2019
Subaru
Forester

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(23 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RB
ROGER B.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/09/2020
Subaru 2019 Forester
My wife and I are in our mid-70s. I wanted to get a Subaru since our daughter loves hers plus there are a number of safety features which are helpful as we age. I like the car and find it easy to drive, though learning what all of the controls did still escapes me at times. Also the connection with my Android phone is hit and miss. My wife, however, dislikes this vehicle intensely. She hates the variety of electronic control features, dislikes being forced to use side mirrors, and finds the seats to be uncomfortable. She goes out of her way to avoid driving the car.

Pros
Safety, reliability

Cons
Too much "gingerbread"

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARC A.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/17/2020
Love!!!
I am so happy we decided to go with a forester!!

Pros
The amazing safety features on this vehicle sold me. They are still awe inspiring. I recommend a forester to everyone I know who is looking for a new car!!!

Cons
Wish I had gone with the more expensive seats. On long trips, the seats are a little uncomfortable. But all in all a great vehicle!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
WARREN B.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/30/2020
Forester
Great vehicle. Safety features are great. Vehicle is comfortable. Wife loves it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
FORREST M.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/23/2020
4th Subaru owned
This 2019 Subaru is one of my favorites as a avid outdoor person I need a car that I can sleep in on camping trips, get to remote trail heads safely, and still have some eco focus in the car. The comfort and ride are standard with Subaru which means doing 600+ in a day is a comfy affair. Would recommend especially to first time drivers.

Pros
Comfy
Gas efficiency
Storage
AWD
Terrain adaptable

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
JULIA V.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/19/2020
My forester
Love my subaru forester it is fun to drive and I feel so safe in it. It has great load capacity groceries, chicken supplies. And of course dog food and the dogs themselves. Even fit a piece of gutter in from Lowe's got some looks from the guys in pick up trucks that day. And mine was dry from the rain .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
ROBERT B.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/31/2019
Excellent Smart Car
Safe. Easy to drive and getting ready for the snow and wet roads with my new Forester.

Pros
Safety

Cons
More horsepower

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
THOMAS W.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
All that and then some
Six months in, our Forester is everything Consumer Reports and the IIHS said it would be and then some!!

Pros
The fuel efficiency is even better than advertised.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MARK S.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/04/2019
Generally highly satisfied but lots of little glitches.
While we love this vehicle when it works, we have been plagued by lots of little things.

1) Apple CarPlay integration has had lots of intermittent problems, mostly connecting. It seems to have gotten better since we purchased the vehicle so I suspect that they have been upgrading the software in the background but the lack of willingness to acknowledge the issue was and is a problem. They need to be more transparent and have online services for us to report the problem and monitor progress towards a solution. Then, if they do push a software upgrade that fixes (or attempts to fix) the issue, they need to send out a notification. What is the point of having an App tied to my VIN number if you aren’t going to be transparent about issues and allow two-way communications.

2) User Recognition - this is a very nice feature when it works and really annoying when it doesn’t (about 30-40%) of the time. And when it doesn’t work, there is no way to retrigger the facial recognition manually.

3) User Identity Management - I was very chagrined to learn that there are three (3) independent User Identity systems in the Touring model that we purchased (lower trim levels have less) and they are not integrated in any way. They often conflict with one another again making something that should be really cool, really annoying. There are 1) the two individual seat setting (but not mirrors) buttons, 2) the user identities that control the radio stations and other console activities and 3) the facial recognition system that also control seat settings (and mirrors) and driver alert systems. I understand that some models don’t have all of them but any that are on a vehicle need to be integrated and coordinated so as not to ruin the actual driver experience.

4) the automatic rear liftgate has no manual override should it get stuck for any reason. The only way to open it in the event of failure is to disconnect the battery (which also causes the car to forget any customized setting like radio stations, seat settings, etc). We found this out because it also turned out that there was an intermittent problem with the liftgate control module in our VIN which had to fail twice before they replaced it but one could see other circumstance like things such as clothing or little children’s fingers getting stuck in it (they claim that can’t happen but that is what they blamed the first failure on). This really seems like a potential safety problem which should concern Subaru.

5) Driver Alert System - still glitchy and annoying. Lots of false positives around “eyes on the road” and “driver alertness”. We understand that this is a relatively new and developing technology but we have had multiple instances where it became so wrong and annoying that we had to just turn it off.

All in all, it is clear that Subaru is being challenged to, like it or not, transition from a basic car company to a software company where as many of the problems are software in nature as are hardware in nature. On this side of the house they do have to step up their game. They have a long way to go and can learn from the best software companies about how to keep their users happy while they push continuous improvement into the software products.

Again, when things work as advertised, we love the vehicle. When they don’t “not so much”.

Pros
Lots of nice features

Cons
They don’t all work very well. Please read detailed review.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
KING F.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/05/2019
Forester does not disappoint
I was deciding between the Forester and the CX-5, the roomy interior of the Forester was what won me over; it is perfect for new parents who need to fit a baby car seat in the back. The brown leather interior in Touring trim level made the car looks sporty on the outside and classy on the inside. The EyeSight driver assistance can be improved as it sometimes flagged false positives when merging into the highway.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
JOHN N.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/19/2019
The more I use and understand the features my Subaru Forrester offers, the more I love it!
A great car, safe, comfortable, roomy, responsive!

Pros
Roomy, comfortable, great control and stability, fun, enjoy it more as time goes by and I learn more about and use all its features, super pick up and passing power, feels safe, I really like the cruise control feature with its ability to lock into following the car ahead of you and the vehicle's ability to maintain the same speed as that vehicle you are following while your feet can be free of the brake and gas pedals. Air conditioning is excellent, sound system is great!

Cons
I've had trouble with the rear hatch door automatic hatch opening and closing. Numerous times it locks and will not open. it seems to fix itself in 3 days when it mysteriously starts working again. The place designed for plugging in your iPhone on the dash is too small, and the plug in is hard to see without using the flashlight on your phone to see the port. The driver's manual is hard to use and understand. I wish I got better gas mileage in town.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SANDRA S.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2019
The Forester beat the competition hands down
We are new the to Subaru family of vehicles, having driven mostly Nissan (even Datsuns) for many generations of automobiles. However, when looking for a new SUV that we could live with for the next 10 years, Subaru was our top choice. Specifically we picked the Forester Touring model in order to have both the safety features (no one else comes close at this price point) and vehicle reliability that Subaru is famous for. The size of the Forester was just a bit smaller than we were replacing (Nissan Pathfinder) because we no longer needed 3 rows of seats (although Subaru can provide that solustion now also). This vehicle has all we were looking for and great gas mileage to boot.

Pros
Great Fuel economy
Top of the line safety features
Full time symmetrical all wheel drive (we live in North Idaho)
Fantastic reliability (historically)

Cons
The engine hp could be a bit better, but given the other pros, not a major issue
The exterior style, while functional, could be just a bit more flashy...whatever that means.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
WARREN B.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/19/2019
Parker Subaru
Great dealership. Good selection of vehicles. Friendly but not pushy sales people. Clean, polite and well maintained
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SHERYL S.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/14/2019
Forester
What a wonderful redesigned SUV. We love it so much another family member is prepareing to buy one also.
We are seniors and love the visibility and all the safty features. Thank you Subaru for thinking of us seniors

Pros
Love every aspect of it.

Cons
Currently have not one con. First car I ever bought that I have not had a con early on.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
SUZIE F.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/05/2019
Nice car but...
I have the 2019 Forester Sport, I think overall it's a great car. I've had two incidents with the sound system while on a road trip, it resolved itself so it's more of an annoyance. I wish the cup holder was closer to the front for easy access instead of by the middle console.

Pros
It's a Subaru- speaks for itself
Nice looking car

Cons
Cup holder in wrong space, too far back
Bugs with sound system

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARY W.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/23/2019
The best!
Parker Subaru lives up to its advertising.

Pros
Everything!

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CYNTHIA C.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2019
2019 Subaru Forester
Love my new vehicle. It drives great, good window views, love my moon roof. Great SUV!!! Great safety features, couldn't have asked for more, I'd recommend it to everybody!!!!

Pros
Love everything....

Cons
Can't think of anything....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
DANELLE N.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2019
Dream Car
Can't wait to go on a road trip in this car! LOVE IT!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
WARD M.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/05/2019
Great car!
This car replaces a base 2016 Subaru Forester. Great new options, improved ride and solid handling. The new unibody construction makes the car more solid, improved ride and better handling then past models. New options and standard features improve fuel economy, reduce driver fatigue, and increase driving enjoyment. It looks the same as the previous models but it is a new car in many aspects.

Pros
New and improved core construction. Options and standard features that improve the driving experience and reduce fuel consumption. Over all quality standard remains very high.

Cons
Looks the same.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
CYNTHIA P.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/17/2019
2019 Subaru Forester Limited
I absolutely love this vehicle. The safety features are amazing, all wrapped up in a luxury vehicle. This is my second Forester, and they just keep getting better. Impressive!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
PETER W.
2019 Subaru Forester
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/10/2019
2019 Subaru Forest
Rides smoothly, great safety features, no blind spots, handels well in bad weather conditions

Pros
Safety features

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 23 in total