Jeez
Jeez
Jeez
Jeejeejeez
Jeejezz
Jez
Jeez
Jeez
Jeez
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
David L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Gives you the most for your dollar.
The brand seems to care about the customer after the sale, love the warranty, just wish the had a better resale like Honda, Subaru, and Toyota . That's ridiculous to require 200 characters in order to submit

Cons
Better use of material for the seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Larry S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Repair service
I took my car in for some wrannty work to be done and the service department was very punctual and very professional. I arrived early and they got right to work with my vehicle. They made sure that you are comfortable and very satisfied with their services.

Pros
Excellent customer service.

Cons
N/A.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lynn B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Bought new
Really enjoy driving my Sonata. Bought new with hardly any complaints. About 75 percent of my driving is on the highway. Amazing gas mileage and hard to believe the response for a 4 cylinder engine. Even my city driving is a pleasure.

Pros
Good quality and a fun to drive.
Great gas mileage.

Cons
Ride could be a little softer.
Road noise a bit much, some road textures gets a little loud.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Brian K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/11/2019
Average quality
From day one I have been confused about this vehicle. The salesman told us that this top-of-the-line model kept the vehicle in the lane and showed us videos from the Genesis brand. Following that we realized this vehicle does not have those capabilities. A couple months into ownership I noticed that I could not open the door without fully extending it open or it would close on my leg. When I asked them to repair this I was told by the dealer it was operating correctly. Then came the recalls, when I brought my car and the parts were never available and I was never contacted when they were available as I was promised. I have owned the car almost 2 years and then the trunk latch stopped working. There is No way to open the trunk from the inside so if A child was trapped, or you had a flat tire, or were on vacation in California like we were you have no way to open your trunk due to a faulty latch. The dealer explained this happens all the time So they had plenty in stock. I asked what would happen when I am out of warranty and they said they would not be covered unless Hyundai decided it was a recall issue. Overall, I expected a higher level of quality for a brand new car with top-of-the-line features.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CY
Carole Y.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2019
My Sonata
A wonderful operating vehicle, as Napleton provides. Loved my Elantra and love this car. It performs like a charm. The backseat accommodates my 3 little granddaughters.
It steers very well on city streets and on the highway.
Thankyou, Carole

Pros
Sharp design
Operates perfectly
Smooth interior
Great warranty
Great service

Cons
I purchased this car, so I cant get a new car every 3 yrs with a lease, but my Sonata never disappoints me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Charles B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/09/2019
great performance
great car . with a great mpg ratio. the sport drive feature is really lots of fun and has lots of power.i wish id not have bought such a light colored interior. but the car doesnt break down and its reliable on the highway.

Cons
the suspension should be improved

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lionel M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/09/2019
Hyundai Sonata
I like my Sonata. I wish this year model and rear vents and sunroof. I guess if I’d spent extra money on the more expensive one it would be. I would consider buying a another Sonata or SUV. I’ve had a pretty fair experience with this one.

Pros
Many cup holders

Cons
No rear vents or sunroof

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
William M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2019
Love my sonata
The sonata a great car for the money. Stylish, great features, great warranty. I own 2 of them and will get another when I am ready for a new car. This is all I care to say. I don't know why you would require 200 characters.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
looks, features, price and comfort.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MARTIN G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2019
Great
It is a great vehicle ... especially for the price. It is very reliable, not to mention that the gas mileage is a major plus. The backseat and trunk are very spacious. The sonata drives wonderfully with a very smooth ride.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Linda B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
My car
I love my Hyundia Sonata. It has enough room for my family and me. The seats are very comfortable. I like how you can adjust the height and temperature of the seats. The smart trunk is a great excess. It has power and speed when I need it. My car is beautiful inside and out.

Pros
What I stated above

Cons
I have no cons yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
DEBORAH T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
2017 Sonata Sport
Love this car. If I wasn't in the market for another SUV, I would consider buying out my lease. I have had no issues with the vehicle and purchased the maintenance package which makes servicing the vehicle very easy.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
COLEEN W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
sonata
na na na na na

Pros
na

Cons
na

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
LISE D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
This car saved my life, so I got another one!
Great car!!!!!*******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Susana J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
I Love With My Sonata
When I decided to changed my 2015 Mazda, I visited Doral Hyundai and fell in love with the looks of the Sonata. My daughter bought one and after the test drive with her, I decided that was the automobile I wanted.. I returned three days after to the dealership with my grandson and we left driving my beautiful Blue 2017 Sonata... I am totally In Love With My Sonata... the looks; how it drives; comfort driving it or riding in the back... Using my daughter's Sonata, we took a road trip Miami to Mystic, Connecticut and all around New York; The Carolinas; Marietta, Ga. we had a wonderful trip, the car rode super nice... I recommend this automobile for comfort and mileage, etc. Love My Sonata!!!

Pros
To me this vehicle is super!!! Inside, love it and it is very spacious (good leg room when riding in the back) front seats can be set to your own needs, as low or high as you need your seat to be, etc... I find it 100% All Good!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Lacey S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
Excellent vehicle
The Hyundai Sonata not only looks sharp, it’s fuel efficiency is top notch. It’s comfortable and spacious. I love the amenities that come with it. I commute 500 miles a week and I have nothing to complain about because my car handles well in all weather, the Bluetooth connection is super user friendly to manage, and the interior design of the controls are aesthetically pleasing to the eye. I would buy this car again. There’s nothing I would change. You can’t beat the price for what you get!

Pros
Gas mileage, size, functional.

Cons
NA

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Joseph F.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/07/2019
Reliable, affordable and functional.
Comfortable, functional great gas mileage. Overall very good family sedan. Spacious and great cargo space. Easy to drive, good stereo. Will not be disappointed. New buyers should give Hyundai and serious consideration.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 161 - 180 of 2599 in total