2017
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(2593 Reviews)
Latest review almost 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


RD
Robert D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/06/2016
Sonata Plug-in Hybrid
Spent 10 days in the shop after only two weeks of ownership for a failed water pump.

Pros
Good MPGe

Cons
Quality issues popped up too quickly for my liking. I buy a new car when I need reliable transportation. When the car spends nearly 50% of the time in the shop on month1, that does not indicate high quality in my book.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
PATRICIA K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/28/2016
??
I filled out your whole detailed form.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ALFRED B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/03/2017
hyundai sonata
very pleased with this car

Pros
Very pleased with this new vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
HAYLEY S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/18/2017
Sonata
Stared squeaking within first month of owning and also broke down

Pros
Comfortable ride, good mpg, nice design

Cons
Squeaking sound

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JAMES F.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/24/2018
Stay Away
Several warranty claims before 7k miles. A/C went out during the summer and had to schedule an appointment to get it fixed with NO rental provided had to Uber back home and when the car was "fixed". Dealership sales practice is to place you upside down to prevent trade-in.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Bobby W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/01/2018
wish I hadn't bought
I'll never buy Hyundai again. Had brake and headlight problems on the trip home from dealer with only 18 miles on the car, The brake pedal starting pulsating at the 2nd. traffic light on my way home. Drove for 2 months ( I did inform the salesman about the problem) hoping to seat brakes but they got worse. Took to dealer and they turned the rotors and refused to replace rotors or pads. I have had this car for 10 months and can drive it in the daytime only because I can't see far enough ahead of the car to see animals, signs, exits, & curves. I have 1900 on it now. I just took it back for a 2nd. headlight adj. but haven't gotten to drive it in the dark as yet. I'm not a happy camper and I won't go back the the original dealer for any service

Pros
stylish car, some good features

Cons
headlights, can't see ahead of the vehicle, noisy, steering seemed to drift a bit

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JOSHUA S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/09/2018
Horrible paint after 8,000 miles.
Vehicle has rust spots bleading through the paint. Started noticing the at 5,000 mile. At 8,000 miles they are very noticeable. Should be completely covered by 20,000. If the paint was repaired I would be satisfied but it's not under warranty.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RO
Robert O.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/29/2018
Double Clutch Transmission
The service department is great. The car is an unsafe. The transmission will slip and the car will roll downhill even if it is in gear. It also will not always accelerate from a stop. Not fun when pulling into traffic. This is a KNOWN ISSUE since 2012 and they still make and sell them to unsuspectig customers like me. I feel uncomfortable driving other people, especially my kids, around iny brand new car. The manufacturer and the dealer should be ashamed. I will never purchase another Hyundai and cannot reccommend this dealership to anyone.

Pros
Its pretty

Cons
The transmission is unsafe. A known problem since 2012. I quote their service department "it slips out of gear and doesn't always accelerate from a stop" and it was sold to me as a safe new car. I don't even want to drive my children around in it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 06/29/2018
Safety is our top priority, please allow us to have a further look at your vehicle. A specialist will be in touch very shortly. Thank you. ^cc

JK
JOHN K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/30/2018
Johns review
This is one of the finest vehicles that,I have ever driven, especially with the mileage that I get. Overall a great car. Once in a while a little issue with the sound system otherwise a great pleasure to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/05/2019
Mileage is horrible
Very disappointed in local mileage, totally different from your advertising....ECO on constantly....highway mileage is as advertised.... the excuses for poor local mileage are all over the place and are insulting..

Pros
Nice ride, especially on the highway

Cons
Horrible misleading local mileage.... I didnt know you had paid big fines for faking mileage results to the government..false advertising..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Christine R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/11/2019
Repeat Sonata buyer and disappointed with my last purchase. Even more disappointed with the passive response I received several times when taking my care to be looked at for engine stalling (dangerous & unsafe) as well completing a survey that Hyundai sent me and never followed up on so wasted time there as well. Overall so disappointed after buying 4 Sonata o think I have a pretty good idea if something is not right with the car. Smh going back to Nissan
Disappointed with my last purchase (4th Sonata). Even more disappointed with the passive response I received several times after taking my car in to be looked at for engine stalling (dangerous), car vibrating before stalling and brake pad vibrating. Even more disappointed after I completed a survey that Hyundai sent regarding the car. Never received a response so wasted time completing the survey.

Pros
Cute style
Good gas milage

Cons
Car stalls
Brake pedal vibrates after stopping
Car vibrates after stopping
Engine knocks in the winter

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Edwin G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/19/2019
Great package bad deal
We were lied to and nobody returns calls. We are in a upside down loan. They care more about their commission and selfishness then giving their returning customers a great deal for being loyal. Very selfish

Pros
Ditto

Cons
Ditto

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Edwin G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/14/2019
2017 Sonata
Horrible car, has a lot of recalls and never running smoothly or right! There are hardly any good features and the price I paid was outrageous. Can we say upside down loan! I am extremely upset and thinking of buying a Nissan or something.

Pros
N/a

Cons
A lot of recalls and happened to get a lemon!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jorge L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/17/2019
Terrible vehiculo en gasoline
Este carro te ofrece 17 millas por galon terrible el 2.0t de Hyundai una basura aparte su mantenimiento es muy costoso la verdad no es lo que esperaba una complete decepcion y si no me creen sobre el consumo con gusto les envio las pruebas

Pros
Big car

Cons
Terrible en gasoline

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ANDREW B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/08/2019
Unreliable and unsafe lemon
The seats are miserably uncomfortable. I took the car on a 15 hr trip to Florida and my back hurt for days. The engine has been knocking during acceleration since I bought the car in May of 2017. Of course, the service department can't repeat it. In January 2019, the service department installed a software update to detect excessive engine noise and engine knocking during acceleration as stated by the Hyundai. Four days later the engine went into protected mode as designed. Hyundai decided that replacing the wiring harness would fix the engine vibration and knocking. Six weeks later I got the car back and the engine is still knocking. The steering wheel sticks causing oversteering when it breaks free. Of course, the service department can't repeat the issue. The engine accelerates on it's own when attempting to stop. You guessed it, the service department can't repeat the issue. My wife is afraid to drive the car because it is a safety hazard and unreliable. Also, don't lean on the back of the car because you will break the plastic.

Pros
The car looks OK that's about it.

Cons
See review summary.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
ADREIS R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/27/2019
Not happy with vehicle
Unreliable vehicle. Vehicle has turned off on me about five times already and service department can not duplicate the issue every time that I have taken the vehicle in for service. Very disturbing. Not happy at all with the service.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DIANA C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/10/2019
Hyundai
I had not even made my fourth payment on my car and had never been in a wreck at 50 years old. I had always driven SUV’s, but thought I wanted s car. This was the worst car ever. I was driving down IH 45 when a couple cars ahead of me had wrecked and I slammed on my breaks being about 4 car lengths behind and my car did not stop I was hit from behind pushed into the cars in front of me and my car went into FLAMES immediately. I would never recommend not buy a Hyundai again. My car is not the only Hyundai that has caught fire when hit on impact. Beware DO NOT BUY
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
DEBORAH R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/27/2017
Like
Ok

Pros
Ok

Cons
Ok

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
David G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/25/2017
Non stop electrical/mechanical issues
I love this vehicle (color, options, comfort). However, the built quality (at least on mine) has been huge disappointment. Check BSD system error goes on, vehicle went into limp mode and engine/transmission/electrical failures, has been at the dealership multiple times and still not fixed. I also had a 2017 Sonata Hybrid and also gave me issues, traded it for the non-hybrid version thinking it was going to be better, I was not.

Pros
Amount of features
Lighting
Color choices
Comfort

Cons
Mechanical issues
Electrical issues
Beware of lemons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lamar H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/30/2017
I have a lot of problems with this car
Not a good car this time. This is my 4th Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2593 in total